DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are pending.
Claim 15 is cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
(Step 2A, Prong One)
Independent claim 1 recites, “an operation determination circuit to determine an operation pattern of the plurality of distributed power supplies based on the information obtained by the reception circuit; a control parameter determination circuit to, in the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit, determine a control parameter value for the virtual synchronous generator control in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, such that mutual interference of the virtual synchronous generator control in the plurality of distributed power supplies can be avoided and the power grid can operate in a stable manner”.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, if a claim limitation covers performance that can be executed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic electronic devices or generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Under their broadest reasonable interpretation and based on the description provided in the published Specification, such as paragraphs [0081] and [0085], for instance, each of the determining function is a mental process that can be performed through observation, evaluation and judgement based on a acquired sensor data or image. That is, other than reciting an “operation determination circuit” and a “control parameter determination circuit” (a generic electronic device or generic computer component), a person may perform, through observation, evaluation and judgement, the features enunciated above.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
(Step 2A, Prong Two)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional limitations of, “a reception circuit to receive information about an operation state of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies; a transmission circuit to transmit, to each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, an operation command corresponding to the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit and the control parameter value determined by the control parameter determination circuit”.
The additional limitation of “a reception circuit to receive information about an operation state of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies” is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output).
The additional limitation of “a transmission circuit to transmit, to each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, an operation command corresponding to the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit and the control parameter value determined by the control parameter determination circuit” is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data outputting. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output).
The claim does not recite an improvement in a technology as set forth in MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(a). Accordingly, the additional limitations recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
In view of the foregoing, the additional limitations are not sufficient to demonstrate integration of a judicial exception into a practical application.
(Step 2B)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The receive function represents a function that is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, for instance, as demonstrated in RODRIGUEZ et al. (WO 2021/064270 A1) Page 4, fourth paragraph (“The aggregate synchronous control method object of this invention is a control system for : generation plants formed by multiple: generation units based on power converters, which is capable of emulating the dynamic behavior of a single aggregate synchronous system connected to the common point of interconnection of the generating plant with the grid: electrical. The control system and its associated method: it is made up of a plant controller that measures the electrical variables at the common interconnection point and operates the plant from that point, taking charge of the management of the power flow supplied by the plant to the electrical grid. …”), BHAGERIA et al. (US 2014/0148960 A1) paragraph [0005] (“In another aspect of the invention, a system for configuring a micro-grid including a computing system including computing devices communicatively linked to an electrical distribution grid via an information network is provided. The computing devices receive current condition information from devices in the electrical distribution grid via the information network. Further, the computing devices determine premises in the electrical distribution grid for inclusion in a micro-grid based on the current condition information. Further, the computing devices control switching elements in the electrical distribution grid to electrically isolate the premises from the electrical distribution grid.”), and KUDO et al. (US 2023/0089057 A1) paragraph [0038] (“The voltage current meter 53 is composed of a measuring transformer, a measuring current transformer, and the like. The voltage current meter 53 is arranged at the interconnection point between the power conversion unit 52 and the step-up transformer 7 or the distribution line 5, and is connected to the controller 54. The voltage current meter 53 measures the voltage and current at the interconnection point between the power converter 1 and the step-up transformer 7 or the distribution line 5. The voltage current meter 53 measures the voltage amplitude, the frequency, and the phase to obtain the measured voltage value Vs, and measures the current amplitude, the frequency, and the phase to obtain the current measured value Is. The voltage current meter 53 outputs the measured voltage value Vs and the measured current value Is to the controller 54.”).
The transmit function represents a function that is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, for instance, as demonstrated in RODRIGUEZ et al. (WO 2021/064270 A1) Page 6, first paragraph (“… By means of these references, each power generation unit will inject the power set by the plant controller (6) to maintain a power flow at the common coupling point (4) with the electrical network (3). reference for each power generation unit are sent from the plant controller: (6). …”), BHAGERIA et al. (US 2014/0148960 A1) paragraph [0060] (“Micro-grid monitoring and visualization devices 320 can request information from one or several micro-grid managers 104. For example, micro-grid monitoring and visualization devices 320 may be a centralized system that presents information from micro-grid monitoring and visualization devices 320 related to the state of micro-grids in an area of responsibility of a distribution dispatcher. Field crew mobile device 521 may be a mobile device used by a field crew working in a particular micro-grid that obtains information from micro-grid monitoring and visualization devices 320 to display the current state of the micro-grid. Further, field crew mobile device 521 may use SIP or other communication protocol through a private or public and secured wireless network, to send specific command controls to the distribution grid through micro-grid manager 104 to e.g., open fuses, ramp down a distributed energy resource, reconnect a consuming device, etc.”), and KUDO et al. (US 2023/0089057 A1) paragraph [0043] (“The active power reference value Pe is input to the subtracter 21 of the phase controller 20. The active power reference value Pe is transmitted from the EMS 4. Further, the output active power P with respect to the electric power output from the power converter 1 is input to the subtracter 21. The output active power P is calculated by the controller 54 based on the measured voltage value Vs, the measured current value Is, and the phase angle θs measured by the voltage current meter 53.”)
Thus, when taken alone, the individual additional limitations do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
Therefore, the additional claimed features do not amount to significantly more and the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 18 are directed to further defining the abstract idea as recited in independent claim 1.
Dependent claim 10 is directed to further defining the abstract idea with the determine limitation as recited in independent claim 1. Further, the store limitation is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data outputting. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output).
Dependent claims 11-13 and 16-17 are directed to further defining the insignificant extra-solutions activity as recited in independent claim 1.
Dependent claim 14 is directed to further defining the abstract idea with the calculate limitation, and further defining the insignificant extra-solutions activity with the measurement limitation as recited in independent claim 1
Dependent claims 19-20 recite additional features “a power grid”, “a communication path”, a power conversion device” and “a control device”. The additional features, configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations, may be tools that are used to determine as recited in the independent claim 1, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using generic electronic or computer components. Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea is not indicative of integration into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.05(f). Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RODRIGUEZ et al. (WO 2021/064270 A1) (“Rodriguez”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Rodriguez teaches:
A distributed power supply integration management device that manages a usage state of a power grid having a plurality of distributed power supplies connected thereto, output voltages of the plurality of distributed power supplies being controlled by virtual synchronous generator control that implements operation characteristics of a synchronous generator in a static power supply in a simulative manner, the distributed power supply integration management device comprising: (Rodriguez: Abstract “The synchronous control method for facilities with multiple distributed power generation units is comprised of a plant controller which gathers electrical measurements and operates at the common point of interconnection, being responsible for the management of the active and reactive power flow supplied to the electricity network by means of the optimal distribution of the power references of all the elements constituting the distributed power generation facility. The method is implemented by means of a hierarchical structure, regulating the levels of power supplied by each power conversion unit, by means of the electromechanical emulation of the synchronous machine and its interconnection impedance to the electricity network. The control system can adjust the basic parameters of the electromechanical system, inertia and damping factor; and of the interconnection impedance, resistance and reactance, for the purpose of optimising the operation of the facility under different operating conditions.”)
a reception circuit to receive information about an operation state of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies; (Rodriguez: Page 4, fourth and fifth paragraphs “The aggregate synchronous control method object of this invention is a control system for : generation plants formed by multiple: generation units based on power converters, which is capable of emulating the dynamic behavior of a single aggregate synchronous system connected to the common point of interconnection of the generating plant with the grid: electrical. The control system and its associated method: it is made up of a plant controller that measures the electrical variables at the common interconnection point and operates the plant from that point, taking charge of the management of the power flow supplied by the plant to the electrical grid. through the optimal distribution of references: from power to all the power conversion units that make up the plant. This control method is implemented through a hierarchical structure, making It is possible to regulate the power levels supplied by each power conversion unit by means of a control that emulates the response of a synchronous generator at the plant level. This hierarchical control structure emulates the equivalent electromechanical system of an aggregated virtual synchronous generator, as well as its impedance of interconnection with the electrical network, The control system can adjust both the parameters of the electromechanical system (the inertia constant and the damping factor ), such as those of the grid interconnection impedance (resistance and reactance), with the purpose of optimizing the operation of the plant under different operating conditions. The presented control method can be subdivided into three parts, the grid interconnection virtual impedance controller, the electromechanical controller and the aggregate virtual synchronous generator electromotive force (EMF) controller.) [The controller feature that measures the electrical variables reads on “a reception circuit”. Any measured variables of each of the power conversion units reads on “an operation state of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies”.]
an operation determination circuit to determine an operation pattern of the plurality of distributed power supplies based on the information obtained by the reception circuit; (Rodriguez: Page 4 last paragraph that ends on Page 5 “The electromechanical controller of the plant determines the load angle δ of the system, which is the angle between the electromotive force of the aggregate virtual synchronous generator rail E v and the voltage at the common coupling point with the electrical network K This load angle is which mainly determines the active power flow in synchronous systems. This load angle is a function of the difference between the reference power and the power actually supplied by the plant, measured at the common coupling point with the network. The dynamic evolution of this angle depends mainly on the Inertia constant (H) and the damping factor (D) that are set in the aggregate virtual synchronous generator model.”) [The load angle dynamic evolution based on measured variables reads on “an operation pattern …”. The controller feature that determines load angle evolution reads on “an operation determination circuit”.]
a control parameter determination circuit to, in the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit, determine a control parameter value for the virtual synchronous generator control in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, such that mutual interference of the virtual synchronous generator control in the plurality of distributed power supplies can be avoided and the power grid can operate in a stable manner; and (Rodriguez: Page 6, second paragraph “In this preferred embodiment, the electromechanical controller (11) is composed of: a mechanical control (20), which emulates the mechanical characteristic of a synchronous generator. This controller (1-1) generates the angular speed variation, Δω, of the virtual rotor of the added virtual synchronous generator (13) to keep the system synchronized with the electrical network (3). This value is added to the nominal value of the electrical network frequency (21) and is integrated to calculate the phase angle of the EMF θ (22) of the added virtual synchronous generator 13, Using this angle, the measured voltage v (23 ) at the common coupling point (4) of the plant with the electrical network (3), it is projected onto a synchronous coordinate system dq by means of the transformation of: Parle. In this way, using a tangent arc block (24), the value corresponding to the load angle 3 is extracted. In a preferred embodiment, the damping factor of the electromechanical controller (11) can be dynamically increased or decreased to adapt to the possible events that may occur in the electrical network (3). In this way, it is possible to eliminate sub-synchronous frequencies when load connections occur, provide greater support to the electrical network (3) against frequency and voltage variations, and even shorten the synchronization time of the plant when it is connected to the power supply. electrical network (3).”) [The angular speed or the damping factor reads on “a control parameter”. Eliminating the sub-synchronous frequencies or unwanted frequency and voltage variations, or the shortening of the synchronization time reads on “mutual interference … can be avoided”. The controller feature that determines the angular speed or the damping factor reads on “a control parameter determination circuit”.]
a transmission circuit to transmit, to each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, an operation command corresponding to the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit and the control parameter value determined by the control parameter determination circuit. (Rodriguez: Page 6, first paragraph “A possible preferred embodiment of the synchronous control for a renewable generation plant, for example a photovoltaic plant, is presented in Fig, 1. All the power generation units included within the generation plant are composed: by its energy source primary (1) and a power inverter (2). The plant is connected to the electrical grid (3) through the common coupling point (4). The voltage and current measurements are made at the common collection point (5), from where the plant controller (6) operates. This controller is in charge of generating the reference powers (7) for each of the generation units of power that constitute the plant. By means of these references, each power generation unit will inject the power set by the plant controller (6) to maintain a power flow at the common coupling point (4) with the electrical network (3). reference for each power generation unit are sent from the plant controller: (6). which executes the control algorithms of the controllers represented in Fig. 2 from the comparison between the active (8) and reactive (9) power reference and the power measured at the common coupling point with the electrical network (3). On the one hand, the plant controller (8) is composed of an electromechanical controller (11), whose purpose is to generate the plant load angle, δ (14), necessary to regulate e! active power flow at the common coupling point (4) of the plant with the network (3). On the other hand, the EMF controller (12) defines the variation of the electromotive force of the added virtual synchronous generator, E v (13), which regulates the flow of reactive patence at the common coupling point with the network. …”) [The controller feature that sends the reference to each of the power generation unit reads on “a transmission circuit to transmit … an operation command …”.]
Regarding claim 9, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez further teaches:
wherein the operation pattern includes a combination of output active power command values of the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Rodriguez: Page 6, lines 5-9 “By means of these references, each power generation unit will inject the power set by the plant controller (6) to maintain a power flow at the common coupling point (4) with the electrical network (3). reference for each power generation unit are sent from the plant controller: (6). which executes the control algorithms of the controllers represented in Fig. 2 from the comparison between the active (8) and reactive (9) power reference and the power measured at the common coupling point with the electrical network (3).”)
Regarding claim 17, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez further teaches:
wherein the operation command transmitted by the transmission circuit includes an output active power command value of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Rodriguez: Page 4, sixth paragraph “The controller of the virtual impedance of interconnection with the network determines the levels of synchronous active and reactive power that will be sent as a reference to each generating unit of the distributed plant. The active and reactive power that the plant must deliver to the grid at its coupling point, which will serve as a reference for the multiple generating units of the plant, is calculated from the load angle d of the system, whose value is obtained as output of the electromechanical controller, of the virtual voltage reference, E v , whose value is obtained from the EMF controller, and of the voltage measured at the common interconnection point V.”)
Regarding claim 18, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez further teaches:
wherein in response to a lapse of a predetermined certain time period or a change in a plurality of items constituting the information received by the reception circuit, the operation determination circuit newly generates the operation pattern based on the information at this time point. (Rodriguez: Page 4 last paragraph that ends on Page 5 “The electromechanical controller of the plant determines the load angle δ of the system, which is the angle between the electromotive force of the aggregate virtual synchronous generator rail E v and the voltage at the common coupling point with the electrical network K This load angle is which mainly determines the active power flow in synchronous systems. This load angle is a function of the difference between the reference power and the power actually supplied by the plant, measured at the common coupling point with the network. The dynamic evolution of this angle depends mainly on the Inertia constant (H) and the damping factor (D) that are set in the aggregate virtual synchronous generator model.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of ROSINI et al. (US 2024/0195288 A1) (“Rosini”).
Regarding claim 6, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 6.
Rosini teaches:
wherein the control parameter determination circuit determines the control parameter value in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies by referring to a preliminarily created lookup table using the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit, and for each of a plurality of the predetermined operation patterns, the lookup table prestores the control parameter value in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies such that the power grid operates in a stable manner. (Rosini: [0016]-[0023] “[0016] According to an embodiment, a method of controlling a power converter comprises: [0017] determining a frequency control error in dependence on at least a setpoint frequency and an actual frequency, [0018] determining an active power target, [0019] determining a phase angle target in dependence on at least the active power target, [0020] determining a voltage control error in dependence on at least a setpoint voltage and an actual voltage, [0021] determining a reactive power target, [0022] determining an output voltage target in dependence on at least the reactive power target, and [0023] controlling the power converter based on the output voltage target and the phase angle target.”) (Rosini: [0055] “In an example, the words “determining a parameter in dependence on another parameter” have the meaning that the control arrangement includes e.g. at least one of a control loop, a look-up table, a fuzzy logic, a model and an observer or another item realized in hardware, in software or in a hardware/software combination which performs the process of determining. The words have the meaning that the parameter can optionally also depend on a further parameter.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Rosini before them, to modify controlling of the converters of the distributed power supply system by modifying converter variables, to incorporate a look-up table for the converter variables.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for determining variables that dependent on other variables using the look-up table format. (Rosini: [0055] “In an example, the words “determining a parameter in dependence on another parameter” have the meaning that the control arrangement includes e.g. at least one of a control loop, a look-up table, a fuzzy logic, a model and an observer or another item realized in hardware, in software or in a hardware/software combination which performs the process of determining. The words have the meaning that the parameter can optionally also depend on a further parameter.”)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of YAO et al. (CN 113469332 A) (“Yao”).
Regarding claim 7, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 7.
Yao teaches:
a learning circuit to learn a relationship between the control parameter value in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies and information about operation stability of the power grid, wherein the control parameter determination circuit determines the control parameter value in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, using an output from the learning circuit when the operation pattern determined by the operation determination circuit is used as an input to the learning circuit. (Yao: Abstract “The invention relates to a fuzzy-neural-based virtual synchronous generator inertia damping self-adaptive control method, which comprises the following steps of: 1) establishing a parameterized simulation model based on virtual synchronous generator control; 2) collecting data of an input end and an output end of a virtual synchronous generator to form a training data set and an evaluation data set of a fuzzy nerve; 3) according to the frequency power angle relation of the virtual synchronous generator, a rotor angular frequency change rate D omega/dt and a rotor angular frequency deviation delta omega of a system are used as input, and an initial fuzzy rule is established by respectively using the rotor angular frequency change rate and the rotor angular frequency deviation of the system and the relation between a virtual inertia J and a virtual damping coefficient D; 4) and adding the trained fuzzy nerves after the design parameters are adjusted into a virtual synchronous generator for control, and obtaining a self-adaptive inertia damping adaptive value so as to realize the self-adaptive control of the virtual inertia damping. Compared with the prior art, the invention has the advantages of effectively inhibiting oscillation, power overshoot and the like.”) (Yao: Page 4 last full paragraph “The method is characterized in that inertia and damping characteristics are introduced into a virtual synchronous generator on the basis of a traditional two-order transient mathematical model of the synchronous generator, so that the method is in sharp contrast with traditional fixed parameters, when a system is disturbed, design parameters of a fuzzy system can be automatically designed and adjusted according to input and output learning samples, self-adaptive adjustment of virtual inertia damping is realized, and the system is more stable.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Yao before them, to modify controlling of the converters by modifying converter variables, to incorporate a learning or training based neural model.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for stabilizing the distributed power supply system by determining variables for the converters based on learning or training a model to provide self-adaptive adjustments for stability. (Yao: Page 4 last full paragraph “The method is characterized in that inertia and damping characteristics are introduced into a virtual synchronous generator on the basis of a traditional two-order transient mathematical model of the synchronous generator, so that the method is in sharp contrast with traditional fixed parameters, when a system is disturbed, design parameters of a fuzzy system can be automatically designed and adjusted according to input and output learning samples, self-adaptive adjustment of virtual inertia damping is realized, and the system is more stable.”)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of Zhao et al. (US 2020/0287410 A1) (“Zhao”).
Regarding claim 8, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 8.
Zhao teaches:
wherein the operation pattern includes a combination of operation start commands or operation stop commands for the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Zhao: [0065] “In another embodiment, when the grid-connection switch 100 is disconnected, the first controller 200 determines the voltage amplitude U.sub.outg of the power grid, the voltage phase Thetag of the power grid, the voltage phase Thetam of the microgrid and an angular frequency of the microgrid, and detects whether a difference between the voltage phase Thetag of the power grid and the voltage phase Thetam of the microgrid reaches a predetermined threshold; and the first controller 200, when detecting that the difference reaches the predetermined threshold, controls the grid-connection switch 100 to be closed, thus achieving smooth switch from the off-grid state to the grid-connected state.”) [The grid-connection switch being connected or disconnected reads on “a combination of operation start commands or operation stop commands”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Zhao before them, to modify controlling of the converters by determining operation conditions, to incorporate the connection or switching status with the grid.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for controlling the converter variables to achieve smooth switching. (Zhao: [0065] “In another embodiment, when the grid-connection switch 100 is disconnected, the first controller 200 determines the voltage amplitude U.sub.outg of the power grid, the voltage phase Thetag of the power grid, the voltage phase Thetam of the microgrid and an angular frequency of the microgrid, and detects whether a difference between the voltage phase Thetag of the power grid and the voltage phase Thetam of the microgrid reaches a predetermined threshold; and the first controller 200, when detecting that the difference reaches the predetermined threshold, controls the grid-connection switch 100 to be closed, thus achieving smooth switch from the off-grid state to the grid-connected state.”)
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of Rosini, further in view of BHAGERIA et al. (US 2014/0148960 A1) (“Bhageria”).
Regarding claim 10, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 10.
Rosini teaches:
a storage circuit to store information … , wherein the control parameter determination circuit determines the control parameter value in each of the plurality of distributed power supplies based on the information obtained from the reception circuit and the information stored in the storage circuit. (Rosini: [0063] “FIG. 1 is a schematics of a converter arrangement 10 according to an embodiment. The converter arrangement 10 comprises a control arrangement 12 and a power converter 11. The power converter 11 is realized as a voltage-controlled voltage source converter. The power converter 11 is configured to be connected to a grid 13 and an energy source/load arrangement 14. The source/load arrangement 14 is realized e.g. as one of a renewable energy source (abbreviated RESs) or energy storage device or another grid. The control arrangement 12 is configured to execute the method of controlling the power converter 11. The control arrangement 12 includes at least one of a computer, a microprocessor, a microcontroller and a field-programmable gate array, abbreviated FPGA. The control arrangement 12 comprises a memory 16 and optionally also an initialization value memory 15.”) (Rosini: [0095] “In an example, the method comprises storing data of the power converter 11 in the memory 16 in predetermined periods. Storing a initialization value of at least one of the actual active power P_act and the actual reactive power Q_act of the power converter 11 in the initialization value memory 15 includes selecting the at least one value out of the data stored in the memory 16 and storing in the initialization value memory 15. The memory 16 is implemented e.g. as a circular buffer. The memory 16 is e.g. configured as a data logger. The memory 16 stores a history of at least one of the actual active power P_act and the actual reactive power Q_act data.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Rosini before them, to modify controlling of the converters by determining operation conditions, to incorporate storing the operations data in the memory.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for continuously logging the operations data. (Rosini: [0095] “In an example, the method comprises storing data of the power converter 11 in the memory 16 in predetermined periods. Storing a initialization value of at least one of the actual active power P_act and the actual reactive power Q_act of the power converter 11 in the initialization value memory 15 includes selecting the at least one value out of the data stored in the memory 16 and storing in the initialization value memory 15. The memory 16 is implemented e.g. as a circular buffer. The memory 16 is e.g. configured as a data logger. The memory 16 stores a history of at least one of the actual active power P_act and the actual reactive power Q_act data.”)
Rodriguez and Rosini do not expressly teach: a storage circuit to store information about a facility configuration of the power grid.
Bhageria teaches:
a storage circuit to store information about a facility configuration of the power grid. (Bhageria: [0007] “In a further aspect of the invention, a computer system for configuring micro-grids in an electrical distribution grid is provided. The system includes one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, and one or more computer-readable, tangible storage devices. Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to receive current condition information from a plurality of home area networks in premises of an electrical distribution grid. Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to determine configuration information for the electrical distribution grid. The configuration information provides a topology of the electrical distribution grid including a micro-grid. The micro-grid is an electrically isolated portion of the electrical distribution grid that includes one or more of the premises. Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to control switching elements in the electrical distribution grid based on the configuration information. Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to exchange information with energy resources and energy consuming devices in one or more of the home area networks included in the micro-grid. Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to control in power flow between the energy resources and the energy consuming devices.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez, Rosini and Bhageria before them, to modify controlling of the converters by determining operation conditions, to incorporate the grid configuration related data.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for considering the configuration information of the grid for analyzing the topological relationships of the converters with respect to the grid. (Bhageria: [0007] “… Further, the system includes program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to determine configuration information for the electrical distribution grid. The configuration information provides a topology of the electrical distribution grid including a micro-grid. The micro-grid is an electrically isolated portion of the electrical distribution grid that includes one or more of the premises. …”)
Regarding claim 11, Rodriguez, Rosini and Bhageria teach all the claimed features of claims 1 and 10. Rodriguez further teaches:
wherein the plurality of distributed power supplies are electrically connected to a common bus of the power grid, and the information … includes information about an impedance between each of the plurality of distributed power supplies and the common bus. (Rodriguez: Page 4, seventh full paragraph “To determine these powers, formulas (1) and (2) are used for power transfer between two synchronous sources of alternating voltage connected through an impedance of R and X values. [Image Omitted] In (1) and (2), X and R constitute the equivalent virtual impedance of Interconnection between the electromotive force of the added virtual synchronous generator: and the common coupling point with the electrical network. The X and R values can be adjusted to optimize the interaction of the plant with the network.”)
Rodriguez does not expressly teach: the information stored by the storage circuit includes information about an impedance between each of the plurality of distributed power supplies and the common bus.
Bhageria teaches:
the information stored by the storage circuit includes information about an impedance between each of the plurality of distributed power supplies and the common bus. (Bhageria: [0046] “According to aspects of the invention, configuration engine 102 determines micro-grids based on historical information 132, forecast information 134, and/or current condition information 225. Current condition information 225 is information received from one or more devices in the electrical grid (e.g., device 202) that describes the current state of the network. Current condition information 225 includes, for example, information such loads, topology information (e.g., identity, host network, location, tie-line), weather, state (on/off, power, voltage, current, impedance, temperature), and network communication status. In embodiments, configuration analysis module 114 determines an optimal micro-grid configuration based on information determined by historical analysis module 110 and forecast analysis module 112. Historical analysis module 110 analyzes historical information 132 to determine a digest of historical information. Forecast analysis module 112 analyzes forecast information 134 and/or the output of the historical analysis module to determine a forecast of near-term conditions in the distribution grid (e.g., devices and their respective power supply and/or demand). Using the forecast of near-term conditions determined by forecast analysis module 112, configuration analysis module 114 determines potential micro-grids.”)
The motivation to combine Rodriguez, Rosini and Bhageria as described in claim 10 is incorporated herein.
Claims 12-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of KUDO et al. (US 2023/0089057 A1) (“Kudo”).
Regarding claim 12, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 12.
Kudo teaches:
wherein the information received by the reception circuit includes an output active power measurement value of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Kudo: [0043] “The active power reference value Pe is input to the subtracter 21 of the phase controller 20. The active power reference value Pe is transmitted from the EMS 4. Further, the output active power P with respect to the electric power output from the power converter 1 is input to the subtracter 21. The output active power P is calculated by the controller 54 based on the measured voltage value Vs, the measured current value Is, and the phase angle θs measured by the voltage current meter 53.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Kudo before them, to modify controlling of the converters based on operation conditions, to incorporate the output active power of the converters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for calculating gains for the control based on the active power error. (Kudo: [0045] “The subtracter 21 subtracts the output active power P from the active power reference value Pe. Based on the difference between the active power reference value Pe and the output active power P subtracted by the subtracter 21, the first-order lag controller 22 calculates the control amount for the first-order lag process. On the other hand, based on the difference between the active power reference value Pe and the output active power P subtracted by the subtracter 21, the proportional controller 25 calculates the control amount for the proportional control. After that, the control amount calculated by the first-order lag controller 22, the control amount calculated by the proportional controller 25, and the fundamental angular frequency ω0 are added by the adder 23 and converted into the phase angle reference value θm by the integrator 34.”)
Regarding claim 13, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 13.
Kudo teaches:
wherein the information received by the reception unit includes information about an amplitude and a phase of the output voltage of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Kudo: [0043] “The active power reference value Pe is input to the subtracter 21 of the phase controller 20. The active power reference value Pe is transmitted from the EMS 4. Further, the output active power P with respect to the electric power output from the power converter 1 is input to the subtracter 21. The output active power P is calculated by the controller 54 based on the measured voltage value Vs, the measured current value Is, and the phase angle θs measured by the voltage current meter 53.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Kudo before them, to modify controlling of the converters based on operation conditions, to incorporate the output active power of the converters using measured voltage and the measured phase angle.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for calculating gains for the control based on the active power error. (Kudo: [0045] “The subtracter 21 subtracts the output active power P from the active power reference value Pe. Based on the difference between the active power reference value Pe and the output active power P subtracted by the subtracter 21, the first-order lag controller 22 calculates the control amount for the first-order lag process. On the other hand, based on the difference between the active power reference value Pe and the output active power P subtracted by the subtracter 21, the proportional controller 25 calculates the control amount for the proportional control. After that, the control amount calculated by the first-order lag controller 22, the control amount calculated by the proportional controller 25, and the fundamental angular frequency ω0 are added by the adder 23 and converted into the phase angle reference value θm by the integrator 34.”)
Regarding claim 14, Rodriguez and Kudo teach all the claimed features of claims 1 and 13. Kudo further teaches:
wherein the information received by the reception circuit includes measurement values of the output voltage and an output current of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies, and the reception circuit calculates output active power of each of the plurality of distributed power supplies based on the measurement values. (Kudo: [0043] “The active power reference value Pe is input to the subtracter 21 of the phase controller 20. The active power reference value Pe is transmitted from the EMS 4. Further, the output active power P with respect to the electric power output from the power converter 1 is input to the subtracter 21. The output active power P is calculated by the controller 54 based on the measured voltage value Vs, the measured current value Is, and the phase angle θs measured by the voltage current meter 53.”)
The motivation to combine Rodriguez and Kudo as described in claim 13 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez further teaches:
A power system comprising: a power grid having a plurality of distributed power supplies connected thereto, output voltages of the plurality of distributed power supplies being controlled by virtual synchronous generator control that implements operation characteristics of a synchronous generator in a static power supply in a simulative manner; the distributed power supply integration management device as recited in claim 1. (Rodriguez: Abstract, Page 4 fourth and fifth paragraphs, Page 4 last paragraph that ends on Page 5, Page 6 first and second paragraphs, as discussed in claim 1)
Rodriguez does not expressly teach: a communication path formed between the distributed power supply integration management device and the plurality of distributed power supplies.
Kudo teaches:
a communication path formed between the distributed power supply integration management device and the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Kudo: FIG. 1) (Kudo: [0033] “The inverter-based power source 6 includes a power converter 1 described later. The inverter-based power sources 6a, 6b, and 6c include the power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c, respectively. The power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c are connected to the EMS 4 via a communication line 8. The power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c control an output active power P based on an active power reference value Pe commanded by the EMS 4.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Kudo before them, to modify controlling of the converters in coordination, to incorporate the communication line from the energy management system that coordinates the operation of the converters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the energy management system to communicate the control variables of the converters. (Kudo: [0033] “The inverter-based power source 6 includes a power converter 1 described later. The inverter-based power sources 6a, 6b, and 6c include the power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c, respectively. The power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c are connected to the EMS 4 via a communication line 8. The power converters 1a, 1b, and 1c control an output active power P based on an active power reference value Pe commanded by the EMS 4.”)
Regarding claim 20, Rodriguez and Kudo teach all the claimed features of claims 1 and 19. Rodriguez further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of distributed power supplies includes: a power conversion device operating as the static power supply to convert electric power from a power supply into AC power to be output to the power grid; and a control device to control the power conversion device to output an AC voltage in accordance with the virtual synchronous generator control. (Rodriguez: Page 4, seventh paragraph “To determine these powers, formulas (1) and (2) are used for power transfer between two synchronous sources of alternating voltage connected through an impedance of R and X values. [Image Omitted] In (1) and (2), X and R constitute the equivalent virtual impedance of Interconnection between the electromotive force of the added virtual synchronous generator: and the common coupling point with the electrical network. The X and R values can be adjusted to optimize the interaction of the plant with the network.”)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez, in view of Zhong (US 2018/0191281 A1) (“Zhong”).
Regarding claim 16, Rodriguez teaches all the claimed features of claim 1. Rodriguez does not expressly teach the recitations of claim 16.
Zhong teaches:
wherein the operation command transmitted by the transmission circuit includes an operation start command or an operation stop command for each of the plurality of distributed power supplies. (Zhong: [0034] “… according to the voltage difference between e.sub.gs, and the grid voltage u.sub.g. This virtual current replaces the current i.sub.gs when calculating the real power P.sub.g and reactive power Q.sub.g. The voltage e.sub.gs, can be sent out to the switches after PWM conversion after the synchronization is achieved, which avoids large inrush currents when enabling the PWM signals. Then the mode switches S.sub.1 and S.sub.2 can be turned to Position 1 to start normal operation.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Rodriguez and Zhong before them, to modify controlling of the converters in coordination, to incorporate mode switching or start/stop of the converter operation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the coordination to avoid large inrush currents by controlling the timing of the start operations of the converters. (Zhong: [0034] “… according to the voltage difference between e.sub.gs, and the grid voltage u.sub.g. This virtual current replaces the current i.sub.gs when calculating the real power P.sub.g and reactive power Q.sub.g. The voltage e.sub.gs, can be sent out to the switches after PWM conversion after the synchronization is achieved, which avoids large inrush currents when enabling the PWM signals. Then the mode switches S.sub.1 and S.sub.2 can be turned to Position 1 to start normal operation.”)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W CHOI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116