DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Ogino et al. (US 20050186972 A1, hereinafter Ogino)
Regarding Claim 1, Ogino teaches
An indoor base station location calibration method, comprising: determining a space for calibration according to an indoor map;
(Ogino [0018] FIG. 6 is a perspective view of a base station attached on a ceiling, with its signal unit being lit according to the embodiment of this invention. [0050] As described so far, the position setting system of this invention reads a plan of a building, a map, etc. into the computer 110, displays image information representing the space where the base station 140 is installed.)
determining a reference point of a base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration;
(Ogino [0050, line 4] sets the first reference position P0 on the image as a reference in that space.)
determining a relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point;
(Ogino [0051, line 4] the amounts of offset from the second reference position P1 to the actual position P2 of the base station 140 (relative coordinates from the second reference position P1) are measured and the measured results are entered into the position setting system.)
performing location calibration on the base station to be calibrated according to the relative distance.
(Ogino [0051, line 9] according to Equation 1 or 2, the coordinates of the position P2 of the base station 140 can be obtained from the scale ratio r of the image information and the coordinates of the second reference position P1 plus the amounts of offset.)
Regarding Claim 6 and as applied to Claim 1, Ogino teaches
wherein performing location calibration on the base station to be calibrated according to the relative distance comprises: acquiring coordinates of the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
determining coordinates of the base station to be calibrated according to the coordinates of the reference point and a relative location.
(Ogino [0051] in the vicinity of the position P2 where the base station 140 is actually installed, a position that can be measured from the base station 140 is set on the display unit 114 as the second reference position P1. Subsequently, the amounts of offset from the second reference position P1 to the actual position P2 of the base station 140 (relative coordinates from the second reference position P1) are measured and the measured results are entered into the position setting system. Then, according to Equation 1 or 2, the coordinates of the position P2 of the base station 140 can be obtained from the scale ratio r of the image information and the coordinates of the second reference position P1 plus the amounts of offset.)
Regarding Claim 9, Ogino teaches
An indoor base station location calibration apparatus, comprising: a first determination module, configured to determine a space for calibration according to an indoor map;
(Ogino [0018] FIG. 6 is a perspective view of a base station attached on a ceiling, with its signal unit being lit according to the embodiment of this invention. [0050] As described so far, the position setting system of this invention reads a plan of a building, a map, etc. into the computer 110, displays image information representing the space where the base station 140 is installed.)
a second determination module, configured to determine a reference point of a base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration;
(Ogino [0050, line 4] sets the first reference position P0 on the image as a reference in that space.)
a third determination module, configured to determine a relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point;
(Ogino [0051, line 4] the amounts of offset from the second reference position P1 to the actual position P2 of the base station 140 (relative coordinates from the second reference position P1) are measured and the measured results are entered into the position setting system.)
a calibration module, configured to perform location calibration on the base station to be calibrated according to the relative distance.
(Ogino [0051, line 9] according to Equation 1 or 2, the coordinates of the position P2 of the base station 140 can be obtained from the scale ratio r of the image information and the coordinates of the second reference position P1 plus the amounts of offset.)
Regarding Claim 10, Ogino teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored therein, wherein the computer program is configured to, when being executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method according to claim 1
(Ogino [0028, line 7] When maps and plans are presented as data files, the reader unit 120 can be means (e.g. an optical disk drive) for reading the medium storing the data files.)
Regarding Claim 11, Ogino teaches
(Currently Amended) An electronic apparatus, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program
(Ogino [0029] The computer 110 is connected also with display unit 114 for displaying image information and a database unit 130 for storing the position, address, etc. of the base station 140.)
the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement the the following steps:
(Ogino [0027] The computer 110 thus has a function as a server measuring the position of the wireless terminal 170 and a function of setting the position of the base station and registering the position in a predetermined database.
[0030] Also, the computer 110 includes an input/output controller 111 for displaying image information etc. on the display unit 114 on the basis of inputs from the input devices, a coordinate calculating unit 112 for, as will be described later, calculating the coordinates of the position of the base station 140.)
determining a space for calibration according to an indoor map;
(Ogino [0018] FIG. 6 is a perspective view of a base station attached on a ceiling, with its signal unit being lit according to the embodiment of this invention.
[0050] As described so far, the position setting system of this invention reads a plan of a building, a map, etc. into the computer 110, displays image information representing the space where the base station 140 is installed.)
determining a reference point of a base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration;
(Ogino [0050, line 4] sets the first reference position P0 on the image as a reference in that space.)
determining a relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point;
(Ogino [0051, line 4] the amounts of offset from the second reference position P1 to the actual position P2 of the base station 140 (relative coordinates from the second reference position P1) are measured and the measured results are entered into the position setting system.)
performing location calibration on the base station to be calibrated according to the relative distance.
(Ogino [0051, line 9] according to Equation 1 or 2, the coordinates of the position P2 of the base station 140 can be obtained from the scale ratio r of the image information and the coordinates of the second reference position P1 plus the amounts of offset.)
Regarding Claim 16 and as applied to Claim 11, Ogino teaches
wherein performing location calibration on the base station to be calibrated according to the relative distance comprises: acquiring coordinates of the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
determining coordinates of the base station to be calibrated according to the coordinates of the reference point and a relative location.
(Ogino [0051] in the vicinity of the position P2 where the base station 140 is actually installed, a position that can be measured from the base station 140 is set on the display unit 114 as the second reference position P1. Subsequently, the amounts of offset from the second reference position P1 to the actual position P2 of the base station 140 (relative coordinates from the second reference position P1) are measured and the measured results are entered into the position setting system. Then, according to Equation 1 or 2, the coordinates of the position P2 of the base station 140 can be obtained from the scale ratio r of the image information and the coordinates of the second reference position P1 plus the amounts of offset.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogino et al. (US 20050186972 A1, hereinafter Ogino) in view of SYRJÄRINNE et al. (US 20170332248 A1, hereinafter Syrjarinne)
Regarding Claim 2 Ogino teaches all of Claim 1 and further teaches
wherein determining the space for calibration according to the indoor map comprises: when the space for calibration is a line segment, determining a wall line with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map;
(Ogino [0052, line 7] when the base station 140 is installed near a corner of a wall as shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the second reference position (the second reference point in the drawing) P1 is set at the point where the wall corner meets the floor surface, on the display unit 114 of the computer 110.)
But Ogino does not specifically teach
when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane or three-dimensional space, determining a wall space with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map.
However, in a similar endeavor Syrjarinne specifically teaches
when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane or three-dimensional space, determining a wall space with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map.
(Syrjarinne [0023] The model of the predetermined environment may be a two-dimensional and/or a three-dimensional graphical model of the predetermined environment. The model may be true to scale. Data of such a model may accordingly represent a two-dimensional and/or a three-dimensional graphical model. Examples of a two-dimensional graphical model are a map, a floor plan, etc. Based on such a model of the predetermined environment positions and/or areas located within the predetermined environment may be determinable.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster and more flexible calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 3 Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of claim 2 and Ogino further teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises:when the space for calibration is the line segment, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to the line segment as the reference point;
or determining an end point of the line segment as the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
or determining a midpoint of the line segment as the reference point.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 4 Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of Claim 2 but Ogino does not specifically teach
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the two-dimensional plane, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to each plane in the two-dimensional plane as the reference point;
However, in a similar endeavor Syrjarinne specifically teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the two-dimensional plane, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to each plane in the two-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Syrjarinne [0033, line 8] the user may place a distance measurement sensor of the apparatus at the installation position of the installed radio positioning support device and initiate measuring the vertical distances and the horizontal distances from the at least one installed radio positioning support device to (fixed) objects and/or features (e.g. (a) wall(s), a ceiling and/or a floor) of the room.)
or determining an end point of an intersection line of the two-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining a midpoint of the intersection line of the two-dimensional plane as the reference point.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster and more flexible calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 5, Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of Claim 2 and Syrjarinne further teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the three-dimensional space, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to each plane in the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Syrjarinne [0127, line 19] If the model of the predetermined indoor environment is a three-dimensional model it may be necessary to also measure a vertical distance to describe (e.g. define) the installation position in this model.)
But Syrjarinne does not teach
determining an end point of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining a midpoint of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining an intersection point of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ogino teaches
determining an end point of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map when the space for calibration is a three-dimensional plane.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 7, Ogino teaches all of Claim 1 but Ogino does not specifically teach
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
However, in a similar endeavor, Syrjarinne specifically teaches
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
(Syrjarinne [0104] Processor 101 may further control an optional positioning sensor 106. The positioning sensor 106 may be configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. For example, the positioning sensor may be an optical distance measurement sensor such as a laser distance measurement sensor.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the two measurement devices in the reference. Examiner has elaborated Laser Sensor and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by using range finder or laser sensor.
Regarding Claim 8 and as applied to Claim 7, Ogino does not specifically teach
further comprising: inputting the relative distance to the indoor map.
However, in a similar endeavor Syrjarinne teaches
further comprising: inputting the relative distance to the indoor map.
(Syrjarinne [0122, line 6] In the following it is assumed that the two-dimensional graphical model of the predetermined indoor environment is a floor map.
[0127] For example, positioning sensor 106 is used for sensing (e.g. measuring) the installation position of beacon 200-1. As described above, positioning sensor 106 may be a distance measurement sensor configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. [0127, line 11] the two measured horizontal distances to (fixed) objects and/or features (e.g. a wall, a corner, a door opening, a window opening, etc.) of the predetermined indoor environment may be sufficient to describe (e.g. define) the installation position relative to the predetermined indoor environment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor and can input the measured distance into the indoor map.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by limiting calibration to a practical local geometry.
Regarding Claim 12 Ogino teaches all of Claim 11 and further teaches
wherein determining the space for calibration according to the indoor map comprises: when the space for calibration is a line segment, determining a wall line with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map;
(Ogino [0052, line 7] when the base station 140 is installed near a corner of a wall as shown in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the second reference position (the second reference point in the drawing) P1 is set at the point where the wall corner meets the floor surface, on the display unit 114 of the computer 110.)
But Ogino does not specifically teach
when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane or three-dimensional space, determining a wall space with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map.
However, in a similar endeavor Syrjarinne specifically teaches
when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane or three-dimensional space, determining a wall space with a shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated as the space for calibration according to the indoor map.
(Syrjarinne [0023] The model of the predetermined environment may be a two-dimensional and/or a three-dimensional graphical model of the predetermined environment. The model may be true to scale. Data of such a model may accordingly represent a two-dimensional and/or a three-dimensional graphical model. Examples of a two-dimensional graphical model are a map, a floor plan, etc. Based on such a model of the predetermined environment positions and/or areas located within the predetermined environment may be determinable.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster and more flexible calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 13 Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of claim 12 and Ogino further teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the line segment, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to the line segment as the reference point;
or determining an end point of the line segment as the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
or determining a midpoint of the line segment as the reference point.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Regarding Claim 14 Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of Claim 12 and Syrjarinne further teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the two-dimensional plane, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to each plane in the two-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Syrjarinne [0033, line 8] the user may place a distance measurement sensor of the apparatus at the installation position of the installed radio positioning support device and initiate measuring the vertical distances and the horizontal distances from the at least one installed radio positioning support device to (fixed) objects and/or features (e.g. (a) wall(s), a ceiling and/or a floor) of the room.)
or determining an end point of an intersection line of the two-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining a midpoint of the intersection line of the two-dimensional plane as the reference point.
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map when the space for calibration is a two-dimensional plane.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster and more flexible calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 15, Ogino and Syrjarinne teach all of Claim 12 and Syrjarinne further teaches
wherein determining the reference point of the base station to be calibrated in the space for calibration comprises: when the space for calibration is the three-dimensional space, determining a vertical line point of the base station to be calibrated relative to each plane in the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Syrjarinne [0127, line 19] If the model of the predetermined indoor environment is a three-dimensional model it may be necessary to also measure a vertical distance to describe (e.g. define) the installation position in this model.)
But Syrjarinne does not teach
determining an end point of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining a midpoint of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
or determining an intersection point of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point.
However, in a similar endeavor, Ogino teaches
determining an end point of each intersection line of the three-dimensional plane as the reference point;
(Ogino [0035] For instance, in FIG. 5B, the scale ratio of the displayed image information is set at 77 mm/pixel and a corner of the lower left pillar in the plan of the building is set as the first reference position P0 (the coordinate origin), where the coordinates of the first reference position P0 are set as (X1, Y1, Z1)=(0, 0, 0) [mm]. Note that Z1=0 [mm] represents the floor surface.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the three limitations in the reference. Examiner has elaborated one and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to identify the shortest distance from the base station to be calibrated according to the indoor map when the space for calibration is a three-dimensional plane.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates.
Regarding Claim 17, Ogino teaches all of Claim 11 but does not specifically teach
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
However, in a similar endeavor, Syrjarinne specifically teaches
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
(Syrjarinne [0104] Processor 101 may further control an optional positioning sensor 106. The positioning sensor 106 may be configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. For example, the positioning sensor may be an optical distance measurement sensor such as a laser distance measurement sensor.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the two measurement devices in the reference. Examiner has elaborated Laser Sensor and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by using range finder or laser sensor.
Regarding Claim 18 and as applied to Claim 17, Ogino does not specifically teach
further comprising: inputting the relative distance to the indoor map.
However, in a similar endeavor Syrjarinne teaches
further comprising: inputting the relative distance to the indoor map.
(Syrjarinne [0122, line 6] In the following it is assumed that the two-dimensional graphical model of the predetermined indoor environment is a floor map.
[0127] For example, positioning sensor 106 is used for sensing (e.g. measuring) the installation position of beacon 200-1. As described above, positioning sensor 106 may be a distance measurement sensor configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. [0127, line 11] the two measured horizontal distances to (fixed) objects and/or features (e.g. a wall, a corner, a door opening, a window opening, etc.) of the predetermined indoor environment may be sufficient to describe (e.g. define) the installation position relative to the predetermined indoor environment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor and can input the measured distance into the indoor map.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by limiting calibration to a practical local geometry.
Regarding Claim 19, Ogino and Sirjarinne teach all of Claim 2 and but Ogino does not specifically teach
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
However, Syrjarinne specifically teaches
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
(Syrjarinne [0104] Processor 101 may further control an optional positioning sensor 106. The positioning sensor 106 may be configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. For example, the positioning sensor may be an optical distance measurement sensor such as a laser distance measurement sensor.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the two measurement devices in the reference. Examiner has elaborated Laser Sensor and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by using range finder or laser sensor.
Regarding Claim 20, Ogino teaches claim 3 but Ogino does not specifically teach
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
However, Syrjarinne specifically teaches
wherein determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point comprises: determining the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point by a range finder or a laser sensor.
(Syrjarinne [0104] Processor 101 may further control an optional positioning sensor 106. The positioning sensor 106 may be configured to fully-automatically measure horizontal distances in at least two orthogonal directions to (fixed) objects and/or features next to the positioning sensor. For example, the positioning sensor may be an optical distance measurement sensor such as a laser distance measurement sensor.)
(Note: Claim language requires examiner to find one of the two measurement devices in the reference. Examiner has elaborated Laser Sensor and that is considered to be sufficient.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ogino and by incorporating Syrjarinne to be able to measure the relative distance between the base station to be calibrated and the reference point with the help of a range finder or laser sensor.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the system to have a faster, more flexible and efficient calibration of base station coordinates by using range finder or laser sensor.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644