Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7, 10-23 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mofidi US 20200187127-A1 in view of Kumar US 20220149880-A1.
Regarding claim 19. Mofidi teaches an apparatus (fig 2) for signal transmission, comprising: a memory (206); and a processor (202) coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to: cause a transceiver (source device 102) to output a first signal (0093) from a transmit chain in a first state (near the body of a user), determine (0013) that a power associated with the first signal violates a spectral mask (ACP standard), and cause the transceiver to output (decrease) a second signal from the transmit chain. Mofidi fails to teach a first and second state. the second state being different from the first state. However, Kumar teaches an exposure manager 413, for detecting and changing the power levels (0106) if the wireless device is close to the ear of the user (first state) or away in a hands-free mode (second state) for spectral efficiency (0116). It would have been obvious, before the effective date, to use Kumar’s teachings in Mofidi in order to conserve power and protect the user.
4. Method claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as apparatus claim 19 since the recited elements would perform the claimed steps.
5. Regarding claim 2. Mofidi teaches (0071) outputting a third signal (retransmission) from the transmit chain in the first state; determining that a power associated with the third signal satisfies (does not violate) the spectral mask; and (continued retransmission) outputting a fourth signal from the transmit chain in the first state in response to the determination of the power associated with the third signal satisfying the spectral mask.
6. Claims 16 and 30 are analyzed the same as claim 3 except it teaches retransmitting at a decreased level if the spectral mask is violated.
7. Regarding claims 3 and 20. Mofidi teaches (0013) obtaining one or more measurements associated with the first signal while outputting the first signal from the transmit chain in the first state, wherein determining that the power associated with the first signal violates the spectral mask (ACP standard) comprises determining that the power associated with the first signal violates (decrease based on threshold) the spectral mask based at least in part on the one or more measurements associated with the first signal.
8. Regarding claim 4. Mofidi teaches (0012) wherein the one or more measurements are in terms of a transmit power control metric or a decibel relative to a peak spectral power of the first signal (ACP standard in (0013).
9. Regarding claims 5 and 21. Mofidi teaches (0015) obtaining the one or more measurements associated with the first signal comprises obtaining the one or more measurements associated with the first signal via a feedback path (reflected) coupling an output of the transmit chain to a receive chain.
10. Regarding claims 6 and 22. Kumar teaches outputting the second signal from the transmit chain in the second state comprises outputting the second signal from the transmit chain in the second state based at least in part on information (near the ear or handsfree in 0052) associated with the second state.
11. Regarding claims 7 and 23. The combination of Mofidi and Kumar teaches the information associated with the second state (hands free) comprises sets of one or more gains (Kumar exposure manager 413) associated with the transmit chain; and each of the sets of one or more gains (Mofidi 0059) is associated with an output power of the transmit chain.
12. Regarding claims 10 and 26. The combination Mofidi and Kumar teaches wherein the information associated with the second state comprises a look-up table of gains (0085 in Mofidi) associated with different components (headset or wireless speaker in Kumar) in the transmit chain.
13. Regarding claim 11. The combination Mofidi and Kumar teach wherein the information associated with the second state (handsfree in Kumar) comprises sets of one or more gains (0085 in Mofidi) associated with the transmit chain, and each of the sets of one or more gains corresponds to a frequency channel (reads on the used channel).
Regarding claim 12. The combination Mofidi and Kumar teach wherein the information associated with the second state comprises sets of one or more gains associated with the transmit chain across multiple frequency channels (reads of frequency offsets in 0067 in Mofidi).
14. Regarding claims 13, 14, 27 and 28. Mofidi teaches (0061) wherein the spectral mask is specified for wireless communications a wireless local area network (BLE) and includes one or more maximum transmit powers across a frequency spectrum (inherent by definition of the spectral mask with respect to government standards).
15. Regarding claims 15 and 29. The combination teaches (Mofidi at 0013), further comprising: obtaining one or more measurements associated with the first signal while outputting the first signal from the transmit chain in a plurality of states (near the ear or handsfree in Kumar), wherein determining that the power associated with the first signal violates the spectral mask (ACP standard) comprises determining, for each of the plurality of states or, whether the power associated with the first signal violates (decrease based on threshold) the spectral mask.
16. Regarding claim 17. Mofidi teaches (retransmission in 0080) wherein determining that the power associated with the third signal violates the spectral mask comprises determining that the power associated with the third signal violates the spectral mask in response to one or more criteria being satisfied (reads on conditions in 0073).
17. Regarding claim 18. Mofidi teaches (0080) wherein the one or more criteria (conditions) are satisfied when an event (reads on ACP standard 0013)) is detected.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 8, 9, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 24. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein the information associated with the second state comprises a first set of one or more gains associated with the transmit chain and a second set of one or more gains associated with the transmit chain; the first set of one or more gains corresponds to a first output power of the transmit chain; and the second set of one or more gains corresponds to a second output power of the transmit chain.
Regarding claims 9 and 25. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein: each of the sets of one or more gains comprises a plurality of gains, and each of the plurality of gains is associated with a different component in the transmit chain; and outputting the second signal from the transmit chain in the second state comprises applying, to a respective component in the transmit chain, each of the plurality of gains in one of the sets of one or more gains corresponding to the second state.
20. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xia et al US 8879665 B2 teaches controlling the supply voltage provided to a power amplifier (PA) in a radio frequency (RF) transmitter based on measured output spectrum emissions are provided. In an embodiment, the PA supply voltage is adjusted such that spectrum emission limits are satisfied with predetermined margins. In another embodiment, the predetermined margins are reduced to lower power consumption of the PA.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646