DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Peng et al. (US 20200213044) [R1] or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Peng et al. (US 20200213044) [R1].
For claim 1, R1 discloses at least one memory (paragraphs 40-42, 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702, particularly 40-42, 187); and the at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (paragraphs 40-42, 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702, particularly 40-42, 187): receive, from a base station (BS), a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on one or more carriers associated with the UE, wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); divide, based on a presence and value of a first indicator in each DCI format, the plurality of DCI formats into two sets, wherein a first set of the two sets comprises all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and a second set of the two sets comprises all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats, wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) of the first type DCI formats are counted separately from those of the second type DCI formats codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ- ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, S701,702); and transmit, to the BS, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook codebook (paras 86-226, Fig 4-18, S701,702). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge. The technical reasoning to combine would be for more efficient transmissions, to use a standard method of transmission increasing marketability, and design choice.
For claims 2 and 17, R1 discloses the first indicator indicates whether code block group (CBG)-based HARQ-ACK feedback is enabled or disabled (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702, see particularly 88).
For claims 3 and 18, R1 discloses the first type DCI format is from a group including one or more of the following: a fallback DCI format; a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier not configured with a CBG-based (re)transmission; a non-fallback DCI format without presence of the first indicator; or a non-fallback DCI format with the first indicator indicating a disabled CBG- based (re)transmission; and wherein the second type DCI format is a non-fallback DCI format with the first indicator indicating an enabled CBG-based (re)transmission (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 4, R1 discloses the second HARQ- ACK sub-codebook comprises CBG-based HARQ-ACK information bits with every M consecutive bits corresponding to a respective DCI format in the second set, and M is a maximum number of CBGs per transport block (TB); or wherein the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises a first part comprising TB-based HARQ-ACK feedback for TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set, and a second part comprising one of the following: CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for a first TB among TB(s) scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE; or CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for first Z TBs among TB(s) scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE, wherein a value of Z is configured by the BS or is indicated by at least one of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 5, R1 discloses the second HARQ- ACK sub-codebook comprises: a first part comprising transport block (TB)-based HARQ-ACK feedback for TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, S701,702); and a second part comprising CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE, wherein each bit of the second part corresponds to CBGs with a same CBG index among the one or more TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18,S701,702).
For claim 6, R1 discloses to generate the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: generate CBG-level HARQ-ACK information bits for the one or more TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE; perform HARQ-ACK bundling among the generated CBG-level HARQ- ACK information bits associated with the same CBG index to obtain a bundled bit; and in response to a number of bundled bits being smaller than a maximum number of CBGs per TB, perform HARQ-ACK padding to align the number of bundled bits with the maximum number of CBGs per TB (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 7, R1 discloses the second HARQ- ACK sub-codebook comprises: a first part comprising transport block (TB)-based HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more TBs scheduled by the DCI formats in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and a second part comprising at least one bit field, wherein each of the at least one bit field corresponds to a respective TB of the one or more TBs scheduled by the DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 8, R1 discloses to generate the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to generate a bit field by: generating CBG-level HARQ-ACK information bits for the respective TB (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and in response to the generated CBG-level HARQ-ACK information bits being greater than a number of bits for a bit field, performing HARQ-ACK bundling to align the generated CBG-level HARQ-ACK information bits with the number of bits for the bit field (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 9, R1 discloses a number of bits for the bit field is based on a maximum number of CBGs per transport block (TB) and a number of TBs scheduled by the DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 10, R1 discloses the first indicator indicates a number of code block groups (CBGs) or a number of HARQ-ACK information bits for a TB scheduled by a corresponding DCI (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 11, R1 discloses the first type DCI format is from a group including one or more of the following: a fallback DCI format; a non-fallback DCI format transmitted on a carrier not configured with a CBG-based (re)transmission; a non-fallback DCI format without a presence of the first indicator; or a non-fallback DCI format with the first indicator indicating a single CBG per scheduled TB or a single HARQ-ACK information bit per scheduled TB; and wherein the second type DCI format is a non-fallback DCI format with the first indicator indicating two or more CBGs per scheduled TB or two or more HARQ-ACK information bits per scheduled TB (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 12, R1 discloses each second type DCI format in the second set corresponds to a unified number of HARQ-ACK information bits in the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 13, R1 discloses each HARQ-ACK information bit in the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to a respective DCI format in the first set, and every unified number of consecutive HARQ-ACK information bits in the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to a respective DCI format in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 14, R1 discloses at least one memory(paragraphs 40-42, 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and a processor coupled to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to (paragraphs 40-42, 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702): transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on one or more carriers associated with the UE, wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and receive, from the UE, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, wherein (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702): wherein the plurality of DCI formats is divided into two sets based on a presence and value of a first indicator in each DCI format, wherein a first set of the two sets comprises all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and a second set of the two sets comprises all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats, and wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) of the first type DCI formats are counted separately from those of the second type DCI formats (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); wherein the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and wherein the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises HARQ- ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge. The technical reasoning to combine would be for more efficient transmissions, to use a standard method of transmission increasing marketability, and design choice.
For claim 15, R1 discloses receiving, from a base station (BS), a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on one or more carriers associated with the UE, wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); dividing, based on a presence and value of a first indicator in each DCI format, the plurality of DCI formats into two sets, wherein a first set of the two sets comprises all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and a second set of the two sets comprises all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats, wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) of the first type DCI formats are counted separately from those of the second type DCI formats (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generating a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generating a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and transmitting, to the BS, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge. The technical reasoning to combine would be for more efficient transmissions, to use a standard method of transmission increasing marketability, and design choice.
For claim 16, R1 discloses at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (paragraphs 40-42, 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702): receive, from a base station (BS), a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on one or more carriers associated with the UE, wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); divide, based on a presence and value of a first indicator in each DCI format, the plurality of DCI formats into two sets, wherein a first set of the two sets comprises all first type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats and a second set of the two sets comprises all second type DCI formats of the plurality of DCI formats, wherein downlink assignment indicators (DAIs) of the first type DCI formats are counted separately from those of the second type DCI formats (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generate a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information bits for DCI formats in the first set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the first set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprising HARQ- ACK information bits for DCI formats in the second set according to the DAIs of the DCI formats in the second set (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702); and transmit, to the BS, the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use wherein the plurality of DCI formats indicates a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge. The technical reasoning to combine would be for more efficient transmissions, to use a standard method of transmission increasing marketability, and design choice.
For claim 19, R1 discloses the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises CBG-based HARQ-ACK information bits with every M consecutive bits corresponding to a respective DCI format in the second set, and M is a maximum number of CBGs per transport block (TB); or wherein the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises a first part comprising TB-based HARQ-ACK feedback for TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set, and a second part comprising one of: CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for a first TB among TB(s) scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE; or CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for first Z TBs among TB(s) scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE, wherein a value of Z is configured by the BS or is indicated by at least one of the plurality of DCI formats (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
For claim 20, R1 discloses the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook comprises: a first part comprising transport block (TB)-based HARQ-ACK feedback for TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set; and a second part comprising CBG-based HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE, wherein each bit of the second part corresponds to CBGs with a same CBG index among the one or more TBs scheduled by DCI formats in the second set and incorrectly decoded by the UE (paragraphs 86-226, Fig 4-18, steps S701,702).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Papasakellariou (US 2018/0019843) discloses a plurality of DCI formats indicating a same slot for transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463