This action is in response to the application filed on October 07, 2024
Claims 1- 20 is/are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024 and 11/10/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PURKAYASTHA et al (USP: 2022/0116840 A1).
As per Claim 1 PURKAYASTHA teaches a first base station, comprising:
at least one memory (Paragraph 0195 See Fig. 13 a memory 1305 ); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first base station to (Paragraph 0196 the processor 1304 in cooperation with the transceiver 1310 ):
transmit, to a second base station, a first request message, wherein the first request message indicates to prepare an enhanced conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) for a user equipment (UE) and the enhanced CPC is associated with a candidate primary cell of a secondary cell group (SCG) of a third base station (Paragraph 0007, 0009 a secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and an associated set of information for a target primary secondary cell (PSCell) identified for a user equipment, modify a master cell group (MCG) configuration for the target PSCell based on the associated set of information, and output, via the interface, for transmission to the user equipment, a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration including the MCG configuration and the SCG configuration for the target PSCell or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration including the MCG configuration and the SCG configuration for the target PSCell. ); and
receive, from the second base station, a first acknowledge message in response to the first request message (Paragraph 0010, 0292 Request Acknowledge message that includes an identifier of a target primary secondary cell (PSCell), and outputting, for transmission to a user equipment, a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) configuration generated based on the identifier. T he SN Addition Request Acknowledge message includes at least one other identifier of at least one other target PSCell; the method further comprises obtaining at least one other CPA execution condition using the at least one other identifier of the at least one other target PSCell ) .
As per Claim 2 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 1, wherein the third base station is the second base station or a base station different from the second base station (Paragraph 0042, 0055 includes a plurality of base stations, the base stations may be an LTE base station, while another base station may be a 5G NR base station. a first cell of a first base station (BS) such as a gNB and/or access a second cell of a second base station. ).
As per Claim 3 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 1, wherein the first request message further indicates at least one of the following: a maximum number of enhanced CPCs configurable by the third base station; a first estimated probability of the UE accessing the second base station; a second estimated probability of the UE switching from the second base station to the third base station; or a third estimated probability of the UE accessing the third base station (Paragraph 0055 the MN may generate a CPA configuration or a CPC configuration based on the received information and send the configuration to a user equipment (UE). A third base station, base station 214 is shown controlling a remote radio head (RRH) 216 in cell 206. ).
As per Claim 4 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 1, wherein the enhanced CPC is performed after a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) or a CPC for the UE is performed and an execution condition of the enhanced CPC is met, and the CPA or CPC is associated with a target primary cell of an SCG of the second base station; and wherein the first request message is a request message for the CPA or CPC, or the first request message is specific for the enhanced CPC (Paragraph 0034, 0036 examples, the MN sends an SN addition request message for a conditional PSCell change (CPC) to one or more candidate target SNs. In some examples, a source SN sends an SN change required message for a CPC to the MN and, in response, the MN sends an SN addition request message to one or more candidate target SNs. In any of these cases, each candidate target PSCell may acknowledge the addition request with information to be used for the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration. In some examples, this information may indicate an execution condition for each candidate target PSCell and/or may indicate the radio bearers that each candidate target PSCell supports. The MN may generate a CPA configuration or a CPC configuration based on the received information and send the configuration to a user equipment (UE). This configuration may identify at least one candidate target PSCell and an execution condition for each candidate target PSCell in some examples. ).
As per Claim 5 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 1, wherein the first acknowledge message comprises: at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC for the UE and a configuration of a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) for the UE, or the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC for the UE and a configuration of a CPC for the UE; or the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC for the UE; and wherein each of the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC comprises a cell group (CG) configuration based on a reference cell (Paragraph 0036, 0038 the MN may generate a CPA configuration or a CPC configuration based on the received information and send the configuration to a user equipment (UE). This configuration may identify at least one candidate target PSCell and an execution condition for each candidate target PSCell in some examples. The MN may then transmit a CPA or CPC configuration to a UE. Here, the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration for a given target PSCell may include the modified MCG configuration and the SCG configuration for that target PSCell.).
As per Claim 6 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first base station to transmit, to the UE, a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises an indication indicating that the enhanced CPC is contained in the first RRC reconfiguration message (Paragraph 0089, 0099 The NR resource assignment is then signaled to the UE via an LTE radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration message. Once the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure is complete, the UE simultaneously connects to the LTE and NR networks. In EN-DC, a secondary cell group addition is performed using an RRC procedure. For example, an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be used to add, modify, or release a secondary cell group based on NR measurements performed by the UE. The PCell 502 may be referred to as the anchor cell that provides a radio resource control (RRC) connection to the UE 510. In some examples, the PCell and the SCell may be co-located (e.g., different TRPs at the same location). The UE 510 may correspond to any of the UEs or scheduled entities shown in any of FIGS. 1, 2, 4, and 6-12. ).
As per Claim 7 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 6, wherein the first RRC reconfiguration message comprises the configuration of the CPA or the configuration of the CPC and a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC (Paragraph 0112, 0119 FIG. 7, as shown by operation 710, the UE 701 may provide a measurement report (e.g., an RRC measurement report) to the MN 702. In some aspects, the measurement report may include a result of a measurement associated with the source PSCell of the UE 701 and/or results of measurements associated with a group of candidate target PSCells. The UE 701 may transmit to the MN 702 a reconfiguration complete message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration complete message) indicating that the UE 701 has determined that the condition for the conditional PSCell addition has been satisfied for the candidate target PSCell. In some aspects, the message includes information that identifies the candidate target PSCell (T-PSCell1 in this example) for which the UE 701 has determined the condition to be satisfied. ).
As per Claim 8 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first base station to transmit, to the UE, a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message; and wherein the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC is included in a conditional reconfiguration information element (IE) in the first RRC reconfiguration message, or wherein the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC is included in an IE specific for enhanced CPC in the first RRC reconfiguration message (Paragraph 0116, 0117 transmit a reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 701. As shown, in some aspects, the reconfiguration message may include configuration information associated with the conditional PSCell addition. The configuration information may include, for example, information associated with each of the set of candidate target PSCells. As further shown, the reconfiguration message may include information indicating a condition for each candidate target PSCell that, if satisfied, is to cause the UE 701 to execute the conditional PSCell addition. After the UE 701 receives the reconfiguration message, the UE 701 may provide a reconfiguration complete message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration complete message) to the MN 702.).
As per Claim 9 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 8, wherein in the case that the at least one configuration of the enhanced CPC is included in the IE specific for enhanced CPC, an enhanced CPC and a CPC are not configured at the same time (Paragraph 0124, 0127 PSCell change (CPC) where the source SN may include CPC execution condition information in the SN Change Required message sent to the MN. For example, for each target SN in the cell group configuration (CG-Config), the source SN may send the CPC execution condition for each candidate target PSCell. In some examples, the CPC execution condition involves comparing a source cell and neighbor cell signal strengths measured by a UE).
As per Claim 10 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 5, wherein the reference cell is a cell of the second base station (Paragraph 0217, 0226 For example, the PSCell configuration control circuitry 1343 together with the communication and processing circuitry 1341 and the transceiver 1310, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 13, may provide a means to obtain, from a target secondary node (SN), a secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and an associated set of information for a target primary secondary cell (PSCell) identified for a user equipment. In some examples, the base station is an MN of a multi radio access technology (multi-RAT)-dual connectivity (MR-DC) system for serving user equipment. ).
As per Claim 11 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 1, wherein the first acknowledge message comprises a message rejecting the preparation of the enhanced CPC from the third base station (Paragraph 0126, 0240,The disclosure also relates in some aspects to an SN-initiated conditional PSCell change (CPC) where a target SN may include, in an SN Addition Request Acknowledge, a CPC configuration that includes the CPC execution conditions for each target PSCell. transmitting a third message including an indication of the at least one SN terminated RB.).
As per Claim 12 PURKAYASTHA teaches the first base station of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to: receive, from the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has performed the CPA or CPC; and transmit a message to the third base station in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration complete message, wherein the message indicates an estimated probability of the UE accessing the third base station (Paragraph 0136, 0136 a measurement report (e.g., an RRC measurement report). In some aspects, the measurement report may include a result of a measurement associated with the source PSCell of the UE 801 and results of measurements associated with a group of candidate target PSCells. Here, the group of candidate target PSCells includes one or more candidate target PSCells configured on the UE 801 (e.g., at an earlier time). ).
Claims 13-20 Base station claims corresponding to a Base station claims 1-12 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-12. Claims 13-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-12.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463