DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the preliminary amendments filed 10/07/2024. Claims 1-18 and 23-24 are pending. Claims 19-22 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024, 07/28/2025, and 01/14/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. CN 202210357046.3, filed on 04/06/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 14-15, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: lack of terminology consistency
Claim 1, line 2, recites “an SRv6 network and a non-IP network” and should be changed to -- an Segment Routing version 6 (SRv6) network and a non-IP network --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 1, line 3, recites “SRv6 packet;” and should be changed to -- SRv6 packet; and--.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 1, line 4, recites “of an SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet” and should be changed to -- of an SRv6 Segment Identifier (SID) of the received SRv6 packet --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 3, line 2, recites “to a behavior indication of an SRv6 SID” and should be changed to -- to [[a]]the behavior indication of [[an]]the SRv6 SID --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 3, line 3, recites “determining a non-IP channel” and should be changed to -- determining [[a]]the non-IP channel --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 3, line 5, recites “to the non-IP channel” and should be changed to -- to the determined non-IP channel --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 4, line 1, recites “the determining a non-IP channel” and should be changed to -- the determining [[a]]the non-IP channel --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 4, line 4, recites “the channel type and the channel identifier” and should be changed to -- the extracted channel type and the extracted channel identifier --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 7, line 3, recites “the non-IP channel” and should be changed to -- the determined non-IP channel --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 8, line 2, recites “an optical link WDM/PON of an l0” and should be changed to -- an optical link Wavelength Division Multiplexing/Passive Optical Network (WDM/PON) of an L0--.
Claim 9, line 4, recites “sending the SRv6 packet” and should be changed to -- sending the generated SRv6 packet --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 10, line 1, recites “wherein the generating an SRv6 message including an SRv6 SID” and should be changed to -- wherein the generating [[an]]the SRv6 packet the SRv6 SID--.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 10, line 6, recites “according to the SID list” and should be changed to -- according to the generated SID list --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 12, line 1, recites “wherein the acquiring SID list information carrying new SID behavior indication information sent by a controller” and should be changed to -- wherein the acquiring the SID list information carrying the new SID behavior indication information sent by [[a]]the controller --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 12, line 3, recites “wherein the message” and should be changed to -- wherein the acquired message --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Claim 15, line 4, recites “forward the SRv6 packet” and should be changed to -- forward the received SRv6 packet --.
Similar changes are suggested for subsequent claims.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a receiving module, configured to receive…” in claim 15, line 3.
“a forwarding module, configured to forward…” in claim 15, line 4.
“a determining sub-module, configured to determine…” in claim 17, line 2.
“a forwarding sub-module, configured to map…” in claim 17, line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 15, the claim limitations noted in the Claim Interpretation above invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the functions. “Module” is a non-structural term, and the Specification does not clearly link the claimed “receiving module”, “forwarding module”, “determining sub-module”, or “forwarding sub-module” to any intended structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 16-18 are rejected as depending from claim 15 and under the same rationale.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14, line 1, recite “the SID list”, which leads to a lack of clear antecedent basis. Examiner notes that the SID list was not previously defined.
Claim 14, line 1, recite “the SID of the new SID behavior indication information”, which leads to a lack of clear antecedent basis. Examiner notes that the SID and the new SID behavior indication information were not previously defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ye et al. (2014/0082088, hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for forwarding a packet, which is performed by a domain boundary node (Zhang discloses that the edge device may also become a gateway device (domain boundary node) of each target transmission subnet) (Zhang, para. 243) between an SRv6 network (Zhang discloses that the SRv6 tunnel defined in an SRv6 mode, a traceroute function in common IPv6 may be used to detect a path of the SRv6 tunnel) (Zhang, para. 157) and a non-IP network (Zhang discloses that the SRv6 technology that implements a packet forwarding control manner such as a border gateway protocol (BGP), SR-based layer 3 VPN service (SR L3VPN), an Ethernet VPN-based layer 2 VPN service (non-IP network), or a service function chain (SFC)) (Zhang, para. 181), the method comprising:
receiving an SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the node receives an SRv6 packet and an active SID in a SID list carried in a packet header of the SRv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 162);
forwarding the SRv6 packet according to a behavior indication of an SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the node needs to forward the SRv6 packet based on the destination node indicated (behavior indication) by the active SID (SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet)) (Zhang, para. 162).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, the SRv6 SID defines new behavior indication information, where the new behavior indication information indicates a mapping between the SRv6 SID and a non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the forwarding the SRv6 packet according to a behavior indication of an SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet comprises:
determining a non-IP channel according to the behavior indication of the SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the head node encapsulate the inner packet header including the SID of the target node of the target node and encapsulate the outer packet header including in the first SID list to generate (determine) a to-be-forwarded packet to be sent to the intermediate node (non-IP channel)) (Zhang, para. 88);
mapping the SRv6 packet to the non-IP channel for forwarding (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining a non-IP channel according to the behavior indication of the SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet comprises:
extracting a channel type (Zhang discloses that the argument field (channel type) is a parameter to be used to specify a parameter for an operation related to the function) (Zhang, para. 156) and a channel identifier from the SRv6 SID (Zhang discloses that the identifier of a node may be represented by a SID) (Zhang, para. 154);
determining the non-IP channel according to the channel type and the channel identifier (Zhang discloses that the SRH defines (determines the non-IP channel) to be used to carry a SID list, to specify a forwarding path of the IPv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 158).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining a non-IP channel according to the behavior indication of the SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet comprises:
extracting a channel identifier from the SRv6 SID (Zhang discloses that the identifier of a node may be represented by a SID) (Zhang, para. 154);
determining the non-IP channel according to the channel identifier (Zhang discloses that the SRH defines (determines the non-IP channel) to be used to carry a SID list, to specify a forwarding path of the IPv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 158).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining a non-IP channel according to the behavior indication of the SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet comprises:
determining the non-IP channel according to a mapping relationship between the SRv6 SID locally stored and the non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the step that matches (determines) the active SID and the local SID table (non-IP channel) may perform the operation corresponding to the SID, or process the indicated function field and argument field of the active SID) (Zhang, para. 200).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving the mapping relation, which is sent by the controller, between the SRv6 SID and the non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the node receives an SRv6 packet and an active SID in a SID list carried in the packet header of the SRv6 packet is a SID of the node, where the node needs to identify the SID, new active SID, next SID, etc.) (Zhang, para. 164);
storing the mapping relation between the SRv6 SID and the non-IP channel locally (Zhang discloses that the endpoint node is a node on which the SRv6 function has been enables, and the active SID is an SRv6 packet that has been installed in the local SID table on the node) (Zhang, para. 164).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the non-IP channel comprises at least one of the following: an optical link WDM/PON of an L0, a wireless link (Zhang, para. 424), a space link, an L1 tunnel, and an L2 link.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses a method for forwarding a packet, which is performed by a head node, the method comprising:
generating an SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the head node encapsulate the packet header to generate a to-be-forwarded packet to be sent to the intermediate node based on the destination address) (Zhang, para. 116) including an SRv6 SID (Zhang discloses that the head node encapsulate the packet header to generate a to-be-forwarded packet to be sent to the intermediate node based on the destination address) (Zhang, para. 116);
sending the SRv6 packet, wherein the SRv6 SID is used for indicating a mapping between the SRv6 SID and a non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the SRv6 packet is received (was sent by another node) based on an active SID in a SID list carried in the packet header of the SRv6 packet is a SID of the node, where the node needs to identify the SID, new active SID, next SID, etc.) (Zhang, para. 164).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the generating an SRv6 message including an SRv6 SID comprises:
acquiring SID list information carrying new SID behavior indication information sent by a controller (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71);
generating a SID list containing the new SID behavior indication information (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71);
generating the SRv6 packet including the SRv6 SID according to the SID list, wherein the SRv6 SID defines the new SID behavior indication information (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the new SID behavior indication information is used for indicating the mapping between the SRv6 SID and the non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list (mapping) is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the acquiring SID list information carrying new SID behavior indication information sent by a controller comprises: acquiring a message sent by the controller through an extension protocol, wherein the message carries the new SID behavior indication information, and the extension protocol is a protocol based on a routing protocol.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein, the extended protocol being a PCEP protocol, and/or a BGP protocol (Zhang, para. 181).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein at least one SID in the SID list is the SID of the new SID behavior indication information (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses an apparatus for forwarding a packet, which is located at a domain boundary node (Zhang discloses that the edge device may also become a gateway device (domain boundary node) of each target transmission subnet) (Zhang, para. 243) between an SRv6 network (Zhang discloses that the SRv6 tunnel defined in an SRv6 mode, a traceroute function in common IPv6 may be used to detect a path of the SRv6 tunnel) (Zhang, para. 157) and a non-IP network (Zhang discloses that the SRv6 technology that implements a packet forwarding control manner such as a border gateway protocol (BGP), SR-based layer 3 VPN service (SR L3VPN), an Ethernet VPN-based layer 2 VPN service (non-IP network), or a service function chain (SFC)) (Zhang, para. 181), the apparatus comprising:
a receiving module, configured to receive an SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the node receives an SRv6 packet and an active SID in a SID list carried in a packet header of the SRv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 162);
a forwarding module, configured to forward the SRv6 packet according to a behavior indication of an SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the node needs to forward the SRv6 packet based on the destination node indicated (behavior indication) by the active SID (SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet)) (Zhang, para. 162).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein, the SRv6 SID defines new behavior indication information, where the new behavior indication information indicates a mapping between the SRv6 SID and a non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the forwarding module comprises:
a determining sub-module, configured to determine a non-IP channel according to the behavior indication of the SRv6 SID of the SRv6 packet (Zhang discloses that the head node encapsulate the inner packet header including the SID of the target node of the target node and encapsulate the outer packet header including in the first SID list to generate (determine) a to-be-forwarded packet to be sent to the intermediate node (non-IP channel)) (Zhang, para. 88);
a forwarding sub-module, configured to map the SRv6 packet to the non-IP channel for forwarding (Zhang discloses that the target forwarding path includes M nodes, the second SID list is generated (new behavior indication information) based on SIDs (SRv6 SID) of the Zth node to an Mth node in the M nodes, the second SID list is obtained by replacing a first SID list) (Zhang, para. 71).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 17, wherein
the determining sub-module is further configured to extract a channel type (Zhang discloses that the argument field (channel type) is a parameter to be used to specify a parameter for an operation related to the function) (Zhang, para. 156) and a channel identifier from the SRv6 SID (Zhang discloses that the identifier of a node may be represented by a SID) (Zhang, para. 154); determine the non-IP channel according to the channel type and the channel identifier (Zhang discloses that the SRH defines (determines the non-IP channel) to be used to carry a SID list, to specify a forwarding path of the IPv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 158); or
the determining sub-module is further configured to extract a channel identifier from the SRv6 SID (Zhang discloses that the identifier of a node may be represented by a SID) (Zhang, para. 154); determine the non-IP channel according to the channel identifier (Zhang discloses that the SRH defines (determines the non-IP channel) to be used to carry a SID list, to specify a forwarding path of the IPv6 packet) (Zhang, para. 158); or
the determining sub-module is further configured to determine the non-IP channel according to a mapping relationship between the SRv6 SID locally stored and the non-IP channel (Zhang discloses that the step that matches (determines) the active SID and the local SID table (non-IP channel) may perform the operation corresponding to the SID, or process the indicated function field and argument field of the active SID) (Zhang, para. 200).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Zhang, para. 409), wherein the storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to cause, when executed by a processor (Zhang, para. 408), the processor to perform the method as claimed in claim 1 (See similar rationale of claim 1).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory (Zhang, para. 409) and a processor (Zhang, para. 408), wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform the method as claimed in claim 1 (See similar rationale of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brissette et al. (2020/0099775) and Liu et al. (2022/0263751) discloses processing SRv6 packets and forwarding the packets based on the transmission paths in a network.
/ANDREW WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458