DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/US2023/017765 (filed on 04/06/2022), which claims benefit of provisional application 63/327,983 (filed on 04/06/2022).
Claims Status
Claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40,43, and 46-47 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
For clarity of the record the following comments are made regarding claim interpretation under broadest reasonable interpretation:
Regarding claims 3-4,6-7,13,19, and 21, the claims recite product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process limitations are considered only insofar as the method of production imparts distinct structural or chemical characteristics or properties to the product. Therefore, if the product, as claimed, is the same or obvious over a product of the prior art (i.e. is not structurally or chemically distinct), the claim is considered unpatentable over the prior art, even though the prior art product is made by a different process (See, MPEP 2113).
The method of claim 1 requires contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin, wherein the polymerized hemoglobin is low molecular weight.
Claim 3 is directed to the method described in claim 1 and states that the polymerized hemoglobin is prepared by a process that comprises polymerizing hemoglobin and filtering the perfusion solution by ultrafiltration against a filtration membrane with a pore size that separates low molecular weight hemoglobin species from the polymerized hemoglobin. The process by which the polymerized hemoglobin is made is a product-by-process limitation. The result of the process is a polymerized hemoglobin. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
For claim 4, the claim further describes and characterizes the filtration membrane used in the preparation of the polymerized hemoglobin in claim 3, which is drawn to the method of claim 1. The result of the process is a polymerized hemoglobin. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
For claim 6, the claims further characterize the process of making the polymerized hemoglobin that further describes the molecular weight of the retentate and permeate of the filtration of claim 4. The result of the process is a polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight less than 300 kDa in permeate and retentate with polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight greater than 300kDa. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
For claim 7, the claims further characterize the process of making the polymerized hemoglobin to further filtering the retentate fraction by ultrafiltration against a second filtration membrane. The result of the process is a retentate fraction of polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight above an undefined cutoff value and a permeate fraction with polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight below an undefined cutoff value and above 300kDa. The retentate fraction of polymerized hemoglobin has an undefined molecular weight value but as it is the retentate from claim 6, it is considered to be low molecular weight due to the undefined filter cutoff and the low molecular weight of the retentate of claim 6. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
For claim 13, the claim further details the process of how polymerized hemoglobin is prepared by filtering the second retentate fraction described in claim 7 with another filter with undefined second cut off value. The result of the process is a third permeate fraction with polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight below an undefined second cutoff value and above the undefined cutoff value of claim 7. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight hemoglobin that reads on the polymerized hemoglobin of claim 7, would also read on claim 13.
For claim 19, the claim further defines the filtration membrane for the process in claim 3. Claim 19 details that the filtration membrane is rated for retaining solutes having a molecular weight greater than 0.2 μm; therefore, retentate fraction comprises species with molecular weight greater than 0.2μm and a permeate fraction comprising polymerized hemoglobin having a molecular weight less than 0.2 μm and the lower molecular weight hemoglobin species. The claim uses microns (μm) to characterize molecular weight of a species, this is indefinite (See, 112(b) rejection below). The result of the process is a polymerized hemoglobin with low molecular weight. Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
For claim 21, the claim is directed to the method described in claim 1. The method requires contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin, wherein the polymerized hemoglobin is low molecular weight. Claim 21 states that the polymerized hemoglobin is prepared by a process that comprises filtering the permeate fraction multiple times, with 0.2 μm, and undefined cutoff values. The result of the process is a second retentate fraction of polymerized hemoglobin having molecular weight below 0.2 μm and above an undefined cutoff value and a permeate fraction of low molecular weight hemoglobin with molecular weight below the undefined cutoff value. The claim uses microns (μm) to characterize molecular weight of a species, this is indefinite (See, 112(b) rejection below). Therefore, any method comprising contacting a tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution comprising low molecular weight hemoglobin would read on this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-4, 19, 21, 27, 33, 35-36, 38-40, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3-4,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40, and 45-46 recite the term “low”. The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The molecular weight of the polymerized hemoglobin is rendered indefinite due to the relative term "low". It is unclear what the threshold for molecular weight constitutes as a low molecular weight for polymerized hemoglobin or polymerized hemoglobin species. Therefore, one would be unable to determine infringement upon the claimed invention..
Claims 19 and 21 recites the filtration membrane used for filtration of the polymerized hemoglobin as, “…having a molecular weight greater than 0.2 µm”. Microns (μm) is not a unit of measurement used for describing molecular weight. This renders the claim indefinite, as the claims require a low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin and a 0.2μm does not translate to a unit of molecular weight. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of the molecular weight of the polymerized hemoglobin of the claims are.
For compact prosecution, the claims are being interpreted as having the same threshold for low molecular weight required by claim 1, as the independent claim that is relied upon for claims 19 and 21 and the claims have been designated as product by process claims.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "filtering the permeate fraction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no mention of ‘permeate fraction’ in claim 1, which claim 21 depends on.
Claims , the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 36, such as is found in line 2.
In claim 40, ‘such as’ is found in lines 2,4 and 6.
For compact prosecution, any limitations after the phrase “such as” are not considered to be required by the claim.
Claim 47 has the phrase “perfusion solution described herein” in lines 2-3. The term “perfusion solution” is not defined by the claim and ‘described herein’ implies the application as a whole, in which several different perfusion solutions are described. Various claims detail perfusion solutions with low molecular weight polymerized hemoglobin, claim 2 specifically requires polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight less than 300kDa, and several other claims further narrow the scope of what is in the perfusion solution. For compact prosecution, any composition that reads on any perfusion solution described in the application will read on the solution required by claim 47.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the oxygen carrier" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no mention of an oxygen carrier in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite, as it is not clear what or where the perfusion solution is being added to. For compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted as a method of enhancing the performance of a composition comprising a red blood cell in tissue storage or perfusion, the method comprising adding perfusion solution; wherein the polymerized hemoglobin improves the ability of the composition to oxygenate the tissue.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,6-7,13-19,21,27,33,35-36,38, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al (CN111406737B; as cited in IDS filed on 10/07/2024; citations are to translation provided with IDS).
Regarding claim 1, You et al disclosed a perfusate containing polymerized hemoglobin, where greater than or equal to 95% of the polymerized hemoglobin has molecular weight between 320 kDa to 10244 kDa, that can perform oxygen carrying and oxygen releasing functions, while also being compatible for perfusion of isolated organs including in a device (See, p2 paragraph 3). This reads on, … a perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin…..wherein the perfusion solution comprises less than 5% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species, based on the total weight of the perfusion solution (for purposes of this rejection, hemoglobin with a molecular weight of less than 319 kDa is considered ‘low molecular weight’). As greater than 95% of the polymerized hemoglobin has a molecular weight over 320 kDa, then less than 5% has a low molecular weight.
Example 10 of disclosed by You et al, is a perfusion study of the invention of polymerized hemoglobin in various concentration formulas used to preserve an isolated pig liver on an organ perfusion device (See, p 61). The example teaches the procurement of the liver from the pig and the attachment of the organ to an organ perfusion device (See, p61-62). The organs are perfused for up to 72 hours with the perfusion formulation of polymerized hemoglobin having greater than or equal to 95% molecular weight greater than 320kD to 1024kD. Perfused tissue was collected every 20 minutes during the first hour, then every hour after the first hour up to 72 hours (See, p62). This reads on, a method of preserving a biological sample ex vivo, the method comprising: contacting the tissue sample ex vivo with a perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin….
As discussed in the claim interpretation section, claims 3-4,6-7,13,19, and 21 are product by process claims and are included in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-3, following the discussion above, You et al disclosed that the polymerized hemoglobin is obtained from the ultrafiltration of concentrated polymerized hemoglobin on a 300kD ultrafiltration membrane to separate the low molecular weight hemoglobin (See, p4 paragraph 13). This reads on, wherein the low molecular weight hemoglobin species has a molecular weight below 300 kDa of claim 2, as the filter separates has a cut off of 300kD. This also reads on, wherein the polymerized hemoglobin is prepared by a process that comprises polymerizing hemoglobin; and filtering the perfusion solution by ultrafiltration membrane having a pore size that separates the low molecular weight hemoglobin species from the polymerized hemoglobin of claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, following the discussion above, You et al disclosed that after the ultrafiltration and the content of polymerized hemoglobin with molecular weight of 320-1024 kDa reaches greater than or equal to 95%, it is filtered with a filter having membrane of 0.2μm for sterilization of the polymerize hemoglobin (See, p4 paragraph 13). This reads on, wherein the filtration membrane is rated for retaining solutes having molecular weight greater than 0.2μm.
Regarding claim 27, following the discussion above, example 10 of You et al disclosed preserving a liver procured from a living pig (See, p 61-62). This reads on, wherein the tissue sample comprises an organ.
Regarding claim 33, following the discussion above, You et al disclosed the one of the formulations used in Example 10 is the perfusion solution prepared as in Example 7 (See, p61-62). Example 7 disclosed by You et al teaches the perfusion solution is made per 1000 mL = 10 dL. The solution has 30g of polymerized hemoglobin with greater than 95% of molecular weight between 320 and 1024 kD; this equals to the perfusion solution having polymerized hemoglobin at 3 g/dL (See, p60 paragraphs 6-8). This reads on, wherein the perfusion solution comprises 3-4 g/dL of the polymerized solution.
Regarding claim 35, following the discussion above, You et al disclosed in example 10, that the perfused pig liver has samples collected throughout the preservation process (See, p62). This reads on, wherein the method further comprises perfusing the organ prior to or during the collection of cells from the organ.
Regarding claim 36, following the discussion above, example 10 of You et al disclosed that the perfusion is done at 18°C (See, p 62 paragraph 1). This reads on, furthering comprising maintaining the tissue at a temperature of from 18°C to 37°C.
Regarding claim 38, following the discussion above, example 20 disclosed in You et al, describes the method of procuring the pig liver from the living sample, therefore, upon ligating the vessels of the organ from the animal and connecting the organ to the perfusion device, ischemic damage occurs as is established in the art (See, p61 paragraph 19). You et al details this phenomenon and emphasizes that ischemic time is to be limited in a clinical setting (See, p 1 paragraph 3). Therefore, the organ used for perfusion in example 10 has ischemic damage acquired during procurement, this reads on, wherein the tissue sample has ischemic damage.
Regarding claim 43, following the discussion above, You et al details how the polymerized hemoglobin is obtained. You et al disclosed that to polymerize the hemoglobin derived from fresh blood, glutaraldehyde is added by atomization at a ratio of 1g of hemoglobin to 35-45 mg of glutaraldehyde; which equates to a molar ration of approximately 22:1. This reads on, wherein the polymerized hemoglobin is synthesized at a molar ratio from 20:1 to 40:1 of glutaraldehyde and hemoglobin.
Therefore, claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38, and 43 are anticipated by You et al (CN111406737B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40,43,45, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matton et al (Liver Transplantation, 2018; as cited in IDS filed on 05/16/2025) in view of Instructions for Use Liver Assist XVIVO™ (https://www.xvivogroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/TD-11-IFU-Liver-Assist-EN-01.pdf ) and evidenced by Dubé et al (Working group on interventional cardiology of European society of cardiology, 2008).
Matton et al teaches normothermic machine perfusion (NMP) used with polymerized bovine hemoglobin-based oxygen carrier (HBOC)-201 is effective for human donor livers, when combined with gelofusine; eliminating the need for human blood products (See, Abstract).
Regarding claims 1,3-4,6-7,13,19,21, and 43, Matton et al teaches 24 human donor livers were procured using standard technique of in situ cooling and flushing out with ice cold preservation solution and stored on ice for transportation. Upon arrival the livers were cannulated and connected to the NMP for perfusion (See, p529 col 2 paragraph 1). This reads on, a method of preserving a biological tissue sample ex vivo, the method comprising: contacting the tissue sample ex vivo with perfusion solution….
Matton et al teaches HBOC-201 is an oxygen carrier solution containing polymerized hemoglobin (Hb), which has the ability to perfuse tissues more deeply and oxygenate more remote regions due to its smaller size (See, p529 col 2 paragraph 3). Matton et al teaches that the perfusion solution has 4 units of HBOC-201 (Hemopure™, HbO2 Therapeutics, LLC) (See, p530 col 1 paragraph 2). Matton et al is silent on the molecular weight of Hemopure™ but Dubé et al teaches that Hemopure™ has an average molecular weight of 250 kDa (See, p 161 Table 1), which is considered to be low molecular weight. Therefore, the polymerized hemoglobin used in the method taught by Matton et al is low molecular weight. This reads on, ...a perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin…low molecular weight hemoglobin species.
Matton et al teaches that the perfusion solution has a total volume of approximately 2200mL and 4 units of HBOC-201 (Hemopure™, HbO2 Therapeutics, LLC), which has a total of 120g of polymerized hemoglobin. This equates to the perfusion solution having 5.45% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species. This is greater than the claimed range of less than 5%.
Matton et al teaches that the donor livers are perfused in the Liver Assist (Organ Assist, Groningen, the Netherlands machine). Matton et al does not teach perfusion solution with less than 5% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species, based on the total weight of the perfusion solution.
The instructions for the use of the Liver Assist by XVIVO™, discloses that the perfusion solution can range from 2-4 Liters (See, p49 product specifications).
Matton et al does not teach perfusion solution comprising less than 5% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species. However, the reference provides that the total volume throughout the experiments were approximately 2200 mL and Liver Assist by XVIVO™ provides guidance that the device can properly perfuse volumes between 2-4 L. As such, the perfusion solution comprising less than 5% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species recited in the instant claim would have been routine optimization (See, MPEP 2144.05 (II)). Thus, Matton et al renders obvious the limitations of claim 1.
As claims 3-4,6-7,13,19,21, and 43 are product by process claims, with a method with the same limitations of claim 1, they are included in the rejection of claim 1 (See, Claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 2, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches the use of Hemopure™, which has an average molecular weight of 250 kDa. This reads on, wherein the low molecular weight hemoglobin species has a molecular weight below 300 kDa.
Regarding claim 27, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches perfusing human donor livers with the perfusion solution ex vivo in an NMP machine. This reads on, wherein the tissue sample comprises an organ.
Regarding claim 33, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches the perfusion solution has 5.45 g/dL (120g Hb / 22dL) of polymerized hemoglobin, which is greater than the claimed range for the perfusion solution.
Matton et al does not teach perfusion solution comprising 3-4 g/dL of polymerized hemoglobin. However, the reference provides that the total volume throughout the experiments were approximately 2200 mL and Liver Assist by XVIVO™ provides guidance that the device can properly perfuse volumes between 2-4 L. The value taught by the reference is considered sufficiently close (4 g/dL vs 5.45 g/dL) that a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Evidence of criticality can support non-obviousness.
Regarding claim 35, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches that liver biopsies were embedded in paraffin for hematoxylin-eosin (H&E) staining and liver scoring by a pathologist (See, p531 col 1 paragraph 3). Figure 6 shows staining of liver biopsies before and 6 hours after NMP perfusion. Therefore, the livers were being perfused prior to collection of cells. This reads on, wherein in the method further comprises…perfusing the organ prior to …collection of cells from the organ.
Regarding claim 36, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches that the perfusion solution was maintained at 37°C and the NMP was performed for 6 hours (See, p530 col 1 paragraph 5). This reads on, the method of claim 1 further comprising maintaining the tissue at a temperature from 18°C to 37°C.
Regarding claim 38, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches that the donor livers were procured using standard technique. Table 1 of Matton et al, teaches that the donor livers experienced warm ischemia time, which is the time between withdrawal of life support to the aortic cold flush, and cold ischemia time, which is the time between the donor aortic cold flush and the start of NMP perfusion (See, p532 Table 1). Therefore, the biological tissues being preserved had ischemic damage. This reads on, wherein the tissue sample has ischemic damage.
Regarding claim 39, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches that the total volume of the perfusion solution is approximately 2200 mL and that the Groups with HBOC-201 were supplemented with either 100mL of 20% human albumin or 250mL of 20% human albumin. That is either 4.5% or 11.3% of human albumin by weight based on the total weight of the perfusion solution, respectively. The 4.5% value reads on, wherein the perfusion solution comprises from 1% to 5% by weight, based on total weight of the perfusion solution.
Regarding claim 40, following the discussion above, Matton et al is silent on the osmolarity of the perfusion solution. Dubé et al teaches that Hemopure™ has osmolality of 290-310 mOsm and viscosity at 37°C of 2.2 cP (See, p 161 Table 1). This reads on, wherein the perfusion solution has an osmolarity from 270-370 mOsm; a viscosity from 2 cP to 4.5 cP.
Regarding claim 45, following the discussion above, Matton et al is silent on the partial pressure of oxygen of the polymerized hemoglobin used in the method. Dubé et al teaches that Hemopure™ has a P50 or partial pressure of 40 mm Hg (See, p 161 Table 1 and p 162 Figure 1). This reads on, wherein the partial pressure or oxygen at which 50% of the polymerized hemoglobin is saturated with oxygen is from 1 mm Hg to 50 mm Hg.
Regarding claim 47, following the discussion above, Matton et al teaches that the HBOC-201 perfusion solution in an NMP machine has better outcomes in liver preservation than with red blood cells and FPP perfusate solution (See, p537 col 2 paragraph 4). Including that livers perfused with HBOC-201 had biomarkers of liver function and injury that indicate superior preservation (See, p537 col 2 paragraph 4). Matton et al also teaches HBOC-201 is an oxygen carrier solution containing polymerized hemoglobin (Hb), which has the ability to perfuse tissues more deeply and oxygenate more remote regions due to its smaller size (See, p529 col 2 paragraph 3). Therefore, this reads on, a method of enhancing the performance of a composition comprising… perfusion, the method comprising adding perfusion solution described herein…; wherein the polymerized hemoglobin improves the ability of the composition to oxygenate the tissue.
Therefore, claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40,43,45, and 47 as being rendered obvious over Matton et al in view of Instructions for Use Liver Assist XVIVO™ and evidenced by Dubé et al.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matton et al (Liver Transplantation, 2018; as cited in IDS filed on 05/16/2025) and Instructions for Use Liver Assist XVIVO (https://www.xvivogroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/TD-11-IFU-Liver-Assist-EN-01.pdf ) as applied to claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40,43,45, and 47 above, and further in view of Belcher et al (Bioconjugate chemistry, 2020; as cited in IDS filed on 05/16/2025).
The teachings of Matton et al are set forth above.
Regarding claim 46, following the discussion above, Matton et al does not teach that the HBOC-201 has an oxidation rate from 0.0020 to 0.0085 h-1.
Belcher et al teaches a protocol for production of polymerized human hemoglobin (PolyhHbs) to reduce batch to batch inconsistency, which includes controlling the rate of polymerization of the PolyhHbs and ultrafiltration (See, Abstract).
Belcher et al teaches in Table 1, there are two states of PolyhHbs generated with varying ratios of glutaraldehyde to hemoglobin (See, p607 col 1 paragraph 1 and Table 1). Tense crosslinking of the PolyhHbs or T state and relaxed crosslinking of PolyhHbs or R state (See, p 606 col 1 paragraph 1). Belcher et al teaches that the autooxidation of the PolyhHbs over 24 hours at 37°C, showed that R state PolyhHbs had much lower rates of slow and fast autoxidation compared to T state PolyhHbs and unmodified hHbs (See, p 612 col 1-2). Table 3 exemplifies the autoxidation rates of the various synthesis ratios of T- and R- state PolyhHbs compared to unmodified hHbs. R-state PolyhHbs with a ratio of 35:1 has an autoxidation rate of 0.0062 h-1 (fast) and 0.0039 h-1 (slow) (See, p 613 Table 3). This reads on, wherein the polymerized hemoglobin exhibits an oxidation rate from 0.0020 to 0.0085 h-1.
Given that both Matton et al and Belcher et al teach polymerized hemoglobin as an oxygen carrier, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the polymerized hemoglobin used in the method of Matton et al with the R-state PolyhHbs (35:1) taught by Belcher et al for a similar purpose. The use of the R-state PolyhHbs (35:1) taught by Belcher et al would have predictable results of success evidenced by Belcher et al teaching that HBOCs like R-state PolyhHbs (35:1) are commonly used for red blood cell (RBC) substitutes in transfusion medicine (See, p 605 col 1 paragraph 1) and the success of Matton et al with a HBOC. Lastly, using an HBOC with a lower autoxidation rate is ideal because autoxidation is a spontaneous degradation process driven by oxygen and low autoxidation preserves the quality, safety, and lifespan of materials and biological systems. This rationale aligns with the principle of KSR for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See, MPEP 2143).
Therefore, claim 46 is rendered obvious by Matton et al and Instructions for Use Liver Assist XVIVO™, in further view of Belcher et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4,6-7,13,19,21,27,33,35-36,38-40,43,45-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 13, 19, 21, 27-28, 30-34, 36-37 of copending Application No. 18/842,276.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 13, 19, 21, 27, 33, 35-36, 38-40, 43, and 45-47, copending application claims 1-7, 13, 19, 21, 27-28, 30-34, 36-37 recite a perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin, wherein the perfusion solution comprises less than 5% by weight low molecular weight hemoglobin species, based on the total weight of the perfusion solution (claim 1), …molecular weight less than 300kDa (claim 2), ..cell-free hemoglobin (claim 27), ..perfusion solution comprises 0.5-15 g/dL (claim 28),…solution comprises 1% to 5% by weight of albumin, based on total weight of the perfusion solution (claim 30), ..solution has an osmolarity from 270-370 mOsm (claim 31), ..solution has viscosity from 2 cP to 4.5 cP at normothermic conditions (claim 32), …solution has colloid osmotic pressure from 14 mm Hg to 20 mm Hg (claim 33).
The copending application recites the perfusion solution used in the method of the instant application. The details of the solution and the polymerized hemoglobin recited in the claims of the copending application read on the instant claims. The copending application does not teach the method of using the perfusion solution comprising contacting a biological tissue sample ex-vivo with perfusion solution.
However, in the specification of the copending application example 1, disclosed the use of the perfusion solution with polymerized human hemoglobin for maintaining lung viability during normothermic ex vivo lung perfusion (NEVLP) (See, copending application specification p22 lines 24-35), which reads on the method in claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that a claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use. See Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86, and Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1387 (CAFC 2010). (See, MPEP 804(II)(B)(1)).
Therefore, copending application claims s 1-7, 13, 19, 21, 27-28, 30-34, 36-37 render obvious the use of the perfusion solution for preserving a biological tissue sample ex vivo by contacting a tissue sample with perfusion solution comprising polymerized hemoglobin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/CAROLINE M LARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633