DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 4, line 31, “have a convex” should read –has a convex--. On page 5, line 5, “in preserved” should read –is preserved--. On page 5, line 9, “limitation can be made” should read –limitation be made--. On page 6, line 3, “position in the” should read –positioned in the--. On page 6, line 19, “flexible” should read –Flexible--. On page 7, line 25, “correspond” should read –corresponds--. On page 8, line 28, “tight” should read –tighten--. On page 9, line 31, “5.9mm. cylindrical” should read –5.9mm. Cylindrical--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 12, “insert” should read –inserts--. In claim 1, lines 17-18, “pin is firm” should read –pin is held firm--. In claim 10, line 2, “comprising” should read –comprises--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses “at least one adjustment strap circumference said mattress”. This phrasing makes Applicant’s intent unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. Additionally, the term circumference is traditionally used to describe a property of a circle, ellipse, or sphere and the mattress shown appears in the figures as a rectangular prism.
With regard to claims 2-16, in that claims 2-16 depend either directly or indirectly form claim 1, claims 2-16 are similarly rejected.
Claim 8 discloses “in the bottom portion of said retainer body constructed a convex structure”. This wording does not make it clear what is constructed and where it is in relation to the other elements. This unclear wording renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2020 0079632 (Oh hereinafter) in view of USPAP 2023/0066732 (Gray hereinafter). For the purposes of this rejection, any reference to the text of Oh refers to the English translation provided by Applicant.
With regard to claim 1, insofar as claim 1 is definite, Oh discloses a sheet retainer for retaining sheet smooth and tight over mattress comprising:
- at least one adjustment strap (B) circumference said mattress (M);
- at least one locking pin (300) having an inserting cylindrical portion (340, 342, 360),
- at least one sheet retainer body (200) having a locking hole (220) with upper, bottom and middle hole portions (Fig.’s 6 and 7); flexible lock pin slits (240) utilized for locking said locking pin (300) into said retainer body (200);
wherein for tightening a sheet (C) over said mattress (M) said sheet (C) is spread over the mattress (M), then a user insert said inserting portion (340, 342, 360) of said locking pin (300) into said locking hole (220) wide section and slide said locking pin (300) upwards towards the narrow section in said locking hole (220) and by doing so, fixes said sheet (C) to said sheet retainer body (200), ensuring a smooth and tight fit over said mattress (M)
whereby, to prevent said locking pin (300) from slipping out of said locking hole (220), said locking pin (300) and said locking hole (220) are shaped so that the locking pin (300) is firm and can be opened only by the user and not slide out spontaneously due to pressure.
Oh does not disclose said sheet retainer body further having strap slide/lock slits for sliding said sheet retainer body along said adjustment straps and locking said sheet retainer body from moving along said adjustment strap after tightening said adjustment strap to said mattress.
Gray teaches a sheet retention assembly comprising a strap (62) and strap slide/lock slits (74a, 74b) for sliding a sheet retainer body (60) along said adjustment straps (62) and locking said sheet retainer body (60) from moving along said adjustment strap (62) after tightening said adjustment strap (62) to a mattress (10) (Fig.’s 1 and 24 and paragraphs [0045] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Oh by providing strap slide/lock slits for sliding said sheet retainer body along said adjustment straps and locking said sheet retainer body from moving along said adjustment strap after tightening said adjustment strap to said mattress as taught in Gray for the purposes of changing the sheet tension or moving the sheet retainers to a different configuration (paragraph [0046] of Gray).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 2, insofar as claim 2 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said sheet retainer body (200) further having a convex structure (Fig. 5) to allow the movement of said locking pin (300) in a convenient manner while sliding in said sheet retainer body (200) and to reduce the required pressure for said retainer body to be embedded and sunk in the mattress (M) circumference surface once pressure is applied on said sheet retainer body (200).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 4, insofar as claim 4 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said slide/lock slits (74a, 74b) is Ladderlock strap slits.
With regard to claim 5, insofar as claim 5 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein pair of strap slide/lock slits (74a, 74b) are positioned in the left side of said sheet retainer body (200) and in the right side of said sheet retainer body (200) and additional pair of slide/lock strip slits positioned in the upper and bottom portions of said sheet retainer body (200) wherein said additional pair of said pair of slide/lock strip slits are utilized for retaining sheet (C) over adjustable bed types. Paragraph [0046] of Gray discloses that sheet retainers can be moved and adjusted to different configurations, anticipating the need for slide/lock slits on multiple sides to accommodate different locations and configurations.
With regard to claim 6, insofar as claim 6 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said sheet retainer body (200) further comprising a stopper (260) to prevent said sheet retainer body (200) from moving when tightened to a mattress (M) and stay firmly in place in the corners of the mattress (M) or in any desired location along the circumference the mattress (M).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 7, insofar as claim 7 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 6, wherein said stopper (260) is constructed from a plurality of protrusions.
With regard to claim 8, insofar as claim 8 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 6, wherein in the bottom portion of said retainer body constructed a convex structure which is utilized for releasing said retainer body from a bed when said retainer body is tightened to said bed and a user wishes to release said retainer body.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 10, insofar as claim 10 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein the upper portion of said locking pin (300) comprising a grabbing means (320).
With regard to claim 11, insofar as claim 11 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said inserting portion (340, 342, 360) is a cylindrical-shaped section having cascading diameters portions.
With regard to claim 12, insofar as claim 12 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said sheet retainer body (200) having two flexible lock pin slits (240) positioned near the circumference of said locking hole (220) wherein, said flexibility slits (240) impart elasticity to said locking hole (220), thereby, increasing flexibility, said locking hole (220) is expanded when said locking pin (300) is inserted into said locking pin hole along with the sheet (C),
therefore, to enable said locking hole (220) to expand under pressure so that the sheet (C), which is trapped between said locking pin (300) and said locking hole (220), does not tear; said flexibility slits (240), and the flexibility they impart, relieve some of the pressure on the sheet (C).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 13, insofar as claim 13 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said inserting cylindrical portion (340, 342, 360) of said locking pin (300) having cascading diameters for locking said locking pin (300) in place and preventing said locking pin (300) from slipping out from said locking hole (220) even when pressure is applied to said locking pin (300).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 14, insofar as claim 14 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein in order for said locking pin (300), when locked to said retainer body will not release or slip out when tightening and locking the corners of the sheet (C) to said sheet retainer or when pressure is applied thereon by the user's weight over said mattress (M); the width of said upper hole portion is bigger than the width of said middle hole portion and the width of bottom hole portion is bigger than the width of said upper portion and said middle portion holes (Fig.’s 6 and 7).
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 15, insofar as claim 15 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 1, wherein said sheet retainer is further used for an adjustable bed that has at least one hinged lying surface which can be profiled to several different positions, wherein at least one of said retainer body is slidable and lockable through at least one adjustable strap (B) that circumference said one hinged lying surface.
It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 16, insofar as claim 16 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a sheet retainer according to claim 13, except for wherein at least one of said cascading diameters portions is 1.03 times bigger than the width of said middle hole portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to at least one of said cascading diameters portions is 1.03 times bigger than the width of said middle hole portion, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case it is only critical that at least one of said cascading diameters portion is bigger than the width of said middle portion, which Oh discloses. The result effective variable is to what degree at least one of said cascading diameters portion is bigger than the width of said middle portion and Applicant has shown no criticality to it being 1.03 times bigger.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Gray and in further view of USP 5,182,827 (Carrier et al. hereinafter) and USPAP 2025/0163281 (Nakamura et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 3, insofar as claim 3 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein said retainer body and said locking pin is made of Polycarbonate/ABS alloy (PC/ABS).
Carrier et al. teaches a sheet retainer (10) made of ABS (col. 1 lines 31-33) and Nakamura et al. teaches that thermoplastic resins such as ABS can be problematic for producing static electricity and sparking (paragraph [0003]) and that a suitable substitute is a Polycarbonate/ABS alloy (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 by, after learning that ABS is used for sheet retainers as taught in Carrier et al. (col. 1 lines 31-33) to then progress to making the retainer body and said locking pin of Polycarbonate/ABS alloy (PC/ABS) as a suitable substitute for ABS for the purposes of increasing safety by preventing static electricity build-up and sparking (paragraph [0003] of Nakamura et al.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Gray and in further view of USPAP 2013/0283528 (Tzur ‘528 hereinafter).
With regard to claim 9, insofar as claim 9 is definite, the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein said retainer body is affixed to a mattress by attaching means selected from a group of stiches, snap fit joints, adhesive or screws and is integrated in the corners of said mattress.
Tzur ‘528 teaches a sheet retainer (1) that is affixed to a mattress (100) by attaching means selected from a group of stiches, snap fit joints, adhesive or screws and is integrated in the corners of said mattress (paragraphs [0030], [0031] and [0038] and Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus of the Oh modification with regard to claim 1 by providing that said retainer body is affixed to a mattress by attaching means selected from a group of stiches, snap fit joints, adhesive or screws and is integrated in the corners of said mattress as taught in Tzur ‘528 for the purposes of allowing the device to function regardless of whether the sheet is slightly small or large (paragraph [0038] of Tzur ‘528).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPAP’s 2024/0298809, 2014/0150181, 2005/0125903, 2020/0060448 and 2017/0095091 as well as USP’s 5,642,547, 5,327,595, 5,191,664, 4,199,831 and 2,450,923 all disclose sheet retention systems.
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673