Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim 18 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the independent claim 18 recites a computer-readable medium … and it is not clear if the computer readable medium is non transitory. The specification of Application mentions that computer-readable medium may also comprise a electrical, or optical signal (see para [0073] of published application specification) and thus that the computer readable medium can include transitory medium like signal per se which is non-statutory and thus the claim 18 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as mentioned above. Examiner recommends that applicant amends the claim to clarify that the computer readable medium is non-transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 5-7, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: processor and memory. The independent claims 5 (& its dependent claims 6-7), 10 (& its dependent claim 11) and 20 recite a first communication apparatus (of claim 5), second communication apparatus (of claim 10 and a vehicle having a communication device (of claim 20) respectively and being configured to perform the respective operations of the first communication apparatus/second communication apparatus/vehicle having a communication device, but need to comprise ‘processor and memory’ to perform the respective operations (see Fig.13 and para [0100] of published application specification).
4. Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites a method of ‘enabling communication between a first communication apparatus’ and does not mention what the other apparatus/device that is associated with enabling communication and thus it is unclear what the other apparatus/device is and renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites ‘a first communication apparatus’ in its preamble and also recites ‘a first communication apparatus’ in limitations 1, 2, 3 and 4 respectively and it is not clear what ‘first communication apparatus’ in limitations 1, 2, 3 and 4 of claim 18 refer to one i.e. ‘a first communication apparatus’ in its preamble of the claim and which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0239793 A1) in view of Hahn (US Pub. No: 2021/0068189 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LIN et al. teach a method of operating a first communication apparatus for controlling electronic components of one or more second communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus & para [0034] and also see Fig.10/Tx UE/Rx UE), the first communication apparatus being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network and further being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with the one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0035] & [0075]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above method of operating a first communication apparatus comprising wherein the method comprises determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network.
However, Hahn teaches a method of operating a first communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7) comprising wherein the method comprises determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of LIN et al. to include both determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 1.
Hahn further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining comprises measuring and evaluating a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or evaluating hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection (see Fig.7 and para [0098] wherein the decoding operation of the sidelink data fails, the second terminal may transmit HARQ NACK to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.8 & para [0111]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 1.
Hahn further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, comprises transmitting control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the one or more second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or comprises transmitting control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned and also see para [0117]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 1.
Hahn further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication and/or the control information items are transmitted in the MAC sublayer or a physical control channel of the first wireless connection (see para [0102] wherein the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706). The RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, LIN et al. teach a first communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/BS for first communication apparatus & BS) configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with one or more second communication apparatus (see para [0034] wherein UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2/second communication apparatus and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0075]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above first communication apparatus comprising wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network.
However, Hahn teaches a first communication apparatus comprising wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above first communication apparatus of LIN et al. to have the first communication apparatus being further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 6, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the first communication apparatus of claim 5.
Hahn further teaches the first communication apparatus of claim 5 wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection (see Fig.7 and para [0098] wherein the decoding operation of the sidelink data fails, the second terminal may transmit HARQ NACK to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.8 & para [0111]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the first communication apparatus of claim 5.
Hahn further teaches the first communication apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned and also see para [0117]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 5).
Regarding claim 8, LIN et al. teach a method of operating a second communication apparatus, which is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus and Fig2/BS & para [0034] and also see Fig.10) and which is further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a second, direct wireless communication connection with a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein UE1 supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), the method comprising receiving, at the second communication apparatus and via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned), wherein the method further comprises: receiving, via the first communication connection and from a base station of the radio access network, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above method of operating a second communication apparatus comprising applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection.
However, Hahn teaches a method of operating a second communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7) comprising applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection (see para [0093] wherein the base station generating configuration information (hereinafter referred to as ‘sidelink configuration information’) for sidelink communication and may transmitting the sidelink configuration information (S702) to second terminal, is mentioned, also see Fig.7 & para [0098] wherein the second terminal may perform a monitoring operation to receive the sidelink data, when the sidelink data is successfully received, the second terminal may transmit HARQ acknowledgment (ACK) to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.7 & para [0104] wherein Sidelink reconfiguration information including reconfiguration information of the sidelink resources being transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and the second terminal) (S708), is mentioned and also the sidelink reconfiguration information being transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and the second terminal) through a combination of one or more among system information, an RRC message, a MAC message, and a PHY message, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of LIN et al. to include applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 9, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 8,
Hahn further teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the control information items received via the first communication connection are received in the MAC sublayer or in a physical control channel (see para [0094] wherein the sidelink configuration information from BS may be transmitted through a combination of one or more among system information (e.g., master information block (MIB), system information block (SIB)), an RRC message (e.g., cell-specific RRC message, UE-specific RRC message, RRC reconfiguration message, etc.), a MAC message (e.g. MAC control element (CE)), and a PHY message, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, LIN et al. teach a second communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE2) configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Fig2/BS & para [0034]), and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2, UE1 & para [0034] wherein UE1 supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the second communication connection, control information for scheduling operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the first communication connection, and from a base station of the radio access network, control information items for scheduling operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above second communication apparatus comprising overriding control information items previously received via the second communication connection with the control information items received via the first communication connection.
However, Hahn teaches a second communication apparatus comprising (see Abstract and Fig.7) overriding control information items previously received via the second communication connection with the control information items received via the first communication connection (see para [0093] wherein the base station generating configuration information (hereinafter referred to as ‘sidelink configuration information’) for sidelink communication and may transmitting the sidelink configuration information (S702) to second terminal, is mentioned, also see Fig.7 & para [0104] wherein Sidelink reconfiguration information including reconfiguration information of the sidelink resources being transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and the second terminal) (S708), is mentioned and also the sidelink reconfiguration information being transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and the second terminal) through a combination of one or more among system information, an RRC message, a MAC message, and a PHY message, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above second communication apparatus of LIN et al. to include overriding control information items previously received via the second communication connection with the control information items received via the first communication connection, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 11, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the second communication apparatus of claim 10.
Hahn further teaches the second communication apparatus of claim 10, further configured to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0101] wherein releasing sidelink resources between the first terminal and the second terminal, is mentioned and also see para [0102]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, LIN et al. teach a method of operating a base station of a radio access network (see Abstract and Fig.2/BS), the base station being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with one or more first and second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]) wherein at least one of:
the first communication apparatus is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with the base station of a radio access network and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned);
the second communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE2 for second communication apparatus) is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate the first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus and Fig2/BS & para [0034] and also see Fig.10), and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein UE1 supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive via the second communication connection, control information for scheduling operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, control information items for scheduling operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above method of operating base station comprising wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection; wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items.
However, Hahn teaches a method of operating base station (see Abstract and Fig.7/BS) comprising wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned), wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection (see Fig.7 and para [0098] wherein the decoding operation of the sidelink data fails, the second terminal may transmit HARQ NACK to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.8 & para [0111]); wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned and also see para [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of LIN et al. to have the first communication apparatus being further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection; wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 13, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 12.
LIN et al. further teach the method of claim 12, further comprising establishing and maintaining a correspondence between identifiers used in first and second communication apparatus for communicating via the first communication connection and identifiers used in first and second communication apparatus for communicating via the second communication connection (see para [0039] wherein UE1 may operate as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources for UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS when UE1 was camped on the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0127]).
Regarding claim 14, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the method of claim 12.
LIN et al. further teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the control information items comprise an identification of one or more carriers in the second communication connection, which are to be activated or deactivated (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]).
Regarding claim 15, LIN et al. teach a base station of a radio access network (see Abstract and Fig.2/BS) comprising establishing, maintaining and terminating first communication connections with one or more first and second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]) wherein at least one of:
the first communication apparatus is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network, and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned);
the second communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE2 for second communication apparatus) is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate the first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus and Fig2/BS & para [0034] and also see Fig.10), and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein UE1 supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive via the second communication connection, control information for scheduling operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned),
wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, control information items for scheduling operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above base station comprising
one or more microprocessors, volatile and non-volatile memory and receiver and transmitter means, which are communicatively connected via at least one data connection or bus, wherein the non-volatile memory comprises computer program instructions which, when executed by the one or more microprocessors control the receiver and transmitter means to perform the operations and wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network; wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection; wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items.
However, Hahn teaches a above base station (Abstract and Figures 3&7/BS) comprising one or more microprocessors (see Fig.3, processor 310), volatile and non-volatile memory (see Fig.3, memory and storage device) and receiver and transmitter means (see Fig.3, transceiver), which are communicatively connected via at least one data connection or bus, wherein the non-volatile memory comprises computer program instructions which, when executed by the one or more microprocessors control the receiver and transmitter means to perform the operations (see Fig.3 and paragraphs [0065] & [0067]) and wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned); wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection (see Fig.7 and para [0098] wherein the decoding operation of the sidelink data fails, the second terminal may transmit HARQ NACK to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.8 & para [0111]); wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned and also see para [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of LIN et al. to include one or more microprocessors, volatile and non-volatile memory and receiver and transmitter means, which are communicatively connected via at least one data connection or bus, wherein the non-volatile memory comprises computer program instructions which, when executed by the one or more microprocessors control the receiver and transmitter means to perform the operations and wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection and wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 16, LIN et al. and Hahn together teach the base station of claim 15.
LIN et al. further teach the base station of claim 15, wherein the base station is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection in accordance with 3GPP 5G and/or 6G standards (see para [0028] wherein a 5G BS forming one or more cells with different Component Carriers (CCs) for providing mobile services to UEs, is mentioned and also see para [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, LIN et al. teach a method of enabling communication between a first communication apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus & para [0034] and also see Fig.10/Tx UE/Rx UE) wherein at least one of:
the first communication apparatus is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with the base station of a radio access network and further configured to establish, maintain and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned); and
one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE2) wherein the second communication apparatus is configured to establish, maintain, and terminate the first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (Fig.2/UE1/UE2 for first/second communication apparatus and Fig2/BS & para [0034] and also see Fig.10), and further configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein UE1 supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]),
wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the second communication connection, control information for scheduling operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned), wherein the second communication apparatus is further configured to receive, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, control information items for scheduling operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode respectively (see para [0035] wherein the UE1 operating as a scheduler UE (or called relay UE) which schedules/allocates the radio resources to be received by UE2 and UE3 (or called scheduled UEs) according to the configuration received from the BS, is mentioned and also see para [0139]); via a second communication connection, wherein the first communication apparatus and the one or more second communication apparatus are further configured to communicate with a base station of a radio access network via a first communication connection (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above method wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network; wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection; and wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items and the method comprising: the base station receiving, via the first communication connection and from the first communication apparatus, the indication representing an information that a second communication connection between the first communication apparatus and one or more second communication apparatus is compromised or lost, and transmitting, via the first communication connection and to one or more second communication apparatus, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions from the first communication apparatus over the second communication connection, in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and the one or more second communication apparatus receiving, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, the control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively, and applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection PC5, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection.
However, Hahn teaches a method (see Abstract and Fig.7) wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned); wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection (see Fig.7 and para [0098] wherein the decoding operation of the sidelink data fails, the second terminal may transmit HARQ NACK to the first terminal in response to the sidelink data (S704), is mentioned and also see Fig.8 & para [0111]); and wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items (see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned and also see para [0117]) and the method comprising:
the base station receiving, via the first communication connection and from the first communication apparatus, the indication representing an information that a second communication connection between the first communication apparatus and one or more second communication apparatus is compromised or lost (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706), is mentioned), and transmitting, via the first communication connection and to one or more second communication apparatus, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions from the first communication apparatus over the second communication connection, in the first and the second operating modes, respectively (see Fig.7, steps S707 & S708 and para [0104] wherein the base station may reconfigure the sidelink resources (e.g., bandwidth part, resource pool, SPS resource, CG resource) for the first terminal (S707). Sidelink reconfiguration information including reconfiguration information of the sidelink resources may be transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and/or the second terminal) (S708), is mentioned), and the one or more second communication apparatus receiving, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, the control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively (see para [0104] wherein the base station may reconfigure the sidelink resources (e.g., bandwidth part, resource pool, SPS resource, CG resource) for the first terminal (S707). Sidelink reconfiguration information including reconfiguration information of the sidelink resources may be transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and/or the second terminal) (S708), is mentioned), and applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection PC5, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection (see para [0104] wherein the base station may reconfigure the sidelink resources (e.g., bandwidth part, resource pool, SPS resource, CG resource) for the first terminal (S707). Sidelink reconfiguration information including reconfiguration information of the sidelink resources may be transmitted to the terminal(s) (e.g., the first terminal and/or the second terminal) (S708), is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0119] and [0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of LIN et al. to have the first communication apparatus being further configured to determine, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, to transmit a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network; wherein, for determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection, the first communication apparatus is configured to measure and evaluate a signal quality of the second communication connection and/or to evaluate hybrid automatic repeat request feedback on the second communication connection and wherein the first communication apparatus is configured to transmit, via the first communication connection to the base station of the radio access network and along with the indication, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the second communication apparatus in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and/or control information destined to activate and deactivate, respectively, individual carriers used for communicating via the second communication connection, in response to received control information items and also to have the base station receiving, via the first communication connection and from the first communication apparatus, the indication representing an information that a second communication connection between the first communication apparatus and one or more second communication apparatus is compromised or lost, and transmitting, via the first communication connection and to one or more second communication apparatus, control information items for scheduling or modifying the operation of electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions from the first communication apparatus over the second communication connection, in the first and the second operating modes, respectively, and the one or more second communication apparatus receiving, via the first communication connection, and from the base station of the radio access network, the control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the first or the second operating mode, respectively, and applying the control information items received via the first communication connection, for operating the electronic components, required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection PC5, in an according operating mode, wherein control information items received via the first communication connection override control information items previously received via the second communication connection, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 18, LIN et al. teach a computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a microprocessor, cause the microprocessor and/or control hardware components of a first communication apparatus, of a second communication apparatus, or of a base station (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/Fig.4/ first communication apparatus and also see para [0041] wherein UE including a controller 20, a storage device 30/medium, is mentioned and also see para [0047]) to perform operations comprising at least one of:
operating a first communication apparatus for controlling electronic components of one or more second communication apparatus, the first communication apparatus being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]) and further being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with the one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE2 for second communication apparatus and see para [0034] wherein UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0035] & [0075]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned),
wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned).
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above computer-readable medium comprising determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network.
However, Hahn teaches a system (Abstract and Fig.7) comprising determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above medium of LIN et al. to include both determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 20, LIN et al. teach a vehicle or a road-side unit having a communication device configured to perform operations (see Abstract and Fig.2/UE1/UE2) comprising: at least one of:
operating the communication device as a first communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE1) for controlling electronic components of one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2/UE2), the first communication apparatus being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate a first wireless communication connection with a base station of a radio access network (see Fig.2, BS and para [0034] wherein the UE1 is located within the radio coverage of the BS and is able to communicate with the BS over the Uu interface, and also UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]) and further being configured to establish, maintain, and terminate second, direct wireless communication connections with the one or more second communication apparatus (see Fig.2 and para [0034] wherein UE1 also supporting the PC5 interface for SL communication with UE2 and UE3, is mentioned and also see para [0035]), wherein the first communication apparatus is further configured to transmit, via the second communication connection, control information items for scheduling or modifying operation of the electronic components required for receiving wireless transmissions over the second communication connection, in the one or more second communication apparatus in a first or a second operating mode, respectively (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned), wherein, in the first operating mode, the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are powered and operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein the Tx UE being configured with Tx UE specific wake-up resource, on which the Tx UE can indicate which peer UEs (i.e., Rx UEs) have data to receive, is mentioned and also wherein in cycle 1, the Tx UE sends out wake-up signals to indicate that both Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 have data for reception, and in response to the wake-up signals, both Rx UEs keep awake (that includes the first operating mode) during the configured SL DRX period, is mentioned) and wherein, in the second operating mode the electronic components of the one or more second communication apparatus are not powered or are put in a low-power mode and are not operative to receive wireless transmissions over the second communication connection (see Fig.10 and para [0139] wherein in cycle 3, no Rx UE has data to receive, and thus, the wake-up signal is not transmitted at all, so that both the Rx UE 1 and Rx UE 2 turning off their radios (that includes the second operating mode) during the SL DRX reception period to save power, is mentioned);
LIN et al. is silent in teaching the above device comprising determining if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network.
However, Hahn teaches a device (see Abstract and Fig.7/first terminal) comprising determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network (see Fig.7, steps S705/S706 and para [0101] wherein when the HARQ response (e.g., ACK or NACK) for the sidelink data is not received from the second terminal within the RLF period (e.g., when the HARQ response is absent), the first terminal may determine that an RLF has occurred (S705), is mentioned and see para [0102] wherein when the RLF is declared (e.g., when the RLF is detected), the first terminal may transmit information indicating that the RLF is declared (hereinafter, referred to as ‘RLF declaration indicator’) to the base station (S706) and the RLF declaration indicator may be transmitted to the base station through an RRC message, a MAC message, or a PHY message (e.g., uplink control information (UCI)), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above device of LIN et al. to include both determining, if one or more second communication apparatus did not receive one or more control information items previously transmitted via the second communication connection and, in the positive case, transmitting a corresponding indication, via the first communication connection, to the base station of the radio access network, disclosed by Hahn in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless terminal for efficiently detecting a radio link failure (RLF) in sidelink communication and also declaring a radio link failure (RLF) for a radio link between a first terminal and a second terminal when the one or more HARQ responses indicate a discontinuous transmission (DTX) in wireless communication system.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Raghavan et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0204098 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to switching techniques for message forwarding in wireless communications.
Maleki et al. (US Pat. No: 12,022,396 B2) disclose mechanisms relating to improvements to in wireless device energy consumption by use of wake-up signals (WUS) in wireless communication system.
8. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
10/13/2026