DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 10/07/2024 and 06/30/2025. Claims 1-10 and 21-29 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/07/2024, 01/15/2026 and 06/09/2026 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thangarasa et al (US 2026/0164494) (hereinafter “Thangarasa”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Thangarasa reference entirety, Thangarasa teaches a method for determining a measurement window boundary (para [0032]: "Figure 1 illustrates a method 100 performed by a wireless device for performing SDT using a timing advance (TA) validated using time ranges for measurements of a serving cell, according to one or more embodiments … ") comprising:
Receiving (obtaining), from a base station (network node), a configured grant (CG) for small data transmission (SDT) (CG-SDT) (para [0033]: "The method 100 begins at block 105, where the wireless device obtains, at a first time (e.g., time T1 as illustrated in Figure 3 and discussed below), information about one or more preconfigured resources used for the SDT. In some cases, the information may be referred to as CG-SDT configuration information … the wireless device connected to a network node of the wireless communication network … when obtaining the information about the pre-configured resource(s). ");
determining, based, at least in part, on a beam sweeping factor and a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst periodicity while operating in Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) frequency range 2 (FR2), boundaries of a first measurement window and a second measurement window (para [0044]: "At block 120, the wireless device determines a validity of the first measurement and of the second measurement using respective time ranges. A first time range is used to validate the first measurement, and is based on the first time T1 and on a first set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. A second time range is used to validate the second measurement, and is based on the second time T2 and on a second set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. The durations of the first time range and of the second time range are selected to ensure that the respective measurements are representative of the actual radio conditions at the first time T1 and the second time T2 … ." Moreover; para [0049]: "The time range 315 extends between a start time (T1-T01) and an end time (T1+T02), where T01 represents a length of time preceding T1, and T02 represents a length of time following T1 … ." In addition, para [0050]: "The values of T0l and/or T02 are determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a first set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. For example, the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof … ." In addition, para [0065]: "Determining the validity of the second measurement will be described with reference to diagram 400 of Figure 4 ... ." Also, para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2 ... ." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof … ."); and
performing validation of a CG-SDT occasion based on results of a first measurement occurring in the first measurement window and a second measurement occurring in the second measurement window (para [0081]: "In one alternate embodiment, the operational task(s) include using the first measurement and the second measurement to determine whether to transmit small data using pre-configured resources (e.g., using CG-SDT uplink transmissions) or to request dedicated resources to transmit the small data (e.g., transition the wireless device to a connected state and request the dedicated resources) based on a comparison between M1 and/or M2 with their respective thresholds, H1 and H2. For example, if M1 is less than Hl and/or M2 is less than H2, the wireless device may transition into a connected state and requests resources for sending the small data. Otherwise (M1> H1 and/or M2 > H2), the wireless device uses the preconfigured resources for sending the small data").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein the beam sweeping factor is one of a plurality of beam sweeping factors, and wherein the method further comprises: selecting the beam sweeping factor from the plurality of beam sweeping factors based, at least in part, on a discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) length (para [0030]: "The sets of parameter(s) include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the respective measurement, a relation between the periodicity and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRA.) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device, a frequency range (FR) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell, a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT, or any combination thereof." Also para [0049]: … the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRx) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6 GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof ... .").
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein, determining, based, at least in part, on the beam sweeping factor and the SSB burst periodicity, boundaries of the first measurement window and the second measurement window includes: determining a maximum of a threshold and a product of the beam sweeping factor and the SSB burst periodicity; and determining the boundaries of the first measurement window and the second measurement window based on the determined maximum (para [0030]: "The sets of parameter(s) include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the respective measurement, a relation between the periodicity and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRA.) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device, a frequency range (FR) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell, a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT, or any combination thereof." Also para [0049]: … the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRx) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6 GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the values of T01 and T02 may be determined further based on the configured DRX cycle length of the serving cell (e.g., 320 ms, 640 ms, 1.28 s, 2.56 s, and so forth.").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 3 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein the threshold is based, at least in part, on a discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) length (para [0030]: "The sets of parameter(s) include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the respective measurement, a relation between the periodicity and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRA.) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device, a frequency range (FR) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell, a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT, or any combination thereof." Also para [0049]: … the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRx) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6 GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the values of T01 and T02 may be determined further based on the configured DRX cycle length of the serving cell (e.g., 320 ms, 640 ms, 1.28 s, 2.56 s, and so forth.").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches determining that early measurement report (EMR) is configured for inactive mode; determining that an EMR measurement collides with an SDT; and determining, based, at least in part, on whether a T331 timer is active, to prioritize EMR measurement and skip the SDT (para [0005]: "... The wireless device may be further configured with a validity timer (such as a time alignment timer (TAT)) to determine a validity of the TA value. When the period of the validity timer has elapsed, the TA value is no longer valid." Or para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT)." And para (para [0048]: "Each of the exemplary measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 are illustrated as having a same length of time, and the wireless device may be capable of obtaining a same number of samples of the reference signal within each of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4. Generally, the wireless device may obtain one sample for every P-th DRX cycle 305-1, . .. , 305-6, where P=l, 2, 3, and so forth. The length of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 has been selected for simplicity of description, and the person of ordinary skill will understand that different lengths of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 are also contemplated (e.g., encompassing any suitable number of DRX cycles 305-1, ... , 305-6).").
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein determining, based, at least in part, on whether the T331 timer is active, to prioritize EMR measurement and skip the SDT includes: determining EMR measurements on EMR carriers are to prioritized; and
determining that measurements on non-ERM carriers are to be skipped (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Moreover; (para [0074]: "In some embodiments, determining the validity of the second measurement further comprises determining whether the second measurement was obtained within a threshold Tx amount of time from the second time T2. Stated another way, when the threshold Tx applies, a second measurement completed within the time range 420 (that is, between (T2-AT) and T2) may be not valid if completed more than the threshold Tx time prior to the second time T2. Use of the threshold Tx further improves the likelihood that the second measurement is an accurate representation of the conditions existing at the second time T2.").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein determining, based, at least in part, on whether the T331 timer is active, to prioritize EMR measurement and skip the SDT includes: determining that all to be measured frequency carriers configured are for EMR measurements (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Moreover; (para [0074]: "In some embodiments, determining the validity of the second measurement further comprises determining whether the second measurement was obtained within a threshold Tx amount of time from the second time T2. Stated another way, when the threshold Tx applies, a second measurement completed within the time range 420 (that is, between (T2-AT) and T2) may be not valid if completed more than the threshold Tx time prior to the second time T2. Use of the threshold Tx further improves the likelihood that the second measurement is an accurate representation of the conditions existing at the second time T2.").
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 7 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches determining that at least one of a to be measured frequency carrier is not configured for EMR measurement; and prioritizing the SDT transmission (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Moreover; (para [0074]: "In some embodiments, determining the validity of the second measurement further comprises determining whether the second measurement was obtained within a threshold Tx amount of time from the second time T2. Stated another way, when the threshold Tx applies, a second measurement completed within the time range 420 (that is, between (T2-AT) and T2) may be not valid if completed more than the threshold Tx time prior to the second time T2. Use of the threshold Tx further improves the likelihood that the second measurement is an accurate representation of the conditions existing at the second time T2." Moreover; para [0076]: "In some embodiments, Tx=L1 *TDRx· In one nonlimiting example, L1=1. In another non-limiting example, L1> 1 (e.g., L1=2). In some embodiments, the value of L1 may depend further on DRX cycle periodicity and/or CG-SDT resource periodicity. For example, the wireless device may be required to complete the second measurement not earlier than L1 number of DRX cycles before the second time T2.").
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 8 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches wherein determining, based, at least in part, on whether the T331 timer is active, to prioritize EMR measurement and skip the SDT includes: determining that at least one of a to be measured frequency carrier is configured for an EMR measurements (para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT).").
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 9 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches determining that none of the to be measured frequency carriers are configured for EMR measurement; and prioritizing the SDT transmission (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Moreover; (para [0074]: "In some embodiments, determining the validity of the second measurement further comprises determining whether the second measurement was obtained within a threshold Tx amount of time from the second time T2. Stated another way, when the threshold Tx applies, a second measurement completed within the time range 420 (that is, between (T2-AT) and T2) may be not valid if completed more than the threshold Tx time prior to the second time T2. Use of the threshold Tx further improves the likelihood that the second measurement is an accurate representation of the conditions existing at the second time T2.").
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also teaches determining that the T331 timer is not active; and prioritizing the SDT transmission (para [0005]: "... The wireless device may be further configured with a validity timer (such as a time alignment timer (TAT)) to determine a validity of the TA value. When the period of the validity timer has elapsed, the TA value is no longer valid." Or para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT)." And para (para [0048]: "Each of the exemplary measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 are illustrated as having a same length of time, and the wireless device may be capable of obtaining a same number of samples of the reference signal within each of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4. Generally, the wireless device may obtain one sample for every P-th DRX cycle 305-1, . .. , 305-6, where P=l, 2, 3, and so forth. The length of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 has been selected for simplicity of description, and the person of ordinary skill will understand that different lengths of the measurement periods 310-1, ... , 310-4 are also contemplated (e.g., encompassing any suitable number of DRX cycles 305-1, ... , 305-6).").
Regarding claim 21, in accordance with Thangarasa reference entirety, Thangarasa discloses a baseband processor (FIG. 8; UE 800), comprising: a memory (FIG. 8; 810); and processing circuitry (FIG. 8; 802) in communication with the memory (FIG. 8; 810) (see description in paras [0112] to [0122] for description details of elements in UE 800) and configured to: (para [0032]: "Figure 1 illustrates a method 100 performed by a wireless device for performing SDT using a timing advance (TA) validated using time ranges for measurements of a serving cell, according to one or more embodiments … ")
receive (obtain), from a base station (network node), a configured grant (CG) for small data transmission (SDT) (CG-SDT) (para [0033]: "The method 100 begins at block 105, where the wireless device obtains, at a first time (e.g., time T1 as illustrated in Figure 3 and discussed below), information about one or more preconfigured resources used for the SDT. In some cases, the information may be referred to as CG-SDT configuration information … the wireless device connected to a network node of the wireless communication network … when obtaining the information about the pre-configured resource(s). ");
determine, based, at least in part, on a beam sweeping factor and a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst periodicity while operating in Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) frequency range 2 (FR2), boundaries of a first measurement window and a second measurement window (para [0044]: "At block 120, the wireless device determines a validity of the first measurement and of the second measurement using respective time ranges. A first time range is used to validate the first measurement, and is based on the first time T1 and on a first set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. A second time range is used to validate the second measurement, and is based on the second time T2 and on a second set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. The durations of the first time range and of the second time range are selected to ensure that the respective measurements are representative of the actual radio conditions at the first time T1 and the second time T2 … ." Moreover; para [0049]: "The time range 315 extends between a start time (T1-T01) and an end time (T1+T02), where T01 represents a length of time preceding T1, and T02 represents a length of time following T1 … ." In addition, para [0050]: "The values of T0l and/or T02 are determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a first set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. For example, the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof … ." In addition, para [0065]: "Determining the validity of the second measurement will be described with reference to diagram 400 of Figure 4 ... ." Also, para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2 ... ." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof … ."); and
perform validation of a CG-SDT occasion based on results of a first measurement occurring in the first measurement window and a second measurement occurring in the second measurement window (para [0081]: "In one alternate embodiment, the operational task(s) include using the first measurement and the second measurement to determine whether to transmit small data using pre-configured resources (e.g., using CG-SDT uplink transmissions) or to request dedicated resources to transmit the small data (e.g., transition the wireless device to a connected state and request the dedicated resources) based on a comparison between M1 and/or M2 with their respective thresholds, H1 and H2. For example, if M1 is less than Hl and/or M2 is less than H2, the wireless device may transition into a connected state and requests resources for sending the small data. Otherwise (M1> H1 and/or M2 > H2), the wireless device uses the preconfigured resources for sending the small data").
Regarding claim 22, in addition to features recited in base claim 21 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses determine that a positioning measurement is configured for inactive mode; determine that the position measurement collides with an SDT transmission; and determine, based, at least in part, on an effective positioning reference signal (PRS) periodicity of the positioning measurement exceeding a threshold, to prioritize the positioning measurement and drop the SDT transmission (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof").
Regarding claim 23, in addition to features recited in base claim 22 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses wherein the effective PRS periodicity is defined as an actual implemented periodicity based on a configured PRS periodicity and muting information (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof").
Regarding claim 24, in addition to features recited in base claim 21 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine that an enhanced discontinuous reception cycle (eDRX) is configured in inactive mode; and prior to performing the validation of the CG-SDT occasion, transition to a legacy discontinuous reception cycle (DRX) status (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof").
Regarding claim 25, in addition to features recited in base claim 24 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transition, during a subsequent SDT occasion, from eDRX status to legacy DRX status for radio resource management (RRM) measurement and time and frequency (T/F) tracking (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof.” Moreover; para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT).”).
Regarding claim 26, in accordance with Thangarasa reference entirety, Thangarasa discloses a non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a baseband processor (FIG. 8; UE 800) (see description in paras [0112] to [0122] for description details of elements in UE 800; and para [0032]: "Figure 1 illustrates a method 100 performed by a wireless device for performing SDT using a timing advance (TA) validated using time ranges for measurements of a serving cell, according to one or more embodiments … ") to:
receive (obtain), from a base station (network node), a configured grant (CG) for small data transmission (SDT) (CG-SDT) (para [0033]: "The method 100 begins at block 105, where the wireless device obtains, at a first time (e.g., time T1 as illustrated in Figure 3 and discussed below), information about one or more preconfigured resources used for the SDT. In some cases, the information may be referred to as CG-SDT configuration information … the wireless device connected to a network node of the wireless communication network … when obtaining the information about the pre-configured resource(s). ");
determine, based, at least in part, on a beam sweeping factor and a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst periodicity while operating in Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) frequency range 2 (FR2), boundaries of a first measurement window and a second measurement window (para [0044]: "At block 120, the wireless device determines a validity of the first measurement and of the second measurement using respective time ranges. A first time range is used to validate the first measurement, and is based on the first time T1 and on a first set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. A second time range is used to validate the second measurement, and is based on the second time T2 and on a second set of one or more parameters associated with 5G NR. The durations of the first time range and of the second time range are selected to ensure that the respective measurements are representative of the actual radio conditions at the first time T1 and the second time T2 … ." Moreover; para [0049]: "The time range 315 extends between a start time (T1-T01) and an end time (T1+T02), where T01 represents a length of time preceding T1, and T02 represents a length of time following T1 … ." In addition, para [0050]: "The values of T0l and/or T02 are determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a first set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. For example, the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof … ." In addition, para [0065]: "Determining the validity of the second measurement will be described with reference to diagram 400 of Figure 4 ... ." Also, para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2 ... ." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof … ."); and
perform validation of a CG-SDT occasion based on results of a first measurement occurring in the first measurement window and a second measurement occurring in the second measurement window (para [0081]: "In one alternate embodiment, the operational task(s) include using the first measurement and the second measurement to determine whether to transmit small data using pre-configured resources (e.g., using CG-SDT uplink transmissions) or to request dedicated resources to transmit the small data (e.g., transition the wireless device to a connected state and request the dedicated resources) based on a comparison between M1 and/or M2 with their respective thresholds, H1 and H2. For example, if M1 is less than Hl and/or M2 is less than H2, the wireless device may transition into a connected state and requests resources for sending the small data. Otherwise (M1> H1 and/or M2 > H2), the wireless device uses the preconfigured resources for sending the small data").
Regarding claim 27, in addition to features recited in base claim 26 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses determine that an enhanced discontinuous reception cycle (eDRX) is configured in inactive mode; and determine, while operating in 5G NR frequency range 1 (FR1), boundaries of the first measurement window and the second measurement window based on an eDRX cycle length (para [0049]: "The time range 315 extends between a start time (T1-T01) and an end time (Tl+T02), where T0l represents a length of time preceding Tl, and T02 represents a length of time following T1"; para [0050]: "The values of T01 and/or T02 are determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a first set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. For example, the first set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the first measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, a power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), a frequency range (FRx) of a carrier frequency of the serving cell (e.g., FR1 between about 400 MHz and about 7 GHz, FR2 between about 24 GHz and about 52.6GHz), a transmission periodicity of the one or more pre-configured resources used for the SDT (e.g., SDT transmission periodicity), or any combination thereof"; para [0065]: "Determining the validity of the second measurement will be described with reference to diagram 400 of Figure 4 ... ." Also, para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2 ... ." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof.").
Regarding claim 28, in addition to features recited in base claim 27 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses transition, during a subsequent SDT occasion, from eDRX status to legacy DRX status for radio resource management (RRM) measurement and T/F tracking (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof.” Moreover; para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT).”).
Regarding claim 29, in addition to features recited in base claim 28 (see rationales discussed above), Thangarasa also discloses remain, during a subsequent SDT occasion, in an eDRX status for radio resource management (RRM) measurement and T/F tracking (para [0069]: "The time range 420 extends between a start time (T2-AT) and an end time (T2), where AT represents a length of time preceding T2. The value AT is greater than or equal to zero, such that the end time may be prior to, or at, the second time T2. In some embodiments, the length of AT may be equal to a length of the measurement periods 410-1, 410-2, 410-3. Other suitable values of AT are also contemplated." Furthermore; para [0070]: "The value of AT is determined based on (e.g., is a function of, depends upon, is associated with, or is related to) a second set of one or more parameters that are associated with 5G NR. In some cases, the second set of parameters may have some overlap with the first set of parameters. For example, the second set of parameters may include at least one of: a periodicity (Trs) of a reference signal (RS) used for obtaining the second measurement (e.g., SMTC periodicity, SSB periodicity, CSI-RS resource periodicity), a relation between the periodicity Trs and a configured discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length (TDRX) of the serving cell, the power class of the wireless device, a receive beam sweeping factor of the wireless device (e.g., N1), or any combination thereof.” Moreover; para [0036]: "In some embodiments, the information further comprises information related to a method of validation of the TA, and/or one or more parameters related to SDT. For example, the information may include a value of the TA, a SDT start position, information indicating whether the wireless device is required to validate the TA prior to the SDT using RRM measurements for the serving cell, information indicating whether the TA is always assumed to be valid for the serving cell, information indicating whether the wireless device uses a TA-related timer (e.g., a validity timer such as TAT).”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koskinen et al. (US 2025/0081112).
Samsung, Configured Grant based Small Data Transmission, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 Meeting #113 Electronic, R2-2100145, 6 pages, January 25 to February 5, 2021.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 September 16, 2026