DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species B, drawn to claims 1-11 and 20, in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/854,765 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generally broader than the conflicting claims (in particular, see conflicting claims 1 and 8) and only have minor obvious differences or minor differences in language. The differences between the instant claims and the conflicting claims are considered to be obvious to a PHOSITA in light of the prior art of record (see the following rejections of claims 1-11 and 20).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tofighi et al. (US 5,980,482).
Regarding claim 1, Tofighi discloses a cleaning apparatus for cleaning internal channels of an item of equipment, the apparatus comprising: a bag including a main body portion and a neck portion (Figure 1: 10; col. 3, lines 42-48), the main body portion providing an internal volume for holding a first liquid (12; col. 4, lines 39-41); and a reservoir having an internal volume for holding a second liquid (Figure 1: 19; col. 4, lines 39-41; also see Figs. 7A-7C), the reservoir being engaged with the neck portion of the bag (14, 19) such that, in use, when the neck portion is opened to access the internal volume of the main body portion, the second liquid is concurrently released from the reservoir to mix with the first liquid (apparatus is capable of being used as claimed).
Note that performing cleaning, holding a first liquid or a second liquid, and performing the mixing as claimed are all intended use of the claimed apparatus capable of being met by the apparatus of Tofighi. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 7, 8, and 20, Tofighi discloses in which the reservoir comprises a pouch that is suspended from a part of the neck portion of the bag (at 21); in which the neck portion of the bag includes a frangible seal that forms a boundary of the reservoir (21; col. 5, lines 8-12); in which the neck portion of the bag comprises a retainer arranged to engage with said item of equipment to hold a part of said item of equipment in said first liquid (mouth/rim at 15, for example); comprising a volume of said first liquid in the internal volume of the main body portion and a volume of said second liquid in the internal volume of the reservoir (col. 4, lines 39-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofighi et al. (US 5,980,482).
Regarding claims 2-3, Tofighi is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose in which the internal volume of the reservoir is no more than 10% of the internal volume of the main body portion; or in which the internal volume of the reservoir holds 5ml of liquid and the internal volume of the main body portion holds 500ml of liquid. However, Tofighi discloses that the mixer may be used to mix a variety of materials, such as liquids, pastes, powders, or combinations (col. 4, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proportions and sizes of the internal volumes in order to predictably mix different quantities of the variety of materials to achieve desired concentrations/ratios and total quantities of the variety of materials, yielding a cleaning apparatus having the internal volume of the reservoir is no more than 10% of the internal volume of the main body portion; and/or in which the internal volume of the reservoir holds 5ml of liquid and the internal volume of the main body portion holds 500ml of liquid.
Claim(s) 6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofighi et al. (US 5,980,482) in view of Francis, Jr. (US 4,856,651).
Regarding claim 6, Tofighi is relied upon as above and further discloses the frangible seal includes a line having an arc-shaped portion forming a concavity for receiving the second liquid (Figure 1: see circumference/arc line of 21 at 14, and see concave shape of 21).
Tofighi does not expressly disclose the line is a weld line.
Francis discloses a chemical thermal pack and method of making the same, including a pouch (10) made of flexible plastic films integrally joined to each other by weld seams, wherein a heating apparatus is sued to create welds (abstract; col. 3, lines 24-26; col. 4, lines 2-9).
Because it is known in the art to use weld seams to join flexible plastic films, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, using known manufacturing techniques, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the line is a weld line.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Tofighi is relied upon as above and further discloses the neck portion of the bag is closed at a top furthest from the main body portion, such that the reservoir is defined between the frangible seal and the heat welded seal (see, for example, embodiments 7A, 7B, 7C; col. 7, lines 33-38).
Tofighi does not expressly disclose the heat welded seal closure.
Francis discloses a chemical thermal pack and method of making the same, including a pouch (10) made of flexible plastic films integrally joined to each other by weld seams, wherein a heating apparatus is sued to create welds (abstract; col. 3, lines 24-26; col. 4, lines 2-9).
Because it is known in the art to use weld seams to join flexible plastic films, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, using known manufacturing techniques to close the top, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heat welded seal closure.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofighi et al. (US 5,980,482) in view of DiLiberto et al. (US 2013/0126370; cited by Applicant) and Langsam (US 2017/0356114).
Regarding claim 9, Tofighi is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose in which the first liquid is sterile or distilled water and the second liquid is a detergent.
DiLiberto discloses a multi-compartment container with a frangible seal, including a method for creating a cleaning or disinfecting solution, for example by having a liquid or powder chlorine in a first compartment and a second compartment with water, which are then mixed (paragraph 109). DiLiberto further discloses the use of sterile water for mixing a solution (paragraph 115). Langsam discloses a portable, compact, flexible, washing machine including a bag and a pre-measured quantity of detergent behind a frangible or breakable wall (abstract), wherein the bag (10) includes a thin plastic wall (34) to hold and release a soap (36) to mix with water (paragraph 24).
Because it is known in the art to form a cleaning or disinfecting solution, to use a sterile water, and to use a soap or detergent to form a cleaning solution, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, mixing a cleaning solution as is known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the first liquid is sterile or distilled water and the second liquid is a detergent.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711