DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to the application 18/854,748 filed 07 October 2024, 371 of PCT/IN2023/050342 filed 08 April 2023, claiming priority from IN20221021077 filed 08 April 2022. Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are amended. Claim 5 is canceled. Claims 9-18 are new. Currently, claims 1-4 and 6-18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhigang et al. (A method for preparing apaltadamine, CN 202011458042.1, 10 December 2020 + MT).
Zhigang discloses synthesis of structure III-2 from IV-2 and V in dichloromethane using triethylamine as the base (pg. 17, lines 11-18):
Zhigang also discloses the synthesis of structure I-2 from III-2 and II in dioxane using triethylamine as the base (pg. 26, lines 13-21):
Lastly, Zhigang discloses the synthesis of structure B, apaltadine, from I-2 and aqueous methylamine in ethanol (pg. 27, lines 6-13):
As such, Zhigang anticipates claim 1.
Regarding the limitations of claim 2 are met as the first solvent is dichloromethane (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
Concerning the limitations of claim 3 are met as the first base is triethylamine (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 4 are met as structure III-2 anticipates intermediate 1 (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6 are met as the synthesis of structure III-2 anticipates the synthesis of intermediate 1 through KSM-1 and KSM-2 (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
With regards to the limitations of claim 7 are met as the disclosed solvent used is dichloromethane (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
With concern to the limitations of claim 8 are met as the disclosed base used is triethylamine (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
Regarding the limitations of claim 9 are met as Zhigang discloses using chloroform as the solvent in analogous synthesis of structure III-1 from IV-1 and V (pg. 16, lines 11-18):
Concerning the limitations of claim 10 are met as the disclosed base used is triethylamine (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 11 are met as Zhigang discloses using chloroform as the solvent in analogous synthesis of structure I-1 from III-1 and II (pg. 20, lines 15-23):
With respect to the limitations of claim 12 are met as Zhigang discloses using triethylamine as the base in the synthesis of structure I-2 (pg. 26, lines 13-21).
With regards to the limitations of claim 13 are met as Zhigang discloses using chloroform as the solvent in analogous synthesis of structure III-1 from IV-1 and V (pg. 16, lines 11-18).
With concern to the limitations of claim 14 are met as Zhigang discloses the use of triethylamine in the synthesis of structure III-2 (pg. 17, lines 11-18).
Regarding the limitations of claim 15 are met as Zhigang discloses using chloroform as the solvent in analogous synthesis of structure I-1 from III-1 and II (pg. 20, lines 15-23).
Concerning the limitations of claim 16 are met as Zhigang discloses using triethylamine as the base in the synthesis of structure I-2 (pg. 26, lines 13-21).
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 17 are met as Zhigang discloses using chloroform for the analogous synthesis of structure III-1 (pg. 16, lines 11-18) and I-1 (pg. 20, lines 15-23).
With respect to the limitations of claim 18 are met as Zhigang discloses using triethylamine for the synthesis of structures III-2 (pg. 17, lines 11-18) and I-2 (pg. 26, lines 13-21).
Summary
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALLEN CHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622