DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (U.S. 2025/0287195), hereinafter Jung, in view of Shi et al. (U.S. 2025/0168704), hereinafter Shi.
With respect to Claim 16, Jung teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first message including information on a configuration for the terminal to report information for a gap preference (¶ 0260, “base station 1 12-02 may transmit the otherConfig-r17 contained in a predetermined RRC message to the SIM1 UE 12-01 of the multi-SIM UE… The otherConfig-r17 may include information (MUSIM-SwitchingGapPreferenceConfig) indicating that the SIM1 UE 12-01 of the multi-SIM UE is able to request a gap from base station 1 12-02 to perform operations on another SIM.”)
transmitting, to the base station, a second message including information on a multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) gap preferred by the terminal (¶ 0269, “As an example, the predetermined message may mean UEAssistanceInformation. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the gap may be referred to as NoActivityPreferenceGaps for convenience of description. In other words, NoActivityPreferenceGaps may mean a gap required for the SIM1 UE 12-01 of the multi-SIM UE to perform no separate operation with base station 1 12-02 for a short time, and for the SIM2 UE 12-04 of the multi-SIM UE to perform the above-described predetermined operation and this may mean a gap for a multi-SIM operation.”) and
Jung fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the base station, a third message including information for determining a system frame number (SFN) and a subframe associated with the MUSIM gap.
Shi teaches receiving, from the base station, a third message including information for determining a system frame number (SFN) and a subframe associated with the MUSIM gap (¶ 0014, “MUSIM-Starting-SFN-AndSubframe-r17”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Jung with the invention of Shi in order to better indicate the specifics of gap information in the system of Jung.
With respect to Claim 17, Jung teaches the method of claim 16, Jung teaches wherein, in case that the MUSIM gap preferred by the terminal is periodic, the information on the MUSIM gap preferred by the terminal includes at least one of information on a length, information on a gap repetition period, or information on a gap offset (¶ 0271, “As an example, a plurality of gap offsets may be included in one long period (mgrp), and the switching gap length or switching gap timing advance mapped to each gap offset may be included. Or, the gap offset, switching gap duration, and switching gap timing advance for each period may be included. Or, a specific no activity gap pattern among a plurality of no activity gap patterns may include an indicator indicating that it occurs one-shot rather than periodically.”)
With respect to Claim 18, Jung teaches the method of claim 16, Jung teaches wherein, in case that the MUSIM gap preferred by the terminal is aperiodic, the information on the MUSIM gap preferred by the terminal includes at least one of information on a length, information on a starting SFN, or information on a starting subframe (¶ 0271, “As an example, a plurality of gap offsets may be included in one long period (mgrp), and the switching gap length or switching gap timing advance mapped to each gap offset may be included. Or, the gap offset, switching gap duration, and switching gap timing advance for each period may be included. Or, a specific no activity gap pattern among a plurality of no activity gap patterns may include an indicator indicating that it occurs one-shot rather than periodically.”)
With respect to claim 19, Jung teaches the method of claim 16, Jung fails to explicitly teach wherein the SFN and the subframe are associated with a primary cell (PCell) of a master node (MN).
Shi teaches wherein the SFN and the subframe are associated with a primary cell (PCell) of a master node (MN) (¶ 0014, “MUSIM-Starting-SFN-AndSubframe-r17.” Note: there are only two real possibilities, either the frame timing of the master or the secondary, and it would be obvious to pick the primary as the information is being communicated to the primary and it would reduce complexity of the message as the device would otherwise need to include information about which timing is being used.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Jung with the invention of Shi in order to better indicate the specifics of gap information in the system of Jung.
With respect to Claims 20-23, the claims are the method of the corresponding base station, which communicates with and corresponds to the method of a terminal of Claim 16-19, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claims 24-27, the claims are the terminal corresponding to the method of Claims 16-19, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claims 28-31, the claims are the base station device, which communicates with and corresponds to the method of a terminal of Claim 16-19, and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479