DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a second office action final rejection on the merits.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-28 have been canceled, Claims 29-30, 33-34, and 36 have been amended, Claims 31-32, 35, 47-48 remain as previously presented, Claims 37-46 have been withdrawn, and Claims 49-50 have been added. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, the Specification, and the Claims have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 04/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 49, Claim 49 is indefinite because the claim is dependent upon a canceled claim. For the purposes of examination, Claim 49 will be interpreted as being dependent upon claim 29.
Regarding Claim 50, Claim 50 recites the limitation “the longitudinal direction of the web” in Line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-31, 33, and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) in view of McKenna (US 20190029192 A1).
Regarding Claim 29, Challet teaches a plant plug (1) for germinating, cutting and/or growing plants and/or for tissue culture (See Fig. 1 and Pg. 1; Plant plug 1 serves as a culture substrate for cells, tissues, plant organs and whole plants.), comprising:
A strip (10) of polymeric fibres or filaments (2; Pg. 2 states that the fibres 2 are made of polymers, such as polyester.),
Wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction and a width direction (See Figs. 1-3; The strip 10 is a rectangular strip that is rolled into a cylinder. That strip 10 has a plane, a longitudinal direction, and a width direction.), and
Wherein the strip (10) is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers (See Fig. 3; Strip 10 is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers.).
However, the system of Challet fails to explicitly state that the fibres are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip and that, in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof.
McKenna teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a grow media.), the system of McKenna teaches a plant plug (300; shown in Fig. 29) wherein fibres (208; ¶116 states that structure 208 is made of a wicking material. Wicking materials are composed of fibers.) are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip (See Figs. 28-29 and ¶116; The fibres of structure 208 are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip.) and that, in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof (See Figs. 28-29; The fibres 208 are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Challet to have the fibres be substantially oriented in the plane of the strip, and to have, in the strip, the fibres or filaments be substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof as taught by McKenna with reasonable expectation of success to improve water and nutrient absorption (McKenna, ¶8).
Regarding Claim 30, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna further teaches (references to McKenna) that in a layer, the fibres or filaments (208) are substantially oriented horizontally or vertically (See Fig. 28; The fibres 208 are substantially oriented horizontally in a layer.).
Regarding Claim 31, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
Challet further teaches that the strip (10) is wound onto itself in multiple layers into a cylinder shape (shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 33, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna further teaches (references to McKenna) that the strip is derived from a web (404), wherein in the web, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the plane of the web (See Figs. 25 and 28; The fibres are substantially oriented in the plane of web 404 in the longitudinal direction of the web 404 and locally mutually bonded to one another.).
Regarding Claim 49, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna further teaches (references to McKenna) that the fibres or filaments are locally mutually bonded together (See Figs. 28-29 and ¶116; The fibres of structure 208 are locally mutually bonded to one another.).
Regarding Claim 50, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 33.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna further teaches (references to McKenna) that the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction of the web (See Figs. 25 and 28; The fibres are substantially oriented in the plane of web 404 in the longitudinal direction of the web 404.).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) as modified by McKenna (US 20190029192 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Knop et al. (US 5009031 A).
Regarding Claim 32, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the strip is arranged in a zigzag configuration. Knop teaches a strip (3) arranged in a zigzag configuration (See Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have the strip be arranged in a zigzag configuration as taught by Knop with reasonable expectation of success to provide structural strength since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) as modified by McKenna (US 20190029192 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Dwire (US 20210321580 A1).
Regarding Claim 34, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
However, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna fails to explicitly state that the polymeric fibres of the strip are comprised of fibres laid using air.
Dwire teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a cultivation substrate.), the system of Dwire teaches a strip (15) is comprised of fibers laid using air (See ¶41; Strip 15 comprises fibers that are laid using air.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Challet as modified by McKenna to have the polymeric fibres of the strip be comprised of fibres laid using air as taught by Dwire with reasonable expectation of success to provide faster installation.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) as modified by McKenna (US 20190029192 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Belger (DE 102017116487 A1).
Regarding Claim 35, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
The system of Challet as modified by McKenna teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the plug is biodegradable. Belger teaches a plug (11) that is biodegradable (See Claims and Pg. 2; Plug 11 is made of biodegradable materials.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have the plug be biodegradable as taught by Belger with reasonable expectation of success to reduce pollution and waste, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) as modified by McKenna (US 20190029192 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Kosinski et al. (US 20090019765 A1).
Regarding Claim 36, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
However, the system of Challet as modified by McKenna fails to explicitly state that the fibres or filaments are prepared from a polymer composition comprising a biodegradable polymer.
Kosinski teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a plant growth medium.), the system of Kosinski teaches a plant plug (10) wherein the fibres are prepared from a polymer composition comprising a biodegradable polymer (See Abstract, ¶50, and Claim 4; Plant plug 10 comprises fibers that are prepared from a polymer composition comprising a biodegradable polymer as well as an additive cohesion promoter.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Challet as modified by McKenna to have the fibres be prepared from a polymer composition comprising a biodegradable polymer as taught by Kosinski with reasonable expectation of success to provide soil supplementation (Kosinski, ¶76).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmer et al. (WO 2018009944 A1) in view of Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) and McKenna (US 20190029192 A1).
Regarding Claim 47, Gasmer teaches an assembly (See Figs. 12-13) of a tray (155) having a plurality of recess (See Fig. 13; Sidewalls 120 form a plurality of recesses where plugs 100 can be inserted.), wherein a recess comprises a plant plug (100; shown in Fig. 13) for germinating, cutting and/or growing plants and/or for tissue culture (Stated in Abstract and ¶1; Plant plugs 100 serve to grow plants.).
However, the system of Gasmer fails to explicitly state that the plant plug comprises a strip of polymeric fibres or filaments, wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction, and a width direction, wherein the fibres are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip, wherein the strip is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers, and wherein in the strip the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof.
Challet teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a plant plug.), the system of Challet teaches a plant plug (1) for germinating, cutting and/or growing plants and/or for tissue culture (See Fig. 1 and Pg. 1; Plant plug 1 serves as a culture substrate for cells, tissues, plant organs and whole plants.), comprising:
A strip (10) of polymeric fibres or filaments (2; Pg. 2 states that the fibres 2 are made of polymers, such as polyester.),
Wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction and a width direction (See Figs. 1-3; The strip 10 is a rectangular strip that is rolled into a cylinder. That strip 10 has a plane, a longitudinal direction, and a width direction.), and
Wherein the strip (10) is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers (See Fig. 3; Strip 10 is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gasmer to have the plant plug comprise a strip of polymeric fibres or filaments, wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction and a width direction, and wherein the strip is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers, as taught by Challet with reasonable expectation of success to provide more gardening efficiency.
McKenna teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a grow media.), the system of McKenna teaches a plant plug (300; shown in Fig. 29) wherein fibres (208; ¶116 states that structure 208 is made of a wicking material. Wicking materials are composed of fibers.) are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip (See Figs. 28-29 and ¶116; The fibres of structure 208 are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip.) and that, in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof (See Figs. 28-29; The fibres 208 are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gasmer as modified by Challet to have the fibres be substantially oriented in the plane of the strip, and to have, in the strip, the fibres or filaments be substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof as taught by McKenna with reasonable expectation of success to improve water and nutrient absorption (McKenna, ¶8).
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westlind et al. (US 20200329654 A1) in view of Challet et al. (EP 0172060 A2) and McKenna (US 20190029192 A1).
Regarding Claim 48, Westlind teaches an assembly (1200) of a gutter or floater (See ¶113; Assembly 1200 includes a gutter.) and a plurality of plant plugs (See ¶112; Assembly 1200 comprises plug apertures 1244 that can accommodate plant plugs 1348.).
However, the system of Westlind fails to explicitly state that the plant plug comprises a strip of polymeric fibres or filaments, wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction, and a width direction, wherein the fibres are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip, wherein the strip is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers, and wherein in the strip the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof.
Challet teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a plant plug.), the system of Challet teaches a plant plug (1) for germinating, cutting and/or growing plants and/or for tissue culture (See Fig. 1 and Pg. 1; Plant plug 1 serves as a culture substrate for cells, tissues, plant organs and whole plants.), comprising:
A strip (10) of polymeric fibres or filaments (2; Pg. 2 states that the fibres 2 are made of polymers, such as polyester.),
Wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction and a width direction (See Figs. 1-3; The strip 10 is a rectangular strip that is rolled into a cylinder. That strip 10 has a plane, a longitudinal direction, and a width direction.), and
Wherein the strip (10) is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers (See Fig. 3; Strip 10 is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Westlind to have the plant plug comprise a strip of polymeric fibres or filaments, wherein the strip has a plane, a longitudinal direction and a width direction, and wherein the strip is arranged in multiple, vertically arranged layers, as taught by Challet with reasonable expectation of success to provide more gardening efficiency.
McKenna teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract teaches a grow media.), the system of McKenna teaches a plant plug (300; shown in Fig. 29) wherein fibres (208; ¶116 states that structure 208 is made of a wicking material. Wicking materials are composed of fibers.) are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip (See Figs. 28-29 and ¶116; The fibres of structure 208 are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip.) and that, in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof (See Figs. 28-29; The fibres 208 are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Westlind as modified by Challet to have the fibres be substantially oriented in the plane of the strip, and to have, in the strip, the fibres or filaments be substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof as taught by McKenna with reasonable expectation of success to improve water and nutrient absorption (McKenna, ¶8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 29, on Pgs. 17-18, Applicant argues the following: “Now according to the Office Action the fibres of the wicking structure 208 are substantially oriented in the plane of the strip and, in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof. Applicant strongly traverses this later assertion. In McKenna, a general description of this embodiment is presented in ¶[0019], where the wicking structure is a mesh netting forming a plurality of apertures, and the variable layer includes randomly oriented fibres…Thus, neither from the specific embodiment shown in Fig. 29 and the description thereof, nor form the general teaching in McKenna it can be unambiguously derived that in McKenna the fibres if any are arranged in the longitudinal direction or the width direction of the strip. Instead thereof McKenna discloses among various other embodiments, randomly oriented fibres.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lines 5-7 of Claim 29 state that “in the strip, the fibres or filaments are substantially oriented in the longitudinal direction or the width direction thereof”. Fig. 25 of McKenna shows that the fibres of structure 208 are substantially oriented in a longitudinal direction.
In addition, on Pg. 18, Applicant argues the following: “Thus, the deficiency in the disclosure of Challet cannot be remedied by McKenna. Moreover, a random orientation of fibres as disclosed by McKenna would contradict the basic requirement of Challet, namely that the fibres are oriented in a radial direction.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2145 states that “a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed”. Although in the Challet reference, the fibres are oriented in a radial direction, the Challet reference does not criticize or discourage changing the orientation of the fibres in the matter taught by McKenna.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643