DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shellhammer et al. (USPN 11,924,812).
Regarding claim 1, Shellhammer teaches a method for parameterized spatial reuse (PSR), implemented in a station (STA) the method comprising receiving, from an access point (AP), a parameterized spatial reuse reception (PSRR) Physical Layer protocol data unit (PPDU) which includes a trigger frame [Col. 21, lines 4-32, receives spatial reuse frame which includes a trigger frame]; and transmitting, based on information in the PSRR PPDU, a parameterized spatial reuse transmission (PSRT) PPDU [Col. 21, line 33 – Col. 22, line 26, spatial reuse transmission is done in the uplink]; wherein the PSRT PPDU includes at least one padding field [Col. 21, line 33 – Col. 22, line 26, uplink transmission includes additional fields used for padding].
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Shellhammer teaches the padding field is configured to align an end of the PSRT PPDU to an end of a trigger based (TB) PPDU transmitted by a station (STA) in a basic service set (BSS) of the AP [Col. 9, line 65 – Col. 10, line 19].
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Shellhammer teaches the STA is not within the BSS of the AP [Col. 8, lines 31-56].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Shellhammer teaches the trigger frame comprises an EHT spatial reuse subfield having a value based on a 20-megahertz (MHz) subchannel [Fig. 8].
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Shellhammer teaches the trigger frame includes a spatial reuse subfield in a common info field [Col. 21, lines 4-32].
Regarding claim 8, Shellhammer teaches a station (STA) configured for parameterized spatial reuse (PSR), the STA comprising: circuitry configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a parameterized spatial reuse reception (PSRR) Physical Layer protocol data unit (PPDU) which includes a trigger frame [Col. 21, lines 4-32, receives spatial reuse frame which includes a trigger frame]; and circuitry configured to transmit, based on information in the PSRR PPDU, a parameterized spatial reuse transmission (PSRT) PPDU [Col. 21, line 33 – Col. 22, line 26, spatial reuse transmission is done in the uplink]; wherein the PSRT PPDU includes at least one padding field [Col. 21, line 33 – Col. 22, line 26, uplink transmission includes additional fields used for padding].
Regarding claim 15, Shellhammer teaches a method for enhanced spatial reuse (ESR), the method comprising: receiving an enhanced spatial reuse reception (ESRR) physical protocol data unit PPDU which includes a trigger frame that indicates that at least one subchannel may be punctured, and a duration of an ESR operation [Col. 21, lines 4-32 and Col. 22, lines 27-45]; transmitting an enhanced spatial reuse transmission (ESRT) PPDU on at least one punctured subchannel, on an ESR opportunity based on the ESRR PPDU [Col. 22, lines 27-45]; and receiving a response to the ESRT PPDU on the at least one punctured subchannel [Col. 22, lines 46-62].
Regarding claim 16, Shellhammer teaches the duration is indicated in a common info field [Col. 21, lines 4-32].
Regarding claim 17, Shellhammer teaches the ESRR PPDU carries a MAC frame which solicits a response frame [Fig. 3].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited on the form PTO-892.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464