DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11, 19-25 and 27-28 are pending in the present application file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-10 and 19-21; drawn to a method of treating a subject with cancer) and a species of PI3K inhibitor and checkpoint inhibitor without traverse in the reply filed September 29, 2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species is not allowable over the prior art as indicated in the rejection under 35 U.S.C 103.
As the Applicant’s elected species has been found not allowable, the Markush-type claims have been rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-7, 9 and 19-21 have been examined to the extent that they embrace and are readable on the elected embodiment and the above identified nonelected species. Claims 1-7, 9 and 19-21 have been found to be not allowable over the prior art.
Claims 8, 10-11, 22-25 and 27-28 are withdrawn from consideration by the Examiner under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Priority
The following continuity data is acknowledged in the present application file:
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed 10/07/2024, 07/09/2025 and 09/29/2026 have been acknowledged by the Examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 contains the trademarks/trade names Libtayo and Jemperli in lines 2 and 3 of instant claim 9. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe cemiplimab and dostarlimab and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 is directed to a method of treating cancer comprising administration of at least one PI3K inhibitor and at least one checkpoint inhibitor. Claim 2 requires further administration of a treatment to the subject, which is not a further limiting requirement of the instant claim. The treatment of claim 2, is not further defined in the claim and is interpreted as encompassing any treatment. Accordingly, the scope of claim 2 has not been narrowed relative to claim 1.
Claim 20, which recites a method of claim 19 further comprising a treatment, is rejected following a similar rationale.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/199864 A1 (Stocking et al.; Publication Date: October 17, 2019), in view of WO 2018217787 A1 (Gold; Date Published: 2018-11-29) and US 2021/0198378 A1 (Kim et al.; Date Published: 2021-07-01).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Stocking discloses compounds which are inhibitors of the Pl3K-AKT-mTOR pathway and pharmaceutical compositions thereof for the treatment of a disease or medical condition associated with autophagy or the PI3K- AKT-MTOR pathway, including cancer (see abstract, paragraphs 8-22 and 164-180). Stocking teaches where the method of treating cancer comprising administration of a PI3K inhibitor may also be used in combination with one or more additional active treatment useful for the treatment of cancer (see paragraphs 169-172).
Stocking discloses where the PI3K inhibitor in some embodiments is Applicant’s elected species in compound 142a on page 70. See instant claims 5-6.
Stocking teaches the following regarding pharmaceutical compositions of the invention in paragraph 155:
The pharmaceutical compositions and compounds described herein may be formulated as solutions, emulsions, suspensions, dispersions, or inclusion complexes such as cyclodextrins in suitable pharmaceutical solvents or carriers, or as pills, tablets, lozenges, suppositories, sachets, dragees, granules, powders, powders for reconstitution, or capsules along with solid carriers according to conventional methods known in the art for preparation of various dosage forms.
Stocking discloses where the separative active ingredients may be administered separately or in a single pharmaceutical composition as well as where the additional active ingredients may be administered simultaneously with, prior to, or after administration of a compound of Formula (I).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Stocking does not teach where the cancer is glioblastoma, breast cancer, or triple negative breast cancer.
Stocking does not disclose where the additional active ingredient of the pharmaceutical composition comprises an immune checkpoint inhibitor, or specifically a PD-1 inhibitor.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See
MPEP § 2142-2143)
Gold discloses methods of treating cancer, comprising administering an effective amount of a phosphoinositide-3-kinase (PI3K) inhibitor and an effective amount of a PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor to a patient (see abstract).
In paragraph 260, Gold teaches the following:
Some embodiments provided herein describe a pharmaceutical compositions or methods for use the pharmaceutical compositions comprising a PI3K inhibitor described herein in combination with a PD- 1 inhibitor. PD-1 inhibitors for use in pharmaceutical compositions and methods provided herein include, but are not limited to, nivolumab (Opdivo®), pembrolizumab (Keytruda®), MEDI0680 (AMP-514), AMP-224, AMP-514 (Amplimmune), BGB-A317, PDR001, REGN2810, JS001, AGEN2034, and variants and biosimilars thereof.
See instant claims 7 and 9.
Gold provides where the cancer comprises glioma and breast cancer and where the treatment may further comprise surgery, endocrine therapy, biologic response modifiers (e.g., interferons, interleukins, and tumor necrosis factor (TNF)), hyperthermia and cryotherapy, and agents to attenuate any adverse effects (e.g., antiemetics) (see paragraphs 269 and 322). See instant claims 2-3 and 20-21.
Kim provides a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a PD-1 blockade and a PI3K inhibitor, and a treatment method to be combined with radiotherapy, for the treatment of triple negative breast cancer (see abstract).
Regarding the PI3K inhibitor of the invention Kim provides in paragraph 21:
As the PI13K inhibitor, any inhibitor against PI13K γ and/or PI13K δ may be used without limitation, and for example, the PI13K inhibitor may be one or more, two or more, or all 3 kinds selected from the group consisting of duvelisib, tenalisib, and idelalisib, but not limited thereto.
Regarding the PD-1 inhibitor, Kim teaches in paragraph 23:
For the pharmaceutical composition for alleviating or treating triple negative breast cancer provided by the present invention, any PD-1 blockade known in the art may be used without limitation, and for example, it may be one or more selected from the group consisting of pembrolizumab, and nivolumab, or a combination of the two kinds.
Stocking discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising inhibitors of the Pl3K-AKT-mTOR pathway, including Applicant’s elected species of PI3K inhibitor, in method for the treatment of a disease or medical condition associated with autophagy or the PI3K- AKT-MTOR pathway, including cancer. Gold teaches method of treating cancer, including glioma and breast cancer, comprising administration of an effective amount of a phosphoinositide-3-kinase (PI3K) inhibitor and an effective amount of a PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor to a patient. Kim provides a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a PD-1 blockade (pembrolizumab or nivolumab) and a PI3K γ δ inhibitor (duvelisib, tenalisib or idelalisib), and a treatment method to be combined with radiotherapy, for the treatment of triple negative breast cancer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a PI3K inhibitor as disclosed by Stocking, and a checkpoint inhibitor, such as a PD-1 inhibitor as disclosed by Gold and Kim, in a method for the treatment of glioblastoma, breast cancer or triple negative breast cancer. There would be a reasonable expectation of success based on the prior art teachings of synergistic combinations of various PD-1 inhibitors and various checkpoint inhibitors for the treatment of cancer, including breast cancer.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7, 9 and 19-21 are rejected.
Claims 8, 10-11, 22-25 and 27-28 are withdrawn.
/QUINCY A. MCKOY/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626