Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wehling (US20160329037) does not teach a potting compound forming a positive fit in the radial and axial directions of the membrane. Examiner disagrees, and maintains that the embodiment disclosed in Wehling Figure 3 (annotated reproduction below) discloses that compound 55 interacts with sensor housing 24 to form a positive fit around diaphragm 23 in both the radial and axial directions. Sensor housing 24 is formed with side walls (Annotated Figure 3) which allows compound 55 to form a positive radial fit around diaphragm 23. Sensor housing 24 is further formed with front side wall 51 and ledges (Annotated Figure 3) which allows compound 55 to form a positive axial fit around diaphragm 23.
Annotated Figure 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “connected with a positive fit” and “wherein a positive fit is produced”. This renders the claim unclear and indefinite, as it is unclear whether both instances of the “positive fit” are referring to the same “positive fit”. For examination purposes, both instances of “positive fit” will be interpreted as referring to the same “positive fit”
Claims 3-10 are rejected by virtue of depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wehling (US20160329037A1), henceforth referred to as Wehling.
Regarding claim 1, Wehling discloses an ultrasonic sensor for a motor vehicle, comprising a sensor housing (Figure 3: ultrasonic sensor housing 24), and having a pot-shaped membrane connected to the sensor housing (Figure 3: diaphragm 23 is pot-shaped and connected to housing 24), the membrane having a membrane base for at least one of emitting or receiving ultrasonic signals (Figure 3: diaphragm base 33 and Paragraph [0016]: "In this way, in the installed position, the diaphragm is situated entirely in the interior space of the sensor housing and can emit and receive the ultrasound signals through the front-side wall of the sensor housing"), and a membrane wall adjoining the membrane base, wherein a section of the membrane wall protrudes into the sensor housing (Figure 3: diaphragm 23 protrudes into sensor housing 24), wherein in a housing interior of a housing section of the sensor housing facing the membrane base, a first sealing compound is arranged, the first sealing compound fills the housing interior (Paragraph [0050]: "A sealing compound, for example a single-component foam (installation foam) and/or a single-component silicone sealing compound, may then be introduced into the interior space 30, including the interior space of the diaphragm 23"), wherein the first sealing compound extends at least partially into a membrane interior of the membrane surrounded by the membrane wall (Paragraph [0050]: "A sealing compound, for example a single-component foam (installation foam) and/or a single-component silicone sealing compound, may then be introduced into the interior space 30, including the interior space of the diaphragm 23"), and the membrane is connected with a positive fit to the sensor housing by the first sealing compound (Figure 3: the sealing compound 55 creates a positive fit between diaphragm 23 and housing 24), wherein the positive fit is produced at least in an axial direction and in a radial direction (Figure 3: compound 55 creates a positive fit between diaphragm 23 and housing 24 in both axial and radial directions).
Regarding claim 3, Wehling discloses an intermediate space is configured in the housing interior between an outside of the membrane wall protruding into the sensor housing and an inside of the housing wall of the housing section (Figure 3: intermediate space 54 is between housing 24 and wall 34 of diaphragm 23), and the first sealing compound extends at least partially into the intermediate space (Figure 3: compound 55 extends into intermediate space 54).
Regarding claim 7, Wehling discloses the first sealing compound extends in the housing interior in the radial direction up to an inner side of the housing wall of the housing section (Figure 3: sealing compound 55 extends in the interior space 30 in the radial direction up to the inner side of the housing wall), and the first sealing compound extends in the membrane interior in the radial direction up to an inner side of the membrane wall (Figure 3: sealing compound 55 extends radially in the interior space of diaphragm to an inner side of membrane 23).
Regarding claim 8, Wehling discloses the first sealing compound extends in the membrane interior in the axial direction up to an inner side of the membrane base (Figure 3: sealing compound 55 extends axially in the interior space of diaphragm to an inner side of membrane 23).
Regarding claim 9, Wehling discloses the first sealing compound is configured in one piece from a first material (Paragraph [0058]: "In a further step, an intermediate space 54 between the diaphragm 23 and the sensor housing 24, and optionally also the interior space of the diaphragm 23, and optionally also an adjoining region of the interior space 30 of the sensor housing 24, are filled with a sealing compound 55. Here, use is preferably made of a single-component sealing compound, in particular a single-component foam and/or a single-component silicone sealing compound").
Claims 1, 4-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simonazzi (EP2684186B2), henceforth referred to as Simonazzi.
Regarding claim 1, Simonazzi discloses an ultrasonic sensor for a motor vehicle, comprising a sensor housing (Figure 6: ultrasonic sensor 1 comprises body 2), and having a pot-shaped membrane connected to the sensor housing (Figure 6: pot shaped element 9 connected to housing 2), the membrane having a membrane base for at least one of emitting or receiving ultrasonic signals (Figure 6: element 9 is connected to transducer 12 to receive and transmit ultrasonic signals to the transducer 12), and a membrane wall adjoining the membrane base, wherein a section of the membrane wall protrudes into the sensor housing (Figure 6: pot shaped element 9 comprises a wall that protrudes into sensor body 2), wherein in a housing interior of a housing section of the sensor housing facing the membrane base, a first sealing compound is arranged, the first sealing compound fills the housing interior (Claim 1: "filling said support body (2) with an insulating material (16) adapted to encapsulate said transducer element" and Figure 6: insulating material 16), wherein the first sealing compound extends at least partially into a membrane interior of the membrane surrounded by the membrane wall (Figure 6: sealing material 16 extends into interior of pot shaped element 9), and the membrane is connected with a positive fit to the sensor housing by the first sealing compound (Figure 6: pot shaped element 9 is connected to sensor body 2 via a positive fit from sealing material 16), wherein the positive fit is produced at least in an axial direction and in a radial direction (Figure 6: sealing material 16 forms a positive radial fit around element 9 via shell 3, and forms a positive axial fit around element 9 via seal 5 and corresponding groove 6, and electronic circuit 14, which is fastened to connector 8, which is formed integrally with shell 3).
Regarding claim 4, Simonazzi discloses a projection which extends radially outwardly and extends in an annular manner around an axial end of the membrane wall, is provided on the axial end of the membrane wall facing away from the membrane base (Figure 6: folded portion 11 extends outwardly around the axial end of the pot shaped element 9 facing away from membrane base 10).
Regarding claim 5, Simonazzi discloses a groove corresponding to the projection of the membrane wall is provided in the first sealing compound and the projection is arranged in the groove, as a result of which a positive fit is produced in at least the axial and radial directions (Figure 6: groove provided in sealing material 16 corresponding to folded portion 11, to provide a positive radial and axial fit).
Regarding claim 6, Simonazzi discloses an intermediate space is configured in the housing interior between an outside of the membrane wall protruding into the sensor housing and an inside of the housing wall of the housing section (Figure 6: intermediate space between outside of pot shaped element 9 and sensor body 2), and the first sealing compound extends at least partially into the intermediate space (Figure 6: sealing material 16 extends into intermediate space, further claim 1: "filling said support body (2) with an insulating material (16) adapted to encapsulate said transducer element"), and wherein an annular, elastic molded part is arranged in an axial section of the intermediate space facing the membrane base (Figure 6: silicone seal 5 is arranged in an axial section of the intermediate space), and the projection rests on the molded part and produces a positive fit in the axial direction (Figure 6: folded portion 11 contacts seal 5 to produce a positive axial fit).
Regarding claim 10, Simonazzi discloses the first sealing compound extends in the membrane interior in the axial direction along a section of the membrane wall facing away from the membrane base (Figure 6: first sealing material 16 extends in the axial direction within the pot shaped element 9), and directly adjoining the first sealing compound, a second sealing compound is arranged (Figure 6: second sealing element 13 adjacent to sealing material 16), the second sealing compound extending in the membrane interior in the axial direction from the first sealing compound up to an inner side of the membrane base, and in the radial direction up to the inner side of the membrane wall (Figure 6: second sealing element 13 extends between first sealing material 16 and base 10, and extends in a radial direction to the walls of pot shaped element 9).
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Reiche (US-20100296692-A1) and Kupfernagel (US-20030089172-A1), which disclose ultrasonic sensors with sealing material.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614