DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 06/11/2026.
Claim(s) 21-40 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 21, 29, 31, 36 and 38 have been amended.
Claim(s) 1-20 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-29, 31-34 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2008280189-A, Murata in view of “Towards improved cover glasses for photovoltaic devices”, Alsopp et al. (hereinafter “Allsopp”).
Regarding claims 21, 23, 29, 31, 36 and 38
Murata teaches a solar module [Pages 1-2] comprising:
a front side unit/substrate having thickness of less than 150 µm or less (500 µm or less) [Pages 2 and 9];
a solar cell [Page 2]; and
an adhesive layer applied two-dimensionally atop the frontside substrate (a silicon semiconductor is sandwiched between glass substrates through a resin) [Page 2].
With regards to the limitation “a surface weight below 500 g/m2”, Murata teaches a density of, for example, 1 g/cm3 (3 g/cm3 or less) and a thickness of 0.5 mm or less (500 µm or less) [Page 9]. Therefore, Murata teaches a surface weight of 500 g/cm2 or less.
Further, Murata teaches the importance of reducing the weight of the glass substrate as it contributes to the overall weight of the entire solar cell [Page 9].
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to optimize the weight of the substrate such that the overall weight of the solar cell is reduced. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Murata further teaches that at least one of the following is satisfied:
the material of the frontside substrate comprises a glass having a glass composition [Page 1];
the glass composition contains no CaO or contains CaO with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0-10% CaO, and therefore reads on the limitation “contains no CaO”) [Abstract, Page 5 and Table 1];
the glass composition contains no MgO or contains MgO with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0-10% MgO, and therefore reads on the limitation “contains no MgO”) [Abstract, Page 5 and Table 1];
the glass composition contains no BaO or contains BaO with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0-25% BaO, and therefore reads on the limitation “contains no BaO”) [Abstract, Page 6 and Table 1];
the glass composition contains no SrO or contains SrO with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0-25% SrO, and therefore reads on the limitation “contains no SrO”) [Abstract, Pages 5-6 and Table 1];
the glass composition contains no antimony (Sb) or contains antimony (Sb) with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0 to 1% in order to avoid an increase in the density of the glass) [Page 7]; or
the glass composition contains no arsenic (As) or contains arsenic (As) with a proportion of less than 50 ppm (0 to 1% As2O3, and therefore reads on the limitation “contains no arsenic” [Page 7].
Murata also teaches that the material of the frontside substrate comprises a glass having a glass composition in which the following is satisfied:
the glass composition contains TiO2 in a proportion of 3 to 5 percent by weight (0 to 10%) [Page 7];
the glass composition contains Al2O3 in a proportion of 0 to 15 percent by weight (3 to 30%) [Page 5];]
the glass composition contains SiO2 in a proportion of 58 to 80 percent by weight (30 to 70%) [Page 5]; or
the glass composition contains B2O3 in a proportion of 3 to 20 percent by weight (0 to 10%) [Page 5].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Murata is silent to the material exhibiting a transmittance curve T(A) that forms a transition from a lower transmittance Tlow to an upper transmittance Tup and has an intervening intermediate transmittance Ttr= 50% in a wavelength range from 302 nm to 322 nm.
However, because the glass composition, thickness and weight of the frontside substrate disclosed in Murata is identical to the one claimed, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
It has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP § 2112.01). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Further, the court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
In the alternative, Allsopp teaches a solar module comprising a front side substrate (glass cover glass) [Fig. 1, Abstract and Pages 1188-1189], wherein the materials within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Pages 1188-1189].
Allsopp further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Examiner further notes to Figure 1 of Allsop, wherein a cover glass material exhibiting a transmittance curve T(A) that forms a transition from a lower transmittance Tlow to an upper transmittance Tup and has an intervening intermediate transmittance Ttr= 50% in a wavelength range below 400 nm is disclosed.
As an optical transmittance curve having the light transmittance disclosed in Fig. 1 of Allsopp leads to enhanced UV protection and PV module efficiency, one of ordinary skill would have found obvious to optimize the composition of Murata in order to achieve such a light transmission curve. It is further noted that Murata is also concerned with minimizing deterioration of the solar module laminate layers due to the transmittance in the ultraviolet region (see Murata, Page 7, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 22
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above, wherein the frontside substrate has a surface weight of below 400 g/m2 [Murata, Page 9].
With regards to the limitation “wherein the intermediate transmittance Ttr= 50% is in a wavelength range from 304 nm to 318 nm”, modified Murata teaches that the materials/layers within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Murata, Page 7; Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189].
Modified Murata further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Allsopp, Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Examiner further notes to Figure 1 of Allsop, wherein a cover glass material exhibiting an intervening intermediate transmittance Ttr= 50% in a wavelength range from 304 nm to 318 nm.
As an optical transmission having the light transmittance disclosed in Fig. 1 of Allsopp leads to enhanced UV protection and PV module efficiency, one of ordinary skill would have found obvious to optimize the composition of Murata in order to achieve such a light transmission curve. It is further noted that Murata is also concerned with minimizing deterioration of the solar module laminate layers due to the transmittance in the ultraviolet region (see Murata, Page 7, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 24
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above.
With regards to the limitation “wherein the transmittance curve T(A) falls below a value of Ttr= 10% at a wavelength in a wavelength range from 288 nm to 312 nm, and/or wherein the transmittance curve T(A) rises above a value of Ttr= 90% at a wavelength in a wavelength range from 322 nm to 400 nm”, modified Murata teaches that the materials/layers within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Murata, Page 7; Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189].
Modified Murata further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Allsopp, Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Examiner further notes to Figure 1 of Allsop, wherein the transmittance curve T(A) falls below a value of Ttr= 10% at a wavelength in a wavelength range from 288 nm to 312 nm, and/or wherein the transmittance curve T(A) rises above a value of Ttr= 90% at a wavelength in a wavelength range from 322 nm to 400 nm.
As an optical transmission having the light transmittance disclosed in Fig. 1 of Allsopp leads to enhanced UV protection and PV module efficiency, one of ordinary skill would have found obvious to optimize the composition of Murata in order to achieve such a light transmission curve. It is further noted that Murata is also concerned with minimizing deterioration of the solar module laminate layers due to the transmittance in the ultraviolet region (see Murata, Page 7, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 25
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above.
With regards to the limitation “wherein the lower transmittance Tlow is lower than 5%, and/or wherein the upper transmittance Tup is greater than 85%”, modified Murata teaches that the materials/layers within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Murata, Page 7; Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189].
Modified Murata further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Allsopp, Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Examiner further notes to Figure 1 of Allsop, wherein the lower transmittance Tlow is lower than 5%, and/or wherein the upper transmittance Tup is greater than 85%.
As an optical transmission having the light transmittance disclosed in Fig. 1 of Allsopp leads to enhanced UV protection and PV module efficiency, one of ordinary skill would have found obvious to optimize the composition of Murata in order to achieve such a light transmission curve. It is further noted that Murata is also concerned with minimizing deterioration of the solar module laminate layers due to the transmittance in the ultraviolet region (see Murata, Page 7, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 26
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above.
With regards to the limitation “wherein the lower transmittance Tlow is at a wavelength of at least 250 nm, and/or wherein the upper transmittance Tup, is at a wavelength of at most 375 nm”, modified Murata teaches that the materials/layers within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Murata, Page 7; Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189].
Modified Murata further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Allsopp, Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Examiner further notes to Figure 1 of Allsop, wherein the lower transmittance Tlow is at a wavelength of at least 250 nm, and/or wherein the upper transmittance Tup, is at a wavelength of at most 375 nm.
As an optical transmission having the light transmittance disclosed in Fig. 1 of Allsopp leads to enhanced UV protection and PV module efficiency, one of ordinary skill would have found obvious to optimize the composition of Murata in order to achieve such a light transmission curve. It is further noted that Murata is also concerned with minimizing deterioration of the solar module laminate layers due to the transmittance in the ultraviolet region (see Murata, Page 7, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claims 27 and 28
Modified Murata teaches the front side substrate as set forth above.
Modified Murata is silent to the transmittance curve at at least one point having a slope of 2.8 percentage points/nm (instant claim 27).
Modified Murata is also silent to the transmittance curve after irradiation for 7 hours with light in a wavelength range from 250 nm to 600 nm having a shift of less than 5.0 nm, and/or wherein the transmittance curve after irradiation for 100 hours with UV-A light at 210 W/m2, UV-B light at 170 W/m2 and UV-C light at 250 W/m2 having a shift of less than 5.0 nm (instant claim 28).
However, modified Murata teaches that the materials/layers within the solar module are susceptible to UV induced discoloration and delamination which induces degradation of the laminate materials, such as the EVA adhesive/encapsulant, eventually leading to delamination and module failure [Murata, Page 7; Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189]. Said UV degradation also impacting the efficiency of the solar cell material itself [Allsopp, Pages 1188-1189].
Modified Murata further teaches optimizing the cover glass composition in order to enhance the UV protection of the solar module components thereby increasing the module service lifetimes, and to also re-emit a proportion of the absorbed UV photon energy as visible photons thereby increasing the module efficiency [Allsopp, Abstract].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the light transmittance curve in the UV wavelength range of the front side substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have optimized said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired UV protection and photovoltaic conversion efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 32
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above, wherein the material of the frontside substrate has a density lower than 3.25 g/cm3 [Murata, Page 9].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 33
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above, wherein the material of the frontside substrate has a modulus of elasticity higher than 68 GPa (25 GPa or more) [Murata, Page 10], and/or wherein the material of the frontside substrate has a modulus of elasticity lower than 78 GPa (25 GPa or more) [Murata, Page 10].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 34
Modified Murata teaches the frontside substrate as set forth above, wherein the material of the frontside substrate has a coefficient of thermal expansion in a temperature range from 20°C to 300°C of greater than 4x10-6 K-1 (50 to 90 x10-7/°C) [Murata, Page 8].
However, the coefficient of thermal expansion can be optimized in order to achieve the desired peeling resistance [Murata, pages 2 and 3]. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the coefficient of thermal expansion (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired peeling resistance. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 37
Modified Murata teaches the solar module as set forth above, wherein the adhesive layer comprises EVA (ethylene vinyl acetate) [Murata, Page 2].
Regarding claim 39
Modified Murata teaches the solar module as set forth above, further comprising a backside element, wherein the solar cell is disposed between the backside element and the frontside substrate (a silicon semiconductor is sandwiched between glass substrates through a resin or the like) [Murata, Page 2].
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata in view of Allsopp as applied to claims 21-29, 31-34 and 36-39 above, and further in view of US 2019/0352217 A1, Lautenschläger et al. (hereinafter “Lautenschläger”).
Regarding claim 30
Modified Murata does not teach the material of the frontside substrate comprising a borosilicate glass having a glass composition that does not contain any cerium oxide or contains cerium oxide with a proportion of less than 500 ppm.
Lautenschläger teaches a glass that may be used in a variety of applications including as a cover glass for solar cells [paras. 0005 and 0023], wherein the glass composition comprises a borosilicate glass having a glass composition that does not contain any cerium oxide or contains cerium oxide with a proportion of less than 500 ppm [Table 1 and para. 0043].
The glass composition disclosed in Lautenschläger exhibiting high transmittance in the wavelength range from 200 nm to 1500 nm, low coefficient of thermal expansion, high chemical resistance, and mechanical strength and low refractive index, and which can be produced at low costs [para. 0045].
Modified Murata and Lautenschläger are analogous inventions in the field of glass compositions exhibiting high light transmittance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the glass composition of the frontside substrate in modified Murata to comprise the borosilicate glass of Lautenschläger for the purpose of improving the light transmittance for electromagnetic radiation in the entire range of wavelengths from 200 nm to 1500 nm, the low coefficient of thermal expansion, chemical resistance, and mechanical strength and low refractive index, and costs [paras. 0045 and 0059].
It is noted that the borosilicate glass disclosed in Lautenschläger meets with the light transmission curve requirements set forth in claim 21 [see Figs. 1 and 2 of Lautenschläger].
Claim(s) 35 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata in view of Allsopp as applied to claims 21-29, 31-34 and 36-39 above, and further in view of WO 2014/192010 A1, Joshi et al. (hereinafter “Joshi”).
Regarding claim 35
Modified Murata is silent to the frontside substrate has a dimension greater than 35 cm, and/or wherein the frontside substrate has a second dimension greater than 65 cm.
Joshi teaches a solar module comprising a front side glass substrate (corresponding to superstrate 60) having a dimension of 10 cm to 150 nm [paras. 0053-0055].
Modified Murata and Joshi are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules comprising glass frontside substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the frontside substrate of modified Murata to comprise a dimension greater than 35 cm, as in Joshi, as such is a known and suitable size for frontside substrates for use in solar modules.
Regarding claim 40
Modified Murata does not teach the backside element being in the form of a module frame.
Joshi teaches a solar module comprising a backside element in the form of a module frame, said frame sealing the solar module [para. 0037].
Modified Murata and Joshi are analogous inventions in the field of solar modules comprising glass frontside substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the solar module of modified Murata to comprise a frame as a backside element, as disclosed in Joshi, for purposes of sealing the solar module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Office takes the position that, "Murata teaches a density of, for example 1 g/cm³ (3 g/cm³ or less) and a thickness of 0.5 mm or less (500 µm or less)" as disclosed by page 9 to contend that Murata teaches the limitation of a surface weight of 500 g/cm² or less.
Applicant states that Murata discloses various glass compositions in tables, with the lowest density being 2.48 g/cm³ for glass 41.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The range of Murata, 3 g/cm3 or less, encompasses densities below 3 g/cm3, including 1 g/cm3. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Applicant argues that currently amended independent claims 21, 36, and 38 all recite in part, "wherein the material of the frontside substrate is a glass having a glass composition comprising 58.0 to 80 wt.% SiO2, 3 to 20 wt.% B2O3, and 3 to 5 wt.% TiO2."
Applicant argues that Murata does not disclose any glasses that are identical to the claimed glass of currently amended claims 21, 36, and 38.
Applicant argues that Murata provides 41 example glasses in the tables on pages 13-21 and that there is only one glass, glass 41 on page 21, that has more than 58.0 wt.% SiO2.
Applicant further states that glass 41 has no B2O3 and thus does not satisfy the requirement of the claims that the glass composition comprises 3 to 20 wt.% B203.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
In the instant case, Murata discloses a glass composition comprising 30 to 70% SiO2, 0 to 10% B2O3, and 0 to 10% TiO2 [Pages 5 and 7]. The ranges discloses in Murata overlapping with the claimed ranges. It has been held that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Applicant argues that Murata's taught ranges for glass compositions leave so much room for variation that it represents no more than a genus of glasses that would not obviously lead one skilled in the art to the subject matter of the claims.
Applicant argues that one skilled in the art would not have been led to Applicant's claimed glasses because Murata does not teach any reason to choose the species of claimed glasses within Murata's disclosed genus of glasses. See MPEP § 2144.08.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection is not based on selecting a species from a disclosed genus. Rather, Murata teaches compositional ranges that overlap the claimed ranges. Where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Applicant argues that Murata teaches that the most preferred content is 0.005 to 0.1 wt.% TiO2 and specifically warns that, "TiO2 has an effect of suppressing solarization of glass...[w]hen the content of TiO2 increases, the devitrification resistance of the glass deteriorates or the glass is colored." See page 7, fifth full paragraph of the translation of Murata.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has removed an important portion of said paragraph (reproduced below).
“TiO2 has an effect of suppressing solarization of glass, and is 0 to 10% (preferably 0 to 5%, more preferably 0 to 3%, still more preferably 0.001 to 1%, most preferably 0.005. Up to 0.1%). When the content of TiO2 increases, the devitrification resistance of the glass deteriorates or the glass is colored.”
One would have found obvious to select the amount of TiO2 based on the range that is disclosed as suitable for avoiding the deterioration of glass which Murata expressly discloses as 0 to 10%, preferably 0 to 5%, more preferably 0 to 3%, still more preferably 0.001 to 1%, most preferably 0.005. Up to 0.1%. Accordingly, Murata teaches a compositional range that overlaps the claimed range. Where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Applicant argues that the technical effect of the glass composition having 3 to 5 wt.% TiO2 is that this content positions the UV edge (Ttr = 50%) in the claimed range of 302-322 nm.
Applicant argues that this positioning of the UV edge is what enables the protective effect for the solar cell against short- wave radiation while maintaining high VIS/NIR transmittance.
Examiner notes that Muratas teaches a composition having a TiO2 content in a range of 0 to 10%. Where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Furthermore, Murata expressly teaches that TiO2 affects solarization behaviour and optical properties of the glass. The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
The mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979)
Conclusion
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721