Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 06/02/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 03/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim 9 has been amended to address the indefiniteness, thus the rejection of claim 9 under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia-Perez et al. (“Agglomeration of alumina submicronparticles by silica nanoparticles: Application to processing spheres by colloidal route”, Journal of Colloid and Interface Science, vol 313, 2, 2007, 527-536) in view of Hensen et al. (US 2021/0268729) (All of record).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, Garcia-Perez teaches a method for preparing a composition, comprising:
a step of introducing two suspensions each comprising particles, and a step of assembling the suspensions so as to form said composition and so that this composition includes aggregates or agglomerates of said particles (“A high purity (99.9%) alumina powder (AKP30, Sumitomo, Japan) was used (d50 = 400 nm, 7 m2g−1). An aqueous suspension of this powder… Silica nanoparticles (Ludox TM50, Grace Davison USA, d50 = 25 nm, 140 m2g−1) were dispersed in an alkaline medium”, pg 528, 2.1. Raw materials; “To induce the growth of agglomerates and the formation of spheres, the mixture (50 cm3) was stirred under a controlled speed (3.3 min−1) until all the powder was agglomerated. The cylindrical vessel (h = 60 mm, d = 30 mm), put horizontally, is submitted to a continuous movement with a stirrer”, pg 528, 2.2. Methods).
Garcia-Perez teaches shaping ceramic powders by colloidal route (pg 536, 5. Summary), but does not explicitly teach a step of introducing two suspensions into a channel, these suspensions penetrate the channel by flowing towards an outlet according to a flow direction, a step of assembling the suspensions within the channel so as to form, upstream of the outlet with respect to the flow direction, said composition, a step of expelling the composition from the channel, the movement of the suspension along the channel in the flow direction results in a progressive expulsion of the composition through the outlet.
Hensen relates to additive manufacturing techniques for forming ceramic articles and teaches that the article is formed of a material which is prepared in a slurry with a dispersant used to coagulate the material to promote solidification of the slurry and provide a material which has properties suitable for extrusion-based three-dimensional printing, and that retains near-net geometry of the article after printing, and in one form, the material includes ceramic nanoparticles and the dispersant coagulates the ceramic nanoparticles (Pa [0007]). Hensen further teaches that an extrusion-based three-dimensional printing apparatus 100 includes an extruder 102 into which a slurry 104 may be delivered, the extruder includes a nozzle 106 and is configured to force slurry 104 through nozzle 106 for discharge in a manner that forms article 112 in a desired shape (Pa [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of invention to modify Garcia-Perez with the teachings of Hensen and use the composition prepared by Garcia-Perez’s method in Hensen’s additive manufacturing technique, i.e., performing introducing the composition into the extruder and discharging it through the nozzle, in order to form a ceramic article in a desired shape by additive manufacturing.
With respect to claim 2, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 1 teaches that the particles comprise a first type of particles (“alumina powder”) and a second type of particles (“Silica nanoparticles”) selected so as to be able to develop bonds, therebetween during the assembly step, in order to form said aggregates or agglomerates (“Doing gentle stirring caused by a controlled movement of rotation, electrostatic attractions between silica and alumina induce the growth of the agglomerates until spheres are obtained.”, pg 528, 1. Introduction).
With respect to claim 3, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 2 teaches that during the introduction step, one of the suspensions comprises the particles of the first type and the other one of said suspensions comprises the particles of the second type (“A high purity (99.9%) alumina powder (AKP30, Sumitomo, Japan) was used (d50 = 400 nm, 7 m2g−1). An aqueous suspension of this powder… Silica nanoparticles (Ludox TM50, Grace Davison USA, d50 = 25 nm, 140 m2g−1) were dispersed in an alkaline medium”, pg 528, 2.1. Raw materials).
With respect to claim 4, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 2 teaches that the particles of the first type and the particles of the second type have surface electrical charges of opposite signs (“A high purity (99.9%) alumina powder (AKP30, Sumitomo, Japan) was used (d50 = 400 nm, 7 m2g−1). An aqueous suspension of this powder exhibits a natural pH of 6.5 and a positive zeta potential with a high amplitude (+50 mV). Silica nanoparticles (Ludox TM50, Grace Davison USA, d50 = 25 nm, 140 m2g−1) were dispersed in an alkaline medium which reacts at the surface to produce a negative charge and a zeta potential of −35 mV.”, pg 528, 2.1. Raw materials).
With respect to claim 5, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 1 teaches that said suspensions are colloidal suspensions (“The present work proposes the study of the agglomeration of colloidal alumina particles by silica addition. By using the phenomenon of heterocoagulation, it is possible to destabilize an alumina suspension by colloidal silica particles.”, pg 527, 1. Introduction).
With respect to claim 6, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 1 teaches that the particles are selected so that the composition expelled from the channel forms an element made of ceramic (“to shape ceramic powders by colloidal route.”, pg 536, 5. Summery).
With respect to claim 8, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 2 teaches that the bonds are electrostatic bonds (“Doing gentle stirring caused by a controlled movement of rotation, electrostatic attractions between silica and alumina induce the growth of the agglomerates until spheres are obtained.”, pg 528, 1. Introduction).
With respect to claim 9, Garcia-Perez as applied to claim 4 teaches that the surface electrical charges of opposite signs are a zeta potential of opposite signs (“A high purity (99.9%) alumina powder (AKP30, Sumitomo, Japan) was used (d50 = 400 nm, 7 m2g−1). An aqueous suspension of this powder exhibits a natural pH of 6.5 and a positive zeta potential with a high amplitude (+50 mV). Silica nanoparticles (Ludox TM50, Grace Davison USA, d50 = 25 nm, 140 m2g−1) were dispersed in an alkaline medium which reacts at the surface to produce a negative charge and a zeta potential of −35 mV.”, pg 528, 2.1. Raw materials).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742