DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 25-27 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 10-17 in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdette [WO2022/020124] in view of Brennan [US2020/0016806].
Burdette discloses a glass article comprising: a glass substrate (52) comprising a first major surface (54) and a second major surface (56) opposite the first major surface (paragraph 0023); a decorative ink layer (decorative ink coating) disposed on the second major surface of the glass substrate (paragraph 0024); and a carrier (63) that is injection molded onto and bonded to the decorative ink layer, the carrier comprising: a main body (74) comprising a surface bonded to the ink layer being disposed between the decorative ink layer and the surface; and a plurality of connection elements (76) extending from the main body or incorporated into the main body (paragraph 0026; Figures 5-8); and a support structure (64) comprising a plurality of retention elements that are configured to mechanically engage with the plurality of connection elements to retain the glass substrate and the carrier on the support structure in a curved configuration (paragraph 0036; Figure 8). Burdette discloses an injection molded carrier but does not disclose bonding the carrier to the ink layer without an adhesive.
Brennan discloses a glass article. Brennan discloses forming though injection molding a carrier directly engaged to the glass article, wherein the separate use of adhesive material is avoided allowing for the joining of the carrier to the glass article without an adhesive application step (paragraphs 0017-18). Brennan also discloses the glass article can be coated with an ink (paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Burdette by injection molding the carrier to the glass substrate with an ink layer as taught by Brennan in order to eliminate the adhesive application step and to improve the efficiency and cost effectively form the glass article.
With respect to claim 2, Burdette discloses the carrier is less stiff than the glass substrate such that the carrier alone does not retain the glass substrate and carrier in the curved configuration (paragraph 0004).
With respect to claim 3, Burdette discloses the carrier and the glass substrate are cold-formed to facilitate mechanical engagement between the plurality of connection elements and the plurality of retention elements (paragraph 0029).
With respect to claim 4, Burdette discloses the first major surface is curved at a radius of curvature along a first direction, and the main body comprises one or more negative surface features disposed proximate to each of the plurality of connection elements, the negative surface features extending perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 8).
With respect to claim 5, Burdette discloses the plurality of connection elements extend from the main body and are integrally formed with the main body (Figure 8).
With respect to claim 6, Burdette discloses the plurality of connection elements are embedded into the main body and formed of first material that is different from a second material out of which the main body is formed (connection element 80 is made of a second material; Figures 5-6; paragraph 0035-40).
With respect to claim 7, Burdette discloses at least the main body of the carrier is formed of a material comprising a polymeric matrix and at least 20% by volume of a glass fiber or carbon fiber additive (paragraph 0042); a decorative ink layer (decorative ink coating) disposed on the second major surface of the glass substrate (paragraph 0024);
With respect to claim 15, Burdette discloses a glass article comprising: a glass substrate (52) comprising a first major surface (54) and a second major surface (56) opposite the first major surface, wherein the glass substrate comprises a planar shape (paragraph 0023; Figure 4); and a carrier (63) that is injection molded onto and bonded to the decorative ink layer, the carrier comprising: a planar main body (63, 74) comprising a surface bonded to the ink layer being disposed between the decorative ink layer and the surface; and a plurality of connection elements (76) extending from the main body or incorporated into the main body (paragraph 0026; Figures 5-8); the carrier is less stiff than the glass substrate such that the carrier alone does not retain the glass substrate and carrier in the curved configuration, wherein the direct bonding between the glass substrate and the carrier via the decorative ink layer allows carrier and the glass substrate to be simultaneously bent to a radius of curvature that is less than or equal to 1.0 m without the carrier debonding from the glass substrate (paragraph 0004). Burdette discloses an injection molded carrier but does not disclose bonding the carrier to the ink layer without an adhesive.
Brennan discloses a glass article. Brennan discloses forming though injection molding a carrier directly engaged to the glass article, wherein the separate use of adhesive material is avoided allowing for the joining of the carrier to the glass article without an adhesive application step (paragraphs 0017-18). Brennan also discloses the glass article can be coated with an ink (paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Burdette by injection molding the carrier to the glass substrate with an ink layer as taught by Brennan in order to eliminate the adhesive application step and to improve the efficiency and cost effectively form the glass article.
With respect to claim 16, Brennan discloses the main body comprises one or more negative surface features disposed proximate to each of the plurality of connection elements (Figure 7).
With respect to claim 17, Burdette discloses the plurality of connection elements are embedded into the main body and formed of first material that is different from a second material out of which the main body is formed (connection element 80 is made of a second material; Figures 5-6; paragraph 0035-40).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdette, Brenna, and further in view of Huang [CN111653193].
Burdette as modified discloses a glass article. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Burdette as modified. Burdette discloses the glass substrate comprises a minor surface between the first and second major surfaces, but does not disclose the carrier including a peripheral extension contacting the minor surface.
Huang discloses a glass article including a glass substrate (110) with a minor surface, and a frame (20) with flanges (210) that contact the minor surfaces (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the article of Burdette to include flanges in the carrier that contact the minor surface as taught by Huang in order to improve the connection and alignment between the glass substrate and the carrier.
With respect to claim 12, Huang discloses the peripheral extension contacts an entirety of the minor surface, wherein the peripheral extension extends around a corner of the glass substrate and contacts the first major surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
August 9, 2026