DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, as drafted, reads in part " ... then at least one lens parameter ... " For purposes of this written opinion " ... then at least one lens parameter ... " is taken to read " ... the at least one lens parameter ... ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al.( US 2005/0083482 A1 of record, herein Miller).
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a method of defining a shape of an ophthalmic lens (para [0001] - The present invention relates to a progressive ophthalmic lens), comprising: identifying an equation that defines a physical characteristic of the lens (para [0151] - wherein, for a symmetrical design, the base surface function is a Taylor expansion as follows; para [0161] - fabricating an ophthalmic lens element
having a lens surface shaped according to said modified surface function), the equation including at least one lens parameter (para [0153]- the functions z0(y) and h(y) are determined by the desired eye path power progression profile p(y)); achieving an output of the equation using a first value for the lens parameter (para [0189]- The contour line shown in each plot corresponds to the clinically established values of troublesome blur. For distance vision objects this value is 0.5 D, for near vision objects the value is 0.75 D); using a merit function to score the output (para.[0205]- It uses the optimization merit function M1. The solution procedure is iterative and requires several iterations to arrive at the optimum solution characterized by the minimum value of the global RMS power error). Miller fails to specifically disclose, iteratively varying a value of the at least one lens parameter using an optimization algorithm until the merit function achieves an
acceptable score; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention, to include iteratively varying a value of the at least one lens parameter using an optimization algorithm until the merit function achieves an acceptable score, based on routine experimentation, to improve the foveal vision areas of the lens and improve the size performance, as Miller discloses progressive lens design (para [0027]- It will be understood that the present invention permits the progressive lens design to be tailored to improve functionality by increasing the size of areas for clear foveal vision, and wearer acceptance by reducing the likelihood of swim being experienced by the wearer; para.[0205]- A selected program first solves the optimization problem for the areas intended for foveal vision. It uses the optimization merit function M1).
Regarding claim 2, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller further discloses, wherein the merit function is based on visual acuity of the lens (para [0006]- a significant advance in the art if a progressive ophthalmic lens could be designed such that it is optimized for foveal vision, i.e., minimizing a selected measure of optical blur; para (0040]- optical field of vision is measured as an area limited by the RMS
power error contour corresponding to the value of a clinically established threshold for blur that is troublesome to the wearers, e.g. approximately 0.75 D in the near zone; para [0205]- It uses the optimization merit function M1. The solution procedure is iterative and requires several iterations to arrive at the optimum solution characterized by the minimum value of the global RMS power error).
Regarding claim 3, Miller discloses the method of claim 2. Miller fails to specifically disclose, wherein the merit function includes at least one of a far visual acuity, a mid visual acuity and a near visual acuity. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include wherein the merit function includes at least one of a far visual acuity, a mid visual acuity and a near visual acuity, to improve the visual acuity at different distances, based on routine experimentation (para [0003]- This approach does not take into account that the progressive lens has two functionally distinct areas: those for the foveal vision at far, intermediate and near object distances, and others for the peripheral vision only. Also, the question of the appropriate balance between the sizes of zones intended for clear distance and near vision respectively has not been addressed to date).
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller further discloses, wherein method achieves a lens having sufficient depth of focus to enable a user of the lens to see both distant and near objects with a predetermined visual acuity (par.[0035]- a second approximately S-shaped cubic spline function is fitted to describe the variation of the lens optical vergence addition power such that it does not exceed the wearer's depth of focus value at the FC and provides the required nominal designated surface addition power at the NRP).
Regarding claim 9, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller further discloses, wherein the equation is a high order polynomial equation that defines a surface of the lens (note: see function in para [0151]- wherein, for a symmetrical design, the base surface function is a Taylor expansion as follows:).
Regarding claim 10, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller further discloses, wherein the equation defines a free form lens surface (para [0185]- FIGS. 2A, 2B and 2C illustrate a series of contour plots of surface mean power offset by the base curve power of progressive optical lens elements according to the present invention, having respectively 3.25 D base, 4.50 D base, and 6.25 D base surfaces and addition powers of 1.50 D, 2.00 D and 2.50 D. The contour values are the same as in FIG.1).
Regarding claim 14, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller further discloses, further comprising manufacturing the lens (para [0161]- fabricating an ophthalmic lens element having a lens surface shaped according to said modified surface function).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al.( US 2005/0083482 A1 of record, herein Miller) as applied to claim 2 above, in view of US 2005/0041205 A 1 (Yamakaji).
Regarding claim 4, Miller discloses the method of claim 2. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the merit function comprises a sum of LogMAR visual acuities for far, mid and near. Yamakaji, drawn to lenses, discloses, wherein the merit function comprises a sum of LogMAR visual acuities for far, mid and near (note: see summations of LogMar acuities above para [0117]- Here, a, b, care weight distribution of respective evaluation functions; u, v, w are weight distribution at respective evaluation points; and n is a lens evaluation point. Of course, the idea (not adopted) that the weight distribution is 0 (zero) is included, but naturally, they never become 0 synchronously). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the summations of Yamakaji with the method of Miller to improve the visual acuity (see Yamakaji, para [0021]- An object of the present invention, which is made to solve these problems, is to provide a spectacle lens with high performance which improves visual acuity and to provide a designing method of the same).
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al.( US 2005/0083482 A1 of record, herein Miller) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Gross et al. (hereinafter Gross).
Regarding claim 6, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the optimization algorithm includes Gradient descent, Newtons method, simulated annealing, exhaustive Search, bruteforce search, stochastic optimization methods, random subsets optimization, greedy or non-greedy algorithms, linear programming optimization, and/or generate or test techniques. Gross, drawn to ophthalmic systems, discloses, wherein the optimization algorithm includes Gradient descent, Newtons method, simulated annealing, exhaustive Search, bruteforce search, stochastic optimization methods, random subsets optimization, greedy or nongreedy algorithms, linear programming optimization, and/or generate or test techniques (para [0035]- the present invention may be adapted for use in alternative eye treatment procedures and systems such as... intraocular lenses; para [0088]- Simulated annealing can be applied in the same way regardless of how many dimensions are present in the search space. It can be used to optimize any conditions that can be expressed numerically, and ii does not require a derivative). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the simulated annealing of Gross with the method of Miller to improve corrective performance (see Gross, para.[0010]- The present invention provides improved laser-based methods and systems for correction of vision defects).
6. Claims 7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al.( US 2005/0083482 A1 of record, herein Miller) as applied to claim 1 above in view of WO 2021/127148 A1 to SARVER et al. (hereinafter SARVER).
Regarding claim 7, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the equation defines a spherical lens. SARVER, drawn to intraocular lenses, discloses, wherein the equation defines a spherical lens (para [0051]- As an example, in the following discussion there are illustrated embodiments with spherical micro-lenses; para [0053]- In terms of the radius of the bounding circle, the width of the hexagon is found using Pythagoras's rule to be as given by equation (1) and the height is given by equation (2): width = V3 x r (1) height= 2 x r (2) where r = radius of bounding circle). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the equation and spherical lens of SARVER with the method of Miller to improve the vision quality (see SARVER, para [0006]Disclosed are systems, devices, and methods that overcome limitations of IOLs at least by providing by providing a phakic or aphakic IOL that simultaneously provides correction of defocus and astigmatism, decreases higher- order and chromatic aberrations, and provides an extended depth of field to improve vision quality).
Regarding claim 11, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the at least one lens parameter is a radius of curvature. SARVER, drawn to intraocular lenses, discloses, wherein the at least one lens parameter is a radius of curvature (para [0092]- In the case of simple conic refractive profiles, each optic zone provides its optical power via a conic curve such that the apical radius of curvature provides the desired optical power and the conicity (K) value is set to reduce spherical aberrations for the region). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the radius of curvature of SARVER with the method of Miller to improve the vision quality (see SARVER, para [0006]- Disclosed are systems, devices, and methods that overcome limitations of IOLs at least by providing by providing a phakic or aphakic IOL that simultaneously provides correction of defocus and astigmatism, decreases higher- order and chromatic aberrations, and provides an extended depth of field to improve vision quality).
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the physical characteristic is an outer surface of the lens. SARVER, drawn to intraocular lenses, discloses, wherein the physical characteristic is an outer surface of the lens (para.[0051]- The micro-lenses are implemented as one or more outer surfaces defined at least partially by a sphere). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the outer surface of SARVER with the method of Miller to improve the vision quality (see SARVER, para [0006]- Disclosed are systems, devices, and methods that overcome limitations of IOLs at least by providing by providing a phakic or aphakic IOL that simultaneously provides correction of defocus and astigmatism, decreases higher- order and chromatic aberrations, and provides an extended depth of field to improve vision quality).
7. Claims 8 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al.( US 2005/0083482 A1 of record, herein Miller) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Altmann (US 2005/0203619 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the equation defines an aspherical lens.
Altmann, drawn to intraocular lenses, discloses, wherein the equation defines an aspherical lens (para [0037]- An embodiment of the invention is directed to an aspheric IOL characterized in that the lens has a shape factor that induces substantially no spherical aberration to a wavefront of light passing through the lens; para [0038]- The physical characteristics of lens 30 include the apical or vertex radii of curvature, Ra, for the anterior surface and Rp for the posterior surface, and the surface shape, or SAG, of the anterior and posterior surfaces. The SAG of an optical surface is expressed by the well-known equation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the aspherical lens and equation of Altmann with the method of Miller to improve the visual performance and reduce aberrations (see Altmann, para [0010]- the inventor has recognized the need for IOLs of alternative design that can selectively control spherical aberration, and which provide improved visual performance in ocular systems to a degree not provided by currently available lenses when used in these systems).
Regarding claim 12, Miller discloses the method of claim 1. Miller fails to disclose, wherein the at least one lens parameter is conic constant. Altmann, drawn to intraocular lenses, discloses, wherein the at least one lens parameter is conic constant (para.[0038]- SAG=(x2/Rv)/1+[1-(1 +k)(x2/R2v)]1/2 ; where x is the radial distance from the point at which the lens surface intersects the optical axis 22 (where x equals 0) to another point on the lens surface; Rv is the vertex radius of curvature of the lens surface and k is the conic constant). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the conic constant of Altmann with the method of Miller to improve the visual performance and reduce aberrations (see Altmann, para[0010]- the inventor has recognized the need for IOLs of alternative design that can selectively control spherical aberration, and which provide improved visual performance in ocular systems to a degree not provided by currently available lenses when used in these systems).
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872