DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-14, 20-25, 35, 39 and 48-57 are pending. Claims 4, 7-10, 15-19, 26-34, 36-38 and 40-47 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024 and 09/29/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one or more processing units configured to” in claims 35, 39, 49-52, 54 and 57.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-14, 20-25, 35, 39 and 48-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babaei, Alireza (US 20230370905, Babaei hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Babaei discloses a method for supporting cell reselection for a User Equipment, UE, the UE operating in a non-connected RRC state with one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0146], MBS service continuity in RRC Inactive state or RRC Idle state when the UE moving to a target cell)), the method at the UE comprising:
sending a request message for receiving the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from a target base station of a new serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.);
receiving a configuration message including configuration information associated with the target base station for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.), the configuration information including MBS bearer configuration information for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions in the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services.); and
configuring the UE for receiving data of the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from the target base station in the new serving cell based on the configuration information (see at least paragraphs [0155], receiving the MBS configuration parameters and/or information required to receive data associated with the MBS services using the target cell may be a Msg4.).
As to claim 2: Babaei discloses the method of claim 1. Babaei further discloses further comprising: switching to the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0148], HO to target cel).
As to claim 3: Babaei discloses the method of claim 2. Babaei further discloses further comprising: after configuring the UE and after switching to the new serving cell, receiving, from the target base station, data for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraphs [0155], receiving the MBS configuration parameters and/or information required to receive data associated with the MBS services using the target cell may be a Msg4.).
As to claim 5: Babaei discloses the method of claim 1. Babaei further discloses wherein configuring comprises updating the radio configuration of the UE according to the received MBS bearer configuration information (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services.).
As to claim 6: Babaei discloses the method of claim 1. Babaei further discloses further comprising: selecting one or more suitable cells for a new serving cell for the UE, wherein the new serving cell is one of the selected one or more suitable cells (see at least paragraphs [0109] and [0145], The one or more configuration messages may provide information about the neighbor cells transmitting the MBS sessions which may be ongoing on the current cell. The UEs may determine if its target MBS service is offered in neighboring cells using its geolocation or based on configuration information received from the serving/selected (target) cell.).
As to claim 11: Babaei discloses the method of claim 6. Babaei further discloses wherein selecting comprises selecting one suitable cell as the new serving cell for the UE, wherein the target base station is a base station of the one suitable cell selected as the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0145]-[0146],target cell which is selected from neighboring cells), wherein sending a request message comprises sending the request message to the target base station (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.), and wherein receiving a configuration message, comprises receiving the configuration message from the target base station (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.).
As to claim 12: Babaei discloses the method of claim 11. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes identification information identifying a source base station of a serving cell for the UE (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest inherits source base station ID.).
As to claim 13: Babaei discloses the method of claim 11. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes session identification information identifying the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0166], the first message may comprise one or more service identifiers associated with one or more MBS services provided by a current cell that the UE is camped on.).
As to claim 14: Babaei discloses the method of claim 11. Babaei further discloses further comprising: switching to the new serving cell before sending the request message to the target base station (see at least paragraph [0148], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.).
As to claim 20: Babaei discloses a method at a target base station of a new serving cell of a User Equipment, UE, the UE operating in a non-connected RRC state with one or more active MBS multicast sessions, the UE having switched from a previous serving cell to the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0146], MBS service continuity in RRC Inactive state or RRC Idle state when the UE moving to a target cell), the method comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a request message for receiving the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from the target base station of the new serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.);
sending, to a source base station of the previous serving cell, a context request message (see at least paragraphs [0138]-[0139] and [0148], the receiving gNB may trigger the Xn-AP Retrieve UE Context procedure to get the UE context from the last serving gNB. RRCResumeRequest process may allow such UE's MBS context as part of UE's RAN context to be shared with target cell without UE returning to connected state.).
receiving, from the source base station, a context message including context information associated with the UE and the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], the target cell may get UE's MBS context from source cell.); and
sending, to the UE, a configuration message including configuration information associated with the target base station for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.), the configuration information including MBS bearer configuration information for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions in the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services. ).
As to claim 21: Babaei discloses the method of claim 20. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes identification information identifying the source base station of the previous serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest inherits source base station ID.).
As to claim 22: Babaei discloses the method of claim 20. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes session identification information identifying the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0166], the first message may comprise one or more service identifiers associated with one or more MBS services provided by a current cell that the UE is camped on.).
As to claim 23: Babaei discloses the method of claim 20. Babaei further discloses wherein the context request message includes identification information for identifying the UE (see at least paragraphs [0138]-[0139] and [0148], the receiving gNB may trigger the Xn-AP Retrieve UE Context procedure to get the UE context from the last serving gNB. RRCResumeRequest process may allow such UE's MBS context as part of UE's RAN context to be shared with target cell without UE returning to connected state. UE Context procedure inherits UE ID.).
As to claim 24: Babaei discloses the method of claim 20. Babaei further discloses further comprising: in response to receiving the context message, determining whether to accept or not the request from the UE, wherein sending a configuration message, comprises sending the configuration message in response to determining to accept the request (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE. Sending the configuration message interpreted as acceptance of request.).
As to claim 25: Babaei discloses the method of claim 20. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message is a RRCResumeRequest message or a RRCResumeRequest1 message including information indicating the UE is to perform cell reselection to receive multicast data (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.).
As to claim 35: Babaei discloses apparatus for a User Equipment, UE, the apparatus comprising: one or more processing units configured, when the UE operates in a non-connected RRC state with one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0146], MBS service continuity in RRC Inactive state or RRC Idle state when the UE moving to a target cell)), to:
send a request message for receiving the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from a target base station of a new serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.);
receive a configuration message including configuration information associated with the target base station for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.), the configuration information including MBS bearer configuration information for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions in the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services. ); and
configure the UE for receiving data of the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from the target base station in the new serving cell based on the configuration information (see at least paragraphs [0155], receiving the MBS configuration parameters and/or information required to receive data associated with the MBS services using the target cell may be a Msg4.).
As to claim 39: Babaei discloses apparatus for a base station, the apparatus comprising:
one or more processing units configured, when the base station controls a new serving cell of a UE operating in a non-connected RRC state with one or more active MBS multicast sessions, the UE having switched from a previous serving cell to the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0146], MBS service continuity in RRC Inactive state or RRC Idle state when the UE moving to a target cell)), to:
receive, from the UE, a request message for receiving the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from the base station of the new serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.);
send, to a source base station of the previous serving cell, a context request message (see at least paragraphs [0138]-[0139] and [0148], the receiving gNB may trigger the Xn-AP Retrieve UE Context procedure to get the UE context from the last serving gNB. RRCResumeRequest process may allow such UE's MBS context as part of UE's RAN context to be shared with target cell without UE returning to connected state. );
receive, from the source base station, a context message including context information associated with the UE and the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], the target cell may get UE's MBS context from source cell.); and
send, to the UE, a configuration message including configuration information associated with the target base station for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.), the configuration information including MBS bearer configuration information for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions in the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services.).
As to claim 48: Babaei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium carrying a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer of a User Equipment, UE, the UE operating in a non-connected RRC state with one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0146], MBS service continuity in RRC Inactive state or RRC Idle state when the UE moving to a target cell)), cause the computer to:
send a request message for receiving the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from a target base station of a new serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.);
receive a configuration message including configuration information associated with the target base station for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.), the configuration information including MBS bearer configuration information for the one or more active MBS multicast sessions in the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0108], the UE may be configured to receive or indicate information MBS services are of interest to the UE via a bearer associated with MBS services.); and
configure the UE for receiving data of the one or more active MBS multicast sessions from the target base station in the new serving cell based on the configuration information (see at least paragraphs [0155], receiving the MBS configuration parameters and/or information required to receive data associated with the MBS services using the target cell may be a Msg4.).
As to claim 49: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 35. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to switch the UE to the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0148], HO to target cel).
As to claim 50: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 35. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are configured to configure the UE for receiving data by updating the radio configuration of the UE according to the received MBS bearer configuration information (see at least paragraphs [0155], receiving the MBS configuration parameters and/or information required to receive data associated with the MBS services using the target cell may be a Msg4.).
As to claim 51: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 35. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to: select one or more suitable cells for a new serving cell for the UE, wherein the new serving cell is one of the selected one or more suitable cells (see at least paragraphs [0109] and [0145], The one or more configuration messages may provide information about the neighbor cells transmitting the MBS sessions which may be ongoing on the current cell. The UEs may determine if its target MBS service is offered in neighboring cells using its geolocation or based on configuration information received from the serving/selected (target) cell.).
As to claim 52: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 51. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are configured to: select one or more suitable cells by selecting one suitable cell as the new serving cell for the UE, wherein the target base station is a base station of the one suitable cell selected as the new serving cell (see at least paragraph [0145]-[0146],target cell which is selected from neighboring cells), send a request message by sending the request message to the target base station (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest or other procedures (interpreted as request message) to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state.), and receive a configuration message by receiving the configuration message from the target base station (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE.).
As to claim 53: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 52. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes identification information identifying a source base station of a serving cell for the UE (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest inherits source base station ID.).
As to claim 54: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 35. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to: switch the UE to the new serving cell before sending the request message to the target base station (see at least paragraph [0148], HO to target cel).
As to claim 55: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 39. Babaei further discloses wherein the request message includes identification information identifying the source base station of the previous serving cell (see at least paragraphs [0148]-[0149], RRCResumeRequest inherits source base station ID.).
As to claim 56: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 39. Babaei further discloses wherein the context request message includes identification information for identifying the UE (see at least paragraphs [0138]-[0139] and [0148], the receiving gNB may trigger the Xn-AP Retrieve UE Context procedure to get the UE context from the last serving gNB. RRCResumeRequest process may allow such UE's MBS context as part of UE's RAN context to be shared with target cell without UE returning to connected state. UE Context procedure inherits UE ID.).
As to claim 57: Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 39. Babaei further discloses wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to: in response to receiving the context message, determine whether to accept or not the request from the UE, wherein the one or more processing units are configured to send a configuration message by sending the configuration message in response to determining to accept the request (see at least paragraph [0149], the source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may send the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE. Sending the configuration message interpreted as acceptance of request.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryoo et al. (US 20180192426) discloses Method and Apparatus for Transmitting and Receiving Data in Wireless Communication System.
Ingale et al. (US 20200214070) discloses Method and User Equipment (UE) for Reconnecting RRC Connection with Radio Access Network (RAN) Node.
Decarreau et al. (US 20250234285) discloses User Equipment Mobility for Multicast and Broadcast Services.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464