DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and thus are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lifting means”, “propulsion means”, “positioning means”, “monitoring means”, “levitation means”, “docking means”, “buoyancy means”, and “magnetic levitation means” in claims 1, 6-10, 12-19, 21, and 23-24.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the specification provides no corresponding structure or definition for the claimed functions. Only broad statements of “any” device that can perform the claim function. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret the various means as anything that can meet the claimed function or shown in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4-19, 21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “lifting means”, “propulsion means”, “positioning means”, “monitoring means”, “levitation means”, “docking means”, “buoyancy means”, and “magnetic levitation means” in claims 1, 6-10, 12-19, 21, and 23-24 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In this case, the specification provides no corresponding structure or definition for the claimed functions. Only broad statements of “any” device that can perform the claim function without clearly linking to structures shown in the drawings. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret the various means as any device that can meet the claimed function or shown in the drawings.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9-10, 14, 21, 23-24 recites the limitation “preferably”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, as a non-limiting example in the claims, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the lifting means comprises a levitation means”, and the claim also recites “preferably is a levitation means” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret “preferably” as an optional limitation.
Claims 5 and 11 inherit the deficiencies ass being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims rejected herein under 35 USC 112(b), if rejected below under 35 USC 102 or 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-10, 12-19, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piette et al. (US 2018/0304981 A1) in view of Kraus (US 2013/0277496 A1) and Purwin et al. (US 10,000,284).
Regarding claim 1, Piette discloses (Figs. 2-4, 7, 11; Paras. [0023]-[0028], [0031]-[0033], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]) an aircraft (surveillance drone 120) for indoor monitoring (“The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the surface is an indoor ceiling of a building.”, Claim 10), comprising:
a lifting means (inflatable container 140);
a propulsion means (propellers 152 and 154);
a positioning means (implicit for guidance of any aircraft); and
a monitoring means (electronic surveillance sensing device 164);
wherein the lifting means comprises a levitation means (inflatable container 140 filled with a lighter than air gaseous fluid), preferably is a levitation means;
wherein the aircraft further comprises a docking means (drone receiving port 128/428) for charging (replenish helium, see para. [0036]; or charging battery 181);
wherein either said aircraft extends between two ends along a main direction (oval shape in fig. 2);
wherein the aircraft further comprises said docking means at one end (placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 of drone receiving port 128/428 shown at one end in Figs. 2-4);
or said aircraft extends between a lower portion and an upper portion along a levitation direction (note, optional limitation; further disclosed that placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 will vary and shown extending in Fig. 4; see Para. [0032]);
wherein said charging relating at least to the maintenance of an upward force for said levitation means (replenish helium, see para. [0036]).
Piette does not expressly disclose wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end being the front or back (note, this is the other “main direction” of the aircraft of Piette).
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Kraus discloses in Fig. 8 the possibility to have an anchoring system 20 disposed at the front end of the airship.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end being the front or back, as taught by Kraus, with a reasonable expectation for success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention, such as moving the docking means from the top to the front of the aircraft, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Piette does not expressly disclose wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Purwin discloses bottom docking port 260
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion, as taught by Purwin, with a reasonable expectation for success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention, such as moving the docking means from the top to the bottom of the aircraft, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Purwin further discloses wherein said aircraft for indoor monitoring is configured for: autonomous monitoring for at least ten minutes, preferably at least twenty minutes; and/or autonomous monitoring in the period between cycles of said charging (“an onboard control element, which may perform any suitable combination of autonomously operating the UAV to perform inventory management functions, receiving high-level instructions from an inventory manager, and/or receiving direct instructions from the inventory manager… In all of the above cases, the docking station can interface with the UAV autonomously, or may also be capable of interfacing according to instructions provided by a user.”, Col. 3, Line 45 – Col. 4, Line 10); “The example UAV 200 can also include an onboard control element 280 functional to execute instructions related to the operation of the UAV. The onboard control element 280 may be included in an onboard computer for autonomously or semi-autonomously controlling and managing the UAV 200 and, in some examples, for enabling remote control by an inventory management system element such as inventory management system element 176 (FIG. 1)”, Col. 22, Lines 42-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein said aircraft for indoor monitoring is configured for: autonomous monitoring for at least ten minutes, preferably at least twenty minutes; and/or autonomous monitoring in the period between cycles of said charging, as taught by Purwin, with a reasonable expectation for success, so that the system may run without a person monitoring or being present, thereby saving cost and providing the capability of 24/7 monitoring.
Regarding claim 5, Piette further discloses wherein the aircraft comprises an upper camera and one or more lower cameras for enabling autonomous monitoring; wherein said upper camera and said one or more lower cameras are configured for determining a 3D representation of the environment and its own position within this environment (Lower camera shown in Figs. 2, 7, and 11: “The term “electronic surveillance sensing device” as used herein may refer to a camera; however it may also refer to other types of surveillance devices that capture and electronically process received stimulus. Examples of electronic surveillance sensing devices include a two-dimensional camera with an image sensor, a radar sensing device (which does not capture a visual image), a three-dimensional camera, etc.”, Para. [0020]; Upper camera disclosed as a proximity detection at the top docking station 510: “Gripper control 533 controls opening and closing of the grippers based on, for example, proximity detection as between the surveillance drone 520 and the docking station 510. Those skilled in the art will appreciate the various known methods for proximity detection such as, for example employing a 3D camera which could be attached to the docking station 510.”, Para. [0038])
Regarding claim 6, Piette further discloses wherein said charging comprises providing electrical power to said aircraft via an electrical contact comprised in said docking means (Figs. 2-4; “FIG. 3 shows more details of the docking station 110 and FIG. 4 diagrammatically illustrates a top view of the surveillance drone 120. With reference to these two figures, metal conduction path 176 electrically connects to metal contact 172 on the docking station 110 when docked thereto. Similarly metal conduction path 178 electrically connects to metal contact 170 on the docking station 110 when docked thereto.”, Para. [0031]; “FIG. 7 shows a block diagram illustrating details of a docking station 410 constructed in accordance with an alternative example embodiment. When docked in drone-receiving port 428, the drone is able to be replenished with power provided by power source 420 and helium provided by helium tank 430.”, Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Piette further discloses wherein said docking means comprises a first member, preferably a disc-shaped first member, for releasable attachment to a second member, preferably a second member comprising a base portion being a disc-shaped portion, belonging to a docking station; said releasable attachment relating to a magnetic attachment between said first and said second member, wherein preferably said first member comprises a magnetic metal or a magnetic alloy for said magnetic attachment to said second member comprising a magnet- containing portion (Fig. 2-4 shows magnets 180 and 128 as disc shaped; magnetic docking further discussed in detail: “As shown in FIG. 4, the metal conduction path 176 has a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, and then becomes a single band extending around towards the bottom of the inflatable container 140. Similarly the metal conduction path 178 has a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, and then becomes a single band extending around towards the bottom of the inflatable container 140. Shape, size and placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 will vary. For example, instead of a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, these portions could alternatively take on some other shape (for instance, square, rectangle, trapezoid, etc.). Also at the top of the surveillance drone 120 is a ferrous sheet 180. When turned on, an electromagnet 174 included within the docking station 110 magnetically attracts the ferrous sheet 180, and the magnetic force serves to retain the surveillance drone 120 fixedly to the docking station 110. Shape, size and placement of the ferrous sheet will vary. For example, instead of a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, the ferrous sheet 180 could alternatively take on some other shape (for instance, square, rectangle, trapezoid, etc.). Also, instead of a single ferrous sheet, there could be a plurality of spaced apart ferrous sheets each configured to become aligned with a respective one of a plurality of electromagnets upon docking of the surveillance drone 120 to the docking station 110.”, Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Piette further discloses further comprising a docking sensor for alignment of said docking means and a docking station during approaching of said docking means and said docking station (Docking proximity sensor and alignment using “grippers” discussed in detail: “Regarding the surveillance drone 520, it is similar to the surveillance drone 120 shown in FIG. 2; however instead of having the conduction paths 176 and 178 extending over the outer surface of the inflatable container 140, there is instead an electrically conducting cage 524 surrounding the entire container 528 of the surveillance drone 520. During docking to the docking station 510, a pair of grippers 540 and 542 (movable between open and closed states) are initially in an open state. Eventually the surveillance drone 520 and the cage 524 move into sufficiently close position to the grippers 540 and 542 then, at such point in time, each of the grippers 540 and 542 can close and thereby grasp on to and fixedly hold a respective one of frame members 530 and 532. Gripper control 533 controls opening and closing of the grippers based on, for example, proximity detection as between the surveillance drone 520 and the docking station 510. Those skilled in the art will appreciate the various known methods for proximity detection such as, for example employing a 3D camera which could be attached to the docking station 510.”, Para. [0038]), said alignment preferably relating to detection of a docking beacon comprised in said docking station by said docking sensor; said alignment preferably relating to alignment of said first member and said second member during approaching for realizing said magnetic attachment between said first member and said second member (note, all limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Piette further discloses wherein said aircraft extends between two ends along a main direction (see claim 1 above); wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end (see claim 1 above); and wherein said approaching relates to approaching along said main direction (Figs. 2 and 8-9 shows the aircraft may approach horizontally); wherein said aircraft extends between a lower portion and an upper portion along a levitation direction (see claim 1 above); wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion (see claim 1 above); and wherein said approaching relates to approaching along a direction opposite to said levitation direction (Figs. 8-9 show that aircraft may travel vertically up and down to get under and below the docking means).
Regarding claim 14, Piette further discloses wherein said releasable attachment realizes an electrical connection between an electrical contact comprised in said second member and an electrical contact comprised in said first member; and wherein said charging comprises providing electric power to said propulsion means and/or said positioning means and/or said monitoring means and/or said levitation means, preferably to providing electric power to at least each of said propulsion means, said positioning means, and said monitoring means (“FIG. 3 shows more details of the docking station 110 and FIG. 4 diagrammatically illustrates a top view of the surveillance drone 120. With reference to these two figures, metal conduction path 176 electrically connects to metal contact 172 on the docking station 110 when docked thereto. Similarly metal conduction path 178 electrically connects to metal contact 170 on the docking station 110 when docked thereto.”, Para. [0031]; “FIG. 7 shows a block diagram illustrating details of a docking station 410 constructed in accordance with an alternative example embodiment. When docked in drone-receiving port 428, the drone is able to be replenished with power provided by power source 420 and helium provided by helium tank 430. In terms of helium delivery, a pressure regulator 436 is connected to the helium tank 430 by suitable tubing 438. The pressure regulator 436 selectively permits helium to be delivered via nozzle 450 to the drone if pressure inside the gas-fillable container of the drone is sufficiently low. Tip 476 of the nozzle 450 is configured to penetrate a small elastic and self-closing aperture at the top of the gas-fillable container of the drone. In some examples, the tip 476 may be controlled to descend from a retracted position to facilitate penetration of the above-mentioned aperture.”, Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Piette further discloses wherein said electrical contact involved in said powering also comprises data connection means for data communication to and/or from one or more of: said monitoring means, said lifting means, said propulsion means, said positioning means, and/or a control unit comprised in said aircraft and connected to said monitoring means, said propulsion means and said positioning means (Fig. 11, “The video application 1144 also includes a communications interface via which communications are sent to a query manager module 1164 of the server system 1108. In some examples, the video application 1144 communicates with the query manager module 1164 through the use of Remote Procedure Calls (RPCs).”, Para. [0051]; “In addition to being in communication with the computer terminal 1104, the server system 1108 is also in communication with one or more conventional cameras 1169.sub.1 . . . 1169.sub.n and the surveillance drone and docking station assemblies 1101.sub.1 . . . 1101.sub.m. Possible data connections between the server system 1108 and any of the conventional cameras 1169.sub.1 . . . 1169.sub.n or the surveillance drone and docking station assemblies 1101.sub.1 . . . 1101.sub.m may be the same as any of those previously mentioned as possible as between the computer terminal 1104 and the server system 1108. In accordance with some examples, the server system 1108 communicates movement commands to each of the surveillance drone and docking station assemblies 1101.sub.1 . . . 1101.sub.m that are aerially mobile. These movement commands are processed with the respective surveillance drones which move in accordance with the commands by appropriate control of their motor-driven propellers as has been herein explained in detail.”, Para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 16, Piette further discloses wherein said levitation means comprises said buoyancy means comprising said lifting gas and wherein said docking means realizes, via respective contacts and based on said releasable attachment relating to said magnetic attachment, each of said gas replenishment, said electrical powering and said data communication (“Attached to the top of the gondola body 134 is an inflatable container 140. In the illustrated state, the inflatable container 140 is filled with a lighter than air gaseous fluid such as, for example, helium. Also, it will be understood that the inflatable container 140 illustrated in the drawings is not shown to scale. In an inflated state, the inflatable container 140 may have actual dimensions much larger (i.e. relative to other illustrated parts of the surveillance drone 120) than as it appears to be sized in the drawings. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the inflatable container 140 should be large enough to hold enough helium to keep the drone 120 afloat. For example, if one assumes conditions of 20° C. and 1 atm, and also one assumes that the container is not over pressurized (e.g. P.sub.container <1.01*P.sub.atm), then a hypothetical circular balloon of say 2 feet in diameter should well be able to support a payload of up to 100 g.”, Para. [0026]; “FIG. 7 shows a block diagram illustrating details of a docking station 410 constructed in accordance with an alternative example embodiment. When docked in drone-receiving port 428, the drone is able to be replenished with power provided by power source 420 and helium provided by helium tank 430. In terms of helium delivery, a pressure regulator 436 is connected to the helium tank 430 by suitable tubing 438. The pressure regulator 436 selectively permits helium to be delivered via nozzle 450 to the drone if pressure inside the gas-fillable container of the drone is sufficiently low. Tip 476 of the nozzle 450 is configured to penetrate a small elastic and self-closing aperture at the top of the gas-fillable container of the drone. In some examples, the tip 476 may be controlled to descend from a retracted position to facilitate penetration of the above-mentioned aperture.”, Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Piette further discloses wherein said propulsion means comprises a rotor tiltable in at least two directions (As shown in Figs. 2 and 5-10 with rotors tilted in at least two directions).
Regarding claim 18, Kraus further discloses wherein said propulsion means comprises a plurality of pivoting flaps extending from said aircraft along respective directions for propulsion based on air resistance (“A turbine 8, or "Ducted Fan," thrust high, is fixed on the back of the central structure within, or below, the central portion of the ejector. This ensures a transfer of mechanical load across the airship. Inducers 10, or thrusters in the form of two cones, are attached to each other by their thin ends through a tube in the form of a throat near the ducted turbine 8. The turbine boosts the airship and transmits mechanical load to the core. They also induce, through said throat, a large mass of air that picks up significant speed when entering through the cones. Inducing a high speed of airflow over the cover 4, provided with horizontal and vertical rudders, reduces the boundary layer and improves the airship's performance by creating a jet with a large amount of air at the end. This flow of air improves the efficiency of the rudder flaps establishing additional maneuverability of the airship even when it has not yet acquired its speed.”, Para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein said propulsion means comprises a plurality of pivoting flaps extending from said aircraft along respective directions for propulsion based on air resistance, as further taught by Kraus, with a reasonable expectation for success, to provide further yaw/pitch maneuverability and stability to the aircraft.
Regarding claim 19, Kraus further discloses wherein said propulsion means comprises a pivoting lever extending from a pivot point comprised in said aircraft for propulsion based on change of center of mass (“The quantity and size of balloons 6 and cuffs 7 depends on the size of the airship having a construction that facilitates the modularity of mounting particular modules. The cuffs 7, the position of which is preferably equally distanced from the airship's center of gravity, are interconnected by a duct fitted with fans, allowing for a transfer of air from the bow to stern cuff 7 of the airship, and vice versa. The cuffs 7 serve as an operational ballast, ensuring a balance of weight and volume, and thus, a stable hover flight. This allows the aircraft to stay completely still and level, regardless of the external pressure of the aircraft (which varies with altitude). The cuffs 7 also ensure the stabilization of the airship's center of gravity, even if there are differences in temperature among the various hydrogen balloons 6 over its fuselage.”, Paras. [0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein said propulsion means comprises a pivoting lever extending from a pivot point comprised in said aircraft for propulsion based on change of center of mass, as further taught by Kraus, with a reasonable expectation for success, since “The cuffs 7 also ensure the stabilization of the airship's center of gravity, even if there are differences in temperature among the various hydrogen balloons 6 over its fuselage.”, as discussed by Kraus, Para. [0053].
Regarding claim 21, Piette further discloses a system for indoor monitoring comprising: an aircraft according to claim 9 (See claim rejections above); and a docking station; a docking means for charging; wherein either said aircraft extends between two ends along a main direction; wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end; or said aircraft extends between a lower portion and an upper portion along a levitation direction; wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion; wherein said charging relates at least to the maintenance of an upward force for said levitation means; wherein said docking station comprises means for charging, a second member (see claims 1, 6, 7, and 9 above), preferably a second member comprising a disc-shaped portion, a guiding member for guiding portions of said aircraft during approaching of the first member toward the second member, said guiding member preferably comprising a conical portion for facilitating said guiding, and preferably a docking beacon for facilitating an alignment of said first member and said second member (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 24, Piette discloses (Figs. 2-4, 7, 11; Paras. [0023]-[0028], [0031]-[0033], [0036], [0038], [0042], [0045], [0047], [0050], [0054]) a method for indoor monitoring (“The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the surface is an indoor ceiling of a building.”, Claim 10), comprising the steps of: providing an aircraft (surveillance drone 120) comprising:
a lifting means (inflatable container 140),
a propulsion means (propellers 152 and 154),
a positioning means (implicit for guidance of any aircraft),
a monitoring means (electronic surveillance sensing device 164),
a docking means ( drone receiving port 128/428) and
a docking sensor (proximate detection, [0038]);
wherein either said aircraft extends between two ends along a main direction (oval shape in fig. 2);
wherein the aircraft further comprises said docking means at one end (placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 of drone receiving port 128/428 shown at one end in Figs. 2-4);
or said aircraft extends between a lower portion and an upper portion along a levitation direction (note, optional limitation; further disclosed that placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 will vary and shown extending in Fig. 4; see Para. [0032]);
navigating, with said aircraft and by means of said positioning means (standard positioning means), over an indoor environment (premises having a ceiling 112, [0023]) to be monitored, and monitoring, by means of said monitoring means (164), said environment;
when it is determined that charging is required, navigating toward a docking station (110,410, 510) being an air-mounted docking station (secured to ceiling 112, [0023]);
detecting, by means of said docking sensor (proximate detection, [0038]), an alignment between said aircraft and said docking station (As shown in Figs. 2-10), preferably by detecting a docking beacon comprised in said docking station (note, limitations after “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations);
gradually approaching said docking station while aligning, by means of said detected docking beacon (part of proximate detection), a first member (176) belonging to said docking means (128/428), with a second member (174) belonging to the docking station (110/410/510);
releasably attaching said first member (176) and said second member (174) by means of a magnetic attachment [0032], relating to said first member comprising a magnetic metal or a magnetic alloy and said second member comprising a magnet-containing portion (use of electro-magnet);
during attachment, performing charging, said charging relating to at least one of: the maintenance of an upward force for said levitation means, and/or the providing of electrical power to said aircraft (the drone is able to be replenished with power provided by power sources 420 and helium provided by helium tank 430, [0036]).
Piette does not expressly disclose wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end being the front or back (note, this is the other “main direction” of the aircraft of Piette).
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Kraus discloses in Fig. 8 the possibility to have an anchoring system 20 disposed at the front end of the airship.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Piette wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end being the front or back, as taught by Kraus, with a reasonable expectation for success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention, such as moving the docking means from the top to the front of the aircraft, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Piette does not expressly disclose wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Purwin discloses bottom docking port 260
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Piette wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion, as taught by Purwin, with a reasonable expectation for success, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention, such as moving the docking means from the top to the bottom of the aircraft, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piette et al. (US 2018/0304981 A1) in view of Kraus (US 2013/0277496 A1) and Purwin et al. (US 10,000,284) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Vazquez (US 2003/0067235 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Piette does not expressly disclose wherein said levitation means comprises a magnetic levitation means for generating a gravitational field; wherein said charging relating to said maintenance of said upward force relates to said providing of said electrical power via said electrical contact to said magnetic levitation means.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Vazquez discloses wherein said levitation means comprises a magnetic levitation means for generating a gravitational field; wherein said charging relating to said maintenance of said upward force relates to said providing of said electrical power via said electrical contact to said magnetic levitation means (Figs. 1-6; “The generators consist on a solenoid. The caliber and the material of the cable for the solenoid depend on the use and the size where it will be applied. The relationship of the diamangnetism and construction of the solenoid is quadratic. These diamagnetic generators have enough force to get up more of their weight. The levitation height depends on the material that the floor is made of FIG. 5 and FIG. 6. The generator is mounted in a rotor or such as independent mechanism. The generators (32) can be mounted in any vehicle of transport to move it. The vehicle can have one or more levitation generators (34). The vehicle can also have one or more directional generators (33). Everything depends on the utility of the vehicle to be able to design the configuration of the number of generators. All the energy system is the same as the rotor system.”, Para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein said levitation means comprises a magnetic levitation means for generating a gravitational field; wherein said charging relating to said maintenance of said upward force relates to said providing of said electrical power via said electrical contact to said magnetic levitation means, as taught by Vazquez, with a reasonable expectation for success, to allow the aircraft to provide monitoring closer to the ground as shown by Vazquez, Figs. 1-6.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piette et al. (US 2018/0304981 A1) in view of Kraus (US 2013/0277496 A1) and Purwin et al. (US 10,000,284) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Williams et al. (US 2022/0019970 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Piette does not expressly disclose wherein said alignment relates to detection of a docking beacon comprised in said docking station by said docking sensor.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Williams discloses wherein said alignment relates to detection of a docking beacon comprised in said docking station by said docking sensor (“In some implementations (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 22A through 22C), the warehouse inventory management system can employ markers to indicate respective endpoints of aisles and/or other reference points within a storage facility 2200. For example, a marker can comprise a mobile device 2202 (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, etc.) configured to display a visual indicator or transmit a wireless signal that is detectable by the aerial drone 100 (e.g., using the optical sensor 116 or another sensor, wireless transceiver, or the like). In another example implementation, a marker can comprise a recognizable object 2204 (e.g., a pylon, flag, colored/patterned fiducial marker, indicator light, etc.). In another example implementation, a marker can comprise a wireless transmitter or transceiver 2206 (e.g., RFID tag, Bluetooth beacon, WiFi or ZigBee transmitter/transceiver, ultra-wideband (UWB) transmitter/transceiver, radio frequency (RF) transmitter/transceiver, or the like). Any number or combination of markers can be implemented throughout the system.”, Para. [0111]; “In an example implementation shown in FIG. 24, the indoor positioning system 122 can include at least one receiver or transceiver configured to detect signals from a plurality of transmitters 2402 (e.g., RF transmitters, Bluetooth beacons, WiFi transmitters, ZigBee transmitters, UWB transmitters, LEDs or other light emitters, or other active transmitters) within a storage facility. The controller 102 can be configured to determine a position of the aerial drone 100 by triangulating signals received from the plurality of transmitters 2402. In some embodiments, the controller 102 utilizes a graphics processor 124 or another auxiliary processor to perform the triangulation.”, Para. [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the aircraft of Piette wherein said alignment relates to detection of a docking beacon comprised in said docking station by said docking sensor, as taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation for success, since beacons, like cameras, were a known art-recognized equivalent for sensing a location, device, or object.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purwin et al. (US 10,000,284) in view of Piette et al. (US 2018/0304981 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Purwin discloses a docking station (194/1704) for charging of an aircraft (for recharging) comprising:
a docking means (configured to engage UAV with docking station 1704) comprising a first member;
wherein either said aircraft extends between two ends along a main direction; wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at one end (note, claimed as an optional limitation); or
said aircraft extends between a lower portion and an upper portion along a levitation direction; wherein the aircraft comprises said docking means at said lower portion (see fig. 17);
the docking station (1704) comprising:
means for charging (cable in fig. 17) a levitation means (buoyant gas 1722) being a buoyancy means comprised in the aircraft (1702) and comprising a lifting gas;
a second member comprising a base portion, preferably a disc shaped base portion (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations), and a receiving member for receiving a valve of said docking means (implicit in means which can include, for example, a pump (or compressor) and an inlet/outlet port connectable with an exterior of the UAV 1602),
said receiving member preferably comprising conically shaped portions for facilitating said receiving (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations);
a guiding member for guiding portions of said aircraft during approaching of the first member toward the second member ("docking station can interface with the UAV autonomously". "Information can be provided to the UAV by, for example, an automated system at a docking station", process step 1100. Furthermore, the docking station may comprise guiding elements, such as fiducial mark to help guidance of the UAV),
said guiding member preferably comprising a conically-shaped element for facilitating said guiding (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations);
preferably, a docking beacon for facilitating an alignment of said first member and said second member (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations).
Purwin does not expressly disclose a first member comprising a magnetic metal or a magnetic said receiving member comprising a magnet containing portion at its distal end, preferably its conically shaped distal end.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Piette discloses a first member comprising a magnetic metal or a magnetic said receiving member comprising a magnet containing portion at its distal end (Fig. 2-4 shows magnets 180 and 128 as disc shaped; magnetic docking further discussed in detail: “As shown in FIG. 4, the metal conduction path 176 has a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, and then becomes a single band extending around towards the bottom of the inflatable container 140. Similarly the metal conduction path 178 has a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, and then becomes a single band extending around towards the bottom of the inflatable container 140. Shape, size and placement of the metal conduction paths 176 and 178 will vary. For example, instead of a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, these portions could alternatively take on some other shape (for instance, square, rectangle, trapezoid, etc.). Also at the top of the surveillance drone 120 is a ferrous sheet 180. When turned on, an electromagnet 174 included within the docking station 110 magnetically attracts the ferrous sheet 180, and the magnetic force serves to retain the surveillance drone 120 fixedly to the docking station 110. Shape, size and placement of the ferrous sheet will vary. For example, instead of a circular shape at the top of the surveillance drone 120, the ferrous sheet 180 could alternatively take on some other shape (for instance, square, rectangle, trapezoid, etc.). Also, instead of a single ferrous sheet, there could be a plurality of spaced apart ferrous sheets each configured to become aligned with a respective one of a plurality of electromagnets upon docking of the surveillance drone 120 to the docking station 110.”, Para. [0032]), preferably its conically shaped distal end (note, limitations following “preferably” are interpreted as optional limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the docking station of Purwin to further include a first member comprising a magnetic metal or a magnetic said receiving member comprising a magnet containing portion at its distal end, as taught by Piette, with a reasonable expectation for success, for improving the securing of the drone on a docking station
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647