DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 26 February 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17-19 and 24-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Office Action mailed 25 November 2025, filed 25 February 2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objections of Claims 17-32 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18, 25-26, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norkin (JVET-Q0533-v2; 7-17Jan2020).
Regarding Claims 17 and 25, Norkin discloses device, comprising: a processor [Norkin: Abstract: use mandatory film grain post-processing in VVC] configured to: determine a first set of film grain scaling factors [Norkin: §2: f(Y) is the piece-wise linear function that scales with the noise intensity depending on the value of the luma component; and § 5 The 32x32 block of the film grain is scaled with intensities of reconstructed samples,], wherein the first set of film grain scaling factors is represented by a plurality of constant functions [Norkin: §2: Synthesized noise is added separately to Y, Cb, and Cr color components. The noise is estimated in smooth areas of the picture. Then, the noise standard deviation is modeled using piece-wise linear function for each of Y, Cb, and Cr components. In luma, grain strength is modulated with a function of luminance], the first set of film grain scaling factors comprises a first film grain scaling factor associated with a first intensity interval [Norkin: §2: In luma, grain strength is modulated with a function of luminance] and a second film grain scaling factor associated with a second intensity interval [Norkin: § 2: the noise standard deviation is modeled using piece-wise linear function for each of Y, Cb, and Cr components]; and map the first film grain scaling factor to a third film grain scaling factor, and the second film grain scaling factor to a fourth film grain scaling factor [Norkin: FIG. 1: Analysis of structure, intensity [Wingdings font/0xE0] Maps [Wingdings font/0xE0] Film grain estimation], wherein the third film grain scaling factor and the fourth film grain scaling factor are elements of a second set of film grain scaling factors [Norkin: §5: The scaling for a color component can use a look-up table (LUT) with the 256 8-bit values for 8-bit video and 1024 8-bit values for the 10-bit video. The table is filled based on the points of the piece-wise linear scaling function in the beginning of noise signaling for each frame], and the second set of film grain scaling factors is represented by a continuous piecewise linear function [Norkin: § 2: the noise standard deviation is modeled using piece-wise linear function for each of Y, Cb, and Cr components].
Regarding Claims 18 and 26, Norkin discloses all the limitations of Claims 17 and 25, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Norkin discloses wherein the processor being configured to map the first film grain scaling factor to the third film grain scaling factor, and the second film grain scaling factor to the fourth film grain scaling factor comprises the processor being configured to: determine a first pivot point for the first intensity interval, wherein the third film grain scaling factor is a scaling factor associated with the first pivot point; and determine a second pivot point for the second intensity interval [Norkin: §7: num_y_points specifies the number of points for the piece-wise linear scaling function of the luma component. It is a requirement of bitstream conformance that num_y_points is less than or equal to 14.
point_y_value| i] represents specifies the luma value for the i-th point of the piecewise linear scaling function for the luma component], wherein the fourth film grain scaling factor is a scaling factor associated with the second pivot point [Norkin: §7: [i]], wherein the processor is further configured to connect the first pivot point and the second pivot point to generate the continuous piecewise linear function [Norkin: §7].
Regarding Claims 24 and 32, Norkin discloses all the limitations of Claims 17 and 25, respectively, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Norkin discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a film grain characteristics (FGC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message that indicates the first film grain scaling factor and the second film grain scaling factor [Norkin: §2: The film grain SEI messages exist in H.264].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-23 and 27-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 26 February 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482