DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 October, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1,2,7,10, drawn to embodiment I in the reply filed on 24 June, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3,4,5,6,9, and 11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 June, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 3,4,5,6,9, and 11 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1,2,7,8, and 10 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LU et al. (US-20170138675-A1-published 18 May, 2017) in view of YOSHIDA et al. (US-005806585-A-patented 15 September, 1998).
As to claim 1, LU discloses a heat exchanger that causes heat exchange to be performed between air and refrigerant, the heat exchanger comprising:
a plurality of heat transfer tubes (4) that extend in a direction of gravitational force, the plurality of heat transfer tubes being arranged apart from each other in a horizontal direction orthogonal to the direction of gravitational force;
a first header (3) connected to the plurality of heat transfer tubes at end portions thereof in an opposite direction to the direction of gravitational force;
a second header (3) connected to the plurality of heat transfer tubes at end portions thereof in the direction of gravitational force;
wherein the first header includes a partition wall (52) that partitions an internal space of the first header into a plurality of spaces including a main flow space (22) and a gas separation space (21),
the partition wall has a plurality of first openings (53) through which the main flow space and the gas separation space communicate with each other (Paragraphs 47, 60-65), the gas separation space is located above the main flow space (figure 8, 10),
LU, however does not teach the gas separation pipe.
YOSHIDA, however teaches and a gas separation pipe (44) connecting the first header (3b) and a refrigerant pipe through which the refrigerant flows out of the second header when the heat exchanger operates as an evaporator. This configuration makes it possible to eliminate an inhomogeneous distribution of the coolant which results in a uniform heat exchange in the plurality of heat transfer tubes (Column 14, lines 35-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LU with the teachings of YOSHIA to incorporate a gas separation pipe in order to eliminate an inhomogeneous distribution of the coolant resulting in a uniform heat exchange in the heat transfer tubes and an efficient heat exchanger.
As to claim 2, LU as modified by YOSHIDA teaches the limitations of claim 1, LU further teaches the heat exchanger, wherein the plurality of first openings (53) are each provided at a higher position than a liquid level of the refrigerant that flows as liquid refrigerant in the main flow space when the heat exchanger operates as an evaporator (See Annotated Figure LU).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First header)][AltContent: textbox (Gas separation space)][AltContent: textbox (Main flow space)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Plurality of first openings at a higher position than a liquid level)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (LU)
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LU et al. (US-20170138675-A1-published 18 May, 2017) in view of YOSHIDA et al. (US-005806585-A-patented 15 September, 1998), and D’ARCY et al. (US-20190316803-A1-published 17 October, 2019).
As to claim 7, LU as modified by YOSHIDA teaches the limitations of claim 1, LU as modified by YOSHIDA, further teaches the first headers wherein the first headers each include the main flow space and the gas separation space, LU as modified by YOSHIDA, however does not teach the heat exchanger, further comprising: a plurality of heat exchangers each including the first header, the plurality of heat transfer tubes, and the second header, the plurality of heat exchangers being arranged apart from each other in a flow direction of air; and a first connection pipe connecting a plurality of the first headers to each other; and a second connection pipe connecting a plurality of the second headers to each other.
D’ARCY, however teaches the heat exchanger comprising a plurality of heat exchangers each including the first header, the plurality of heat transfer tubes, and the second header, the plurality of heat exchangers being arranged apart from each other in a flow direction of air; and a first connection pipe connecting a plurality of the first headers to each other; and a second connection pipe connecting a plurality of the second headers to each other (Paragraphs 17 and 18). This configuration allows the refrigerant to form a continuous refrigerant flow loop such that either of the heat pipe sub-assemblies (i.e. heat exchangers) can function as an evaporator or a condenser, such that the loop adapts easily to changing outdoor and indoor temperatures (Paragraphs 18 and 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LU as modified by YOSHIDA, to incorporate first connection pipe and second connection pipe to the headers of connecting heat exchangers in order to create a loop that is capable of adapting to changing outdoor and indoor temperatures.
As to claim 8, LU as modified by YOSHIDA teaches the limitations of claim 1, D’ARCY teaches the heat exchanger comprising a plurality of heat exchangers each including the first header, the plurality of heat transfer tubes, and the second header, the plurality of heat exchangers being arranged apart from each other in a flow direction of air, and LU further teaches wherein the first headers share the gas separation space (See Annotated Figure LU 2, figure 7).
[AltContent: textbox (First headers share the gas separation space)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (LU 2)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LU et al. (US-20170138675-A1-published 18 May, 2017) in view of YOSHIDA et al. (US-005806585-A-patented 15 September, 1998), MATSUI et al. (US-20210222893-A1-published 22 July, 2021).
As to claim 10, LU as modified by YOSHIDA teaches the limitations of claim 1, LU as modified by YOSHIDA, however does not teach an air-conditioning apparatus comprising: the heat exchanger; a fan configured to supply the air to the heat exchanger; and a housing that houses the heat exchanger and the fan.
MATSUI, however teaches an air-conditioning apparatus comprising: the heat exchanger; a fan configured to supply the air to the heat exchanger; and a housing that houses the heat exchanger and the fan (See Annotated Figure MATSUI).
[AltContent: textbox (Housing that houses the heat exchanger(s) and the fan)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fan configured to supply air to the heat exchanger(s))][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (MATSUI)
This configuration of the air-conditioning apparatus provides increase in maintenance efficiency of the outdoor unit as the replacement of components can be easily performed (Paragraphs 56-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LU as modified by YOSHIDA, with the teachings of MATSUI, to incorporate an air conditioning apparatus based on the modified heat exchanger that is housed inside a housing with the configuration taught by MATSUI, in order to come up with a product that has high maintenance efficiency.
Conclusion
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763