DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0052414, filed on 04/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/19/2026 and 01/16/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-12 and 14 are pending, and claims 13 and 15 – 16 are canceled according to preliminary claim amendment file on 10/08/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 7 – 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. US20200260300A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in EPO search report), hereinafter Cirik.
Regarding claim 1, Cirik teaches a method by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Cirik: Summary, Fig. 3 and para. [0089] wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314)
receiving first information related to an uplink (UL) transmission window;
(Cirik: para. [0207 & 0202-0211] wireless device may receive one or more RRC message comprising parameters of one or more SR configurations. a parameter indicating a periodicity and offset of SR transmission; and/or an uplink resource indicated (e.g., identified) by an uplink resource index (e.g., PUCCH resource indicated (e.g., identified) by a PUCCH resource index))
transmitting second information informing whether UL data exists (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205-0211] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration. Para. [0206] for example, based on the wireless device sending (e.g., transmitting) a positive SR)
within the UL transmission window (uplink resource); and
(Cirik: para. [0206-0207] wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink signal via an uplink resource (e.g., a PUCCH via a PUCCH resource) associated with a SR configuration, for example, based on the wireless device sending (e.g., transmitting) a positive SR. A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal using an uplink format (e.g., PUCCH using PUCCH format 0, or PUCCH format 1), according to the uplink configuration (e.g., PUCCH configuration). Para. [0207-0211] wireless device may receive one or more RRC message comprising parameters of one or more SR configurations. The parameters, for one or more of the one or more SR configurations, may indicate at least one of: a SR prohibit timer; a maximum quantity of SR transmissions; a parameter indicating a periodicity and offset of SR transmission; and/or an uplink resource indicated (e.g., identified) by an uplink resource index (e.g., PUCCH resource indicated (e.g., identified) by a PUCCH resource index))
transmitting the UL signal, based on the second information informing that UL data exists,
(Cirik: para. [0206] wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal using an uplink format (e.g., PUCCH using PUCCH format 0, or PUCCH format 1), according to the uplink configuration (e.g., PUCCH configuration))
wherein based on the second information informing that UL data does not exist, (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration)
the UL signal is not transmitted outside the UL transmission window or during a duration of a prohibit timer,
(Cirik: para. [0209] wireless device may determine a SR transmission occasion on the at least one valid uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH resource), for example, based on at least one valid uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH resource) for the pending SR and/or a periodicity and an offset of SR transmission. The wireless device may wait (correspond to claim limitation “not transmitted”) for another SR transmission occasion, for example, based on the SR prohibit timer running. Para. [0203] SR prohibit timer may be a duration, for example, during which the wireless device may be not allowed to send (e.g., transmit) the SR)
and
wherein the second information is a scheduling request (SR) or a buffer status report (BSR). (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration. Para. [0202] SR configuration of a logical channel (LCH) that triggers a buffer status report (BSR) may be determined and/or assumed (e.g., considered) to be a corresponding SR configuration for a triggered SR)
Regarding claim 2, Cirik teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein based on the second information being transmitted in a specific resource of the UL transmission window, the second information informs that UL data does not exist. (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration)
Regarding claims 7 – 8, Cirik teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor, and storing instructions which when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (Cirik: Summary, Fig. 3 and para. [0089] wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) and Cirik teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 – 2, and therefore apparatus claims 7 – 8 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 14, Cirik teaches a base station (BS) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor, and storing instructions which when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
(Cirik: Summary, Fig. 3 and para. [0076] base stations (e.g., 120A, 120B) may comprise a Node B, eNB, gNB, ng-eNB, or any other base station. The base station 1, 120A, may comprise at least one communication interface 320A (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, a wired modem, and/or the like), at least one processor 321A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323A that may be stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A)
transmitting first information related to an uplink (UL) transmission window through the at least one transceiver; (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0202-0211] wireless device may receive one or more RRC message comprising parameters of one or more SR configurations. a parameter indicating a periodicity and offset of SR transmission; and/or an uplink resource indicated (e.g., identified) by an uplink resource index (e.g., PUCCH resource indicated (e.g., identified) by a PUCCH resource index))
receiving second information informing whether UL data exists (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205-0211] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration. Para. [0206] for example, based on the wireless device sending (e.g., transmitting) a positive SR) within the UL transmission window (uplink resource) through the at least one transceiver; and (Cirik: para. [0206-0207] wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink signal via an uplink resource (e.g., a PUCCH via a PUCCH resource) associated with a SR configuration, for example, based on the wireless device sending (e.g., transmitting) a positive SR. A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal using an uplink format (e.g., PUCCH using PUCCH format 0, or PUCCH format 1), according to the uplink configuration (e.g., PUCCH configuration). Para. [0207-0211] wireless device may receive one or more RRC message comprising parameters of one or more SR configurations. The parameters, for one or more of the one or more SR configurations, may indicate at least one of: a SR prohibit timer; a maximum quantity of SR transmissions; a parameter indicating a periodicity and offset of SR transmission; and/or an uplink resource indicated (e.g., identified) by an uplink resource index (e.g., PUCCH resource indicated (e.g., identified) by a PUCCH resource index))
receiving the UL signal through the at least one transceiver, based on the second information informing that UL data exists, (Cirik: para. [0206] wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal using an uplink format (e.g., PUCCH using PUCCH format 0, or PUCCH format 1), according to the uplink configuration (e.g., PUCCH configuration))
wherein based on the second information informing that UL data does not exist, (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration)
the UL signal is not received outside the UL transmission window or during a duration of a prohibit timer, (Cirik: para. [0209] wireless device may determine a SR transmission occasion on the at least one valid uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH resource), for example, based on at least one valid uplink resource (e.g., PUCCH resource) for the pending SR and/or a periodicity and an offset of SR transmission. The wireless device may wait (correspond to claim limitation “not transmitted”) for another SR transmission occasion, for example, based on the SR prohibit timer running. Para. [0203] SR prohibit timer may be a duration, for example, during which the wireless device may be not allowed to send (e.g., transmit) the SR) and
wherein the second information is a scheduling request (SR) or a buffer status report (BSR). (Cirik: para. [0207 & 0205] wireless device may set a SR transmission counter (e.g., SR_COUNTER) to a first value (e.g., 0), if there is no other pending SRs corresponding to the SR configuration, for example, based on a SR of a SR configuration triggered (e.g., pending) based on a BSR being triggered on a LCH corresponding to the SR configuration. Para. [0202] SR configuration of a logical channel (LCH) that triggers a buffer status report (BSR) may be determined and/or assumed (e.g., considered) to be a corresponding SR configuration for a triggered SR)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Zhang et al. US 20200112978 A1, hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 3, Cirik teaches method according to claim 1, Cirik does not explicitly teach: wherein the UL transmission window is configured to be located immediately before or immediately after an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window.
However, Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the UL transmission window is configured to be located immediately before or immediately after an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window. (Zhang: Fig. 17A-17C and Fig. 18 and para. [0168-0176] uplink transmissions on overlapping uplink resources of UE 315 may be restricted to critical channels or high-priority data. UE 315 may be allowed to perform uplink transmission for high priority data for short durations. For example, if URLLC data is to be transmitted within CG, then UE 315 can initiate transmission even if the uplink resource overlaps with SMTC windows 1701, 1711, and 1721) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhang in the method of Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for UE 315 may be allowed to perform uplink transmission for high priority data for short durations (Zhang: para. [0168]), and where high priority transmissions are to be handled, such as ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC), UE 315 may be configured to use the least conservative option, in order to potentially increase transmission throughput (Zhang: para. [0167]).
Regarding claim 4, Cirik teaches method according to claim 1, Cirik does not explicitly teach: wherein the UL transmission window is configured to be located before or after an offset value from an SMTC window.
However, Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the UL transmission window is configured to be located immediately before or immediately after an SS/PBCH block measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window. (Zhang: para. [0166] For the options illustrated in FIGS. 17A-17C, additional gaps may be ensured between the uplink resource and the immediate next or previous SMTC window for the uplink resource to be considered valid) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhang in the method of Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for each such gap may be used to ensure completion of an SS burst or for downlink-to-uplink transition, or for performing an LBT procedure (Zhang: para. [0165]), and additional gaps may be ensured between the uplink resource and the immediate next or previous SMTC window for the uplink resource to be considered valid (Zhang: para. [0166]).
Regarding claims 9 – 10, Cirik and Zhang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 3 – 4, and therefore apparatus claims 9 – 10 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. EP 3503643 A1, hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 5, Cirik teaches the method according to claim 1, Cirik does not explicitly teach: wherein even though the second information informs that UL data does not exist, a specific type of UL signal is transmitted outside the UL transmission window or during the duration of the prohibit timer.
However, Xu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein even though the second information informs that UL data does not exist, a specific type of UL signal is transmitted outside the UL transmission window or during the duration of the prohibit timer. (Xu: para. [0017] SR is used to request, from the base station, an uplink resource used to send the first BSR, and the reporting of the SR is not limited by a logical channel SR-prohibit timer. In this way, the data processing delay of the first-type service data can be further shortened) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Xu in the method of Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for delayed transmission of service data having a high transmission latency requirement in a conventional manner of performing BSR reporting based on a logical channel group can be avoided, and processing duration of the type of service data is shortened to some extent, thereby improving processing efficiency of the type of service data (Xu: para. [0010 & 0024 & 0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Cirik and Xu teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and therefore apparatus claim 11 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino et al. US 20240107539 A1 (Hoshino: para. [0001] claims the benefit of priority of Japanese Patent Application No. 2021-097597, filed on Jun. 10, 2021), hereinafter Hoshino.
Regarding claim 6, Cirik teaches the method according to claim 1, Cirik does not explicitly teach: wherein based on the second information informing that UL data does not exist, a configuration of the UL transmission window is changed.
However, Hoshino from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein based on the second information informing that UL data does not exist, (Hoshino: [0186] UE 100 (the transmitter 111) can transmit not only a positive SR but also a negative SR. For example, the positive SR may be an SR whose value is set to “1”, and the negative SR may be an SR whose value is set to “0”. Furthermore, for example, the positive SR may be used to request an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource, and the negative SR may be used so as not to request an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource. When transmitting negative SR to the base station 200, the UE 100 (the controller 120) performs control so that the SR-induced switching processing is not performed. That is, the UE 100 (the controller 120) performs the SR-induced switching processing only when the positive SR is transmitted to the base station 200)
a configuration of the UL transmission window is changed. (Hoshino: [0186 & 0180] UE 100 (the controller 120) performs control so that the SR-induced switching processing is not performed. – that is, UE does not switch to its allocated uplink radio resource, and therefore UL transmission window is not performed (changed) as a result) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhang in the method of Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for SR transmission and RACH transmission may occur in the above-described power saving state (that is, a state in which the monitoring period of the PDCCH is lengthened or the monitoring of the PDCCH is skipped). Since radio communication is performed between the UE 100 and the base station 200 after the SR transmission or the RACH transmission, it is preferable to switch the PDCCH monitoring state from the power saving state using the transmission of the SR or the RACH or the transmission trigger as a trigger and leave the power saving state (Hoshino: [0146]).
Regarding claim 12, Cirik and Hoshino teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, and therefore apparatus claim 12 is rejected using the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Pertinent to claim 6 - Shao et al. US-11006438-B2 teaches When the bit state of the bit is 0, it indicates a negative scheduling request (negative SR), and the negative scheduling request indicates that there is currently no uplink data for the terminal, or there is currently no need to allocate a resource used for transmission to the terminal. A negative SR indicates, to the terminal device, that there is currently no uplink data for the terminal device, or there is currently no need to allocate a resource used for transmission to the terminal. It may be understood that, if a receiving device receives only a positive SR associated with an SR configuration, the receiving device may consider that SR configurations other than this SR configuration in the at least one SR configuration are all negative SRs. The receiving device may be a network device or a terminal.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418