DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fattal et al (US Publication No.: US 2019/0317265 A1, “Fattal”).
Regarding Claim 24, Fattal discloses a static multiview display (Figures 1-6) comprising:
A light guide configured to guide light as guided light (Figure 3C, light guide 110); and
A plurality of micro-slit scattering element distributed across the light guide (Figures 2-3 disclose a micro-slit scattering element) and configured to reflectively scatter out the guided light from the light guide (Paragraph 0067) as a corresponding plurality of directional light beams that encode view pixels of a static multiview image (Paragraph 0077),
Each micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality being configured to reflectively scatter out a different one of direction light beams having a relative intensity and a direction that encode a corresponding view pixel of the static multiview image (Paragraph 0067; Paragraph 0077), wherein
The micro-slit scattering elements each comprise a sloped reflective sidewall having a slope angle that is tilted away from a propagation direction of the guided light (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 25, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein the sloped reflective sidewall of each of the micro-slit scattering element has a predetermined reflectivity characteristic configured to determine the relative intensity of the directional light beam that encodes the corresponding view pixel, the predetermined reflectivity characteristic comprising at least one of a depth of the sloped reflective sidewall or a surface reflectivity of the sloped reflective sidewall (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 26, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein the micro-slit scattering element has a predetermined rotation angle relative to a propagation angle of the guided light, the predetermined rotation angle being configured to determine the direction of the directional light beam scattered out by the micro-slit scattering element that encodes the corresponding view pixel (Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 27, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality comprises a plurality of micro-slit sub- elements, each micro-slit sub-element having the sloped reflective sidewall (Figure 2 discloses a plurality of micro-slits, where Paragraphs 0050-0051 and Paragraph 0072 disclose the sloped reflective sidewalls).
Regarding Claim 28, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality is disposed on an emission surface of the light guide, the micro-slit scattering element extending into an interior of the light guide away from the emission surface (Figure 2 discloses micro-slits 30 that go from the top of the surface to an interior).
Regarding Claim 29, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein: a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality is disposed in a light guide material layer located on a surface of the light guide, a surface of the light guide material layer being an emission surface and the micro-slit scattering element extending away from the emission surface and toward the light guide surface (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072); and a refractive index of the light guide material layer located on the surface of the light guide is greater than a refractive index of a material of the light guide (Paragraph 0032 discloses a coating with a different refractive index).
Regarding Claim 30, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein the sloped reflective sidewall of the micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality comprises a reflective material configured to reflectively scatter out the guided light (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 31, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein the slope angle of the sloped reflective sidewall is between zero degrees and about forty -five degrees relative to a surface normal of an emission surface of the light guide, the slope angle being configured to preferentially scatter light in a direction of the emission surface of the light guide and away from a surface of the light guide opposite to the emission surface (Figure 2 discloses a zero degree slant).
Regarding Claim 32, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality has a curved shape in a direction that is both orthogonal to the propagation direction of the guided light and parallel to a plane of a surface of the light guide, the curved shape being configured to control emission pattern of scattered light in a plane orthogonal to a propagation direction of the guided light (Paragraph 0034).
Regarding Claim 33, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, wherein the guided light is collimated according to a predetermined collimation factor, an emission pattern of the directional light beams being a function of the predetermined collimation factor of the guided light (Paragraph 0043; Paragraph 0057).
Regarding Claim 34, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 24, further comprising a light source at an input location on the light guide, the light source being configured to provide within the light guide the guided light comprising a plurality of guided light beams having different radial directions from one another, wherein different micro-slit scattering elements of the micro-slit scattering element plurality are aligned with and configured to scatter out guided light from different guided light beams of the guided light beam plurality having the different radial directions within the light guide (Figure 3A, light source 120; Paragraph 0057; Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 35, Fattal discloses a static multiview display (Figures 1-6) comprising:
A light guide configured to guide light as a plurality of guided light beams in a fan-shaped pattern, guided light beams of the guided light beam plurality having different radial directions from one another within the light guide (Figure 3A discloses a light guide 110 guiding light in a fan-shaped pattern; Paragraph 0057; Paragraph 0052); and
A plurality of micro-slit scattering elements configured to emit directional light beams representing view pixels of a static multiview image, each micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality comprising a sloped reflective sidewall and being configured to provide from a portion of a guided light beam of the guided light beam plurality a directional light beam having an intensity and a direction corresponding to a relative intensity and a view direction of a view pixel of the static multiview image that corresponds to the micro- slit scattering element (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072; Paragraph 0077).
Regarding Claim 36, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 35, wherein the sloped reflective sidewall of each of the micro-slit scattering elements has a predetermined reflectivity characteristic determined by one or both of a depth of the sloped reflective sidewall and a surface reflectivity of a surface of the sloped reflective sidewall that is configured to determine the relative intensity of a directional light beam corresponding to the micro-slit scattering element, and wherein each of the micro-slit scattering elements of the micro-slit scattering element plurality has a predetermined rotation angle relative to a radial direction of a guided light beam corresponding to the micro-slit scattering element that is configured to determine the direction of the directional light beam (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 37, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 35, wherein a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality is one of disposed on an emission surface of the light guide and disposed below the emission surface, the micro-slit scattering element extending into an interior of the light guide away from the emission surface (Figure 2 discloses micro-slits 30 that go from the top of the surface to an interior).
Regarding Claim 38, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 35, wherein a micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality is disposed in a light guide material layer located on a surface of the light guide, a surface of the light guide material layer being an emission surface of the static multiview display and the micro-slit scattering element extending away from an emission surface and toward the surface of the light guide (Figure 2 discloses micro-slits 30 that go from the top of the surface to an interior; Paragraph 0032).
Regarding Claim 39, Fattal discloses the static multiview display of claim 35, further comprising a light source configured to provide within the light guide the plurality of guided light beams having the different radial directions from one another (Figure 3A, light source 120; Paragraph 0057; Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 40, Fattal discloses a method of static multiview display operation, the method comprising: guiding light in a propagation direction as guided light along a length of a light guide (Figure 3A, light guide 110); and reflecting the guided light out of the light guide as a corresponding plurality of directional light beams using a plurality of micro-slit scattering elements (Paragraph 0067), the directional light beams encoding view pixels of a static multiview image and each micro-slit scattering element of the micro-slit scattering element plurality providing a different one of directional light beams having a relative intensity and a direction of a corresponding view pixel of a static multiview image (Paragraph 0077), wherein
The micro-slit scattering elements each comprise a sloped reflective sidewall having a slope angle that is tilted away from the propagation direction of the guided light (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 41, Fattal discloses the method of static multiview display operation of claim 40, wherein the sloped reflective sidewall reflectively scatters light according to total internal reflection to reflect a portion of the guided out of the light guide and provide the directional light beam (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 42, Fattal discloses the method of static multiview display operation of claim 40, wherein the slope angle of the sloped reflective sidewall is between zero degrees and forty-five degrees relative to a surface normal of an emission surface of the light guide, the slope angle being chosen in conjunction with a non-zero propagation angle of the guided light to preferentially scatter light in a direction of the emission surface of the light guide and away from a surface of the light guide opposite to the emission surface (Paragraphs 0050-0051; Paragraph 0072; Figure 2 discloses a zero degree slant).
Regarding Claim 43, Fattal discloses the method of static multiview display operation of claim 40, the method further comprising: providing light to be guided by the light guide using a light source, the light source providing within the light guide the guided light comprising a plurality of guided light beams having different radial directions from one another, wherein different micro-slit scattering elements of the micro-slit scattering element plurality are aligned with and reflect out guided light from different guided light beams of the guided light beam plurality having the different radial directions within the light guide (Figure 3A, light source 120; Paragraph 0057; Paragraph 0052).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Aieta (US 2020/0341182 A1) discloses a multiview display employing subwavelength gratings (Figure 2)
-Pijlman (US 2012/0206511 A1) discloses a multiview display device comprising slanted slits (Piljman, Figure 5b)
/MARIAM QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2871