DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Larsson only identifies pressure as a results effective variable, but this is not tenable given a plain reading of Larsson as Larsson notes that cavity thickness is a critical determinant of pressure and part quality as explained in previous rejection. Applicant argues that the cavity thickness is not predetermined, but this does nothing to address the examiner’s routine experimentation rationale, see MPEP 2144.05 II. Applicant argues that pressing distance is not identified as a results effective variable within Larsson, but Larsson notes that cavity thickness and shape (ie analogous terms or terms that would encompass pressing distance) have an effect on the shape of the end part, mechanical properties, and pressure applied and therefore are results effective variables. Applicant argues advantages to the pressing element, but this feature is disclosed in Fig 8a-8c and applicant provides no argument in regards to this disclosure. Applicant then applies similar arguments to the time the molds are held at the predetermined pressing distance, but Larsson likewise notes that time under pressure is a determinant of fibril aggregation and mechanical properties [0085] and given that the pressing have an overlapping range with that claimed by applicant, it is unclear how this wouldn’t just be routine optimization as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2019/0070819) in view of Hain (US 4554127).
As to claim 1, Larsson teaches a method for forming a plurality of discrete three- dimensional cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a multi-cavity forming mould system, wherein the forming mould system comprises a first mould part and a second mould part arranged for cooperating with each other during forming of the cellulose products, wherein the first mould part comprises a plurality of first forming elements and the second mould part comprises a plurality of corresponding second forming elements, wherein the second forming elements are movably arranged in relation to a base structure of the second mould part, wherein each second forming element is arranged for interacting with a pressure member arranged in the base structure, wherein the method comprises the steps: providing the air-formed cellulose blank structure, wherein the cellulose blank structure is air-formed from cellulose fibers, and arranging the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and the second mould part [claim 1, 0119, 0120, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; establishing a plurality of forming cavities for the cellulose blank structure between each first forming element and corresponding second forming element [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; and establishing a single pressing operation [0064] in each forming cavity onto the cellulose blank structure during forming of the cellulose products [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c], Larsson teaches the single forming operation is at a forming pressure level of at least 1-100 MPa in each forming cavity through interaction from the pressure member and at 100-200 C [0073, 0074, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]. Larsson teaches that the pressing operation may be as little as 0.1 seconds [0085] and notes that the amount of time in the forming step may range “range from 0.1 seconds to several seconds, depending on the forming temperature of the cellulose blank and the pressure applied.” In other words, forming time is a results effective variable. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case formation time duration, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize formation time duration to the exact value of 0.15-1s, as suggested by Larsson, in order to account for the desired temperature and pressure to result in desired material properties. Moreover, it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion of the range taught in the prior art is a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Larsson notes that the cellulose blank has a water content prior to forming [0072], but Larsson does not explicitly state that the moisture content is in a range of 4-15% before the cellulose product is formed by pressing and heating.
Hain teaches a method of pressing cellulosic blanks [Abstract] wherein the blank has a water content between 3-7% and notes that 10% is the conventional amount [col 6 line 44-68]. This water content has several advantages in that it “increases the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduces the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminates a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed” [col 6 line 44-68] as well as improve formability [Abstract, col 3 line 40-45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and utilized a water content of 3-7%, as suggested by Hain, in order to increase the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduce the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminate a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed.
Larsson teaches holding the first mould part and the second mould part in a non-moving relationship during the predetermined forming time duration, wherein in the non- moving relationship the first mould part and the second mould part are arranged at a predetermined pressing distance from each other in the pressing direction, wherein the predetermined pressing distance is establishing the forming pressure onto the cellulose blank structure arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part as the blank is held at certain die shape a given forming time [0085, 0106-0111] as predetermined pressing distance phrased as cavity thickness [0106-0109] is a results effective variable on pressure applied and on part ending thickness. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case predetermined pressing distance, is within the skill of one practicing art and just routine experimentation , see MPEP § 2144.05 II.
As to claim 3, Larsson teaches releasing the first mould part and the second mould part from each other after the predetermined forming time duration; and removing the formed cellulose product from the forming mould within a releasing time duration from initiating the releasing of the first mould part and the second mould part from each other [0086].
As to claim 4, Larsson teaches applying a predetermined maximum pressing force onto the first mould part and/or the second mould part during the predetermined forming time duration, wherein the predetermined maximum pressing force is establishing the forming pressure onto the cellulose blank structure arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part [0085, 0069 isostatic pressure, 0059]. [0106-0111].
As to claim 6, Larsson teaches the mold comprises stiff first and 2nd parts (2a,2b) and establishing a minimum gap distance in the pressing direction at the predetermined pressing distance between the first stiff mould part section and the second stiff mould part section [0085, 0106-0111].
As to claim 7, Larsson teaches establishing a forming cavity between the first mould part and the second mould part when the cellulose blank structure is arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c].
As to claim 9, Larsson teaches the first mould part and/or the second mould part comprises a heating unit (either heating fluid channels or resistive heaters), wherein the method further comprises the steps: heating the first mould part and/or the second mould part to a forming mould temperature in the range of 100-200 °C [0073, 0074, 0076]; and heating the cellulose blank structure to the forming temperature when forming the cellulose product (1) in the single pressing operation during the predetermined forming time duration through heat transfer from the first mould part and/or the second mould part [0073, 0074, 0076].
As to claim 10, Larsson teaches a method for forming a plurality of discrete three- dimensional cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a multi-cavity forming mould system, wherein the forming mould system comprises a first mould part and a second mould part arranged for cooperating with each other during forming of the cellulose products, wherein the first mould part comprises a plurality of first forming elements and the second mould part comprises a plurality of corresponding second forming elements, wherein the second forming elements are movably arranged in relation to a base structure of the second mould part, wherein each second forming element is arranged for interacting with a pressure member arranged in the base structure, wherein the method comprises the steps: providing the air-formed cellulose blank structure, wherein the cellulose blank structure is air-formed from cellulose fibers, and arranging the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and the second mould part [claim 1, 0119, 0120, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; establishing a plurality of forming cavities for the cellulose blank structure between each first forming element and corresponding second forming element [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; and establishing a single pressing operation [0064] in each forming cavity onto the cellulose blank structure during forming of the cellulose products [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c], Larsson teaches the single forming operation is at a forming pressure level of at least 1-100 MPa in each forming cavity through interaction from the pressure member and at 100-200 C [0073, 0074, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]. Larsson teaches that the pressing operation may be as little as 0.1 seconds [0085] and notes that the amount of time in the forming step may range “range from 0.1 seconds to several seconds, depending on the forming temperature of the cellulose blank and the pressure applied.” In other words, forming time is a results effective variable. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case formation time duration, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize formation time duration to the exact value of 0.15-1s, as suggested by Larsson, in order to account for the desired temperature and pressure to result in desired material properties. Moreover, it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion of the range taught in the prior art is a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Larsson notes that the cellulose blank has a water content prior to forming [0072], but Larsson does not explicitly state that the moisture content is in a range of 4-15% before the cellulose product is formed by pressing and heating.
Hain teaches a method of pressing cellulosic blanks [Abstract] wherein the blank has a water content between 3-7% and notes that 10% is the conventional amount [col 6 line 44-68]. This water content has several advantages in that it “increases the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduces the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminates a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed” [col 6 line 44-68] as well as improve formability [Abstract, col 3 line 40-45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and utilized a water content of 3-7%, as suggested by Hain, in order to increase the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduce the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminate a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed.
Larsson teaches holding the first mould part and the second mould part in a non-moving relationship during the predetermined forming time duration, wherein in the non- moving relationship the first mould part and the second mould part are arranged at a predetermined pressing distance from each other in the pressing direction, wherein the predetermined pressing distance is establishing the forming pressure onto the cellulose blank structure arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part as the blank is held at certain die shape a given forming time [0085, 0106-0111] as predetermined pressing distance phrased as cavity thickness [0106-0109] is a results effective variable on pressure applied and on part ending thickness. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case predetermined pressing distance, is within the skill of one practicing art and just routine experimentation , see MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Larsson teaches the first mould part and/or the second mould part comprises a deformation element (4), wherein the method further comprises the steps: compressing the deformation element (4) upon forming of the cellulose product by pressing the cellulose blank structure when arranged between the first mould part and the second mould part in the single pressing operation wherein in the single pressing operation during the predetermined forming time duration the deformation element is compressed to a compressed maximum extension in the pressing direction from an initial maximum extension in the pressing direction [0117, Fig 8a-8c].
As to claim 11, Larsson teaches holding the first mould part and the second mould part in a non-moving relationship during the predetermined forming time duration, wherein in the non- moving relationship the first mould part and the second mould part are arranged at a predetermined pressing distance from each other in the pressing direction, wherein the predetermined pressing distance is establishing the forming pressure onto the cellulose blank structure arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part as the blank is held at certain die shape a given forming time [0085, 0106-0111] as predetermined pressing distance phrased as cavity thickness [0106-0109] is a results effective variable on pressure applied and on part ending thickness. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case predetermined pressing distance before operation, is within the skill of one practicing art and just routine experimentation , see MPEP § 2144.05 II.
As to claim 12, Larsson teaches a method for forming a plurality of discrete three- dimensional cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a multi-cavity forming mould system, wherein the forming mould system comprises a first mould part and a second mould part arranged for cooperating with each other during forming of the cellulose products, wherein the first mould part comprises a plurality of first forming elements and the second mould part comprises a plurality of corresponding second forming elements, wherein the second forming elements are movably arranged in relation to a base structure of the second mould part, wherein each second forming element is arranged for interacting with a pressure member arranged in the base structure, wherein the method comprises the steps: providing the air-formed cellulose blank structure, wherein the cellulose blank structure is air-formed from cellulose fibers, and arranging the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and the second mould part [claim 1, 0119, 0120, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; establishing a plurality of forming cavities for the cellulose blank structure between each first forming element and corresponding second forming element [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; and establishing a single pressing operation [0064] in each forming cavity onto the cellulose blank structure during forming of the cellulose products [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c], Larsson teaches the single forming operation is at a forming pressure level of at least 1-100 MPa in each forming cavity through interaction from the pressure member and at 100-200 C [0073, 0074, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]. Larsson teaches that the pressing operation may be as little as 0.1 seconds [0085] and notes that the amount of time in the forming step may range “range from 0.1 seconds to several seconds, depending on the forming temperature of the cellulose blank and the pressure applied.” In other words, forming time is a results effective variable. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case formation time duration, is within the skill of one practicing art, see MPEP § 2144.05 II. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize formation time duration to the exact value of 0.15-1s, as suggested by Larsson, in order to account for the desired temperature and pressure to result in desired material properties. Moreover, it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion of the range taught in the prior art is a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Larsson notes that the cellulose blank has a water content prior to forming [0072], but Larsson does not explicitly state that the moisture content is in a range of 4-15% before the cellulose product is formed by pressing and heating.
Hain teaches a method of pressing cellulosic blanks [Abstract] wherein the blank has a water content between 3-7% and notes that 10% is the conventional amount [col 6 line 44-68]. This water content has several advantages in that it “increases the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduces the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminates a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed” [col 6 line 44-68] as well as improve formability [Abstract, col 3 line 40-45]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and utilized a water content of 3-7%, as suggested by Hain, in order to increase the stiffness of the formed receptacle, reduce the dwell time of the blank in the dies, eliminate a drying cycle and reduces curl problems in the press feed.
Larsson teaches holding the first mould part and the second mould part in a non-moving relationship during the predetermined forming time duration, wherein in the non- moving relationship the first mould part and the second mould part are arranged at a predetermined pressing distance from each other in the pressing direction, wherein the predetermined pressing distance is establishing the forming pressure onto the cellulose blank structure arranged in the forming mould between the first mould part and the second mould part as the blank is held at certain die shape a given forming time [0085, 0106-0111] as predetermined pressing distance phrased as cavity thickness [0106-0109] is a results effective variable on pressure applied and on part ending thickness. It is well settled that the determination of the optimum value of a result effective variable, in this case predetermined pressing distance before the pressing operation, is within the skill of one practicing art and just routine experimentation , see MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759