DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is in response to Applicant’s case, no. 18/855,048, with an effective filing date of 10/8/2024. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-10, and 12-15 are currently pending. Claims 3-4, 7, and 11 have been canceled. Claims 6 and 8-9 still contain allowable subject matter but are objected to for being dependent on a rejected base claim as discussed below.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated September 16, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous specification objections; withdraws the previous claim objections; withdraws the previous drawing objections, however upon further consideration a new objection is made regarding the drawings as described below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed September 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are moot.
Regarding the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-10 and 12-15 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (US Pat. No. 10,730,516 B2) [previously referred to as Ohashi516, but hereinafter will be referred to as Ohashi] in view of Ohashi et al. (CN Pat. Pub. No. 106573620 B) [hereinafter referred to as Ohashi620], the Applicant argues that these are similar documents and due to this Ohashi620 cannot cure the deficiencies of Ohashi. So after further consideration, new reference Tamashima et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0161788 A1) [hereinafter referred to as Tamashima] has been necessitated which upon closer examination fully replaces Ohashi620. As such, Ohashi620 is no longer required to address any limitation of the claims. Therefore, a new rejection based on 35 USC § 103 has been made and is discussed in detail below.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues (see pp. 12-15) that Ohashi fails to disclose the executing a reference setting process in which a passing time gap between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) is set to a reference passing time gap to control the longitudinal positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) so that a distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction becomes a reference target distance. However, Tamashima teaches in [0039] sentence(s) (s.)1-3 that a “finder” is a light detection and ranging (LIDAR). The finder irradiates the periphery of the own vehicle with light and measures scattered light. The finder detects the distance to the target based on the time from light emission to light reception, which is construed as the system correlating a known relationship between distance and time for controlling a vehicle’s movements. Further, in [0057] the second control unit controls the traveling drive force output device, the brake device, and the steering device such that the own vehicle passes the target trajectory generated by the action plan generation unit at the scheduled time. This is construed as a timing that is incorporated in the passing of a vehicle where the timing necessarily affects the distance to the lead vehicle (i.e., longitudinal positional relationship between the ego and target vehicles) where the vehicle’s scheduling time of a passing maneuver is interpreted to correspond to a reference target distance. Further, please see Fig. 3 below which teaches a saddled vehicle approaching a slower moving vehicle (e.g., a stopped vehicle) and the distance based avoidance trajectory that may occur at a scheduled time as discussed above. Therefore, the argument is moot.
Further regarding claim 1 the Applicant argues Ohashi fails to disclose the executing a passing time gap adjusting process in which an adjusted passing time gap that is greater than the reference passing time gap is set to control the longitudinal positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) so that the distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction becomes an increased target distance which is greater than the reference target distance that is the distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction. However, as discussed in the previous action in col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 that a mode may be necessarily programmed to approach when distances become too large and to separate when distances become too small which is construed as executing a passing time gap adjustment is executed. Further, Tamashima teaches in [0018-119] that the system during a curve that the driving support control changes the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle when the motorcycle performs cornering while following the preceding vehicle. the motorcycle then follows the preceding vehicle with a second inter-vehicle distance, which is wider than the inter-vehicle distance. Therefore, the argument is moot.
Regarding claim(s) 15, Applicant argues that, while differing in scope, this/these claim(s) recite(s) similar features to claim 1 and its/their rejection(s) should likewise be withdrawn. However, this argument is unpersuasive for the same reasons as given above.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are patentable by virtue of their dependency. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully rejected for the reasons as given above.
Drawings
Drawings 1-2 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83 because they fail to show: with respect to Fig. 1-2 details regarding the identifications (i.e., Fig. 1 items 11-14, 16-17 and 20, and Fig. 2 items 11-13, 14-17, and 20-26), as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1-2, 5, 10, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (US Pat. No. 10,730,516 B2), hereinafter referred to as Ohashi, in view of Tamashima et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0161788 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tamashima.
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi discloses:
A controller (20) configured to maneuver an ego vehicle (1) that is a saddled vehicle (Fig. 1 below a cruise controller that is communicably coupled to the ECU to automatically control speed output and a breaking force controller which may necessarily be used to control speed as well and column (col) 1 line (ln) 14 where the invention is related to saddled vehicle), the controller (20) configured to:
[AltContent: ]
execute an automatic speed following operation by controlling a longitudinal positional relationship, the longitudinal positional relationship that is a positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and a target vehicle (2b) along a front-rear direction, the automatic speed following operation that is an operation in which a speed of the ego vehicle (1) is adjusted according to a speed of the target vehicle (2b) so that the ego vehicle (1) is maneuvered to follow the target vehicle (2b) automatically (col 2 ln 1-8 determines a forward inter-vehicular distance which is a distance from the own vehicle to the preceding vehicle in a traveling direction and a side inter-vehicular distance which is a distance from the own vehicle to the preceding vehicle in a vehicle width direction and performs the cruise control ( e.g., automatic travel control) in accordance with the forward inter-vehicular distance and the side inter-vehicular distance and col 15 ln 16-23 Then, the inter-vehicular distance judgement, driving power control (following), gear ratio control (following) and braking force control (following) are sequentially performed based on the set side inter-vehicular distance (X1, X2) and forward inter-vehicular distance (Y1, Y2) and then it performs a feedback control based on the Target ratio), the controller (20) further comprising:
acquire a lateral positional relationship information as information about a positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along a lateral direction (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above regarding the side inter-vehicular distance), wherein when a group ride mode, in which a plurality of saddled vehicles including the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) travel in a group, is valid, the execution section (21), in the automatic speed following operation (col 1 ln 44-49 motorcycle group of friends travels in a same traffic lane, it is can be desirable to perform a cruise control suitable for travelling in two alternate rows of two longitudinal rows that can be shifted back and forth so that each vehicle does not have another vehicle on the side of the own vehicle), executes:
a first operation mode in which the longitudinal positional relationship is adjusted to have an approaching tendency (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above where a mode may be necessarily programmed to approach when distances become too large)
a second operation mode in which the longitudinal positional relationship is adjusted to have a separating tendency (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above where a mode may be necessarily programmed to separate when distances become too small), and
the controller executes the first operation mode and the second operation mode based on the lateral positional relationship information (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above).
Although Ohashi discloses the executing a gap adjusting process in which an adjusted gap that is greater than the reference gap is set to control the longitudinal positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) so that the distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction becomes an increased target distance which is greater than the reference target distance that is the distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction as stated above in col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 where a mode may be necessarily programmed to approach when distances become too large and to separate when distances become too small, the reference does not explicitly disclose:
executing a reference setting process in which a passing time gap between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) is set to a reference passing time gap to control the longitudinal positional relationship between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) so that a distance between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the front-rear direction becomes a reference target distance.
However, Tamashima teaches in [0039] sentence(s) (s.)1-3 that a “finder” is a light detection and ranging (LIDAR). The finder irradiates the periphery of the own vehicle with light and measures scattered light. The finder detects the distance to the target based on the time from light emission to light reception, which is construed as the system correlating a known relationship between distance and time for controlling a vehicle’s movements. Further, in [0057] the second control unit controls the traveling drive force output device, the brake device, and the steering device such that the own vehicle passes the target trajectory generated by the action plan generation unit at the scheduled time. This is construed as a timing that is incorporated in the passing of a vehicle where the timing necessarily affects the distance to the lead vehicle (i.e., longitudinal positional relationship between the ego and target vehicles) where the vehicle’s scheduling time of a passing maneuver is interpreted to correspond to a reference target distance. Further, please see Fig. 3 below which teaches a saddled vehicle approaching a slower moving vehicle (e.g., a stopped vehicle) and the distance based avoidance trajectory that may occur at a scheduled time as discussed above. Furthermore, Tamashima teaches in [0018-119] that the system during a curve that the driving support control changes the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle when the motorcycle performs cornering while following the preceding vehicle. the motorcycle then follows the preceding vehicle with a second inter-vehicle distance, which is wider than the inter-vehicle distance.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls and adaptive cruise control before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the saddled-vehicle control system of Ohashi, by incorporating the scheduling and distance teachings of Tamashima, such that the combination would provide for the predictable result of improved safety.
Claim 15 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 1 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 1, wherein the execution section (21), in the automatic speed following operation,:
executes the first operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional
relationship to have the approaching tendency when the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located away from each other along the lateral direction (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above where a mode may be necessarily programmed to approach when distances become too large); and
executes the second operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the separating tendency when the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located close to each other along the lateral direction (col 2 ln 1-8 and col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above where a mode may be necessarily programmed to separate when distances become too small)
wherein the controller acquires, as the lateral positional relationship information, a lateral distance (D) between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the lateral direction, and the controller executes the first operation mode and the second operation mode based on a comparison between the lateral distance (D) and a first threshold value (T1) (col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 where inter-vehicular distance Xa is taught, which is construed as a lateral threshold value), and
wherein a case where the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located away from each other along the lateral direction is a case where the lateral distance (D) is larger than the first threshold value (T1), and a case where the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located close to each other along the lateral direction is a case where the lateral distance (D) is smaller than the first threshold value (T1) (col 15 ln 16-23 as discussed above and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 where inter-vehicular distance Xa is taught, which is construed as a lateral threshold value).
Regarding claims 3-4, 7, and 11, Applicant has elected to cancel the claims and combine the limitations with that of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 2, wherein the execution section (21):
executes the first operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the approaching tendency when the lateral distance (D) is larger than the first threshold value (T1) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above); and
executes the second operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the separating tendency when the lateral distance (D) is smaller than the first threshold value (T1) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above).
Regarding claim 10, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 2, wherein
the controller, in the automatic speed following operation, executes the first operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the approaching tendency when the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located away from each other along the lateral direction and executes the second operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the separating tendency when the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located close to each other along the lateral direction (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above),
wherein the controller acquires, as the lateral positional relationship information, a lateral distance (D) between the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) along the lateral direction (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above), and
the execution section (21) executes the first operation mode and the second operation mode based on a comparison between the lateral distance (D) and each of a third threshold value (T3) and a fourth threshold value (T4) that is smaller than the third threshold value (T3) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above),
wherein a case where the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located away from each other along the lateral direction is a case where the lateral distance (D) is larger than the third threshold value (T3) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above), and
a case where the lateral positional relationship information indicates that the ego vehicle (1) and the target vehicle (2b) are located close to each other along the lateral direction is a case where the lateral distance (D) is smaller than the third threshold value (T3) and larger than the fourth threshold value (T4) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above).
Regarding claim 12, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 10, wherein the execution section (21) executes the first operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the approaching tendency when the lateral distance (D) is larger than or equal to the third threshold value (T3) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above), and
executes the second operation mode and adjusts the longitudinal positional relationship to have the separating tendency when the lateral distance (D) is smaller than the third threshold value (T3) and larger than the fourth threshold value (T4) (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above).
Regarding claim 14, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 1, wherein the automatic speed following operation includes an operation to correct excess or deficiency of an accelerating/decelerating operation by a rider of the ego vehicle (1) so that the speed of the ego vehicle (1) is adjusted according to the speed of the target vehicle (2b) and that the ego vehicle (1) is maneuvered to follow the target vehicle (2b) automatically (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above and claim 1 regarding automatic cruise control to follow a target vehicle).
___________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (US Pat. No. 10,730,516 B2), hereinafter referred to as Ohashi, in view of Tamashima et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0161788 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tamashima, and Lin et al. (US Pat. No. 10,994,743 B1), hereinafter referred to as Lin.
Regarding claim 13, Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, discloses:
The controller according to claim 1, wherein the automatic speed following operation includes an operation in which the speed of the ego vehicle (1) is adjusted according to the speed of the target vehicle (2b) so that the ego vehicle (1) is maneuvered to follow the target vehicle (2b) automatically (col 15 ln 16-23 and col 18 ln 18-20 and ln45-58 as discussed above and claim 1 regarding automatic cruise control to follow a target vehicle),
but Ohashi, as modified by Tamashima, does not disclose:
maneuvered to follow the target vehicle (2b) automatically regardless of an accelerating/decelerating operation by a rider of the ego vehicle (1).
However, Lin teaches in col 13 ln 25-3 the in-vehicle controller 110 determines that a vehicle control instruction that is sent by the user (the human driver) for controlling the direction, the speed, or braking of the vehicle is invalid, and instructs the execution unit (the direction execution unit 150 and the speed execution unit 160) to ignore a user-related operation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle controls and adaptive cruise control before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the saddled-vehicle control system of Ohashi, as already modified by the scheduling and distance teachings of Tamashima, by incorporating the ignoring of driver input teachings of Lin, such that the combination is motivated to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lin Col 1 ln 32-35, this allows improved transportation security as automated driving can effectively make up for deficiencies of human drivers in judgments, reactions, and operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject
matter:
There are inventions in the field that provide similar functionality and/or have
similar features, as the prior art of record shows. However, the prior art does not seem
to disclose or render obvious the claim 6 limitation wherein the acquisition section
(22) acquires, as the lateral positional relationship information, a first distance
(d1) related to the ego vehicle (1) and a second distance (d2) related to the target
vehicle (2b), and the execution section (21) executes the first operation mode and
the second operation mode based on a comparison between a reference distance
and the second threshold value (T2), where the reference distance is a distance
that is calculated by adding up the first distance (d1) and the second distance
(d2), in combination with the other elements required by the claim and the claims from
which it depends.
Claims 8-9 depend on claim 6 and are hereby objected to for the same reasons
as disclosed above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see:
Naghshvar et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0150672 A1) is directed towards an action space that may include high-level options, such as adaptive cruise control, merging, lane changing, and other actions. Each high-level option may specify a configuration of one or more parameters that determine how the option is executed, such as a safe time headway, a minimum distance from a lead vehicle, a maximum desired velocity/acceleration/deceleration, a level of politeness, a direction and maximum time/distance of lane change, and/or other parameters.
Conclusion
/Keith A von Volkenburg/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665