DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 3-10 and 19-20, in the reply filed on 09/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that (i) Examiner has failed to meet the burden required by MPEP § 803; (ii) Examiner has misinterpreted special technical feature as relating to patentable claims and Applicant has not had a chance to respond to any rejection; (iii) Examiner has provided no indication that the claims were interpreted in light of the description; and (iv) Examiner has not considered the relationship of the groups with respect to 37 CFR § 1.475(b) and MPEP § 806.03. This is not found persuasive because:
In regard to (i) and (iv) above, requirements of MPEP chapter 800 (§ 803, § 806.03) are applicable only to restrictions in applications filed under 35 USC 111(a) and are irrelevant to the present application which is a national stage application under 35 USC 371; in regard to (ii) above, nothing has been misinterpreted as relating to patentable claims, the claims did not stand rejected in the restriction requirement and no decision on patentability was made, and as explained in the restriction requirement the common technical features are not special technical features as they do not make a contribution of the prior art; (iii) it is not clear in what way the claimed limitations are not interpreted in light of the description or should have been interpreted differently, as “asphalt composition” was interpreted as meaning asphalt composition, “asphalt” was interpreted as meaning asphalt, “polyester resin” was interpreted as meaning polyester resin, “softening point” was interpreted as meaning softening point, and “crosslinked rubber” was interpreted as meaning crosslinked rubber; and further in regard to (iv) above, as discussed in the requirement for unity of invention, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features, and the inventions do not have one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/11/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is shorter than 50 words in length. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, there should be spaces between numbers and units; “20mm” should read “20 mm” (see claim 6 at line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakiuchi, et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0395529-A1) (hereinafter, “KAKIUCHI”) in view of Martin (WO-2006/119354-A1) (hereinafter, “MARTIN”).
Regarding claim 1, KAKIUCHI teaches an asphalt composition (see KAKIUCHI generally at Abstract), comprising: an asphalt (see KAKIUCHI at Abstract), and a polyester resin having a softening point of 120°C or lower (see KAKIUCHI at Abstract and paragraph [0047]).
However, KAKIUCHI fails to explicitly teach that the composition comprises a crosslinked rubber, wherein [(crosslinked rubber)/(polyester resin)], which is a mass ratio of the crosslinked rubber to the polyester resin, is 1/9 or more and 9/1 or less.
MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition comprising an asphalt, a synthetic polymer such as polyester, and a crosslinked rubber (see MARTIN at Abstract and paragraphs [0002], [0011], [0013] and [0019]-[0020]), wherein a mass ratio of crosslinked rubber to the synthetic polymer is, e.g., 1/50 to 20/1, such as a ratio of 5/1 (see MARTIN at paragraphs [0013], [0020], [0031]-[0032] and Table 2, teaching including, by weight, 0.1-30% rubber and 0.5-30% synthetic polymer (e.g., polyester), e.g., 0.1-10% rubber and 0.5-5% synthetic polymer, and providing an example including 5% rubber and 1% synthetic polymer, which is a ratio of 5/1). MARTIN teaches that adding crosslinked rubber to an asphalt composition can improve the consistency and properties of the asphalt binders at high and low temperatures, and can result in an asphalt binder exhibiting improved elastic behavior, resistance to deformation, fatigue cracking and thermal cracking, and improved storage stability (see MARTIN at Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0003] and [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the asphalt composition of KAKIUCHI by including the crosslinked rubber of MARTIN, in a mass ratio of crosslinked rubber to synthetic polymer (polyester) of, e.g., 5/1, as taught by MARTIN (see MARTIN at Abstract and paragraphs [0002], [0011], [0013], [0019]-[0020] and [0031]-[0032] and Table 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving the consistency and properties at high and low temperatures, and forming an asphalt having improved properties such as elasticity, resistance to deformation and cracking, and storage stability as taught by MARTIN (see MARTIN at Abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0003] and [0039]).
As discussed above, MARTIN explicitly teaches using, e.g., 0.1-10% rubber and 0.5-5% synthetic polymer, which may be polyester, i.e. a mass ratio as claimed of 1/50 to 20/1, which encompasses and thereby renders obvious the claimed range (see MPEP § 2144.05), and also explicitly teaches using a ratio of rubber to synthetic polymer of 5/1, which is within the claimed range (see MARTIN at paragraphs [0013], [0020], [0031]-[0032] and Table 2). Additionally, MARTIN teaches that the amount of rubber included affects the elasticity and rotational viscosity of the asphalt composition (ee MARTIN at paragraphs [0008]-[0009]), and KAKIUCHI teaches that the amount of polyester included affects resistance to rut, flow value, and storage stability of the asphalt composition (ee KAKIUCHI at paragraphs [0013]-[0014]), i.e., MARTIN and KAKIUCHI explicitly teach that the amounts of crosslinked rubber and polyester included in the composition are result-effective variables which may be optimized by one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP states that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), and that "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." (Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 138). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claims 3-5, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the crosslinked rubber is derived from a tire, as recited by claim 3, which is obtained by grinding a tire, as recited by claim 4, wherein the tire is a waste tire, as recited by claim 5 (see MARTIN at Abstract and paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein a particle diameter of the crosslinked rubber is 20 mm or less (see MARTIN at paragraph [0005], teaching a particle size of less than about 5 mm).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the crosslinked rubber is dispersed in the asphalt (the asphalt composition is a mixture; the rubber is mixed with the asphalt, i.e., dispersed in the asphalt; see, e.g., KAKIUCHI at paragraph [0001], and MARTIN at paragraph [00013]).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the polyester resin contains a constituent unit derived from ethylene glycol and a constituent unit derived from terephthalic acid (see KAKIUCHI at paragraphs [0030]-[0032], [0039] and [0043]).
KAKIUCHI does not explicitly mention that the ethylene glycol from which the constituent unit is derived is itself derived from polyethylene terephthalate; however, this is considered product-by-process claim language and is not given patentable weight. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claims 9-10, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the asphalt is a straight asphalt or a modified asphalt, as recited by claim 9, and wherein the asphalt is a modified asphalt which is modified by thermoplastic elastomer, as recited by claim 10 (see KAKIUCHI at paragraphs [0017] and [0020], teaching that the asphalt may be a straight asphalt or a modified asphalt which is modified by a thermoplastic elastomer).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the polyester resin has a hydroxyl value of 10 mgKOH/g or more and 50 mgKOH/g or less (see KAKIUCHI at Table 1, teaching hydroxyl values of 13.3 mgKOH/g and 26.9 mgKOH/g).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 1 above, KAKIUCHI in view of MARTIN teaches an asphalt composition according to claim 1, wherein the polyester resin comprises a constituent unit derived from an alcohol component and a constituent unit derived from a carboxylic acid component (see KAKIUCHI at paragraph [0030]), and the alcohol component contains 10 mol% or more of a bisphenol A derivative based on 100 mol% of the alcohol component (see KAKIUCHI at paragraph [0030] and Table 1, teaching an alcohol component containing 60 mol% or more of an adduct of bisphenol A, e.g., 100 mol%).
Conclusion
/S.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731