DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2021/0223828) in view of Lin et al. (US 2017/0220069) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2016/0294993).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a data transmission method, applied to a terminal device (100, figs. 1A, 3A and 4), wherein the terminal device is connected to an auxiliary device (100) through a first interface (e.g., interface at 191, para. 0205), a second interface (e.g., interface at 181, para. 0271), and a third interface (e.g., interface
at 116, para. 0271), and the method comprises:
supplying, by the terminal device, power to the auxiliary device through the first interface and the second interface after it is detected that the terminal device is connected to the auxiliary device (paras. 0205, 0214, 0231, 0243 and 0272);
establishing, by the terminal device, a first transmission channel (transmission channel from 250 to 100) between a receiver pin of the terminal device (not shown in 116, fig. 4, paras. 01211-0213) and a transmitter pin of the auxiliary device (not shown in 283, paras. 01211-0213) through the third interface, wherein the first transmission channel is a hardware channel from the auxiliary device to the terminal device;
receiving, by the terminal device through the first transmission channel, first data (e.g., a touch signal, para. 0242) sent by the auxiliary device (paras. 0121-0213); and
sending, by the terminal device, second data (e.g., brightness control signal, para. 0271) to the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250), wherein the second transmission channel is different from the first transmission channel.
Kwon does not specifically disclose utilizes a general input/output port of a system-level chip in the terminal device.
In a similar field of endeavor of terminal device, Lin discloses utilizes a general input/output port (220, fig. 1, paras. 0014-0015) of a system-level chip (110) in the terminal device (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the general input/output port of a system-level chip as taught by Lin in the system of Kwon in order to provide high- efficiency data transmission between electronic devices.
The combination of Kwon and Lin does not specifically disclose the second transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel, and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel.
In a similar field of endeavor of electronic device, Liu discloses a transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel (a short distance wireless communication), and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel (fig. 2, para. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmission channel as taught by Liu in the system of Kwon and Lin in order to improves the using experience and meanwhile saves the consumption cost of the user (para. 0014).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the combination of Kwon, Lin and Liu discloses the receiving, by the terminal device through the first transmission channel, first data sent by the auxiliary device comprises: receiving, by the terminal device through the first transmission channel N times, the first data sent by the auxiliary device, wherein the terminal device is configured to respond to the first data once, and N is a natural number greater than 1 (paras. 0121-0213 of Kwon); and
the sending, by the terminal device, second data to the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel comprises: sending, by the terminal device, reception acknowledgement data of the first data to the auxiliary device through the short-distance wireless transmission channel once, wherein the reception acknowledgement data is the second data (paras. 0232-0233 of Kwon).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the combination of Kwon, Lin and Liu discloses establishing, by the terminal device (100), the second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250) between a transmitter pin (not shown in 100) of the terminal device and a receiver pin (not shown in 283) of the auxiliary device through a fourth interface (e.g., interface at 283, para. 0271), wherein the second transmission channel is a hardware channel from the terminal device to the auxiliary device;
the receiving, by the terminal device through the first transmission channel (transmission channel from 250 to 100), first data (e.g., a touch signal, para. 0242 of Kwon) sent by the auxiliary device comprises: receiving, by the terminal device through the first transmission channel M times, the first data sent by the auxiliary device, and receiving, by the terminal device through a short-distance wireless transmission channel T times, the first data sent by the auxiliary device, wherein the terminal device is configured to respond to the first data once, M is a natural number greater than 1, and T is a natural number greater than or equal to 1 (paras. 0121-0213 of Kwon); and
the sending, by the terminal device, second data (e.g., brightness control signal, para. 0271) to the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250) comprises: sending, by the terminal device, reception acknowledgement data of the first data to the auxiliary device through the second transmission channel once, wherein the reception acknowledgement data is the second data (paras. 0232-0233 of Kwon).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses a data transmission method, applied to an auxiliary device (250, figs. 1A and 4), wherein the auxiliary device is connected to a terminal device (100) through a fifth interface (e.g., interface at 291, para. 0205), a sixth interface (e.g., interface at 281, para. 0271), and a seventh interface (e.g., interface at 283, para. 0271),, and the method comprises:
after the auxiliary device is connected to the terminal device, receiving, by the
auxiliary device through the fifth interface and the sixth interface, a power supply voltage output by the terminal device (paras. 0205, 0214, 0231, 0243 and 0272);
establishing, by the auxiliary device, a first transmission channel (transmission channel from 250 to 100) between a receiver pin of the terminal device (not shown in 116, fig. 4, paras. 01211-0213) and a transmitter pin (not shown in 283, paras. 0121- 0213) of the auxiliary device through the seventh interface, wherein the first transmission channel is a hardware channel from the auxiliary device to the terminal device;
sending, by the auxiliary device, first data (e.g., a touch signal, para. 0242) to the terminal device through the first transmission channel (paras. 0121-0213); and
receiving, by the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250), second data (e.g., brightness control signal, para. 0271) sent by the terminal device, wherein the second transmission channel is different from the first transmission channel.
Kwon does not specifically disclose utilizes a general input/output port of a system-level chip in the terminal device.
In a similar field of endeavor of terminal device, Lin discloses utilizes a general input/output port (220, fig. 1, paras. 0014-0015) of a system-level chip (110) in the terminal device (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the general input/output port of a system-level chip as taught by Lin in the system of Kwon in order to provide high- efficiency data transmission between electronic devices.
The combination of Kwon and Lin does not specifically disclose the second transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel, and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel.
In a similar field of endeavor of electronic device, Liu discloses a transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel (a short distance wireless communication), and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel (fig. 2, para. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmission channel as taught by Liu in the system of Kwon and Lin in order to improves the using experience and meanwhile saves the consumption cost of the user (para. 0014).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Kwon, Lin and Liu discloses the sending, by the auxiliary device, first data to the terminal device through the first transmission channel comprises: sending, by the auxiliary device, the first data to the terminal device through the first transmission channel N times, wherein the terminal device is configured to respond to the first data once, and N is a natural number greater than 1 (paras. 0121- 0213 of Kwon); and
the receiving, by the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel, second data sent by the terminal device comprises: receiving, by the auxiliary device through the short-distance wireless transmission channel, reception acknowledgement data of the first data sent by the terminal device, wherein the reception acknowledgement data is the second data, and the reception acknowledgement data is sent once (paras. 0232-0233 of Kwon).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon discloses a data transmission system (fig. 4), comprising a terminal device (100, figs. 1A, 3A and 4) and an auxiliary device (250, figs. 1A and 4), wherein the terminal device has a first interface (e.g., interface at 191, para. 0205), a second interface (e.g., interface at 181, para. 0271), and a third interface (e.g., interface at 116, para. 0271), and the auxiliary device has a fifth interface (e.g., interface at 291, para. 0205), a sixth interface (e.g., interface at 281, para. 0271), and a seventh interface (e.g., interface at 283, para. 0271);
the first interface is configured to connect to the fifth interface, the second interface is configured to connect to the sixth interface, and the third interface is configured to connect to the seventh interface (fig. 4);
wherein the terminal device is configured to perform following operations: supplying power to the auxiliary device through the first interface and the second interface after it is detected that the terminal device is connected to the auxiliary device (para. 0205),
establishing a first transmission channel (transmission channel from 250 to 100) between a receiver pin of the terminal device (not shown in 116, fig. 4, paras. 01211- 0213) and a transmitter pin of the auxiliary device (not shown in 283, paras. 01211- 0213) through the third interface, wherein the first transmission channel is a hardware channel from the auxiliary device to the terminal device,
receiving, through the first transmission channel, first data (e.g., a touch signal, para. 0242) sent by the auxiliary device (paras. 0121-0213); and
sending second data (e.g., brightness control signal, para. 0271) to the auxiliary device through a second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250), wherein the second transmission channel is different from the first transmission channel: wherein the auxiliary device is configured to perform following operations:
after the auxiliary device is connected to the terminal device, receiving, through the fifth interface and the sixth interface, a power supply voltage output by the terminal device (paras. 0205, 0214, 0231, 0243 and 0272);
establishing a first transmission channel (transmission channel from 250 to 100) between a receiver pin of the terminal device (not shown in 116, fig. 4, paras. 01211 - 0213) and a transmitter pin (not shown in 283, paras. 0121-0213) of the auxiliary device through the seventh interface, wherein the first transmission channel is a hardware channel from the auxiliary device to the terminal device,
sending first data (e.g., a touch signal, para. 0242) to the terminal device through the first transmission channel (paras. 0121-0213); and
receiving, through a second transmission channel (transmission channel from 100 to 250), second data (e.g., brightness control signal, para. 0271) sent by the terminal device, wherein the second transmission channel is different from the first transmission channel.
Kwon does not specifically disclose utilizes a general input/output port of a system-level chip in the terminal device.
In a similar field of endeavor of terminal device, Lin discloses utilizes a general input/output port (220, fig. 1, paras. 0014-0015) of a system-level chip (110) in the terminal device (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the general input/output port of a system-level chip as taught by Lin in the system of Kwon in order to provide high- efficiency data transmission between electronic devices.
The combination of Kwon and Lin does not specifically disclose the second transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel, and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel.
In a similar field of endeavor of electronic device, Liu discloses a transmission channel is a short-distance wireless transmission channel (a short distance wireless communication), and the short-distance wireless transmission channel is a Bluetooth channel or a ZigBee channel (fig. 2, para. 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmission channel as taught by Liu in the system of Kwon and Lin in order to improves the using experience and meanwhile saves the consumption cost of the user (para. 0014).
Claims 6, 15, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Lin and Liu and further in view of Takasu (US 2017/0194689).
Regarding claims 6, 19, 21 and 22, The combination of Kwon, Lin and Liu discloses detecting, by the terminal device (100), a level generated by a Hall sensor (143), wherein the Hall sensor is disposed in the terminal device, a distance between the Hall sensor and the first interface or the second interface is less than a preset distance, a magnet (245) is disposed in the auxiliary device (250) (para. 0042 of Kwon).
The combination of Kwon, Lin and Liu does not specifically disclose "a distance between the magnet.. is not connected to the auxiliary device".
In a similar field of endeavor of electronic system, Takasu discloses a distance between the magnet and the first interface or the second interface is less than the preset distance, the magnet is configured to generate magnetic force, and the magnetic force is for controlling the level generated by the Hall sensor (paras. 0032-0034);
if the level generated by the Hall sensor changes from a first level to a second level, determining that the terminal device is connected to the auxiliary device, wherein the first level is greater than the second level (paras. 0032-0034); and
if the level generated by the Hall sensor changes from the second level to the first level, determining that the terminal device is not connected to the auxiliary device (paras. 0037-0039 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connecting status as taught by Takasu in the system of Kwon, Lin and Liu in order to allow the interface signals can be transmitted at high speed (para. 0045).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kwon, Lin, Liu and Takasu discloses the first interface, the second interface, the third interface, the fifth interface, the sixth interface, and the seventh interface are POGO pin interfaces (para. 0271 of Kwon), the terminal device is a tablet computer, and the auxiliary device is a keyboard (fig. 4 of Takasu).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, 17-19 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629