DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 18, 19, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maamari et al. (US Pub. 2024/0090018).
Regarding claims 1 and 28, Maamari teaches a threshold determination method, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a numerical value corresponding to the UE (“single threshold for the UE” in [0142]); determining a parameter threshold of the UE based on the numerical value (“threshold configured for RedCap UEs” in [0141]); and performing a corresponding operation based on a size relationship between a first measurement value corresponding to a reference signal and the parameter threshold (“When the RSRP measurement is greater than the threshold, the UE indicates it as a RedCap UE after a RA procedure” in [0141]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Maamari teaches the parameter threshold comprises a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold (“RSRP threshold” in [0144]).
Regarding claims 18 and 29, Maamari teaches a threshold determination method, performed by a network device, comprising: configuring a numerical value corresponding to each of a plurality of user equipment (UE) (“single threshold for the UE” in [0142]) with a distinct antenna configuration (“threshold configured for RedCap UEs” in [0141]), wherein the numerical value corresponding to each UE is used to determine a parameter threshold of the respective UE (“When the RSRP measurement is greater than the threshold, the UE indicates it as a RedCap UE after a RA procedure” in [0141]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maamari et al. in view of Jain et al. (US Pub. 2017/0223768).
Regarding claim 12, Maamari teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Maamari, however, does not teach performing the corresponding operation based on the size relationship between the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal and the parameter threshold comprises: initiating retransmission in case that the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal of the UE is less than the parameter threshold of the UE. Jain teaches performing the corresponding operation based on the size relationship between the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal and the parameter threshold comprises: initiating retransmission in case that the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal of the UE is less than the parameter threshold of the UE (“When, for example, the RSRP level is relatively low (e.g., less than some predetermined RSRP threshold value), … the adjustable timeout interval(s) may be set to a relatively larger value (e.g., longer intervals between successive retransmissions of the wireless message) ... For example, retransmission of an unacknowledged wireless message may be set to time instances at n, 2n, and 4n (from the time instance at which the current wireless message was first sent by the originating sender device, i.e., the first wireless device), where n may be an initial timeout value (e.g., provided in milliseconds) for the adjustable timeout interval” in [0031]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to have performing the corresponding operation based on the size relationship between the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal and the parameter threshold comprises: initiating retransmission in case that the first measurement value corresponding to the reference signal of the UE is less than the parameter threshold of the UE as taught by Jain in order to handle possibly weak network transmission environment [0031].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5- 9, 11, 13-15, 17, 20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414