DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: “conversion unit” “generation unit”
Claim 2: “specifying unit”
Claim 9: “analysis unit”
Claim 11: “light source unit”
Claim 1 recites the limitation “pixel unit”, but instant specification paragraph 33 states “The pixel unit 11 includes a plurality of pixels 21 receiving the wavelength-resolved light L1 and converting the light into an electrical signal.”, indicating the pixel unit comprises structure “pixels 21” with a photovoltaic function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raicu et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20120257196) in view of Maruno et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20200371261), the combination of which is hereafter referred to as “RM”.
As to claim 1, Raicu teaches a spectroscopic device (Abstract “a two-photon microscope with spectral resolution” and “Two-dimensional (spatial) images with a complete wavelength spectrum are generated from a single scan of a sample.”) receiving light wavelength-resolved in a predetermined direction (Figures 16A-B, paragraph 0054 “The dispersive element 160 disperses the light into its spectral components to form a continuous spectrum of varying wavelengths that spread in the y-direction of the detector 158. Accordingly, the fluorescence beams 154, after passing through the dispersive element 160, reach the detector 158 as three wavelength spectra extending along the y-direction.”) by a spectroscopic optical system (Figure 2) including a spectroscopic element to output spectroscopic spectrum data of the light (paragraph 0004 “Embodiments enable, via a single scan, generation of 2-D or 3-D (spatial) images for a complete wavelength spectrum.”), the spectroscopic device comprising:
a pixel unit including a plurality of pixels receiving the wavelength-resolved light (Figure 16A, paragraph 0095 “array of pixels 452”) to convert the light into an electrical signal (paragraph 0100 “Each pixel 470 is treated separately and the associated electrical signals of each pixel 470 are output by the detector 452 as a particular data value representing the amount of light emitted from the sample at an associated wavelength”), and the plurality of pixels being arranged in a row direction along a wavelength resolution direction and in a column direction perpendicular to the row direction (paragraph 0097 “FIG. 16B illustrates a first binning technique to address the spread of the wavelength spectrum 450 along the x-axis and to result in more accurate images. For each wavelength range (i.e., row 456), a bin 460 is used to cover multiple pixel columns.”);
a generation unit integrating the [signal] of a plurality of pixels belonging to the same column (Figure 16B, paragraph 0099 “the imaging module 118 of the controller 102 may receive data for each pixel of the detector and sum the values according to the bins”) to generate spectroscopic spectrum data based on an integration result (paragraph 0106 “The microscopes described herein are operable to provide a complete spectrum from a single scan.”).
Raicu does not teach a conversion unit converting the electrical signal from the plurality of pixels into a number of photons, or outputting this number as a [signal]. However, it is known in the art as taught by Maruno. Maruno teaches a photoelectric detector (Figure 1) comprising a conversion unit converting the electrical signal from the plurality of pixels into a number of photons, and outputting this number as a [signal] to a bin (Figure 13, paragraph 0060 “In the embodiment, when the measurement is started in a state in which the photon counting device 1 is operated, light incident on the pixels of the CMOS image sensor 10 is first converted to charge by the photodiode 12 (step S1). The converted charge is converted to a voltage by the amplifier 13 (step S2). The voltage is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter 15 and output to the computer 20 (step S3). The digital value is corrected for each pixel by the correction unit 22 of the computer 20 (step S4). The corrected digital value is binned (step S5).” and “The summed value, that is, the binned digital value is compared with the threshold value data (step S6), and is converted to the number of photons on the basis of a comparison result (step S7).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a conversion unit converting the electrical signal from the plurality of pixels into a number of photons, and outputting this number as a [signal] to a bin, in order to curb the influence of the variation in the gain and the offset value among the plurality of pixels.
As to claim 2, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Raicu teaches a specifying unit specifying a pixel to be used for integration of the number of photons among the plurality of pixels belonging to the same column (paragraph 0097 “In some embodiments, the number of pixels for each bin 460 may be adjusted, e.g., based on the actual spread of the wavelength spectrum 450. For instance, each bin 460 may be three pixels wide, ten pixels wide, etc.” and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date that since the bin size can be adjusted, there must exist a unit to do such specifying).
As to claim 3, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 2, in addition Maruno teaches the specifying unit specifies a pixel whose readout noise is equal to or less than a threshold as the pixel to be used for integration of the number of photons (Figure 3, paragraph 0036 teaches the use of thresholds with respect to readout noise “When a threshold value for distinguishing between the adjacent numbers of electrons has been set, an incorrect detection rate of the number of detected electrons changes according to readout noise.” and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to not use data that is beneath a threshold).
As to claim 4, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 3, in addition Maruno teaches the threshold of the readout noise is set to 0.3 [e-rms] (paragraph 0036 “FIG. 3 is a graph showing a relationship between the readout noise and the incorrect detection rate when a threshold value is an intermediate value between the numbers of electrons, such as 0.5e, 1.5e, 2.5e, . . . .” where the progression is obvious to 3.5, and the choice of threshold is an obvious data analysis choice). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the threshold of the readout noise be set to 0.3 [e-rms], in order to provide an incorrect detection rate of around 8% (see Figure 3, where the choice or e-rms threshold affects the rate).
As to claim 5, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 2, in addition Maruno teaches the specifying unit specifies the pixel to be used for integration of the number of photons such that the number of pixels to be used for integration of the number of photons is the same in each column (paragraph 0097 “In some embodiments, the number of pixels for each bin 460 may be adjusted, e.g., based on the actual spread of the wavelength spectrum 450. For instance, each bin 460 may be three pixels wide, ten pixels wide, etc.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the specifying unit specifies the pixel to be used for integration of the number of photons such that the number of pixels to be used for integration of the number of photons is the same in each column, in order to make the bin input balanced.
As to claim 7, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 2, in addition Raicu teaches the specifying unit holds in advance area information indicating an area where there is no input of the light in the pixel unit, and excludes a pixel corresponding to the area information from the integration of the number of photons (Figure 16A, the actual spectrum is centered on the pixels 450 with the spread into adjacent pixels indicated by element 458, see paragraph 0096 “an actual imprint 458 of the wavelength spectrum 450 on the pixel array 452 spreads over into neighboring pixel columns”, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the system know this in advance and not take data from outside this area, in order to limit the amount of data the computer has to handle).
As to claim 8, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Maruno teaches the conversion unit includes a first conversion unit converting the electrical signal into a digital value and a second conversion unit converting the digital value into a number of photons on the basis of reference data held in advance (Figure 13, paragraph 0060 “light incident on the pixels of the CMOS image sensor 10 is first converted to charge by the photodiode 12 (step S1). The converted charge is converted to a voltage by the amplifier 13 (step S2). The voltage is converted to a digital value by the A/D converter 15” and “The summed value … is converted to the number of photons on the basis of a comparison result (step S7).” And paragraph 0044 “The correction unit 22 corrects the digital value corresponding to each pixel output from the A/D converter 15. In the embodiment, the digital value is corrected so that an influence of the variation in the gain and offset value among the plurality of pixels 11 is curbed.” and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to that in order to correct, the correction factors must be known in advance). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the conversion unit include a first conversion unit converting the electrical signal into a digital value and a second conversion unit converting the digital value into a number of photons on the basis of reference data held in advance, in order to better curb the influence of the variation in the gain and the offset value among the plurality of pixels.
As to claim 9, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Raicu teaches an analysis unit analyzing the spectroscopic spectrum data (paragraph 0050 “an analysis module 120 for analyzing the pixel data from the detector 116 and/or images formed by the imaging module 118”).
As to claim 10, RM teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Raicu teaches a spectroscopic optical system including a spectroscopic element dispersing the light in the wavelength resolution direction (paragraph 0054 “The dispersive element 160 disperses the light into its spectral components to form a continuous spectrum of varying wavelengths that spread in the y-direction of the detector 158.”).
As to claim 11, RM teaches a Raman spectroscopic measurement device comprising: the spectroscopic device according to claim 1 (above).
Raicu as modified by Maruno above teaches:
a light source unit generating light with which a sample is irradiated (Figure 2, paragraph 0051 “a pump laser 134 and a pulsed laser 136”); and
a light guiding optical system guiding Raman scattered light generated by irradiating the sample with the light to the spectroscopic device (paragraph 0141 “the energy emitted by the sample 132 in response to a scan for detection by the detector 158 may include one or more of … elastically scattered light (i.e., Raman)”).
As to claim 12, the method would flow from claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a spectroscopic device wherein the specifying unit specifies the pixel to be used for integration of the number of photons and an integration ratio of the pixels on the basis of aberration information of the light in the spectroscopic optical system, and the generation unit integrates the number of photons of the plurality of pixels by using the integration ratio, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877