DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment of 05/27/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers filed on 10/08/2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2024 and 11/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2A prong 2 because the claim as a whole applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Claim 1 recites a railway communication system (judicial exceptions in bold and additional elements underlined):
for transmitting data of a plurality of applications between a ground facility and an on-vehicle facility using the same wireless network, wherein an on-vehicle wireless control unit included in the on-vehicle facility has
a function of monitoring a communication environment,
a function of setting a transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications, and
a function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority.
The analysis of claim 9 continues as:
Step 2A prong 1: The claim recites:
The mental process of limitation (c).
Step 2A prong 2: The claim recites:
The additional elements of limitations (a), (b), and (d).
Additional element (a) amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Additional element (b) is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Additional element (d) however applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, BESSHO discloses a railway communication system for transmitting data of a plurality of applications (implied i.a. traffic, pg. 9 line 21 - pg. 10 line 1) between a ground facility (1, Fig. 1) and an on-vehicle facility (5+6, Fig. 1, pg. 11 lines 19-21) using the same wireless network (Fig. 1), wherein
an on-vehicle wireless control unit (5) included in the on-vehicle facility has
a function of monitoring a communication environment (i.a. step S2, Fig. 4, pg. 8 lines 10-12),
a function of setting a transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3), and
a function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 2, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the wireless network is a public wireless network (pg. 4 lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14) is a function of increasing a transmission cycle of data having a low transmission priority (pg. 10 lines 18-20) when the communication environment is deteriorated (i.a. pg. 9 lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 9, BESSHO discloses a railway communication method for transmitting data of a plurality of applications (implied i.a. traffic, pg. 9 line 21 - pg. 10 line 1) between a ground facility (1, Fig. 1) and an on-vehicle facility (5+6, Fig. 1, pg. 11 lines 19-21) using the same wireless network (Fig. 1), the railway communication method comprising: on the on-vehicle facility side (5), monitoring a communication environment (i.a. step S2, Fig. 4, pg. 8 lines 10-12), setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3), and performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 14, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the packet control of the data (pg. 9 lines 1-14) is increasing a transmission cycle of data having a low transmission priority (pg. 10 lines 18-20) when the communication environment is deteriorated (i.a. pg. 9 lines 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of GOTLUND (US 2023/0391382).
Regrading claim 3, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO discloses the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
GOTLUND teaches a function of setting a transmission priority for applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application (e.g., load status, 0054 lines 34-end; acceleration, 0279 lines 18-23) to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars (0054 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of BESSHO as taught by GOTLUND to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications is a function of setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
Regarding claim 10, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO discloses the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
GOTLUND teaches a transmission priority for applications is set in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application (e.g., load status, 0054 lines 34-end; acceleration, 0279 lines 18-23) to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars (0054 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of BESSHO as taught by GOTLUND to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications is set in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of NOFFSINGER (US 8,655,516).
Regarding claim 6, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO discloses the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teaching stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when a communication environment is deteriorated.
NOFFSINGER teaches stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated (col. 12 lines 27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of BESSHO as taught by NOFFSINGER to ensure high-priority data is successfully received first.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority is a function of stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
Regarding claim 13, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO discloses the packet control of the data (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
NOFFSINGER teaches stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated (col. 12 lines 27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of BESSHO as taught by NOFFSINGER to ensure high-priority data is successfully received first.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the packet control of the data is stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of KENDELBACHER (WO 2018/033319).
Regarding claim 8, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach the further limitations of the claim.
KENDELBACHER teaches a railway communication system comprising plurality of applications (9-12, 0063 lines 1-2) includes a security application (ETCS, i.a. 0063 lines 1-end) configured to perform operation control of a train including a vehicle equipped with the on-vehicle facility (implied/inherent as one of ordinary skill would readily recognize ETCS to perform this function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of BESSHO to include the security application taught by KENDELBACHER to ensure train protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) and SEKI (JP 2009-089122, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) are the closest prior art of record.
The prior art fails to teach or render obvious the limitation an on-vehicle wireless control unit has a function of setting a transmission priority of each of a plurality of applications…in accordance with a traveling position [or operation section] of a vehicle equipped with the on-vehicle facility” in the manner defined in the claims.
Conclusion
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747