DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment of 04/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2A prong 2 because the claim limitation “a function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority” in the independent claims applies or uses the recited judicial exceptions in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, BESSHO discloses a railway communication system for transmitting data of a plurality of applications (implied i.a. traffic, pg. 9 line 21 - pg. 10 line 1) between a ground facility (1, Fig. 1) and an on-vehicle facility (5+6, Fig. 1, pg. 11 lines 19-21) using the same wireless network (Fig. 1), wherein
an on-vehicle wireless control unit (5) included in the on-vehicle facility has
a function of monitoring a communication environment (i.a. step S2, Fig. 4, pg. 8 lines 10-12),
a function of setting a transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3), and
a function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 2, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the wireless network is a public wireless network (pg. 4 lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14) is a function of increasing a transmission cycle of data having a low transmission priority (pg. 10 lines 18-20) when the communication environment is deteriorated (i.a. pg. 9 lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 9, BESSHO discloses a railway communication method for transmitting data of a plurality of applications (implied i.a. traffic, pg. 9 line 21 - pg. 10 line 1) between a ground facility (1, Fig. 1) and an on-vehicle facility (5+6, Fig. 1, pg. 11 lines 19-21) using the same wireless network (Fig. 1), the railway communication method comprising: on the on-vehicle facility side (5), monitoring a communication environment (i.a. step S2, Fig. 4, pg. 8 lines 10-12), setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3), and performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 14, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO further discloses wherein the packet control of the data (pg. 9 lines 1-14) is increasing a transmission cycle of data having a low transmission priority (pg. 10 lines 18-20) when the communication environment is deteriorated (i.a. pg. 9 lines 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of GOTLUND (US 2023/0391382).
Regrading claim 3, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO discloses the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
GOTLUND teaches a function of setting a transmission priority for applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application (e.g., load status, 0054 lines 34-end; acceleration, 0279 lines 18-23) to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars (0054 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of BESSHO as taught by GOTLUND to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications is a function of setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
Regarding claim 10, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO discloses the function of setting a transmission priority for each of the plurality of applications (step S4, Fig. 4, priority class determining unit 55, pg. 9 line 19 - pg. 10 line 3).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach setting a transmission priority for each of the applications in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
GOTLUND teaches a transmission priority for applications is set in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application (e.g., load status, 0054 lines 34-end; acceleration, 0279 lines 18-23) to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars (0054 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of BESSHO as taught by GOTLUND to automatically obtain data regarding a variety of objects, such as railcars, and provide a unified interface for tracking and monitoring a variety of the objects fitted with a variety of task tracking devices for monitoring the railcars and reporting the monitored condition of the railcars.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications is set in real time in accordance with a status generated inside the application.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of NOFFSINGER (US 8,655,516).
Regarding claim 6, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO discloses the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teaching stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when a communication environment is deteriorated.
NOFFSINGER teaches stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated (col. 12 lines 27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of BESSHO as taught by NOFFSINGER to ensure high-priority data is successfully received first.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the function of performing packet control of the data based on the communication environment and the transmission priority is a function of stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
Regarding claim 13, BESSHO discloses the railway communication method according to claim 9.
BESSHO discloses the packet control of the data (pg. 9 lines 1-14).
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
NOFFSINGER teaches stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated (col. 12 lines 27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of BESSHO as taught by NOFFSINGER to ensure high-priority data is successfully received first.
BESSHO as modified teaches wherein the packet control of the data is stopping transmission of data having a low transmission priority when the communication environment is deteriorated.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) in view of KENDELBACHER (WO 2018/033319).
Regarding claim 8, BESSHO discloses the railway communication system according to claim 1.
BESSHO is not relied upon to teach the further limitations of the claim.
KENDELBACHER teaches a railway communication system comprising plurality of applications (9-12, 0063 lines 1-2) includes a security application (ETCS, i.a. 0063 lines 1-end) configured to perform operation control of a train including a vehicle equipped with the on-vehicle facility (implied/inherent as one of ordinary skill would readily recognize ETCS to perform this function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of BESSHO to include the security application taught by KENDELBACHER to ensure train protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
BESSHO (WO 2011/074116, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) and SEKI (JP 2009-089122, provided by Applicant on 10/08/2024 IDS) are the closest prior art of record.
The prior art fails to teach or render obvious the limitation an on-vehicle wireless control unit has a function of setting a transmission priority of each of a plurality of applications…in accordance with a traveling position [or operation section] of a vehicle equipped with the on-vehicle facility” in the manner defined in the claims.
Response to Arguments
The following remarks respond to Applicant’s arguments filed 04/27/2026.
Applicant’s arguments could not be fully considered because Applicant has cited paragraph numbers of the BESSHO reference while no English language translation containing paragraph numbers has been provided.
Applicant’s argument that Bessho fails to disclose the limitation “setting a transmission priority of each of the plurality of applications”, see pp. 5-6, has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that acquiring priority information (p. 6 ll. 4-5) and determining correspondence between traffic and priority class (p. 6 ll. 6-7) do not fall within the scope of the claim limitation “setting a transmission priority.”
Applicant has not provided a special definition for the claim term “setting” in the original disclosure nor asserted one in their arguments. Therefore, the claim term has been interpreted in light of the specification. Applicant has disclosed three examples for setting a transmission priority: 1) setting low/high priority of a video application based on whether the video contains normal/abnormal information, where the determination of video normalcy is performed on the vehicle (0031 lines 1-end), 2) setting the priority of a CBTC security application, apparently always, to high priority (no example of when, if ever, the CBTC security application is set to low priority is provided)(0032 lines 1-end), and 3) setting priority based on train position and operation section (0034 lines 5-6).
The Examiner maintains that acquiring and determining priority information as disclosed by Bessho falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “setting” inasmuch as Applicant’s example of setting transmission priority where CBTC security application is, apparently always, provided a high priority.
The claim does not recite setting the priority based on the normalcy of a video application nor setting the priority based on a location of the train. If Applicant seeks a narrower construction of the claim term “setting a transmission priority” the claim may be amended accordingly.
Applicant’s arguments that Bessho fails to teach certain features of the invention, see pg. 7 lines 1-7, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reducing the number of facilities of the line for each application, operational benefits or techniques of the present application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s argument regarding claim 9, see p. 7 ll. 10-12, has been fully considered but is not persuasive for the same reasons, mutatis mutandis, as provided for claim 1 above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the dependent claims, see p. 7 l. 12 - p. 8 l. 3, have been fully considered but are not persuasive because no deficiency is found in the disclosure of the Bessho reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747