This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed April 22, 2026. Claims 1, 18, 19, 22 and 23 have been amended. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake (US 20190363904, NOTE: this reference is cited in the IDS filed October 8, 2024) in view of Hanh (US 20210409918).
Regarding claim 1, Drake teaches a method for connecting a household device to a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
at the household device, broadcasting, using wireless communication technology, identification information of the household device (abstract - discovering the appliance by receiving a short-range broadcast from the appliance. The short-range broadcast includes a unique identifier and a model number.);
at a user device associated with a user of the household device (abstract - The method also includes establishing an encrypted short-range radio connection between the appliance and the remote user interface device. The method further includes receiving a network credential for the secure network and transmitting the network credential to the appliance via the encrypted short-range radio connection. The method then includes connecting the appliance to the secure network using the received network credential.);
receiving the identification information of the household device using the wireless communication technology (abstract - The method further includes receiving a network credential for the secure network and transmitting the network credential to the appliance via the encrypted short-range radio connection. The method then includes connecting the appliance to the secure network using the received network credential.);
identifying the household device based on the received identification information, and prompting the user to perform a confirmation action, associated with the identified household device, to confirm an attendance of the user in proximity of the household device ([0046] In some embodiments, the remote user interface device 1000 may also be configured to display a picture of the appliance 10 on the user interface 1002 of the remote user interface device 1000 based on the received model number. The remote user interface device 1000 may then prompt a user to indicate whether the user wishes to connect the indicated appliance 10, e.g., as shown in the picture, to a WI-FI network.);
at the household device, detecting the confirmation action using the wireless communication technology ([0047] Once the appliance 10 has been discovered, the appliance 10 may be authenticated and connected to a secure wireless, e.g., WI-FI, network 2000. In order to authenticate the appliance 10 and connect it to the secure WI-FI network 2000, the appliance 10 and the remote user interface device 1000 may establish an encrypted short-range radio connection 1022 therebetween, such as a BLE connection on an encrypted channel.);
at the user device, in response to receiving the notification of the detected confirmation action, transmitting to the household device, using the wireless communication technology, network configuration data for connection to the wireless communication network ([0046] The remote user interface device 1000 may then prompt a user to indicate whether the user wishes to connect the indicated appliance 10, e.g., as shown in the picture, to a WI-FI network. [0047] Once the appliance 10 has been discovered, the appliance 10 may be authenticated and connected to a secure wireless, e.g., WI-FI, network 2000. In order to authenticate the appliance 10 and connect it to the secure WI-FI network 2000, the appliance 10 and the remote user interface device 1000 may establish an encrypted short-range radio connection 1022 therebetween, such as a BLE connection on an encrypted channel. [0049] Once this encrypted connection has been established, the appliance 10 can be authenticated and then receive a network credential 1024 for the secure network 2000, e.g., the secured WI-FI network, from the remote user interface device 1000 over the encrypted channel 1022.);
at the household device, configuring a connection of the household device to the wireless communication network according to the network configuration data ([0049] Once this encrypted connection has been established, the appliance 10 can be authenticated and then receive a network credential 1024 for the secure network 2000, e.g., the secured WI-FI network, from the remote user interface device 1000 over the encrypted channel 1022. For example, the remote user interface device 1000 may receive the network credential 1024 for the secure network 2000 from a user and then transmit the network credential 1024 to the appliance 10 via the encrypted short-range radio connection 1022. The appliance 10 may then use the received network credential 1024 to establish a connection 1026 to the secure network 2000.).
However, Drake does not explicitly teach at the household device, detecting the confirmation action performed at the household device directly by the user and independently of the user device and transmitting to the user device a notification of a detected confirmation action using the wireless communication technology.
In an analogous art, Hanh teaches at the household device, detecting the confirmation action performed at the household device directly by the user and independently of the user device and transmitting to the user device a notification of a detected confirmation action using the wireless communication technology (abstract - Methods of provisioning a new household appliance using an existing household appliance are provided. The existing household appliance is connected to a wireless network and provisioned to a user account. A request to add the new household appliance is received by the existing household appliance. The new household appliance searches and/or scans for the existing household appliance. A direct connection is established by and between the existing household appliance and the new household appliance. Network credentials for the wireless network and a provisioning token for the user account are securely transmitted from the existing household appliance to the new household appliance over the direct connection. The new household appliance connects to the wireless network using the securely transmitted network credentials and associates with the user account using the securely transmitted provisioning token.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teaching of Hann into the teaching of Drake to ensure that only a user physically presented at the household device can complete the connection, therefore improving security and prevent unauthorized network access.
Regarding claim 2, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, comprises a direct interaction between the user and the household device ([0025] A user interface panel 100 and a user input device 102 may be positioned on an exterior of the cabinet 12. The user input device 102 is generally positioned proximate to the user interface panel 100, and in some embodiments, the user input device 102 may be positioned on the user interface panel 100. The appliance 10 may also include features for detecting the presence of a user, as will be described in more detail below.).
Regarding claim 3, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation action comprises an action to be performed on an actuatable mechanical part of the household device. In an analogous art, Hanh teaches wherein the confirmation action comprises an action to be performed on an actuatable mechanical part of the household device ([0008] The method also includes initiating a connection mode on the first household appliance in response to receiving the request to add the second household appliance and providing an instruction on the user interface of the first household appliance to press a provisioning button on the second household appliance. The method further includes searching for the first household appliance, by the second household appliance, in response to receiving an input from the provisioning button on the second household appliance.). Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable an action to be performed on an actuatable mechanical part of a household device as a way to enable user to manually connect the appliance to the network, thus making the connection convenient.
Regarding claim 5, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, comprises pressing and/or releasing a button on the household device.
Hanh teaches wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, comprises pressing and/or releasing a button on the household device ([0008] The method also includes initiating a connection mode on the first household appliance in response to receiving the request to add the second household appliance and providing an instruction on the user interface of the first household appliance to press a provisioning button on the second household appliance. The method further includes searching for the first household appliance, by the second household appliance, in response to receiving an input from the provisioning button on the second household appliance.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable the pressing and/or releasing a button on the household device as a way to enable to manually connect the appliance to the network, thus making the connection convenient.
Regarding claim 6, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, is based on the identification information ([0045] The broadcast 1020 may include a universally unique identifier (UUID), an appliance type, and a model number. The remote user interface device 1000 may be configured to filter out any signals, e.g., BLUETOOTH® signals, which do not include the UUID when scanning for broadcasts. The UUID may be specific to the network or service to which the appliance 10 will ultimately connect, e.g., the UUID may be specific to the manufacturer of the appliance 10.).
Regarding claim 7, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the identification information comprises at least one between a type of household device and a model of the household device ([0045] The broadcast 1020 may include a universally unique identifier (UUID), an appliance type, and a model number.).
Regarding claim 8, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said detecting the confirmation action further comprises, at the household device, detecting that the confirmation action is performed within a prescribed time limit.
Hanh teaches wherein said detecting the confirmation action further comprises, at the household device, detecting that the confirmation action is performed within a prescribed time limit ([0046] In some embodiments, the new household appliance scans for the existing household appliance at step 530. For example, the new household appliance may scan for the existing household appliance in response to the provisioning command. The new household appliance generally scans for the existing household appliance for a short period of time, such as about five minutes or less, e.g., about one minute to about five minutes, such as about thirty seconds to about four minutes, such as about three and a half minutes or less, such as about two minutes or less, such as about ninety seconds or less, such as about one minute or less.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable the confirmation action to be performed within a prescribed time limit so that the confirmation does not run indefinitely, thus ensuring that the appliance is allowed to reconnect or terminate the connection.
Regarding claim 9, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising, if no confirmation action is detected to be performed within a prescribed time limit, repeating said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action.
Hanh teaches if no confirmation action is detected to be performed within a prescribed time limit, repeating said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action ([0046] In some embodiments, the new household appliance scans for the existing household appliance at step 530. For example, the new household appliance may scan for the existing household appliance in response to the provisioning command. The new household appliance generally scans for the existing household appliance for a short period of time, such as about five minutes or less, e.g., about one minute to about five minutes, such as about thirty seconds to about four minutes, such as about three and a half minutes or less, such as about two minutes or less, such as about ninety seconds or less, such as about one minute or less.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to repeat if no confirmation is detected to ensure that user is allowed to reconnect, thus improving chances of connections.
Regarding claim 10, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 8, wherein said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action further comprises, at the user device, transmitting a corresponding notification to the household device, the prescribed time limit being counted by the household device starting from reception of the notification at the household device.
Hanh teaches wherein said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action further comprises, at the user device, transmitting a corresponding notification to the household device, the prescribed time limit being counted by the household device starting from reception of the notification at the household device ([0046] In some embodiments, the new household appliance scans for the existing household appliance at step 530. For example, the new household appliance may scan for the existing household appliance in response to the provisioning command. The new household appliance generally scans for the existing household appliance for a short period of time, such as about five minutes or less, e.g., about one minute to about five minutes, such as about thirty seconds to about four minutes, such as about three and a half minutes or less, such as about two minutes or less, such as about ninety seconds or less, such as about one minute or less.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to transmit a corresponding notification to the household device, the prescribed time limit being counted by the household device starting from reception of the notification at the household device in order to start the time so that the confirmation does not run indefinitely, thus ensuring that the appliance is allowed to reconnect or terminate the connection.
Regarding claim 11, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, following reception at the user device of the identification information, transmitting, at the user device, a response to the household device to allow pairing of the household device and the user device to each other, wherein the prompting of the user to perform the confirmation action is performed following pairing of the household device and the user device ([0046] In some embodiments, the remote user interface device 1000 may also be configured to display a picture of the appliance 10 on the user interface 1002 of the remote user interface device 1000 based on the received model number. The remote user interface device 1000 may then prompt a user to indicate whether the user wishes to connect the indicated appliance 10, e.g., as shown in the picture, to a WI-FI network.).
Regarding claim 12, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising, at the household device, providing, to the user device a set of available wireless communication networks, and, at the user device, selecting a wireless communication network among the set of available communication networks, said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action being performed in response to said selecting a wireless communication network.
Hanh teaches at the household device, providing, to the user device a set of available wireless communication networks, and, at the user device, selecting a wireless communication network among the set of available communication networks, said prompting the user to perform the confirmation action being performed in response to said selecting a wireless communication network (figure 3).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable the selection of wireless communication networks in order to allow user to pick and choose the network of his or her preference, thus making the selection more catered towards the user’s needs.
Regarding claim 13, Drake does not teach the method according to claim 12, wherein said selecting a wireless communication network comprises, if a known wireless communication network exists among the available wireless communication networks, automatically retrieving the network configuration data associated with the known wireless communication network, following user input indicating that the user wishes to connect the household device to the known wireless communication network.
Hanh teaches wherein said selecting a wireless communication network comprises, if a known wireless communication network exists among the available wireless communication networks, automatically retrieving the network configuration data associated with the known wireless communication network, following user input indicating that the user wishes to connect the household device to the known wireless communication network [0038] In some embodiments, provisioning of the new appliance 11 may be initiated by requesting to add the new appliance 11 to a user account and by manipulating a user input 102, e.g., pressing a button, on the new appliance 11. For example, a method of commissioning the new household appliance 11 may include receiving a request to add the new appliance 11 to a user account on the user interface 102 of the existing household appliance 10. For example, a user may initiate the request to add the new household appliance 11 to the user's account via a touchscreen on the existing household appliance 10. The request to add the new household appliance 11 to the user account may be transmitted from the existing household appliance 10 to the database 420 via the network 1000, e.g., the internet or a cellular data network, etc. When the database 420 receives the request to add the new appliance 11, the database 420 may then send a provisioning token for the new household appliance 11 to the existing, previously commissioned household appliance 10.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to automatically retrieving the network configuration data associated with the known wireless communication network so that configurations can be deployed quickly, thus saving time.
Regarding claim 14, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, at the household device, performing wireless communication activation at a power on of the household device ([0043] An initial phase or process may include discovering the appliance 10. In various embodiments, the controller 210 may be configured to advertise or broadcast a signal 1020, such as a BLUETOOTH® Low Energy (“BLE”) signal.).
Regarding claim 15, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising, at the household device, performing wireless communication deactivation after a predefined time ([0043] An initial phase or process may include discovering the appliance 10. In various embodiments, the controller 210 may be configured to advertise or broadcast a signal 1020, such as a BLUETOOTH® Low Energy (“BLE”) signal. The remote user interface device 1000 may scan for BLE advertisements, e.g., automatically, including when an appliance app on the remote user interface device 1000 is active or simply running in the background. For example, the remote user interface device 1000 may provide a notification when an appliance 10 is discovered.).
Regarding claim 16, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication technology is based on at least one among selected from the group consisting of: Bluetooth, NFC, RFID, ZigBee, and UWB technologies ([0041] BLUETOOTH).
Regarding claim 17, Drake teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the user device is at least one selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a wearable device ([0039] The remote user interface device 1000 may be a laptop computer, smartphone, tablet, personal computer, wearable device, smart home system, and/or various other suitable devices).
Claim 18 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of a household device. Nevertheless, the claim is similarly rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as the inventive concept is the same.
Claim 19 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of a user device. Nevertheless, the claim is similarly rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as the inventive concept is the same.
Regarding claim 20, Drake teaches a computer program product directly loadable into an internal memory storage of a processing unit within a household device, the computer program product comprising software for causing the household device to perform the steps of the method according to claim 1 when the computer program product is run on the household device ([0028] The controller 210 may be programmed to operate the appliance 10 by executing instructions stored in memory. For example, the instructions may be software or any set of instructions that when executed by the processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations. Controller 210 can include one or more processor(s) and associated memory device(s) configured to perform a variety of computer-implemented functions and/or instructions (e.g. performing the methods, steps, calculations and the like and storing relevant data as disclosed herein).).
Regarding claim 21, Drake teaches a computer program product directly loadable into an internal memory storage of a processing unit within a user device, the computer program product comprising software for causing the user device to perform the steps of the method according to claim 19 when the computer program product is run on the user device ([0050] the remote user interface device 1000 may be configured to run software programs or applications.).
Claim 22 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of a household device. Nevertheless, the claim is similarly rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as the inventive concept is the same.
Claim 22 differs in that it further recites a household device comprising: a control unit for controlling an operation of the household device; at least one wireless communication apparatus for allowing the household device to connect to a wireless communication network and for allowing the household device to communicate with a user device, associated with a user of the household device, using a communication link separate to the wireless communication network.
Drake teaches a household device comprising: a control unit for controlling an operation of the household device ([0028] The controller 210 may be programmed to operate the appliance 10 by executing instructions stored in memory.); at least one wireless communication apparatus for allowing the household device to connect to a wireless communication network and for allowing the household device to communicate with a user device, associated with a user of the household device, using a communication link separate to the wireless communication network ([0041] The appliance 10 may communicate with the remote user interface device 1000 via short-range radio such as BLUETOOTH® or any other suitable wireless network having a layer protocol architecture.).
Claim 23 is similar to claim 1, but broader because it only recites first and second devices. The claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 as the inventive concept is the same.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake in view of Hanh, in further view of Hasimoto (WO 2022153537).
Regarding claim 4, Drake in view of Hang does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, comprises moving a door of the household device.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the confirmation action, associated with the household device, comprises moving a door of the household device (Embodiment 2: In the first embodiment, the normal mode and the connection mode are separated, and the network connection status is notified by using the lamps 11, 12 or the buzzer 13 during the connection mode. However, depending on the environment, that is, the cause of the failure, the network connection including the wireless connection with the router 40 or the connection with the server device 50 via the router 40 may be disconnected. For example, when a microwave oven is used, it interferes with the 2.4 GHz band, so that the wireless connection may be disconnected depending on the channel setting between the wireless communication modules 15B and 15C or the wireless communication adapter 30 and the router 40. In addition, the network connection is disconnected due to various factors such as wireless disconnection due to opening and closing of the door of the room where the home appliance 10 is provided, stoppage due to maintenance of the server device 50, disconnection of the WAN cable in the router 40 or the server device 50, and the like.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to confirm the action by moving a door of the household device because the motion serves as one of various ways to actuate the confirmation, thus the connection unique and efficient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458