DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the drawings:
The drawings were objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant provided replacement drawings received 8/19/2026 that corrected the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the specification:
The abstract was objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the abstract to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the claims:
Claims 3 and 6 were objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the claims to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §103:
Claims 1-4 and 6 were rejected as being obvious over Nakada in view of Mori. Claim 5 was rejected as being obvious over Nakada in view of Mori and Fukuyama. The Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled claims 4-5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed 8/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Japanese Patent No. H11-325074 to Ishizuka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. 2018-191507 to Nakada (provided by Applicant on 2/11/2025) in view of Japanese Patent No. H11-325074 to Ishizuka (provided by Applicant on 2/11/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada teaches a flywheel device (FIG. 1, 100) comprising:
a support body (FIG. 1, 12);
a rotation shaft (FIG. 1, 17);
a pair of disk members (FIG. 1; 15a, 15b) spaced apart from each other and fixed on the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0013]);
a pair of inner cylindrical members (FIG. 1; 14a, 14b) that are connected to outer circumferences of the disk members, respectively, and that are formed coaxially with the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0013]); and
a pair of outer cylindrical members (FIG. 1; 13a, 13b) that are arranged to the support body so as to face outer circumferences of the inner cylindrical members, respectively, and that are provided away from the outer circumferences of the inner cylindrical members (Paragraph [0010]),
wherein the disk members and the inner cylindrical members constitute a flywheel (FIG. 1; 16a, 16b; Paragraph [0013]),
the inner cylindrical members are formed by continuous inner magnets in a circumference direction (FIG. 2, 14), having magnetic poles on outer peripheral surfaces thereof (Paragraph [0006]),
the outer cylindrical members having outer magnets that face the inner magnets with the same polarity facing each other (Paragraph [0006]) and are continuously formed in the circumference direction (FIG. 2, 13),
the rotation shaft is rotatably supported with respect to the support body in a non-contact manner due to repulsive force between the inner magnets and the outer magnets (Paragraph [0006]), and
in two sets of the inner cylindrical member and the outer cylindrical member which are opposed to each other in the pair of inner cylindrical members (FIG. 1; 14a, 14b) and the pair of outer cylindrical members (FIG. 1; 13a, 13b)
Nakada does not teach centers of widths of the inner magnets in an axis direction being offset from centers of widths of the outer magnets in the axis direction respectively by a same distance in the axis direction, in a direction in which the centers of widths of the inner magnets distance themselves from a midway point on the rotation shaft between the two sets of the inner cylindrical member and the outer cylindrical member.
However, Ishizuka teaches a rotating shaft (FIG. 4, 1) having a pair of inner magnets (FIG. 4; 3a, 4a) and a pair of outer magnets (FIG. 4; 3b, 4b) rotatably supporting a rotation shaft wherein the centers of widths of the outer magnets in the axis direction respectively by a same distance in the axis direction, in a direction in which the centers of widths of the inner magnets distance themselves from a midway point on the rotation shaft between the two sets of the inner magnets and the outer magnets (FIG. 4; 1, 3a, 3b, 4a, 4b; Paragraph [0020]-[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flywheel device of Nakada with the teachings of Ishizuka to provide axially offset magnet widths to provide a balanced thrust towards the rotation shaft to keep it in a neutral position (Paragraph [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakada in view of Ishizuka teaches the flywheel device according to claim 1, wherein Nakada further teaches the inner magnets and the outer magnets being formed into cylindrical shapes (FIG. 2; 13, 14; Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakada in view of Ishizuka teaches the flywheel device according to claim 1, wherein Nakada further teaches widths of the inner cylindrical members in the axis direction being larger than thicknesses of the disk members in the axis direction (FIG. 1; 14a, 15a), and are smaller than widths of the outer cylindrical members in the axis direction (FIG. 1; 14a, 13a).
Regarding claim 6, Nakada in view of Ishizuka teaches a rotating electric machine (Nakada FIG. 1, 100; Paragraph [0009]), comprising:
the flywheel device according to claim 1;
a rotor (Nakada FIG. 1, 18) fixed to the rotation shaft (Nakada Paragraph [0012]) in the middle of the pair of the disk members; and
a stator (Nakada FIG. 1, 19) disposed to the support body (Nakada Paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834