DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandolfi et al., US Patent 6504713, Pandolfi, in further view of Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0121253, henceforth known as Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Pandolfi discloses a cooling apparatus (Abstract; a display module), comprising:
a cooling fan that is provided on a back surface of a terminal that includes a display surface and the back surface situated opposite to the display surface (Figure 3; col. 2, ll. 8-col. 3, ll. 11; an internal fan disposed behind a flat panel display screen 10(terminal) that inherently includes a display surface and a back surface situated opposite of the display surface); and
a duct portion that is used to blow, to the display surface, air supplied from the cooling fan (Figure 3; col. 2, ll. 8-col. 3, ll. 11; a sealed display module in which cooling fluid flow pattern is shown, in Figure 3, that has air, driven by an internal fan, from the back surface to the display surface of the flat panel display screen 10).
However, Pandolfi doesn’t explicitly disclose the terminal is a mobile terminal.
Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0121253, teaches a cooler that may have an electronic device, such as a smart phone, mounted thereon (Abstract; [0030];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Pandolfi to further include the teachings of Lee in order to provide the terminal is a mobile terminal. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide an accessory for a mobile electronic device that provides a cooling function so as to enable the mobile electronic device to effectively drive contents requiring high processing power (Lee: [0027];).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Pandolfi and Lee teaches wherein the duct portion includes a curved portion that covers around the display surface from the back surface and that provides directivity to the air such that the air is blown to the display surface (Figure 3; col. 2, ll. 8-col. 3, ll. 11; the examiner considers these sections to be a “curve portion” that covers around the display surface from the back surface and provides directivity to the air such that is blown on the display surface).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Pandolfi and Lee teaches wherein the curved portion is provided such that the air is blown over the display surface from at least two directions (Pandolfi: Figure 3; col. 2, ll. 8-col. 3, ll. 11; the examiner considers the the curved portion providing the air flow such that air is blown over two directions as indicated in the drawing bleow ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699