DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40-44, 46, 48, 49, 52-55 and 57-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 20190014342).
As to claim 40, Li discloses a video decoding device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a processor (see [0071]) configured to:
obtain motion information associated with a first block (FIGS. 15-16, step 702 and Block 1; see [0042], [0124]);
partially reconstruct the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block (see [0123], [0176]), wherein the motion information associated with the first block used to partially reconstruct the first block is unrefined motion information (see [0112], initial motion vector; see FIG. 11B and [0114]);
refine the unrefined motion information associated with the first block after partially reconstructing the first block (see [0113], [0135]); and
reconstruct the first block based on the refined motion information (see [0179]);
obtain a template of a second block based on the partially reconstructed first block (FIG. 16, Block 2; see [0178]); and
reconstruct the second block using a template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block (FIG. 15, Full Reconstruction; see [0168], [0180], template matching), wherein the reconstruction of the second block is performed in parallel with the reconstruction of the first block (FIG. 16; see [0042] and [0124]-[0126]).
As to claim 41, Li further discloses wherein the template of the second block comprises partially reconstructed samples of the first block that neighbor the second block (see [0123]).
As to claim 42, Li further discloses wherein partially reconstructing the first block comprises:
obtaining a prediction of the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block, wherein the template of the second block comprises a plurality of predicted samples of the first block (FIG. 15 and [0123]).
As to claim 43, Li further discloses wherein partially reconstructing the first block comprises: obtaining a prediction of the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block, wherein the template of the second block comprises a plurality of predicted samples of the first block, and the second block is decoded using the template-based coding tool based on the plurality of predicted samples of the first block (FIG. 15 and [0123]), and
wherein the processor is further configured to:
reconstruct the first block based on the prediction of the first block and a residual of the first block (see [0123]).
As to claim 44, Li further discloses wherein reconstructing the second block using the template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block is initiated before the first block is fully reconstructed (FIG. 16; see [0042], [0126]-[0127]).
As to claim 46, Li further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: fully reconstruct the first block, wherein the second block is reconstructed independent of the fully reconstructed first block (FIG. 15; see [0179]).
As to claim 48, Li discloses a video encoding device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a processor (see [0071]) configured to:
obtain motion information associated with a first block (FIGS. 15-16, step 702 and Block 1; see [0042], [0124]);
partially reconstruct the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block (see [0123], [0184]), wherein the motion information associated with the first block used to partially reconstruct the first block is unrefined motion information (see [0112], initial motion vector; see FIG. 11B and [0114]);
refine the unrefined motion information associated with the first block after partially reconstructing the first block (see [0113], [0135]);
encode the first block based on the refined motion information (see [0156], [0187]);
obtain a template of a second block based on the partially reconstructed first block (FIG. 16, Block 2; see [0186]); and
encode the second block using a template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block (see [0156], [0187], template matching), wherein the encoding of the second block is performed in parallel with the reconstruction of the first block (FIG. 16; see [0042] and [0124]-[0126]).
As to claim 49, Li further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether to perform fast template reconstruction for the second block (see [0172], [0181]); and
based on a determination to perform fast template reconstruction for the second block, include an indication that indicates to enable fast template reconstruction in video data (see [0172], [0187]).
As to claim 52, Li further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a prediction of the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block, wherein the template of the second block comprises a plurality of predicted samples of the first block and the second block is encoded using the template-based coding tool based on the plurality of predicted samples of the first block in the template of the second block (FIG. 15 and [0123]); and
encode the first block based on the prediction of the first block and a residual of the first block (see [0123]).
As to claim 53, Li further discloses wherein the template of the second block comprises partially reconstructed samples of the first block that neighbor the second block (see [0123]), and wherein encoding the second block using the template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block is initiated before the first block is fully reconstructed (FIG. 16; see [0042], [0126]-[0127]).
As to claim 54, Li discloses a method (FIG. 21), the method comprising:
obtaining motion information associated with a first block (FIGS. 15-16, step 702 and Block 1; see [0042], [0124]);
partially reconstructing the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block (see [0123], [0184]), wherein the motion information associated with the first block used to partially reconstruct the first block is unrefined motion information (see [0112], initial motion vector; see FIG. 11B and [0114]);
refining the unrefined motion information associated with the first block after partially reconstructing the first block (see [0113], [0135]);
encoding the first block based on the refined motion information (see [0156], [0187]);
obtaining a template of a second block based on the partially reconstructed first block (FIG. 16, Block 2; see [0186]); and
encoding the second block using a template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block (see [0156], [0187], template matching), wherein the encoding of the second block is performed in parallel with the reconstruction of the first block (FIG. 16; see [0042] and [0124]-[0126]).
As to claim 55, Li further discloses further comprising:
determining whether to perform fast template reconstruction for the second block (see [0172], [0181]); and
based on a determination to perform fast template reconstruction for the second block, including an indication that indicates to enable fast template reconstruction in video data (see [0172], [0187]).
As to claim 57, Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining a prediction of the first block based on the motion information associated with the first block, wherein the template of the second block comprises a plurality of predicted samples of the first block and the second block is encoded using the template-based coding tool based on the plurality of predicted samples of the first block in the template of the second block (FIG. 15 and [0123]); and
encoding the first block based on the prediction of the first block and a residual of the first block (see [0123]).
As to claim 58, Li further discloses wherein the template of the second block comprises partially reconstructed samples of the first block that neighbor the second block (see [0123]), wherein encoding the second block using the template-based coding tool based on the obtained template of the second block is initiated before the first block is fully reconstructed (FIG. 16; see [0042], [0126]-[0127]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47, 51 and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 20190014342) in view of Chang et al (US 12316868).
As to claim 47, Li further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a motion vector candidate list for the first block, wherein the motion information associated with the first block is obtained based on the motion vector candidate list (see [0078], [0112]).
Li fails to explicitly disclose re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and
reconstruct the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block.
However, Chang teaches re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC) (col. 21, lines 10-19); and
reconstruct the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block (col. 40, lines 42-50).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Li using Chang’s teachings to re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and reconstruct the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block in order to improve video coding (Chang; col. 1, lines 52-58).
As to claim 51, Li further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a motion vector candidate list for the first block, wherein the motion information associated with the first block is obtained based on the motion vector candidate list (see [0078], [0112]).
Li fails to explicitly disclose re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and
encode the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block.
However, Chang teaches re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC) (col. 21, lines 10-19); and
encode the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block (col. 36, lines 43-46).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Li using Chang’s teachings to re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and encode the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block in order to improve video coding (Chang; col. 1, lines 52-58).
As to claim 56, Li further discloses wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a motion vector candidate list for the first block, wherein the motion information associated with the first block is obtained based on the motion vector candidate list (see [0078], [0112]).
Li fails to explicitly disclose re-ordering the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and
encoding the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block.
However, Chang teaches re-ordering the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC) (col. 21, lines 10-19); and
encoding the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block (col. 36, lines 43-46).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Li using Chang’s teachings to re-order the motion vector candidate list for the first block based on adaptive reordering of merge candidates (ARMC); and encode the first block based on the re-ordered motion vector candidate list for the first block in order to improve video coding (Chang; col. 1, lines 52-58).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Li does not disclose reconstructing the second block where "the reconstruction of the second block is performed in parallel with the reconstruction of the first block," as recited in independent claim 40 and encoding the second block where "the encoding of the second block is performed in parallel with a reconstruction of the first block," as recited in independent claims 48 and 54.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case “in parallel” does not mean “executed concurrently” as argued by Applicant. As well-known in the art and defined in Applicant’s disclosure (see FIGS. 5, 12 and 20 and corresponding description in the specification), “in parallel” is means being performed in a pipeline manner wherein stages are performed in parallel. Li discloses in FIG. 16 and corresponding description in [0124]-[0126], video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 perform MC and IQIT 704 in parallel for the first block at second time (T2) … video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 perform TM MV 712 derivation for a second block using the output of MC plus residual sample values (e.g., residual sample values denote the output by module IQIT) of neighboring blocks at the third time (and in parallel with performing BIO 706 for the first block) … video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform MC and IQIT 714 in parallel for the second block at the fourth time. That is, in this example, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 performs OBMC 708 for the first block at the fourth time (in parallel with MC and IQIT 714 for the second block). Li further discloses in [0042], in parallel with or before applying BIO and OBMC techniques to the samples for the neighboring block, the video decoder applies template matching to a current block using the partial reconstruction of the neighboring block.
Therefore, Li discloses reconstructing the second block where "the reconstruction of the second block is performed in parallel with the reconstruction of the first block," as recited in independent claim 40 and encoding the second block where "the encoding of the second block is performed in parallel with a reconstruction of the first block," as recited in independent claims 48 and 54.”
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482