DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (), hereinafter referred to as Bai, in view of N0504 (“Text of ISO/IEC 23090-18 CDAM 1 Support of Temporal Scalability” INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR STANDARDIZATION
ORGANISATION INTERNATIONALE DE NORMALISATION ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 03 MPEG SYSTEMS ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 03 N0504 March 2022, Virtual), hereinafter referred to as N0504.
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses method performed in a reception device of point cloud data (Bai, ¶¶[0007] and [0194] disclosing a deceiving unit receiving a video or picture or G-PCC bitstream), the method comprising:
obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file including the point cloud data (Bai, ¶[0043] - obtains G-PCC data including geometric data, attribute data, parameter sets, and other metadata required for decoding.); and
obtaining a G-PCC temporal scalability group box GPCCTemporalScalabilityGroupBox from a track in the G-PCC file (Bai, ¶[0024] disclosing that the G-PCC scalability is temporal, and [0124], [0149]-[0152] disclosing obtaining a scalability group box at the track level),
wherein a sample entry type of the track is one of ‘gpel’, ‘gpeg’, ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’(Bai, ¶¶ [0088], [0099] - One of ‘gpel’, ‘gpeg’, ‘gpcl’, ‘gpcg’, ‘gpea’, ‘gpcl’, ‘gpes’, ‘gpcs’, ‘gpei’, and ‘gpci’ sample entry).
Bai does not explicitly disclose wherein the G-PCC temporal scalability group box GPCCTemporalScalabilityGroupfBox is a box including information for grouping temporal level tracks.
However, N0504 from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses wherein the G-PCC temporal scalability group box GPCCTemporalScalabilityGroupfBox is a box including information for grouping temporal level tracks (N0504, § X.2 disclosing the GPCCScalabilitylnfoBox including information for grouping temporal level tracks (e.g., multiple_temporal_level_tracks_flag ).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Bai to add the teachings of N0504 as above, in order to indicate that temporal scalability is supported and provides information about the temporal levels present in that G-PCC tracks. (N0504, § X.2).
Regarding claim 2, Bai and N0504 disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bai discloses the e method of claim 1, wherein the track includes a geometry component (Bai, ¶¶[0032] [0123] ).
Regarding claim 3, Bai and N0504 disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bai discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the sample entry type of the track is one of ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’(Bai, ¶¶[0088] and [0099] ).
Regarding claim 4, Bai and N0504 disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein based on the track including an attribute component and the sample entry type of the track being ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’, the G-PCC temporal scalability group box is not obtained from the track (Bai, ¶[0101] disclosing the syntax GPCCComponentTypeBox indicates the type of G-PCC component (geometry or attribute); ¶¶ 0088] and [0099] sample entry type of the track being ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg; ¶¶ [0149]-[0151] -ScalableGroupBox(cptg) is anchored to the geometric track as the entry point of each level).
Regarding claim 5, Bai and N0504 disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, based on first tracks included in a same temporal scalability group box being combined, second tracks referred to by the first tracks are combined, the first tracks are tracks including a geometry component, and the second tracks are tracks including an attribute component (Bai, ¶¶[0132]-[0135] disclosing that tracking contributing to the same temporal scalability group box share a common cptg track_group_id and must be retained together)
Regarding claim 6, Bai and N0504 disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Bai discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first tracks are combined based on the sample entry type of the track being one of ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’ (Bai, ¶¶[0088] and [0099] listing ‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’ as mandatory sample entry types for G_PCC tracks and ¶[0124] defining scalable grouping via the cptg group box).
Regarding claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method (of decoding) of claim 1, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a method ( of encoding) for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: a compressor (encoder) and a decompressor (decoder). The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Regarding claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claim 1, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a device for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Furthermore, Bai discloses reception device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor (Bai, ¶[0206])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486