DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/22/2026 has been entered. No claims have been added, cancelled, or amended. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The drawings were received on 01/12/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 01/12/2026, with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner cannot concur the cited references fail to disclose or suggest the amended claim language. Applicant asserts, “the cited references fail to disclose or suggest the features of (i) grouping samples referring to a parameter set, and (ii) mapping the grouped samples to the parameter set…Gurumasu fails to disclose or suggest the claimed mapping between the parameter sets and the samples themselves as described in claim 1.” Examiner notes Applicant’s interpretation of the claim language assumes a plurality of claimed samples when the claim language only requires one sample extracted from the claimed “one or more tracks”. Further, the claim language does not define the terms “grouped” or “mapped” and are therefore open to interpretation. Therefore when the claim language is interpreted as extracting one sample from one identified track and obtaining one parameter set referred to by the one extracted sample from the one track, Gurumasu discloses the one sample referring to the parameter set being “grouped” and “mapped” to the parameter set. For these reasons, the 102 and 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gudumasu et al. US 2023/0281923 A1, hereafter Gudumasu.
Regarding claim 1, Gudumasu discloses a method performed in a reception device of point cloud data (method and apparatus include receiving a timed-metadata track identifying point cloud tiles) [abstract], the method comprising:
identifying one or more tracks from the point cloud data (obtain from formatted container timed meta data track with tile identifiers 1204; FIG. 4 illustrates the structure of the data file for the geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC); the logical structure of the file is a movie structure that contains a set of time-parallel tracks) [FIG. 12; 0090; 0095]
extracting one or more samples from the tracks (the time structure of the file includes tracks that contain sequences of samples in time; the media stream itself consists of a sequence of samples; extract the identified tile tracks from a G-PCC data file, decoding the identified tile tracks) [0095; 0097; 0358]; and
obtaining a parameter set referred to by at least one of the extracted samples from the tracks (FIG. 5 depicts an example of a structure for a sample…the structure includes parameter set TLV field (if present) 502; extract the identified tile tracks from a G-PCC data file, decoding the identified tile tracks) [0099; 0358],
wherein samples referring to the parameter set are grouped and mapped to the parameter set (under the ‘gpcb’ sample entry, all parameter sets such as described in ISO/IEC 23090-9 may be present in the setupUnit array or in the data file; the parameter set data and tile inventory information may be carried in the base track) [0113; 0114].
Regarding claim 2, Gudumasu addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Gudumasu further discloses the parameter set is obtained from a sample or sample entry included in at least one of the tracks (FIG. 5 depicts an example of a structure for a sample…the structure includes parameter set TLV field (if present) 502) [0099].
Regarding claim 3, Gudumasu addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Gudumasu further discloses a type of each parameter set included in the grouped samples is identified by a predetermined group type parameter (the tlv_type and associated G-PCC data unit description are shown in Table 2) [0090].
Regarding claim 4, Gudumasu addresses all of the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Gudumasu further discloses a parameter set type identified by the group type parameter includes a sequence parameter set (SPS), a geometry parameter set (GPS), and an attribute parameter set (APS) (see table 2 for all three group types) [0090].
Regarding claim 7, Gudumasu addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Gudumasu further discloses a sample group description box for the grouped samples has sample group entries corresponding to a number of types of parameter sets obtainable from the tracks (sample group description box) [0312].
Regarding claim 9, Gudumasu discloses a reception device of point cloud data (method and apparatus include receiving a timed-metadata track identifying point cloud tiled) [0007], the reception device comprising:
a memory (computer-readable medium) [0367]; and
at least one processor (execution by a computer or processor) [0367], wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
identifying one or more tracks from the point cloud data (obtain from formatted container timed meta data track with tile identifiers 1204; FIG. 4 illustrates the structure of the data file for the geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC); the logical structure of the file is a movie structure that contains a set of time-parallel tracks) [FIG. 12; 0090; 0095]
extracting one or more samples from the tracks (the time structure of the file includes tracks that contain sequences of samples in time; the media stream itself consists of a sequence of samples; extract the identified tile tracks from a G-PCC data file, decoding the identified tile tracks) [0095; 0097; 0358]; and
obtaining a parameter set referred to by at least one of the extracted samples from the tracks (FIG. 5 depicts an example of a structure for a sample…the structure includes parameter set TLV field (if present) 502; extract the identified tile tracks from a G-PCC data file, decoding the identified tile tracks) [0099; 0358],
wherein samples referring to the parameter set are grouped and mapped to the parameter set (under the ‘gpcb’ sample entry, all parameter sets such as described in ISO/IEC 23090-9 may be present in the setupUnit array or in the data file; the parameter set data and tile inventory information may be carried in the base track) [0113; 0114].
Regarding claim 10, Gudumasu discloses a method performed in a transmission device of point cloud data (method of generating a point cloud data stream) [0356], the method comprising:
storing a bitstream including the point cloud data in one or more tracks (FIG. 4 illustrates the structure of the data file for the geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC); the logical structure of the file is a movie structure that contains a set of time-parallel tracks) [0090; 0095]; and
generating a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file based on the tracks, wherein the tracks include one or more samples (FIG. 4 illustrates the structure of the data file for the geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC); the logical structure of the file is a movie structure that contains a set of time-parallel tracks. The time structure of the file includes tracks that contain sequences of samples in time; the media stream itself consists of a sequence of samples) [0090; 0095; 0097], and
at least one of the samples includes a parameter set (FIG. 5 depicts an example of a structure for a sample…the structure includes parameter set TLV field (if present) 502) [0099], and
wherein samples referring to the parameter set are grouped and mapped to the parameter set (under the ‘gpcb’ sample entry, all parameter sets such as described in ISO/IEC 23090-9 may be present in the setupUnit array or in the data file; the parameter set data and tile inventory information may be carried in the base track) [0113; 0114].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudumasu in view of Hannuksela et al. US 2023/0027058 A1, hereafter Hannuksela.
Regarding claim 5, Gudumasu addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, Gudumasu fails to explicitly disclose among the extracted samples, all samples that do not include a parameter set or include parameter sets of different types have a group description index equal to 0.
Hannuksela, in an analogous environment, discloses among the extracted samples, all samples that do not include a parameter set or include parameter sets of different types have a group description index equal to 0 (mapping a sample to a sample group description index equal to 0 indicates that the sample is a member of no group of this type) [0173].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sample group description designation, as disclosed by Hannuksela, with the invention disclosed by Gusumasu the motivation being lower bitrate [0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hannuksela et al. US 2024/0040131 A1 discloses tracks and related parameter sets of point cloud data
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485