DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application No. 18/855,138 filed on 10/08/2024, in which claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 2, 10 - 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frederick “US 2015/0363154”.
Re-claim 1, Frederick teaches an information processing apparatus (fig. 1A; 10, multi-monitor display) configured to:
cause at least one display device among a plurality of display devices (fig. 1A and par. [0014] a multi-monitor display includes a group of monitors 10 includes display monitors 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28) to display a widget screen for selecting one of the plurality of display devices and operating a setting thereof; (fig. 3 and pars. [0034] … When it is desired to change the input or settings of another monitor, subgroup, or the group as a whole, an entry may be input into new display ID field 304…an OSD menu may be displayed on the newly active display monitor or monitors and [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display.) and
change a luminance of an actual display screen of the selected display device according to the selection of the display device on the widget screen. (par. [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display. For example, the user may select the input for the selected display or adjust various video or audio parameters (e.g., brightness, contrast, sharpness, color, bass level, treble level, etc.)
Re-claim 2, Frederick teaches wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is changed by changing a setting of a display screen of the display device. (par. [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display. For example, the user may select the input for the selected display or adjust various video or audio parameters (e.g., brightness, contrast, sharpness, color, bass level, treble level, etc.)
Re-claim 10, Frederick teaches wherein widget screen is also used to operate a setting of an audio device. (par. [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display. For example, the user may select the input for the selected display or adjust various video or audio parameters (e.g., brightness, contrast, sharpness, color, bass level, treble level, etc.)
Re-claim 11, Frederick teaches wherein two or more display devices having the same model number among the plurality of display devices are displayed in different modes on the widget screen. (fig. 3 and pars. [0034] and [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display. For example, the user may select the input for the selected display or adjust various video or audio parameters (e.g., brightness, contrast, sharpness, color, bass level, treble level, etc.), backlight intensity, firmware/software updates or various other parameters.)
Re-claim 12, Frederick teaches wherein the luminance of the display screen includes at least one of a brightness, a contrast, or a color of screen display. (par. [0036] Upon selection of the display ID number, the user may use the OSD to select or adjust various parameters for a single monitor, a subgroup of monitors or all of the monitors of the multi-monitor display. For example, the user may select the input for the selected display or adjust various video or audio parameters (e.g., brightness, contrast, sharpness, color, bass level, treble level, etc.)
Re-claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
An information processing program for causing a computer to execute (pars. [0040] - [0041]) processing of:
Re-claim 20, is rejected as a system as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3 - 8 and 14 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick “US 2015/0363154” in view of Junji “JP 2006301025A”.
Re-claim 3, Frederick does not explicitly teach wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is repeatedly changed.
However, Junji teaches wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is repeatedly changed. (par. [0015] Figure 5 shows a specific display unit 20 related to this selection, and the user screen of this display unit 20 is blinking in a specific display mode and displaying the name of the external PC 10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date to further modify the invention of combination with the teachings of Junji to provide the display is selected by the user the selected display is blinking by changing the display brightness. (par. [0015])
Re-claim 4, Frederick does not explicitly teach wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is changed so that the luminance of the actual display screen of the display device alternately changes between a first luminance and a second luminance.
However, Junji teaches wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is changed so that the luminance of the actual display screen of the display device alternately changes between a first luminance and a second luminance. (par. [0021] On the user screen, the flashing display can be achieved by changing the background color, by alternating between lighting and turning off, or by changing the brightness of the same color.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date to further modify the invention of combination with the teachings of Junji to provide the display is selected by the user the selected display is blinking by changing the display brightness. (par. [0021])
Re-claim 5, Frederick in view of Junji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Junji teaches wherein the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device is changed so that the luminance of the actual display screen of the display device becomes the first luminance, the second luminance, the first luminance, and the second luminance in this order. (par. [0021] On the user screen, the flashing display can be achieved by changing the background color, by alternating between lighting and turning off, or by changing the brightness of the same color.)
Re-claim 6, Frederick in view of Junji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Junji teaches wherein the second luminance is higher than the first luminance, and
the first luminance out of the first luminance and the second luminance is the same as the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device before being selected. (par. [0021] On the user screen, the flashing display can be achieved by changing the background color, by alternating between lighting and turning off, or by changing the brightness of the same color.)
Re-claim 7, Frederick in view of Junji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Junji teaches wherein the second luminance is higher than the first luminance, and
the second luminance out of the first luminance and the second luminance is the same as the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device before being selected. (pars. [0015] the display is selected by the user the selected display is blinking by changing the display brightness and [0021] On the user screen, the flashing display can be achieved by changing the background color, by alternating between lighting and turning off, or by changing the brightness of the same color.)
Re-claim 8, Frederick in view of Junji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, Junji teaches the display is selected by the user the selected display is blinking by changing the display brightness but Frederick and Junji do not explicitly teach wherein the luminance is expressed in the range of 0% to 100%, and a difference between the first luminance and the second luminance is about 30%.
However, As set forth in MEPE 2144.05, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Re-claims 14 - 19, are rejected as applied to claims 2 - 7 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick “US 2015/0363154” in view of Junji “JP 2006301025A” and further in view of Cho “US 2015/0293740”.
Re-claim 9, Frederick in view of Junji teaches all the limitations of claim 4 but do not explicitly teach wherein a duration period of the first luminance when the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device becomes the second luminance, the first luminance, and the second luminance in this order is about 100 milliseconds, and a duration period of the second luminance when the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device becomes the first luminance, the second luminance, and the first luminance in this order is about 100 milliseconds.
However, Cho teaches wherein a duration period of the first luminance when the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device becomes the second luminance, the first luminance, and the second luminance in this order is about 100 milliseconds, and a duration period of the second luminance when the luminance of the actual display screen of the selected display device becomes the first luminance, the second luminance, and the first luminance in this order is about 100 milliseconds.
(pars. [0098] In order to show that the master display apparatus 15 is the display apparatus which is selected and controlled, the controller 170 of the master display apparatus 15 may control the brightness or color of a bezel 601 of the master display apparatus 15 to change or to flicker for a predetermined time. As another example, the controller 170 of the master display apparatus 15 may control the brightness or color of the entire area of the display 120 of the master display apparatus 15 to change or to flicker for a predetermined time. As still another example, the controller 170 of the master display apparatus 15 may control the brightness or color of the edge area of the display 120 of the master display apparatus 15 to be changed or to flicker for a predetermined time.
[0099] In a predetermined time (for example, five seconds) after the display apparatus is selected, the user is able to press the button of the remote controller 20 briefly, within a predetermined time (for example, one second.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date to further modify the invention of combination with the teachings of Cho in order to show that a display apparatus which is selected and controlled, the brightness or color of the entire area of the display apparatus is controlled to flicker for predetermine time. (par. [0109])
Contact Information
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 8/19/26B