DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges preliminary amendments dated 01/06/2026 made in the claims and enters for consideration. Claims 1-49 have previously been cancelled. No new claims have been added. The amendments are in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/07/2025. Therefore, claims 50-69 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0224922A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US PGPub 2022/0400252 A1).
Regarding Claim 50 (Currently Amended), Wang et al. teach a device for video decoding ([0201]; Fig. 41, reference numeral 4102; Fig. 3, reference numeral 300) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 41, reference numeral 4104) configured to:
obtain video data (Fig. 3 shows the decoder 300 receiving encoded video bitstream; Fig. 41 shows the decoder 4102 receiving encoded video bitstream 4120);
determine from the video data a chroma block ([0224]; It teaches that the video unit may be a chroma block);
determine, based on the video data, Direct Mode (DM) applies to the chroma block, wherein the chroma block is associated with a luma block, and wherein, for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block ([0224]; it teaches that DIMD component 4114 may employ a chroma derived mode (DM mode) to generate the predictor block for the chroma block. See also [0307]);
retrieve, based on a determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block ([0224]; [0416]-[0417]; it teaches that DM mode may be applied to a chroma block when IPM (Intra Prediction Mode) is derived from luma component or/and the derived IPM is applied to corresponding luma block of the chroma block), the data associated with the luma block indicating a decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block); and
apply to the chroma block the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it also teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the chroma block from the corresponding luma block).
Although, Wang et al., in [0224], teach generating a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block, and in [0307], teach a chroma block and a corresponding luma block, which means the chroma block is associated with a luma block, but it does not explicitly teach that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block.
But Zhu et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach a video coding system, where it describes that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block (Zhu et al.; [0481], [0482]; In Claims 4, 16 it clearly teaches that when the syntax element intra_chroma_pred_mode specifies that a derived mode (DM) is applied on the current chroma block, and wherein in the DM mode, the chroma component intra mode is identical to the luma component intra mode).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Wang et al’s invention of signaling for decoder side intra mode derivation to include Zhu et al's DM mode coding, because the presented techniques can be used by a decoder of image or video bitstreams to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images (Zhu et al.; [0037]).
Regarding Claim 51 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 50,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises Decoder side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) (Wang et al.; [0203]; [0151]; it teaches that to reduce the overhead of intra mode signaling, a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) approach, which may be used by video decoders 124, 300, 400 in decoding video).
Regarding Claim 52 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 50,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) (Wang et al.; Fig. 20; [0152]; It teaches about template based intra mode derivation (TIMD)).
Regarding Claim 53 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 50, wherein the processor is further configured to:
retrieve, based on the determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block indicating a transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; It teaches the decoding component 4110 may apply one or more transforms to the current block); and
apply to the chroma block the transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; it teaches that some examples of transforms that may be applied to the block include MTS and/or LFNST).
Regarding Claim 54 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 53, wherein the transform process is Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Regarding Claim 55 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 53, wherein the transform process is Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Regarding Claim 56 (Currently Amended), Wang et al. teach a method of video decoding ([0201]; Fig. 41, reference numeral 4102; Fig. 3, reference numeral 300) comprising:
obtaining video data (Fig. 3 shows the decoder 300 receiving encoded video bitstream; Fig. 41 shows the decoder 4102 receiving encoded video bitstream 4120);
determining from the video data a chroma block ([0224]; It teaches that the video unit may be a chroma block);
determining, based on the video data, Direct Mode (DM) applies to the chroma block, wherein the chroma block is associated with a luma block, and wherein, for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block ([0224]; it teaches that DIMD component 4114 may employ a chroma derived mode (DM mode) to generate the predictor block for the chroma block. See also [0307]);
retrieving, based on a determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block ([0224]; [0416]-[0417]; it teaches that DM mode may be applied to a chroma block when IPM (Intra Prediction Mode) is derived from luma component or/and the derived IPM is applied to corresponding luma block of the chroma block), the data associated with the luma block indicating a decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block); and
applying to the chroma block the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it also teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the chroma block from the corresponding luma block).
Although, Wang et al., in [0224], teach generating a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block, and in [0307], teach a chroma block and a corresponding luma block, which means the chroma block is associated with a luma block, but it does not explicitly teach that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block.
But Zhu et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach a video coding system, where it describes that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block (Zhu et al.; [0481], [0482]; In Claims 4, 16 it clearly teaches that when the syntax element intra_chroma_pred_mode specifies that a derived mode (DM) is applied on the current chroma block, and wherein in the DM mode, the chroma component intra mode is identical to the luma component intra mode).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Wang et al’s invention of signaling for decoder side intra mode derivation to include Zhu et al's DM mode coding, because the presented techniques can be used by a decoder of image or video bitstreams to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images (Zhu et al.; [0037]).
Regarding Claim 57 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 56,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises Decoder side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) (Wang et al.; [0203]; [0151]; it teaches that to reduce the overhead of intra mode signaling, a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) approach, which may be used by video decoders 124, 300, 400 in decoding video).
Regarding Claim 58 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 56,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) (Wang et al.; Fig. 20; [0152]; It teaches about template based intra mode derivation (TIMD)).
Regarding Claim 59 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 56, further comprising:
retrieving, based on the determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block indicating a transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; It teaches the decoding component 4110 may apply one or more transforms to the current block); and
applying to the chroma block the transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; it teaches that some examples of transforms that may be applied to the block include MTS and/or LFNST).
Regarding Claim 60 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 59, wherein the transform process is Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Regarding Claim 61 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 59, wherein the transform process is Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Regarding Claim 62 (Currently Amended), Wang et al. teach a device for video encoding ([0201]; Fig. 42, reference numeral 4202; Fig. 2, reference numeral 200) comprising:
a processor (Fig. 42, reference numeral 4204) configured to:
obtain video data (Fig. 3 shows the decoder 300 receiving encoded video bitstream; Fig. 41 shows the decoder 4102 receiving encoded video bitstream 4120);
determine from the video data a chroma block ([0224]; It teaches that the video unit may be a chroma block);
determine, based on the video data, Direct Mode (DM) applies to the chroma block, wherein the chroma block is associated with a luma block, and wherein, for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block ([0224]; it teaches that DIMD component 4114 may employ a chroma derived mode (DM mode) to generate the predictor block for the chroma block. See also [0307]);
retrieve, based on a determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block ([0224]; [0416]-[0417]; it teaches that DM mode may be applied to a chroma block when IPM (Intra Prediction Mode) is derived from luma component or/and the derived IPM is applied to corresponding luma block of the chroma block), the data associated with the luma block indicating a decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block); and
apply to the chroma block the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it also teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the chroma block from the corresponding luma block).
Although, Wang et al., in [0224], teach generating a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block, and in [0307], teach a chroma block and a corresponding luma block, which means the chroma block is associated with a luma block, but it does not explicitly teach that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block.
But Zhu et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach a video coding system, where it describes that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block (Zhu et al.; [0481], [0482]; In Claims 4, 16 it clearly teaches that when the syntax element intra_chroma_pred_mode specifies that a derived mode (DM) is applied on the current chroma block, and wherein in the DM mode, the chroma component intra mode is identical to the luma component intra mode).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Wang et al’s invention of signaling for decoder side intra mode derivation to include Zhu et al's DM mode coding, because the presented techniques can be used by a decoder of image or video bitstreams to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images (Zhu et al.; [0037]).
Regarding Claim 63 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 62,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises one of Decoder side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) (Wang et al.; [0203]; [0151]; it teaches that to reduce the overhead of intra mode signaling, a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) approach, which may be used by video decoders 124, 300, 400 in decoding video) or Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) (Wang et al.; Fig. 20; [0152]; It teaches about template based intra mode derivation (TIMD)).
Regarding Claim 64 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 62, wherein the processor is further configured to:
retrieve, based on the determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block indicating a transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; It teaches the decoding component 4110 may apply one or more transforms to the current block); and
apply to the chroma block the transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; it teaches that some examples of transforms that may be applied to the block include MTS and/or LFNST).
Regarding Claim 65 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the device of claim 64, wherein the transform process is one or more of Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) ([0385]) or Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Regarding Claim 66 (Currently Amended), Wang et al. teach a method of video encoding ([0201]; Fig. 42, reference numeral 4202; Fig. 2, reference numeral 200) comprising:
obtaining video data (Fig. 3 shows the decoder 300 receiving encoded video bitstream; Fig. 41 shows the decoder 4102 receiving encoded video bitstream 4120);
determining from the video data a chroma block ([0224]; It teaches that the video unit may be a chroma block);
determining, based on the video data, Direct Mode (DM) applies to the chroma block, wherein the chroma block is associated with a luma block, and wherein, for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block ([0224]; it teaches that DIMD component 4114 may employ a chroma derived mode (DM mode) to generate the predictor block for the chroma block. See also [0307]);
retrieving, based on a determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block ([0224]; [0416]-[0417]; it teaches that DM mode may be applied to a chroma block when IPM (Intra Prediction Mode) is derived from luma component or/and the derived IPM is applied to corresponding luma block of the chroma block), the data associated with the luma block indicating a decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block); and
applying to the chroma block the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode ([0224]; it also teaches that the DIMD component 4114 may generate a predictor block for the chroma block from the corresponding luma block).
Although, Wang et al., in [0224], teach generating a predictor block for the luma block from a corresponding chroma block, and in [0307], teach a chroma block and a corresponding luma block, which means the chroma block is associated with a luma block, but it does not explicitly teach that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block.
But Zhu et al., in the same field of endeavor (Abstract), teach a video coding system, where it describes that for DM applied to the chroma block, a prediction mode applied to the luma block is identical to a prediction mode applied to the chroma block (Zhu et al.; [0481], [0482]; In Claims 4, 16 it clearly teaches that when the syntax element intra_chroma_pred_mode specifies that a derived mode (DM) is applied on the current chroma block, and wherein in the DM mode, the chroma component intra mode is identical to the luma component intra mode).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Wang et al’s invention of signaling for decoder side intra mode derivation to include Zhu et al's DM mode coding, because the presented techniques can be used by a decoder of image or video bitstreams to improve the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video or images (Zhu et al.; [0037]).
Regarding Claim 67 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 66,
wherein the decoder side derivation for an intra prediction mode comprises one of Decoder side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) (Wang et al.; [0203]; [0151]; it teaches that to reduce the overhead of intra mode signaling, a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) approach, which may be used by video decoders 124, 300, 400 in decoding video) of Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) (Wang et al.; Fig. 20; [0152]; It teaches about template based intra mode derivation (TIMD)).
Regarding Claim 68 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 66, further comprising:
retrieving, based on the determination DM applies to the chroma block, data associated with the luma block indicating a transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; It teaches the decoding component 4110 may apply one or more transforms to the current block); and
applying to the chroma block the transform process (Wang et al.; Fig. 41; [0228]; [0293]; it teaches that some examples of transforms that may be applied to the block include MTS and/or LFNST).
Regarding Claim 69 (Previously Presented), Wang et al. and Zhu et al. teach the method of claim 68, wherein the transform process comprises one or more of Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) ([0385]) or Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) (Wang et al.; [0385]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 01/06/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR VIDEO CODING” – Zhao et al., US PGPub 2019/0281321 A1.
“METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR INTRA CHROMA CODING IN IMAGE AND VIDEO CODING” – Ye et al., US PGPub 2020/0045322 A1.
“RESTRICTED UPSAMPLING PROCESS IN MATRIX-BASED INTRA PREDICTION” – Deng et al., US PGPub 2022/0014752 A1.
/Mainul Hasan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485