DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-48 canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG YANG ET AL: "Probability-based decoder-side intra mode derivation for VVC", 2021 INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON VISUAL COMMUNICATIONS AND IMAGE PROCESSING (VCIР), IEEE, 5 December 2021 (2021-12-05), pages 1-5, XP034069355,
DOI: 10.1109/VCIP53242.2021.9675443] in view of Heo et al. (US 2024/0388702) (Jin Heo).
Regarding claim 49, Wang discloses a video decoding device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a most probable mode (MPM) list associated with a current block [See III. A and Fig. 1 e.g. the MPM list contains most potential IPMs in the local region. Therefore, all these six IPMs are included in the IPM candidate set]; determine a test list of intra prediction modes from the MPM list [See III. A and Fig. 1 e.g. the MPM list contains most potential IPMs in the local region. Therefore, all these six IPMs are included in the IPM candidate set]; test a first intra prediction mode, wherein the first intra prediction mode is excluded from the test list due to wide-angle intra prediction (WAIP) substitution or disallowed to be tested due to WAIP substitution [See III. A and Figs. 1-2 e.g. Second, considering the statistics of IPMs used in video coding, some IPMs have a higher probability to be used than others. Planar, DC, horizontal mode, and vertical mode is more likely to be used in the intra prediction. In order to contain as many potential IPMs as possible, it is proposed to include these additional 4 highest used IPMs in
the IPM candidate set if they have not been contained.];
Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose generate a prediction for the current block based on the tested intra prediction mode; and decode the current block using the prediction
However, Heo discloses generate a prediction for the current block based on the tested intra prediction mode; and decode the current block using the prediction [See abstract and Paragraphs 50-53, 60-61, 110-115 and Figs. 3A-5 and 19].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 50, 58 and 66, Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the first intra prediction mode being disallowed to be tested due to wide-angle prediction substitution comprises the first intra prediction mode being excluded from the test list
However, Heo discloses wherein the first intra prediction mode being disallowed to be tested due to wide-angle prediction substitution comprises the first intra prediction mode being excluded from the test list [See Paragraphs 50-53 Figs. 3A-5].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 51, 59 and 67, Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: add the tested first intra prediction mode to the MPM list; and decode the current block based on the tested first intra prediction mode
However, Heo discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: add the tested first intra prediction mode to the MPM list; and decode the current block based on the tested first intra prediction mode [See abstract and Paragraphs 121-131].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 52, 60 and 68, Wang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: test a second intra prediction mode, wherein the second intra prediction mode is included in the test list; and generate the prediction for the current block based on the tested first intra prediction mode and the tested second intra prediction mode [See Fig. 1].
Regarding claims 53 and 61, Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the current block is associated with a first shape, and wherein the first intra prediction mode is associated with a second shape, and wherein adjacent sides of the first shape differ in length from one another
However, Heo discloses wherein the current block is associated with a first shape, and wherein the first intra prediction mode is associated with a second shape, and wherein adjacent sides of the first shape differ in length from one another [See Paragraphs144-166 and Figs. 12-13C].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 54 and 62, Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a plurality of indices of intra prediction modes, and wherein the plurality of indices of intra prediction modes is used to generate the prediction for the current block
However, Heo discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a plurality of indices of intra prediction modes, and wherein the plurality of indices of intra prediction modes is used to generate the prediction for the current block [See Paragraphs 50-53, 60-61, 110-115 and Figs. 3A-5 and 19].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 55 and 63, Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: add decoded reference samples of the current block towards above-right side of the current block by at least one column or towards bottom-left side of the current block by at least one row
However, Heo discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: add decoded reference samples of the current block towards above-right side of the current block by at least one column or towards bottom-left side of the current block by at least one row [See Paragraphs 55-64, 134 and 147].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to modify the system disclosed by Wang to add the teachings in Heo as above, to provide a method that enables improving video coding efficiency according to an increase in MPM selection rate [See Heo Paragraphs 6-7].
Regarding claims 56 and 64, Wang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to add at least one decoded reference sample for the first intra prediction mode [See Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 57, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claim 1 above, therefore the ground for rejecting claim l also applies here.
Regarding claim 65, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claim 1 above, therefore the ground for rejecting claim l also applies here.
Conclusion
/TSION B OWENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487