DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 have been cancelled. Claims 7-11 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230042274) in view of Hoglund et al. (US20230122456).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches A terminal that is a second reduced-capability terminal in which a different function is reduced as compared with a first reduced-capability terminal ([0038] “There may be multiple different redcap device types. For instance, the total population of redcap devices may be categorized as a first type of redcap device or a second type of redcap device that is distinct from the first type of redcap device”, [0040] “a redcap device type may be defined based on a maximum bandwidth (e.g., 20 megahertz (MHz) for FR1, 100 MHz for FR2, etc.), [0041] “In another approach, a redcap device type may be defined based on a set of two or more UE complexity reduction features that are supported by the redcap device type”, (Examiner’s Note: For example [0040-41] shows two type of redcap devices, one where there is only based on maximum bandwidth, and another where the redcap device contains two or more reduction features. Examiner is BRI interpreting the two or more reduction feature redcap device type as “different function” is reduce then the first type), the terminal comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from a base station, configuration information of a random access channel that is individually configured for the second reduced- capability terminal ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1. Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3)”, [0068] “contention free random access (e.g., 2-step random access or 4-step random access) relative to the RACH resources defined by RACH-ConfigCommon”) (Examiner’s Note: for example random access preamble ID, grant scheduling == configuration of a random access channel”, [0068] contention free == individually configured, msg2 == received configuration information);
and a transmitting unit configured to transmit a message of a random access procedure to the base station, based on the configuration information ([0053] “ Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3). In 425, the UE 110 transmits Msg3 to the gNB 120A over the PUSCH”, (Examiner’s Note: msg 3 is the transmit a message of random access procedure to the base station, msg2 contains the configuration information),
He does not teach wherein the receiving unit receives a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station.
Hoglund teaches wherein the receiving unit receives a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station ([0077] “it is implicit from the presence of a PRACH partition for RedCap whether the wireless device 22 may use an early RedCap indication in a Msg1 indication or use the early RedCap indication later in Msg3. In one example, the network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, signaling unit 32, etc., may configure separate PRACH resources for RedCap and “legacy” wireless devices 22, where RedCap wireless devices 22, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 84, processor 86, radio interface 82, indication unit 34, etc., may select a PRACH resource from the pool configured for RedCap to indicate it is a RedCap wireless device 22 in Msg1. Msg1 indication may be needed”, (Examiner’s Note: received a configuration == the configuration for PRACH resources for RedCap by network node 16, then the Redcap device uses the PRACH resource from the pool, Msg 1 == Msg 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified of He to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system [0017].
Regarding claim 9, He teaches A base station comprising: a transmitting unit configured to transmit configuration information of a random access channel that is individually configured for a second reduced-capability terminal ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1. Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3)”, (Examiner’s Note: for example random access preamble ID, grant scheduling == configuration of a random access channel”, [0068] “The IE “totalNumberofRA-Preambles-Redcap” represents the total number of preambles used by redcap UEs for contention based and contention free random access (e.g., 2-step random access or 4-step random access) relative to the RACH resources defined by RACH-ConfigCommon”), (Examiner’s Note: contention free == individually) in which a different function is reduced as compared with a first reduced-capability terminal, to the second reduced-capability terminal ([0038] “There may be multiple different redcap device types. For instance, the total population of redcap devices may be categorized as a first type of redcap device or a second type of redcap device that is distinct from the first type of redcap device. Throughout this description, to illustrate the concept of different redcap device types, reference may be made to “redcap device type 1” and “redcap device type 2.” [0040] “a redcap device type may be defined based on a maximum bandwidth (e.g., 20 megahertz (MHz) for FR1, 100 MHz for FR2, etc.), [0041] “In another approach, a redcap device type may be defined based on a set of two or more UE complexity reduction features that are supported by the redcap device type”, (Examiner’s Note: For example [0040-41] shows two type of redcap devices, one where there is only based on maximum bandwidth, and another where the redcap device contains two or more reduction features. Examiner is BRI interpreting the two or more reduction feature redcap device type as “different function” is reduce then the first type);
and a receiving unit configured to receive a message of a random access procedure from the second reduced-capability terminal ([0053] “In 425, the UE 110 transmits Msg3 to the gNB 120A over the PUSCH”),
He does not teach wherein the transmitting unit transmits a configuration related to an early indication via Msgl to the second reduced-capability terminal.
Hoglund teaches wherein the transmitting unit transmits a configuration related to an early indication via Msg 1 to the second reduced-capability terminal ([0077] “it is implicit from the presence of a PRACH partition for RedCap whether the wireless device 22 may use an early RedCap indication in a Msg1 indication or use the early RedCap indication later in Msg3. In one example, the network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, signaling unit 32, etc., may configure separate PRACH resources for RedCap and “legacy” wireless devices 22, where RedCap wireless devices 22, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 84, processor 86, radio interface 82, indication unit 34, etc., may select a PRACH resource from the pool configured for RedCap to indicate it is a RedCap wireless device 22 in Msg1. Msg1 indication may be needed”, (Examiner’s Note: a configuration == the configuration for PRACH resources for RedCap by network node 16, then the Redcap device uses the PRACH resource from the pool, Msg 1 == Msg 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified of He to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system [0017].
Regarding claim 10, He teaches A communication system comprising: a base station; and a terminal ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1”),
wherein the base station includes: a transmitting unit configured to transmit configuration information of a random access channel that is individually configured for a second reduced-capability terminal ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1. Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3)”, (Examiner’s Note: for example random access preamble ID, grant scheduling == configuration of a random access channel”, [0068] “The IE “totalNumberofRA-Preambles-Redcap” represents the total number of preambles used by redcap UEs for contention based and contention free random access (e.g., 2-step random access or 4-step random access) relative to the RACH resources defined by RACH-ConfigCommon”), (Examiner’s Note: contention free == individually) in which a different function is reduced as compared with a first reduced-capability terminal, to the second reduced-capability terminal ([0038] “There may be multiple different redcap device types. For instance, the total population of redcap devices may be categorized as a first type of redcap device or a second type of redcap device that is distinct from the first type of redcap device. Throughout this description, to illustrate the concept of different redcap device types, reference may be made to “redcap device type 1” and “redcap device type 2.” [0040] “a redcap device type may be defined based on a maximum bandwidth (e.g., 20 megahertz (MHz) for FR1, 100 MHz for FR2, etc.), [0041] “In another approach, a redcap device type may be defined based on a set of two or more UE complexity reduction features that are supported by the redcap device type”, (Examiner’s Note: For example [0040-41] shows two type of redcap devices, one where there is only based on maximum bandwidth, and another where the redcap device contains two or more reduction features. Examiner is BRI interpreting the two or more reduction feature redcap device type as “different function” is reduce then the first type”);
and a receiving unit configured to receive a message of a random access procedure from the second reduced-capability terminal ([0053] “In 425, the UE 110 transmits Msg3 to the gNB 120A over the PUSCH”),
and the terminal is the second reduced-capability terminal ([0038] “There may be multiple different redcap device types. For instance, the total population of redcap devices may be categorized as a first type of redcap device or a second type of redcap device that is distinct from the first type of redcap device. Throughout this description, to illustrate the concept of different redcap device types, reference may be made to “redcap device type 1” and “redcap device type 2.”) and includes:a receiving unit configured to receive the configuration information from the base station ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1. Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3)”, (Examiner’s Note: for example random access preamble ID, grant scheduling == configuration of a random access channel”, [0068] “The IE “totalNumberofRA-Preambles-Redcap” represents the total number of preambles used by redcap UEs for contention based and contention free random access (e.g., 2-step random access or 4-step random access) relative to the RACH resources defined by RACH-ConfigCommon”));
and a transmitting unit configured to transmit a message of a random access procedure to the base station, based on the configuration information ([0053] “ Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3). In 425, the UE 110 transmits Msg3 to the gNB 120A over the PUSCH”),
He does not teach wherein the transmitting unit transmits a configuration related to an early indication via Msgl to the second reduced-capability terminal, wherein the receiving unit receives a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station.
Hoglund teaches wherein the transmitting unit transmits a configuration related to an early indication via Msgl to the second reduced-capability terminal ([0077] “it is implicit from the presence of a PRACH partition for RedCap whether the wireless device 22 may use an early RedCap indication in a Msg1 indication or use the early RedCap indication later in Msg3. In one example, the network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, signaling unit 32, etc., may configure separate PRACH resources for RedCap and “legacy” wireless devices 22, where RedCap wireless devices 22, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 84, processor 86, radio interface 82, indication unit 34, etc., may select a PRACH resource from the pool configured for RedCap to indicate it is a RedCap wireless device 22 in Msg1. Msg1 indication may be needed”, (Examiner’s Note: a configuration == the configuration for PRACH resources for RedCap by network node 16, then the Redcap device uses the PRACH resource from the pool, Msg 1 == Msg 1),
wherein the receiving unit receives a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station ([0077] “it is implicit from the presence of a PRACH partition for RedCap whether the wireless device 22 may use an early RedCap indication in a Msg1 indication or use the early RedCap indication later in Msg3. In one example, the network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, signaling unit 32, etc., may configure separate PRACH resources for RedCap and “legacy” wireless devices 22, where RedCap wireless devices 22, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 84, processor 86, radio interface 82, indication unit 34, etc., may select a PRACH resource from the pool configured for RedCap to indicate it is a RedCap wireless device 22 in Msg1. Msg1 indication may be needed”, (Examiner’s Note: received a configuration == the configuration for PRACH resources for RedCap by network node 16, then the Redcap device uses the PRACH resource from the pool, Msg1 == Msg 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified of He to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system [0017].
Regarding claim 11, He teaches A communication method performed by a second reduced-capability terminal in which a different function is reduced as compared with a first reduced-capability terminal ([0038] “There may be multiple different redcap device types. For instance, the total population of redcap devices may be categorized as a first type of redcap device or a second type of redcap device that is distinct from the first type of redcap device. Throughout this description, to illustrate the concept of different redcap device types, reference may be made to “redcap device type 1” and “redcap device type 2.” [0040] “a redcap device type may be defined based on a maximum bandwidth (e.g., 20 megahertz (MHz) for FR1, 100 MHz for FR2, etc.), [0041] “In another approach, a redcap device type may be defined based on a set of two or more UE complexity reduction features that are supported by the redcap device type”, (Examiner’s Note: For example [0040-41] shows two type of redcap devices, one where there is only based on maximum bandwidth, and another where the redcap device contains two or more reduction features. Examiner is BRI interpreting the two or more reduction feature redcap device type as “different function” is reduce then the first type”),
the communication method comprising:receiving, from a base station, configuration information of a random access channel that is individually configured for the second reduced-capability terminal ([0053] “In 420, the gNB 120A may transmit Msg2 to the UE 110 in response to Msg1. Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3)”, (Examiner’s Note: for example random access preamble ID, grant scheduling == configuration of a random access channel”, [0068] “The IE “totalNumberofRA-Preambles-Redcap” represents the total number of preambles used by redcap UEs for contention based and contention free random access (e.g., 2-step random access or 4-step random access) relative to the RACH resources defined by RACH-ConfigCommon”));
and transmitting a message of a random access procedure to the base station, based on the configuration information ([0053] “ Msg2 may comprise a random access response (RAR) which may include a random access preamble ID (RAPID), a temporary RNTI and an uplink grant scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (e.g., Msg3). In 425, the UE 110 transmits Msg3 to the gNB 120A over the PUSCH”).
He does not teach receiving a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station.
Hoglund teaches receiving a configuration related to an early indication via Msg1 from the base station ([0077] “it is implicit from the presence of a PRACH partition for RedCap whether the wireless device 22 may use an early RedCap indication in a Msg1 indication or use the early RedCap indication later in Msg3. In one example, the network node 16, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 68, processor 70, radio interface 62, signaling unit 32, etc., may configure separate PRACH resources for RedCap and “legacy” wireless devices 22, where RedCap wireless devices 22, such as via one or more of processing circuitry 84, processor 86, radio interface 82, indication unit 34, etc., may select a PRACH resource from the pool configured for RedCap to indicate it is a RedCap wireless device 22 in Msg1. Msg1 indication may be needed”, (Examiner’s Note: received a configuration == the configuration for PRACH resources for RedCap by network node 16, then the Redcap device uses the PRACH resource from the pool, Msg 1 == Msg 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified of He to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system [0017].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Hoglund et al. (US20230284131 herein after Hoglund2).
Regarding claim 8, He teaches wherein, as a second reduced-capability terminal, the terminal supports a relaxed processing timeline for [0018] “relaxed processing time compared to legacy NR devices and relaxed processing capability compared to legacy NR devices”, Examiner’s Note: He does not specify a PDSCH but does state relaxed processing time),
supports a reduced peak data rate in FR1 (Frequency Range 1) ([0039] “ redcap device type based on one or more UE complexity reduction features. UE complexity reduction features may include, but are not limited to, a maximum bandwidth”),
supports one or two receiving branches ([0047] “A first reserved bit may serve as a RedcapCellBarred IE for redcap device type 1 and a second reserved bit may serve as a RedcapCellBarred IE for redcap device type 2. In another example, when a redcap device type may be equipped with either 1-RX antenna branch or 2-RX branches, a first reserved bit may serve as a RedcapCellBarred IE for a redcap device type with 1-RX antenna branch and a second reserved bit may serve as a RedcapCellBarred IE for a redcap device type with 2-RX antenna branches”),
supports a maximum number of DL (Downlink) - MIMO (Multiple Input Multiple Output) layers corresponding to a number of supported receiving branches ([0039] “a number of receive (RX) antenna branches, a maximum number of downlink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers”),
He, Hoglund does not teach PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel), and does not support carrier aggregation and dual connectivity.
Hoglund2 teaches PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) ([0004] “ relaxed UE processing time”, [0014] “a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) if UEs will only select the cell when in normal coverage”), and does not support carrier aggregation and dual connectivity.([0005] “A RedCap UE will have 20 MHz device bandwidth in Frequency Range 1 (FR1), whereas non-RedCap UEs must in principle support at least 100 MHz (and similarly with 100 MHz vs 200 MHz in Frequency Range 2 (FR2)). In addition, RedCap UEs will not support ‘dual connectivity’ or ‘carrier aggregation’. RedCap UEs may optionally support fewer receiver (RX) branches, e.g. 1 or 2”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of He, Hoglund to incorporate the teachings of Hoglund2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize the performance requirement on the UE.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411