Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 & 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roizin et al. (US 9917104B1) [Hereinafter Roizin].
Regarding claim 16, Roizin teaches A phase change material switch device, comprising:
a phase change material [fig. 3B, chalcogenide glass member 125B, para 40]; and
a heater device [fig. 3B, switch 100] including a transistor [fig. 3B, MOS transistor 110B, para 40] thermally coupled to the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B),
wherein the transistor (fig. 3B, 110B) is configured to be controlled to:
be at least partially switched on in a first state [para 36-37],
where current is applied to the transistor for heating the phase change material [para 36-37];
and be switched off in a second state outside heating phases of the heater device [para 36-37].
Regarding claim 17, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16,
wherein the transistor (fig. 3B, 110B) comprises a MOSFET [para 40].
Regarding claim 24, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16,
wherein in a top view, a part of the transistor (fig. 3B, 110B) causing a second electrical resistance in the second state partially covers a same area as the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B; wherein from top view the drain side of the transistor overlaps the phase change material), and
contact regions [fig. 3B; wherein the contact region is the area where the drain transistor connects to the phase change material] adjacent to the part with lower resistance are outside an area covered by an amorphous region of the phase change material in a switched off state of the phase change material switch device and/or in a same area as at least one electrical conductor [fig. 3B, metallization structure 109B-1] galvanically coupled to the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B).
Regarding claim 25, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16, further comprising
at least one electrical conductor [fig. 3B, metallization structure 109B-1, para 40] galvanically coupled to the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B),
wherein a capacitance caused by the heater device is lower in the second state than in the first state [para 36-37].
Regarding claim 26, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16,
wherein the heater device (fig. 3B, 110B) is provided adjacent to the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B) and separated from the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B) by an electrically isolating material [fig. 3B, dielectric layer 107B-1, para 40] between the heater device (fig. 3B, 110B) and the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B).
Regarding claim 27, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16, further comprising
a high-ohmic network between the transistor (fig. 3B, 110B) and a driver [gate voltage, para 36] configured to control the transistor (fig. 3B, 110B).
Regarding claim 28, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16, further comprising
a further device coupled in series with the heater device,
wherein the further device is capable of being switched off [para 38, discloses , “In addition, the switches shown in FIGS. 3(A) and 3(B) are depicted using only one MOS transistor and only one parallel-connected PCM cell group for brevity, and that each switch may include any number of MOS transistors and parallel-connected PCM cell groups.” Furthermore para 36-37 describes the operation illustrating the ability of switched “OFF” states. Thereby meeting the claim limitation.] .
Regarding claim 29, Roizin teaches A method of operating a phase change material switch device, the phase change material switch device comprising
a phase change material [fig. 3B, chalcogenide glass member 125B, para 40] and
a heater device [fig. 3B, switch 100] including a transistor [fig. 3B, MOS transistor 110B, para 40] thermally coupled to the phase change material (fig. 3B, 125B), the method comprising:
switching a state of the phase change material switch device by setting the transistor to a first state where the transistor is at least partially switched on and providing current through the heater device for heating the phase change material [para 36-37]; and
setting the transistor to a second state where the transistor is switched off outside heating phases of the heater device [para 36-37].
Regarding claim 30, Roizin teaches The method of claim 29, further comprising providing a radio frequency signal to the phase change material switch device [para 30 discloses “switch 100 is disposed in a signal path . . . and functions to selectively transmit (or block) RF signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roizin as applied to claims 16-17 & 24-30 and further in view of Oh (US 2015/0214362) [Hereinafter Oh].
Regarding claim 18, Roizin teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 16.
Roizin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the transistor is at least partially disposed in at least one trench formed in a substrate.
However, Oh teaches wherein the transistor [fig. 2, transistor 200, para 37] is at least partially disposed in at least one trench formed in a substrate [fig. 2, trench 205, para 38].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the transistor to be partially disposed in a trench formed in a substrate to form a vertical architectural layout to optimize physical space of the device thereby enabling high density IC devices as desired in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Roizin/Oh teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 18,
wherein one or more control electrodes [Oh, fig. 2A, buried gate electrode 207, para 41] of the transistor (Oh, fig. 2A, fig. 2A, 200) are provided in the at least one trench (Oh, fig. 2A, 205).
Regarding claim 20, Roizin/Oh teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 19,
wherein the one or more control electrodes (Oh, fig. 2A, 207) are surrounded by an electrically isolating material [Oh, fig. 2A, gate dielectric layer 206, para 40].
Regarding claim 21, Roizin/Oh teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 20,
wherein the electrically isolating material (Oh, fig. 2A, 2026 extends to a depth from a surface of the substrate (Oh, fig. 2A, 201) which is at least 1.3 times a depth of a lower end of the one or more control electrodes [Oh, fig. 2A, electrode 212, para 41] from the surface of the substrate (Oh, fig. 2A, 201).
Regarding claim 22, Roizin/Oh teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 20,
wherein a width of the electrically isolating material below [Oh, annotated fig. 2A] the one or more control electrodes is greater than a width of the electrically isolating material surrounding the one or more control electrodes [Oh, annotated fig. 2A].
ANNOTATED FIG. 2A
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roizin & Oh as applied to claims 18-22 and further in view of Wu (US 2009/0184357).
Regarding claim 23, Roizin/Oh teaches The phase change material switch device of claim 18.
Roizin/Oh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one trench is formed in a semiconductor layer separated from a bulk substrate by an electrical insulator layer.
However, Wu teaches wherein the at least one trench [fig. 5, trench 104, para 31] is formed in a semiconductor layer [fig. 5, semiconductor layer 103, para 32] separated from a bulk substrate [fig. 5, substrate 101, para 19] by an electrical insulator layer [fig. 5, insulating layer 102, para 19].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the trench to form in a semiconductor layer which is separated from a bulk substrate by an insulator layer to maximize capacitance per unit area by utilizing vertical dimension minimizing the footprint thereby enabling high packing density of the device.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812