DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s communication received on 10/08/2024 for application number 18/855,186. The Office herby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and claims.
2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Preliminary Amendments
4. The preliminary amendments filed 10/08/2024 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 41, 47, 53, 57 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Claims 41, 47, 53, 57, the claim recites “a prediction model” is not clear since it can be construed as any other type of prediction model which is not supported in the specification.
Re. Claims 41, 47, 53, 57, the claim recites “a adjustment model” is not clear since it can be construed as any other type of adjustment model which is not supported in the specification.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 41-43, 47-49, 53-55 and 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiang Ma [EP 3883245 B1].
Re. Claim 41, Xiang Ma [EP 3883245 B1] discloses:
A video decoding device [Fig.3 Decoder 30], comprising: a processor [Processor for execution instructions, implementing block predictions |0056] configured to: obtain a prediction model for predicting a coding block [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter and the luma reconstruction information corresponding to the target chroma block. |0007-0008];
select an adjustment model, from a plurality of adjustment models, for adjusting the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
adjust the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to adjusting the prediction model |0007-0008];
and decode the coding block based on the adjusted prediction model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to the decoding of a block |0007-0008].
Re. Claim 42, Xiang Ma discloses:
The device of claim 41, wherein the processor is further configured to: derive a slope and an offset of the prediction model based on reconstructed samples neighboring the coding block [ The offset factor in the intra prediction model parameter corresponding to the target chroma block is determined based on the scaling coefficient, the second chroma value, a target value of the normalized shift parameter, and the minimum luma value.|0025], wherein adjusting the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model comprises adjusting at least one of the slope or the offset of the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [where the first chroma value and the second chroma value are determined based on the neighboring samples of the target chroma block", corresponding to deriving a slope and offset of the prediction model based on neighboring reconstructed samples, and adjusting slope or offset based on the adjustment model| 0008, 0025].
Re. Claim 43, Xiang Ma discloses:
The device of claim 41, wherein the prediction model comprises a cross component prediction model [A cross-component prediction mode (CCP) is also referred to as a cross-component intra prediction mode (CCIP) or a cross component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode |0174], and the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model based on neighboring chroma samples and luma samples of the coding block [a plurality of parameters is determined based on neighboring luma and chroma samples |0174, Fig. 8], wherein a first adjustment model and a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models are configured to adjust the plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model differently [a chroma intra prediction method that uses texture correlation between luma and chroma. LM uses a reconstructed luma component to derive a prediction value of a current chroma block according to the linear model, wherein an equation
predCij=α∗reciLij+β
, where α and β are both linear model coefficients, α is a scaling coefficient, β is an offset factor, predC (i, j) is a prediction value of chroma samples at a position (i, j), and recL'(i,j) is a luma reconstruction sample value at the position (i, j) |0174 Fig. 8].
Re. Claim 47, Xiang Ma discloses:
A method for a video decoder [Fig.3 Decoder 30], method comprising: obtaining a prediction model for predicting a coding block [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter and the luma reconstruction information corresponding to the target chroma block. |0007-0008];
selecting an adjustment model, from a plurality of adjustment models, for adjusting the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
adjusting the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to adjusting the prediction model |0007-0008];
and decoding the coding block based on the adjusted prediction model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to the decoding of a block |0007-0008].
Re. Claim 48, Xiang Ma discloses:
The method of claim 47, wherein the method further comprises: deriving a slope and an offset of the prediction model based on reconstructed samples neighboring the coding block [ The offset factor in the intra prediction model parameter corresponding to the target chroma block is determined based on the scaling coefficient, the second chroma value, a target value of the normalized shift parameter, and the minimum luma value.|0025], wherein adjusting the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model comprises adjusting at least one of the slope or the offset of the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [where the first chroma value and the second chroma value are determined based on the neighboring samples of the target chroma block", corresponding to deriving a slope and offset of the prediction model based on neighboring reconstructed samples, and adjusting slope or offset based on the adjustment model| 0008, 0025].
Re, Claim 49, Xiang Ma discloses:
The method of claim 47, wherein the prediction model comprises a cross component prediction model [A cross-component prediction mode (CCP) is also referred to as a cross-component intra prediction mode (CCIP) or a cross component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode |0174], and the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model based on neighboring chroma samples and luma samples of the coding block [a plurality of parameters is determined based on neighboring luma and chroma samples |0174, Fig. 8], wherein a first adjustment model and a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models are configured to adjust the plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model differently [a chroma intra prediction method that uses texture correlation between luma and chroma. LM uses a reconstructed luma component to derive a prediction value of a current chroma block according to the linear model, wherein an equation
predCij=α∗reciLij+β
, where α and β are both linear model coefficients, α is a scaling coefficient, β is an offset factor, predC (i, j) is a prediction value of chroma samples at a position (i, j), and recL'(i,j) is a luma reconstruction sample value at the position (i, j) |0174 Fig. 8].
Re. Claim 53, Xiang Ma discloses:
A video encoding [Fig. 2 encoder 20] device, comprising: a processor [Processor for execution instructions, implementing block predictions |0056] configured to: obtain a prediction model for predicting a coding block [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter and the luma reconstruction information corresponding to the target chroma block. |0007-0008];
select an adjustment model, from a plurality of adjustment models, for adjusting the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
adjust the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to adjusting the prediction model |0007-0008];
and encode the coding block based on the adjusted prediction model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to the encoding of a block |0007-0008].
Re. Claim 54, Xiang Ma discloses:
The device of claim 53, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the plurality of adjustment models configured to adjust the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
for a first adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models [ |0244], compute a first difference between sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the first adjustment model [a difference between the maximum luma value
and the minimum luma value, namely, the first difference, may be determined |0198];
and for a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models, compute a second difference between the sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the second adjustment model ["where a is the scaling coefficient,
diff is the second difference, max C is the first chroma value, mine is 11, the second chroma value, |0244], wherein the adjustment model is selected based at least on comparing the first difference and the second difference [computing a [first/second] difference between sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the [first/second] adjustment model|0198, 0244].
Re. Claim 55, Xiang Ma discloses:
The device of claim 53, wherein the prediction model comprises a cross component prediction model [A cross-component prediction mode (CCP) is also referred to as a cross-component intra prediction mode (CCIP) or a cross component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode |0174], and the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model based on neighboring chroma samples and luma samples of the coding block [a plurality of parameters is determined based on neighboring luma and chroma samples |0174, Fig. 8], wherein a first adjustment model and a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models are configured to adjust the plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model differently [a chroma intra prediction method that uses texture correlation between luma and chroma. LM uses a reconstructed luma component to derive a prediction value of a current chroma block according to the linear model, wherein an equation
predCij=α∗reciLij+β
, where α and β are both linear model coefficients, α is a scaling coefficient, β is an offset factor, predC (i, j) is a prediction value of chroma samples at a position (i, j), and recL'(i,j) is a luma reconstruction sample value at the position (i, j) |0174 Fig. 8].
Re. Claim 57, Xiang Ma discloses:
A method for a video encoder [Fig. 2 encoder 20], the method comprising: obtaining a prediction model for predicting a coding block [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on the determined intra prediction model parameter and the luma reconstruction information corresponding to the target chroma block. |0007-0008];
selecting an adjustment model, from a plurality of adjustment models, for adjusting the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
adjusting the prediction model based on the selected adjustment model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to adjusting the prediction model |0007-0008];
and encoding the coding block based on the adjusted prediction model [the prediction information of the target chroma block is determined based on determined intra prediction model parameter corresponding to adjusting the prediction model |0007-0008].
Re. Claim 58, Xiang Ma discloses:
The method of claim 57, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain the plurality of adjustment models configured to adjust the prediction model [Intra prediction model includes a scaling coefficient and offset factor that corresponds with the selection and adjustment model |0007-0008];
for a first adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models [ |0244], compute a first difference between sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the first adjustment model [a difference between the maximum luma value
and the minimum luma value, namely, the first difference, may be determined |0198];
and for a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models, compute a second difference between the sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the second adjustment model ["where a is the scaling coefficient,
diff is the second difference, max C is the first chroma value, mine is 11, the second chroma value, |0244], wherein the adjustment model is selected based at least on comparing the first difference and the second difference [computing a [first/second] difference between sample values of the coding block and predicted sample values that are predicted based on the [first/second] adjustment model|0198, 0244].
Re. Claim 59, Xiang Ma discloses:
The method of claim 57,wherein the prediction model comprises a cross component prediction model [A cross-component prediction mode (CCP) is also referred to as a cross-component intra prediction mode (CCIP) or a cross component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode |0174], and the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model based on neighboring chroma samples and luma samples of the coding block [a plurality of parameters is determined based on neighboring luma and chroma samples |0174, Fig. 8], wherein a first adjustment model and a second adjustment model of the plurality of adjustment models are configured to adjust the plurality of parameters of the cross component prediction model differently [a chroma intra prediction method that uses texture correlation between luma and chroma. LM uses a reconstructed luma component to derive a prediction value of a current chroma block according to the linear model, wherein an equation
predCij=α∗reciLij+β
, where α and β are both linear model coefficients, α is a scaling coefficient, β is an offset factor, predC (i, j) is a prediction value of chroma samples at a position (i, j), and recL'(i,j) is a luma reconstruction sample value at the position (i, j) |0174 Fig. 8].
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 44-46, 50-52, 56 and 60 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HOWARD D. BROWN JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/HOWARD D BROWN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2488