2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 12-15, 17-21, 25, 26 & 29 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Bai et al (Pub No. US 2021/0051602).
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: retrieving, by the first UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: UE 155-o receive and determine power control parameter info for side-link) & (Para. Para. 98-101 & 132); and transmitting, by the first UE to a second UE, at least one indicator based on the first information (Fig. 5 & Para. 98-101 & 132-133: UE 115-o transmit message regarding power configuration- indicator/ parameter to a 2nd UE) & (Para. 127-130).
Regarding claim 2 & 18, Bai remains as applied above and continue to discloses receiving, by the first UE from the second UE, a transmission from the second UE, wherein transmitting the at least one indicator is based on receiving the transmission (Fig. 5: Power control configuration indication & Para. 98-101 & 132-133).
Regarding claim 3 & 19, Bai remains as applied above and continue to discloses the transmission comprises a request for the at least one indicator (Fig. 5 & Para. 127-133).
Regarding claim 4 & 14 & 20 & 29, Bai discloses determining, by the first UE in response to receiving the transmission, that the second UE is in a first cluster along with the first UE, wherein transmitting the at least one indicator is based on determining that the second UE is in the first cluster along with the first UE (Fig. 2 & 5: power configuration and transmit indicator) & (Para. 67 & 110 & 125: Group & coverage area corresponds to the cluster).
Regarding claim 5 & 15 & 21, Bai discloses determining, by the first UE in response to receiving the transmission, that the second UE is in a first zone along with the first UE, wherein transmitting the at least one indicator is based on determining that the second UE is in the first zone along with the first UE (Fig. 2: UE group & 5: power configuration and transmit indicator) & (Para. 67 & 110 & 125 & 137: Group corresponds to the cluster & coverage area corresponds to the).
. Regarding claim 9 & 25, Bai discloses receiving, by the first UE from a third UE, a second power control configuration; and transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a second indicator based on the second power control configuration (Fig. 5) & (Abstract & Para. 57: power control parameter includes- DL pathloss, compensation factor, target receives power).
Regarding claim 10, Bai discloses a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, from a first UE at a second UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: UE receives power control information for a sidelink) & (Para. 128-130); and transmitting, by the second UE, on the sidelink transmission according to the first information regarding power control for the sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: power control configuration shared by multiple UEs & Para. Para. 98-101 & 128-133).
Regarding claim 12, Bai discloses transmitting, by the second UE, a notification of a presence of the second UE (Fig. 5 & Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Bai discloses transmitting, by the second UE, a request for the first information (Fig. 5 & Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Bai discloses first user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code (Fig. 9: Device-905 with code-930); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 9: Processor-935 & memory-925), the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations including: retrieving, by the first UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: UE 155-o receive and determine power control parameter info for side-link) & (Para. Para. 98-101 & 132); and transmitting, by the first UE to a second UE, at least one indicator based on the first information (Fig. 5 & Para. 98-101 & 132-133: UE 115-o transmit message regarding power configuration/ parameter to a 2nd UE) & (Para. 127-130).
Regarding claim 26, Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 9: Processor-935 & memory-925 & code-930) including: receiving, from a first UE at a second UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: UE receives power control information for a sidelink) & (Para. 128-130); and transmitting, by the second UE, on the sidelink transmission according to the first information regarding power control for the sidelink transmission (Fig. 5: power control configuration shared by multiple UEs & Para. Para. 98-101 & 128-133).
Regarding claim 28, Bai discloses transmitting, by the second UE, a request for the first information (Fig. 5 & Abstract).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 16, 17, 22, 23, 26 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU et al (Pub No. 2022/0039021) and further in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2022/0159588).
Regarding claim 1, RYU et al discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: retrieving, by the first UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 4-5: Sidelink pathloss measurement and power setting) & (Para. 83 & 40-41 & 28: TPC command between 1st & 2nd UEs); transmitting, by the first UE to a second UE, based on the first information (Fig. 4-5: Sidelink transmission) & (Para. 83 & 89-90).
RYU does not explicitly elaborate about transmitting at least one indicator based on the first information.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang discloses transmitting at least one indicator based on the first information (Para. 37 & Para. 42. Ttransmit power of the sidelink and uplink are predefined or indicated by using indication information, so that the actual transmit power of the sidelink and uplink can be quickly determined) & (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the sidelink power control system of Wang’s disclosure with the transmission power control system, as taught by RYU. Doing so would have resulted in improved signal receiving system in the sidelink communication while lowering interference in the system.
Regarding claim 6 & 22, RYU et al discloses a power control parameter stored by the first UE (Para. 179 & 182: power value/ power control- CLPC stored).
Regarding claim 7 & 16 & 23 & 30, RYU et al discloses the power control parameter comprises at least one of a sidelink transmit power, a downlink pathloss value, an uplink pathloss value an indicator of a transmit power strategy, or a default power behavior (Para. 35 & 72: Path loss information).
Regarding claim 10, RYU discloses a method of wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, from a first UE at a second UE, first information regarding power control for a sidelink transmission (Fig. 4-5: Sidelink pathloss measurement and power setting) & (Para. 83 & 40-41 & 28: TPC command between 1st & 2nd UEs) and transmitting, by the second UE, on the sidelink transmission according to the first information regarding power control for the sidelink transmission (Fig. 4: Sidelink transmission based on TPC command) & (Para. 83 & 89-90).
RYU does not explicitly elaborate about transmitting at least one indicator based on the first information.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang discloses transmitting at least one indicator based on the first information (Para. 37 & Para. 42. Ttransmit power of the sidelink and uplink are predefined or indicated by using indication information, so that the actual transmit power of the sidelink and uplink can be quickly determined) & (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the sidelink power control system of Wang’s disclosure with the transmission power control system, as taught by RYU. Doing so would have resulted in improved signal receiving system in the sidelink communication while lowering interference in the system.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 26, Claim 26 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Claims 8 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU et al (Pub No. 2022/0039021), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2022/0159588) and further in view of Hwang et al (Pub No. 2020/0322897).
Regarding claim 8 & 24, RYU et al is silent regarding the first UE comprises a roadside unit (RSU)-type UE, and wherein transmitting the at least one indicator comprises transmitting, by the RSU-type UE, a beacon comprising the at least one indicator.
Hwang et al discloses the first UE comprises a roadside unit (RSU)-type UE (Para. 42: roadside unit), and wherein transmitting the at least one indicator comprises transmitting, by the RSU-type UE, a beacon comprising the at least one indicator (Para. 76-78: Power control groupcast pilot) & (Para. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power control beacon information to adjust power in the communication system for robust wireless system.
Claims 11 & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU et al (Pub No. 2022/0039021), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2022/0159588) and further in view of Baek et al (Pub No. 2023/0101824).
Regarding claim 11 & 27, RYU et al is silent regarding the sidelink transmission comprises transmitting a positioning reference signal.
Baek discloses the sidelink transmission comprises transmitting a positioning reference signal (Para. 19-20: position reference signals on sidelink channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the position reference signals to determine the device position in the power control configuration.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648