DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filled on 08/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 10-19, and 22 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites the limitation “the at least one sensor disposed directly on a circumferential surface of the core wire of the hypo tube” should read “the at least one sensor disposed directly on a circumferential surface of the core wire or the hypo tube”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linder et al. (US 2021/0290059) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure).
Regarding claim 1, Linder teaches a guidewire comprising (para. 0030; a guidewire system 100 ):
an elongated element comprising a core wire or a hypo tube (paras. 0030 and 0032; The guidewire system 100 includes a wire 102 that is routable through a proximal device 104. The “wire” of the guidewire system 100 refers to the solid wire element that forms the backbone of the guidewire system 100. The term “wire”, when used in the context of the guidewire system 100, is therefore intended to refer to a structure that has sufficient characteristics of torqueability, pushability, and stiffness/flexibility to be navigable within a body (e.g., capable of being positioned within an intraluminal space such as the vasculature). Such a “wire” element is sometimes referred to in the art as a “core”, “core wire”, or the like. );
at least one sensor, the at least one sensor disposed directly on a circumferential surface of the core wire of the hypo tube (paras. 0056-0057; FIG. 3B illustrates an expanded view of the distal section of the guidewire system 100 of FIG. 3A, showing various sensors arranged thereon. In this embodiment, the one or more sensors 121, 220 include multiple pressure sensors 120 and ultrasound sensors 122. These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The substrate 124 may be made of a somewhat flexible material (e.g., a suitable medical grade polymer) that allows wrapping, winding, or otherwise positioning the substrate 124 onto the wire 102. One will appreciate, however, that in at least one embodiment, the various sensors can be directly placed on the 3-dimensional wire 102 without the benefit of a 2-dimensional substrate 124. Alternatively, the various sensors can be placed on the substrate after the substrate has been applied to the 3-dimensional wire 102.); and
at least one processor disposed on the elongated element and in electrical communication with the at least one sensor (paras. 0055 and 0076; Additionally, the medical device, which includes the elongated conductive member, may also comprise one or more electrical components that are physically configured such that when activated, the one or more electrical components cause the medical device system to perform various actions. As used herein, the one or more electrical components may comprise discrete circuit components, digital circuit components, analog circuit components, processor(s), or any combination thereof. The one or more electrical components may be integrated within control unit 112 or 212, within the external device 110, and/or on the elongated member.).
However, Linder fails to explicitly teach that the sensors comprise piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less (second page, left col and table; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques and requires very low temperatures for curing (< 100 °C). The acoustic impedance is 13.9 MRyal).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the sensors of Linder to include the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), lower production cost, and compatibility with most of the commercially available printing techniques as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, PiezoPaint piezoelectric material has high flexibility and can be applied to different sized and shaped surfaces which will allow it to conform to the surface of the core wire.
Regarding claim 2, Linder teaches the guidewire of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors disposed circumferentially about a portion of the elongated element (fig. 3B, para. 0056; These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The substrate 124 may be made of a somewhat flexible material (e.g., a suitable medical grade polymer) that allows wrapping, winding, or otherwise positioning the substrate 124 onto the wire 102.).
Regarding claim 10, Linder teaches the guidewire of claim 1, further comprising a polymer film is disposed on the core wire or the hypo tube (para. 0056; These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The substrate 124 may be made of a somewhat flexible material (e.g., a suitable medical grade polymer) that allows wrapping, winding, or otherwise positioning the substrate 124 onto the wire 102. ).
Regarding claim 11, Linder teaches the wherein the elongated element of the guidewire has an outer diameter less than 0.034 inches (para. 0036; The wire 102 may have a size such that the outer diameter (e.g., after application of other outer members) is about 0.008 inches to about 0.040 inches, though larger or smaller sizes may also be utilized depending on particular application needs. For example, particular embodiments may have outer diameter sizes corresponding to standard guidewire sizes such as 0.010 inches, 0.014 inches, 0.016 inches, 0.018 inches, 0.024 inches, 0.035 inches, 0.038 inches, or other such sizes common to guidewire devices.).
Regarding claim 12, Linder teaches a method of configuring and operating a medical device, the method comprising:
providing a guidewire having an elongated body comprising a core wire or a hypo tube (paras. 0030 and 0032; The guidewire system 100 includes a wire 102 that is routable through a proximal device 104. The “wire” of the guidewire system 100 refers to the solid wire element that forms the backbone of the guidewire system 100. The term “wire”, when used in the context of the guidewire system 100, is therefore intended to refer to a structure that has sufficient characteristics of torqueability, pushability, and stiffness/flexibility to be navigable within a body (e.g., capable of being positioned within an intraluminal space such as the vasculature). Such a “wire” element is sometimes referred to in the art as a “core”, “core wire”, or the like. );
positioning at least one sensor directly along a circumferential surface of the core wire of the hypo tube (paras. 0056-0057; FIG. 3B illustrates an expanded view of the distal section of the guidewire system 100 of FIG. 3A, showing various sensors arranged thereon. In this embodiment, the one or more sensors 121, 220 include multiple pressure sensors 120 and ultrasound sensors 122. These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The substrate 124 may be made of a somewhat flexible material (e.g., a suitable medical grade polymer) that allows wrapping, winding, or otherwise positioning the substrate 124 onto the wire 102. One will appreciate, however, that in at least one embodiment, the various sensors can be directly placed on the 3-dimensional wire 102 without the benefit of a 2-dimensional substrate 124. Alternatively, the various sensors can be placed on the substrate after the substrate has been applied to the 3-dimensional wire 102.);
disposing at least one processor on the elongated body and placing the at least one processor in electrical communication with the at least one sensor (paras. 0055 and 0076; Additionally, the medical device, which includes the elongated conductive member, may also comprise one or more electrical components that are physically configured such that when activated, the one or more electrical components cause the medical device system to perform various actions. As used herein, the one or more electrical components may comprise discrete circuit components, digital circuit components, analog circuit components, processor(s), or any combination thereof. The one or more electrical components may be integrated within control unit 112 or 212, within the external device 110, and/or on the elongated member.);
positioning the sensor in a vessel (para. 0065; shows the wire 102 with pressure sensors 120 (other components removed for better visibility) positioned within a vessel 402. The wire 102 is routed through the vessel 402 to a position where the arrangement of pressure sensors 120 span or at least substantially coincide with the stenosis 404.);and
emitting an ultrasonic wave from the at least one sensor to determine a characteristic of the vessel (paras. 0053 and 0056; An imaging sensor may gather various forms of imaging data. In this embodiment, the one or more sensors 121, 220 include multiple pressure sensors 120 and ultrasound sensors 122. These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The examiner notes that the ultrasound imaging sensors is operated to gather various forms of imaging data of the vessel which includes characteristic data of the vessel, such as dimension to locate a narrowing/stenosis.).
However, Linder fails to explicitly teach that the sensors comprise piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less (second page, left col and table; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques and requires very low temperatures for curing (< 100 °C). The acoustic impedance is 13.9 MRyal).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the sensors of Linder to include the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), lower production cost, and compatibility with most of the commercially available printing techniques as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, PiezoPaint piezoelectric material has high flexibility and can be applied to different sized and shaped surfaces which will allow it to conform to the surface of the core wire.
Regarding claim 13, Linder teaches the according to claim 14, further comprising transmitting a signal from the processor representative of the detected reflection to a device external from the vessel (para. 0049; The guidewire system 100 shares certain features with the catheter system 200, and the description of common parts is therefore applicable to the guidewire system 100 as well. As shown, the guidewire system 100 includes a control unit 112 (shown enlarged and in schematic form) that includes a power source 114, data signal processor 116, and optionally a transmitter 118. The transmitter 118 enables wireless communication to the external device 110 (or multiple such devices) as described above.).
Regarding claim 14, Linder teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising detecting a reflection of the emitted ultrasonic wave to determine the characteristic of the vessel (paras. 0053 and 0056; he one or more sensors 121 of the guidewire system 100 and/or the one or more sensors 220 of the catheter system 200 may include a pressure sensor, flow sensor, imaging sensor, or a component detection sensor, for example. A pressure sensor (or multiple pressure sensors) may be sized and configured to sense changes in pressure in the environment. A flow sensor (or multiple flow sensors) may be sized and configured to sense the fluid flow, such as velocity or other flow characteristics. A detection sensor (or multiple detection sensors) may detect a proximity or distance to one or more detection nodes positioned external relative to the body. An imaging sensor may gather various forms of imaging data. The examiner notes that the ultrasound imaging sensors is operated to gather various forms of imaging data of the vessel which includes characteristic data of the vessel, such as dimension to locate a narrowing/stenosis.).
Regarding claim 15, Linder teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the characteristic of the vessel includes a size of a lumen of the vessel (paras. 0053 and 0056; he one or more sensors 121 of the guidewire system 100 and/or the one or more sensors 220 of the catheter system 200 may include a pressure sensor, flow sensor, imaging sensor, or a component detection sensor, for example. A pressure sensor (or multiple pressure sensors) may be sized and configured to sense changes in pressure in the environment. A flow sensor (or multiple flow sensors) may be sized and configured to sense the fluid flow, such as velocity or other flow characteristics. A detection sensor (or multiple detection sensors) may detect a proximity or distance to one or more detection nodes positioned external relative to the body. An imaging sensor may gather various forms of imaging data. The examiner notes that the ultrasound imaging sensors is operated to gather various forms of imaging data of the vessel which includes characteristic data of the vessel, such as dimension to locate a narrowing/stenosis.).
Regarding claim 16, Linder teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein forming the at least one sensor includes forming a plurality of sensors and circumferentially arranging the plurality of sensors about the portion of the elongated body (fig. 3B, para. 0056; These sensors are positioned on a substrate 124 and the substrate 124 is positioned on the wire 102 in a manner that places the sensors at their respective desired positions. The substrate 124 may be made of a somewhat flexible material (e.g., a suitable medical grade polymer) that allows wrapping, winding, or otherwise positioning the substrate 124 onto the wire 102.).
Regarding claim 17, Linder teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein emitting an ultrasonic wave from the at least one sensor includes emitting an ultrasonic wave from each of the plurality of sensors to obtain an ultrasonic image of the vessel (paras. 0053 and 0056; he one or more sensors 121 of the guidewire system 100 and/or the one or more sensors 220 of the catheter system 200 may include a pressure sensor, flow sensor, imaging sensor, or a component detection sensor, for example. A pressure sensor (or multiple pressure sensors) may be sized and configured to sense changes in pressure in the environment. A flow sensor (or multiple flow sensors) may be sized and configured to sense the fluid flow, such as velocity or other flow characteristics. A detection sensor (or multiple detection sensors) may detect a proximity or distance to one or more detection nodes positioned external relative to the body. An imaging sensor may gather various forms of imaging data. The examiner notes that the ultrasound imaging sensors is operated to gather various forms of imaging data of the vessel which includes characteristic data of the vessel, such as dimension to locate a narrowing/stenosis.).
Regarding claim 18, Linder teaches the method according to claim 12, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes screen printing the piezoelectric material onto a substrate.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes screen printing the piezoelectric material onto a substrate (second page to third page; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the ultrasound sensor of Linder to include the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material that can be screen printed on a substrate. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), and lower production cost as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, screen printing enables is known to be compatible with most types of substrates.
Regarding claim 22, Linder teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the characteristic of the vessel is determined without passing a catheter into the vessel (para. 0065; FIG. 4A shows the wire 102 with pressure sensors 120 (other components removed for better visibility) positioned within a vessel 402. The wire 102 is routed through the vessel 402 to a position where the arrangement of pressure sensors 120 span or at least substantially coincide with the stenosis 404. The examiner notes that the guidewire is inserted into the vessel without using a catheter.).
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linder et al. (US 2021/0290059) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure) and in further view of Cabrera-Munoz et al., hereinafter Munoz, (NPL: “forward-looking 30 MHz phased array transducer for peripheral intravascular imaging”).
Regarding claim 3, Linder teaches the guidewire of claim 2, teaches plurality of sensors, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least eight sensors.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors includes at least eight sensors (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer number of Linder in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer element number of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors includes at least eight sensors. This modification helps to achieve axial and lateral spatial resolutions necessary to image the whole region of interest as disclosed within Munoz in pages 146-147.
Regarding claim 4, modified Linder teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Linder in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Regarding claim 5, modified Linder teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch. The examiner notes that the array exhibits a pitch of 25 um which is less than 62.5 um).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Linder in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Regarding claim 6, modified Linder teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch. The examiner notes that the array exhibits a pitch of 25 um which is less than 31 um).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Linder in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 35 USC 103 rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797