DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filled on 03/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the current application. The amendments to the claims have overcome the claims 35 USC 112 rejection and objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-14, 16-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minas et al. (US 2022/0061805) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure).
Regarding claim 1, Minas teaches a guidewire comprising (para. 0035; The system 100 may include an intraluminal imaging device 102 such as a catheter, guide wire, or guide catheter):
an elongated element (para. 0039; or example, the IVUS device 102 includes the scanner assembly 110 near a distal end of the device 102 and a transmission line bundle 112 extending along the longitudinal body of the device 102 within a flexible elongate member 121.);
at least one sensor comprising a piezoelectric material, the at least one sensor disposed on a circumferential surface of the elongated element (paras. 0044 and 0053; The ultrasound transducer elements may comprise piezoelectric/piezoresistive elements, piezoelectric micromachined ultrasound transducer (PMUT) elements, capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducer (CMUT) elements, and/or any other suitable type of ultrasound transducer elements. the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230. It will be understood that the longitudinal axis 250 of the support member 230 may also be referred to as the longitudinal axis of the scanner assembly 110, the flexible elongate member 121, and/or the intraluminal imaging device 102.); and
at least one processor disposed on the elongated element and in electrical communication with the at least one sensor (paras. 0044-0045 and 0048; The ultrasound transducer elements of the array are in communication with (e.g., electrically coupled to) electronic circuitry. For example, the electronic circuitry can include one or more transducer control logic dies. The electronic circuitry can include one or more integrated circuits (IC), such as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs). In some embodiments, one or more of the ICs can comprise a microbeamformer (μBF). In other embodiments, one or more of the ICs comprises a multiplexer circuit (MUX). The scanner assembly 110 includes a transducer array 124 formed in a transducer region 204 and transducer control logic dies 206 (including dies 206A and 206B) formed in a control region 208, with a transition region 210 disposed therebetween.).
However, Minas fails to explicitly teach a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less (second page, left col and table; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques and requires very low temperatures for curing (< 100 °C). The acoustic impedance is 13.9 MRyal).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the piezoelectric material of Minas with the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), lower production cost, and compatibility with most of the commercially available printing techniques as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, PiezoPaint piezoelectric material has high flexibility and can be applied to different sized and shaped surfaces.
Regarding claim 2, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors disposed circumferentially about a portion of the elongated element (para. 0053; the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230. It will be understood that the longitudinal axis 250 of the support member 230 may also be referred to as the longitudinal axis of the scanner assembly 110, the flexible elongate member 121, and/or the intraluminal imaging device 102.).
Regarding claim 3, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 2, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least eight sensors (para. 0043; An ultrasound transducer array of ultrasound imaging device includes an array of acoustic elements configured to emit ultrasound energy and receive echoes corresponding to the emitted ultrasound energy. In some instances, the array may include any number of ultrasound transducer elements. For example, the array can include between 2 acoustic elements and 10000 acoustic elements, including values such as 2 acoustic elements, 4 acoustic elements, acoustic elements, 64 acoustic elements, 128 acoustic elements, 500 acoustic elements, 812 acoustic elements, 3000 acoustic elements, 9000 acoustic elements, and/or other values both larger and smaller.).
Regarding claim 7, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 1, wherein the elongated element comprises at least one of a core wire or a hypo tube and wherein the at least one sensor is formed directly on the core wire or the hypo tube (paras. 0053 and 0055; The support member 230 can be referenced as a unibody in some instances. The support member 230 can be composed of a metallic material, such as stainless steel, or non-metallic material, such as a plastic or polymer. In some cases, the support member 230 and/or one or more components thereof may be completely integrated with an inner member or guide wire member 256. the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230.).
Regarding claim 8, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is formed on a polymer film (para. 0047; The flexible substrate 214, on which the transducer control logic dies 206 and the transducers 212 are mounted, provides structural support and interconnects for electrical coupling. The flexible substrate 214 may be constructed to include a film layer of a flexible polyimide material such as KAPTON™ (trademark of DuPont). Other suitable materials include polyester films, polyimide films, polyethylene napthalate films, or polyetherimide films, liquid crystal polymer, other flexible printed semiconductor substrates as well as products such as Upilex® (registered trademark of Ube Industries) and TEFLON® (registered trademark of E.I. du Pont).).
Regarding claim 9, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 8, wherein the polymer film comprises polyimide (para. 0047; The flexible substrate 214, on which the transducer control logic dies 206 and the transducers 212 are mounted, provides structural support and interconnects for electrical coupling. The flexible substrate 214 may be constructed to include a film layer of a flexible polyimide material such as KAPTON™ (trademark of DuPont). Other suitable materials include polyester films, polyimide films, polyethylene napthalate films, or polyetherimide films, liquid crystal polymer, other flexible printed semiconductor substrates as well as products such as Upilex® (registered trademark of Ube Industries) and TEFLON® (registered trademark of E.I. du Pont).).
Regarding claim 10, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 9, wherein the polymer film is disposed on a core wire or a hypo tube (para. 0047; As shown and described herein, the flexible substrate 214 is configured to be wrapped around a support member 230 (FIG. 3) in some instances. ).
Regarding claim 11, Minas teaches the guidewire of claim 1, wherein the elongated element of the guidewire has an outer diameter less than 0.034 inches (para. 0064; The length 604 and/or the width 608 can be based on the diameter of the intraluminal device. For example, the diameter can be between 2 Fr and 10 Fr in some embodiments, including values such as 3 Fr, 5 Fr, 8.5 Fr, and/or other suitable values both larger and smaller. The examiner notes that the diameter of the device can be 2 FR, 0.03 inches, or less).
Regarding claim 12, Minas teaches a method of configuring and operating a medical device, the method comprising:
providing an elongated body (para. 0039; or example, the IVUS device 102 includes the scanner assembly 110 near a distal end of the device 102 and a transmission line bundle 112 extending along the longitudinal body of the device 102 within a flexible elongate member 121.);
positioning at least one sensor along a circumferential surface of the elongated body including forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material (paras. 0044 and 0053; The ultrasound transducer elements may comprise piezoelectric/piezoresistive elements, piezoelectric micromachined ultrasound transducer (PMUT) elements, capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducer (CMUT) elements, and/or any other suitable type of ultrasound transducer elements. the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230. It will be understood that the longitudinal axis 250 of the support member 230 may also be referred to as the longitudinal axis of the scanner assembly 110, the flexible elongate member 121, and/or the intraluminal imaging device 102.);
disposing at least one processor on the elongated body and placing the at least one processor in electrical communication with the at least one sensor (paras. 0044-0045 and 0048; The ultrasound transducer elements of the array are in communication with (e.g., electrically coupled to) electronic circuitry. For example, the electronic circuitry can include one or more transducer control logic dies. The electronic circuitry can include one or more integrated circuits (IC), such as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs). In some embodiments, one or more of the ICs can comprise a microbeamformer (μBF). In other embodiments, one or more of the ICs comprises a multiplexer circuit (MUX). The scanner assembly 110 includes a transducer array 124 formed in a transducer region 204 and transducer control logic dies 206 (including dies 206A and 206B) formed in a control region 208, with a transition region 210 disposed therebetween.);
positioning the sensor in a vessel (para. 0042; acquiring image data of a target region (e.g., the vessel 120));and
emitting an ultrasonic wave from the at least one sensor to determine a characteristic of the vessel (paras. 0042-0043; An ultrasound transducer array of ultrasound imaging device includes an array of acoustic elements configured to emit ultrasound energy and receive echoes corresponding to the emitted ultrasound energy. the processing system 106 can apply a blood flow detection algorithm (e.g., ChromaFlo) to determine the movement of blood flow, for example, by acquiring image data of a target region (e.g., the vessel 120) repeatedly and determining the movement of the blood flow from the image data.).
However, Minas fails to explicitly teach a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less (second page, left col and table; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques and requires very low temperatures for curing (< 100 °C). The acoustic impedance is 13.9 MRyal).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the piezoelectric material of Minas with the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material having a curing temperature of approximately 100 0C or less and an acoustic impedance of approximately 14 MRayl or less. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), lower production cost, and compatibility with most of the commercially available printing techniques as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, PiezoPaint piezoelectric material has high flexibility and can be applied to different sized and shaped surfaces.
Regarding claim 13, Minas teaches the according to claim 14, further comprising transmitting a signal from the processor representative of the detected reflection to a device external from the vessel (para. 0049; The control logic dies 206 are not necessarily homogenous. In some embodiments, a single controller is designated a master control logic die 206A and contains the communication interface for transmission line bundle or cable 112 which may serve as electrical conductor(s), e.g., electrical conductor(s) 218, between a processing system, e.g., processing system 106, and the flexible scanner assembly 110. The examiner notes that the external device is processor 106).
Regarding claim 14, Minas teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising detecting a reflection of the emitted ultrasonic wave to determine the characteristic of the vessel (paras. 0041-0042; the processing system 106 can apply a blood flow detection algorithm (e.g., ChromaFlo) to determine the movement of blood flow, for example, by acquiring image data of a target region (e.g., the vessel 120) repeatedly and determining the movement of the blood flow from the image data.).
Regarding claim 16, Minas teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein forming the at least one sensor includes forming a plurality of sensors and circumferentially arranging the plurality of sensors about the portion of the elongated body (para. 0053; the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230.).
Regarding claim 17, Minas teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein emitting an ultrasonic wave from the at least one sensor includes emitting an ultrasonic wave from each of the plurality of sensors to obtain an ultrasonic image of the vessel (paras. 0042-0043; An ultrasound transducer array of ultrasound imaging device includes an array of acoustic elements configured to emit ultrasound energy and receive echoes corresponding to the emitted ultrasound energy. the processing system 106 can apply a blood flow detection algorithm (e.g., ChromaFlo) to determine the movement of blood flow, for example, by acquiring image data of a target region (e.g., the vessel 120) repeatedly and determining the movement of the blood flow from the image data.).
Regarding claim 18, Minas teaches the method according to claim 12, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes screen printing the piezoelectric material onto a substrate.
Ferroperm Piezoceramics, in the same field of endeavor, teaches forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes screen printing the piezoelectric material onto a substrate (second page to third page; A new flexible piezoelectric material, PiezoPaint™, has been developed at CTS | Ferroperm primarily with the aim of compatibility with flexible substrates, including textile, plastic, paper etc., and ability to be applied to large areas. The PiezoPaint™ material is compatible with most of the commercial printing techniques available, including pad-, screen-, and stencil printing techniques.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the piezoelectric material of Minas with the PiezoPaint piezoelectric material of Ferroperm Piezoceramics to provide a piezoelectric material that can be screen printed on a substrate. This modification will result in high piezoelectric activity, lower impedance (which improves acoustic matching and provides better signal transfer), and lower production cost as disclosed within Ferroperm Piezoceramics in page 2. Additionally, screen printing enables is known to be compatible with most types of substrates.
Regarding claim 20, Minas teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising forming the at least one sensor on a polymer film and then disposing the polymer film on the elongated body (para. 0047; The flexible substrate 214, on which the transducer control logic dies 206 and the transducers 212 are mounted, provides structural support and interconnects for electrical coupling. The flexible substrate 214 may be constructed to include a film layer of a flexible polyimide material such as KAPTON™ (trademark of DuPont). Other suitable materials include polyester films, polyimide films, polyethylene napthalate films, or polyetherimide films, liquid crystal polymer, other flexible printed semiconductor substrates as well as products such as Upilex® (registered trademark of Ube Industries) and TEFLON® (registered trademark of E.I. du Pont).).
Regarding claim 21, Minas teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes forming the at least one sensor directly on at least one of a core wire or a hypo tube of an elongated body (para. 0053; the transducer elements 212 and/or the controllers 206 can be positioned in in an annular configuration, such as a circular configuration or in a polygon configuration, around a longitudinal axis 250 of a support member 230.).
Regarding claim 22, Minas teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the elongated body comprises a wire of a guidewire device, and wherein the characteristic of the vessel is determined without passing a catheter into the vessel (para. 0035; The system 100 may include an intraluminal imaging device 102 such as a catheter, guide wire, or guide catheter. The examiner notes that the intraluminal imaging device can be a guidewire and does not require a catheter).
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minas et al. (US 2022/0061805) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure) and in further view of Cabrera-Munoz et al., hereinafter Munoz, (NPL: “forward-looking 30 MHz phased array transducer for peripheral intravascular imaging”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Minas teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Minas in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 125 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Regarding claim 5, modified Minas teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch. The examiner notes that the array exhibits a pitch of 25 um which is less than 62.5 um).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Minas in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 62.5 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Regarding claim 6, modified Minas teach the guidewire of claim 2, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less.
Munoz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less (page 147, left col; The array 2-2 composite consists of thirty-two 19-m-widepiezoelectric elements separated by 6-m-wide kerfs filled with non-conductive epoxy, Epo-Tek 301 (Epoxy Technology, Inc., Billerica, MA, USA), to yield an array with a 25 um-wide pitch. The examiner notes that the array exhibits a pitch of 25 um which is less than 31 um).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the transducer arrangement of Minas in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with the transducer array arrangement of Munoz to provide a plurality of sensors exhibit a pitch of approximately 31 microns (um) or less. This modification will result in a reduced active apertures that will fit on a small diameter elongated element for intravascular imaging as disclosed within Munoz in page 146. Additionally, smaller pitch will reduce crosstalk level between adjacent elements and improve image quality and resolution.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minas et al. (US 2022/0061805) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure) and in further view of Rice et al. (US 2016/0081657).
Regarding claim 15, modified Minas teaches the method according to claim 14, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the characteristic of the vessel includes a size of a lumen of the vessel.
Rice, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the characteristic of the vessel includes a size of a lumen of the vessel (paras. 0015 and 0055; The intravascular device 800 can be utilized to generate intravascular measurements, such a cross-sectional area and/or a diameter of the vessel 100.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the output results which includes blood flow of the vessel or analysis of a plaques of Minas in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with output results of Rice to provide image characteristic of the vessel and measurements of a size of a lumen of the vessel. This modification will result in information that can be use during pre-treatment/diagnostic procedures to guide treatment choices, used to identify areas of plaque buildup or other narrowing of the vessel, guide the choice of a stent diameter and/or length, and used to determine the efficacy of stenting as disclosed within Rice in para. 0029.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minas et al. (US 2022/0061805) in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics (NPL: “Highly active flexible piezoelectric material with ultra-low acoustic impedance” PiezoPaint Brochure) and in further view of Banquart et al. (NPL: “Piezoelectric P(VDF-TrFE) film inkjet printed on silicon for high-frequency ultrasound applications”).
Regarding claim 19, modified Minas teaches the method according to claim 12, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein forming the at least one sensor of a piezoelectric material includes jet printing the piezoelectric material onto a substrate.
Banquart, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (pages 1-2, This paper focuses on innovative technologies based on inkjetprint fabricated P(VDF-TrFE) films to develop high-frequency (HF) ultrasound transducers. This feasibility study describes, first, the printing process of P (VDF-TrFE) material deposition on silicon, taking into account the technical constraints imposed by the realization of a high-frequency ultrasound transducer. The examiner notes that the piezoelectric material P(VDF-TrFE) is inkjet printed on a substrate.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the deposition technique of the piezoelectric material on a substrate of Minas in the view of Ferroperm Piezoceramics with inkjet printing technique of Banquart to provide piezoelectric material ink printed onto a substrate. This modification will reduce the degradation of transducer performance, improve reproducibility in the manufacturing processes, and eliminate the bonding step from the piezoelectric film manufacturing process as disclosed within Banquart in page. 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795