Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 are cancelled
Claims 21, 24, and 27-29 are amended
Claims 21-29 are pending
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C.§371 national phase patent application of international patent application no. PCT/CN2022/096222, filed on May 31, 2022. Therefore, effective filing date of this application is 05/31/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/01/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objection to the abstract. The objection has been overcome due to Applicant’s filed amendment.
With respect to the objection to claims 21, 24, and 27-29. The objection has been overcome due to Applicant’s filed amendment.
With respect to USC 112(b) rejection for claim 29. The rejection has been overcome due to Applicant amending claim 27 to provide antecedent basis for “confidential computing environment”.
With respect to the USC 103 rejection Applicant has argued that ROGERS-SAHITA fail to teach the limitations of claim 21. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has argued that ROGERS does not disclose a service TD established with the host CPU that supports SPDM protocols in the claimed manner for GPU authentication, GPU measurement, or GPU management. ROGERS does teach this feature. ROGERS teaches of establishing a trust relationship between a host central processing unit (CPU) and the GPU ([ROGERS, para. 0066] “As illustrated in FIG. 1 with the symbol of a key, the driver(s) 110, in various embodiments, create a shared secret (e.g., a cryptographic key) with the GPU 104. In one example, the GPU 104 includes a private key burned into fuses or otherwise stored in the device hardware by the manufacturer and the public key corresponding to the private key can be published by the manufacturer. In an embodiment, the driver(s) 110 (e.g., via the CPU 102) perform a security protocol and Data Model (SPDM) key exchange with the GPU 104 to generate the shared secret.”). As can be seen from this citation ROGERS teaches of generating a shared secret between a CPU and GPU. A shared secret is a trust relationship. Furthermore, ROGERS teaches establishing a service trust domain (TD) with the host CPU, wherein the service TD is to support Security Protocol and Data Model (SPDM) protocols for at least one of GPU authentication, GPU measurement, or GPU management; ([ROGERS, para. 0059] “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of an environment 100 including a trusted execution environment (TEE) … In addition, in an embodiment, the CPU 102 is used to implement the TEE 106”) ([ROGERS, para. 0066] “In an embodiment, the driver(s) 110 (e.g., via the CPU 102) perform a security protocol and Data Model (SPDM) key exchange with the GPU 104 to generate the shared secret. In addition, in various embodiments, the driver(s) 110 cause the user of the system to obtain the public key (e.g., requesting the public key from the GPU 104 or other entity such as a server operated by the manufacturer) and use the public key to generate the shared secret (e.g., using the Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm). In one example, the shared secret is a symmetric cryptographic key. Furthermore, in various embodiments, the shared secret is maintained in the TEE 106 and the secure processor 132. … data exchanged between the CPU 102 and the GPU 104 (e.g., using the buffer 144) is encrypted or otherwise protected with the shared secret.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0057] “The public key, of the public-private key pair, can be provided by a manufacturer of the PPU and can be used to authenticate the PPU and/or attest to information associated with the PPU.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0073] “the secure processor 232 generates information useable by the TEE or entity thereof to authenticate the GPU 236 and ensure the security of the TEE when adding the GPU 236 to the TEE.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0087] “the secure processor of the GPU generates a shared cryptographic key with the TEE. As described above, the shared cryptographic key is used to encrypt data for transmission between the CPU and GPU.”). As can be seen from these citations ROGERS teaches of establishing a service trust domain as a trusted execution environment (TEE). Furthermore, SPDM key exchange is taken place between the GPU and the CPU to generate a shared secret. The shared secret is maintained in the TEE of the CPU. Furthermore, all communication between the CPU and GPU is encrypted with the shared key including authentication information generated by the secure processor of the GPU as cited in para. 0073 of ROGERS. Furthermore, ROGERS teaches ([ROGERS, para. 0071] “the memory copy 238 includes data from an output buffer 226 within the secure 220 region of the GPU memory 204 and encrypted by a secure processor 232. As described above, in various embodiments, an entity (e.g., drivers, application, guest operating system, etc.) within the TEE (not shown in FIG. 2 for simplicity) obtains encrypted results 210 from a unsecure 206 region of the CPU memory 202”). The encrypted data transferred from the GPU is transferred directly to the CPU.
As for the limitation of “associate a certificate chain that is endorsed by a trusted module, wherein the certificate chain is associated with a certificate comprising a TD report having the GPU measurement”. Examiner is relying on SAHITA to teach this limitation. SAHITA teaches …” ([SAHITA, para. 0023] “For example, as shown in message 3 a in FIG. 1, dTD 112 validates the identity of device/accelerator 104 through use of a certificate and device measurements 140. In one embodiment, the certificate comprises a certificate chain that can be verified starting from a certificate chain provisioned into the TPA. In some embodiments the measurements are hashes of the firmware (code and data) signed with a private key that the device holds. After the certificate chain is verified, the dTD does a nonce-based challenge response with the device, and the device responds to the challenge with a signature on the nonce and the measurement hashes. The certificate establishes that the device is the holder of the private key.”) ([SAHITA, para. 0025] “As illustrated by a message 3 b in FIG. 1, in one embodiment a certificate 142 is used by the verification protocol to verify the measurements.”). As can be seen from these citations SAHITA teaches of a certificate comprising a certificate chain that can be verified starting from a certificate chain provisioned into the TPA which is a trust domain extensions provisioning agent, a trusted module. Furthermore, SAHITA teaches of message 3 consisting of device measurements and the certificate is used to verify the device measurements. Therefore, SAHITA teaches this limitation.
SAHITA remedies the deficiencies of ROGERS. The combination of ROGERS-SAHITA teaches all limitations of claim 21.
Applicant has cited para. 0052 and figure 3 stating the application describes the TDX module receiving a SEAMREPORT, and creating a TD_REPORT based on the SEAMREPORT. Furthermore, of inserting the TD_REPORT with the initial VMC certificate to generate a full VMC certificate having a TEE report OID. These features are not recited in the claim language. Examiner suggests amending the claims by clarifying the limitations and better differentiating from ROGERS-SAHITA.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/09/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 24, 26, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROGERS (US-20230103518-A1) in view of SAHITA (US-20210141658-A1) which was published on 05/13/2021, hereinafter ROGERS-SAHITA.
Regarding claim 21, ROGERS teaches “An apparatus for device authentication in a confidential computing environment, the apparatus comprising: a graphics processing unit (GPU) coupled to a memory, the GPU to: establish a trust relationship between a host central processing unit (CPU) and the GPU; ([ROGERS, para. 0056] “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a novel solution to provide secure execution environments that leverage parallel processing units (PPUs), such as graphics processing units (GPUs), to execute user code or perform other operations in a virtualized environment described in greater detail below. In an embodiment, a PPU is set up to operate within a Trusted Execution Environment (TEE) implemented at least in part by the operation of one or more central processing units (CPUs). ”) ([ROGERS, para. 0066] “As illustrated in FIG. 1 with the symbol of a key, the driver(s) 110, in various embodiments, create a shared secret (e.g., a cryptographic key) with the GPU 104. In one example, the GPU 104 includes a private key burned into fuses or otherwise stored in the device hardware by the manufacturer and the public key corresponding to the private key can be published by the manufacturer. In an embodiment, the driver(s) 110 (e.g., via the CPU 102) perform a security protocol and Data Model (SPDM) key exchange with the GPU 104 to generate the shared secret.”) establish a service trust domain (TD) with the host CPU, wherein the service TD is to support Security Protocol and Data Model (SPDM) protocols for at least one of GPU authentication, GPU measurement, or GPU management; ([ROGERS, para. 0059] “FIG. 1 illustrates an example of an environment 100 including a trusted execution environment (TEE) … In addition, in an embodiment, the CPU 102 is used to implement the TEE 106”) ([ROGERS, para. 0066] “In an embodiment, the driver(s) 110 (e.g., via the CPU 102) perform a security protocol and Data Model (SPDM) key exchange with the GPU 104 to generate the shared secret. In addition, in various embodiments, the driver(s) 110 cause the user of the system to obtain the public key (e.g., requesting the public key from the GPU 104 or other entity such as a server operated by the manufacturer) and use the public key to generate the shared secret (e.g., using the Diffie-Hellman key exchange algorithm). In one example, the shared secret is a symmetric cryptographic key. Furthermore, in various embodiments, the shared secret is maintained in the TEE 106 and the secure processor 132. … data exchanged between the CPU 102 and the GPU 104 (e.g., using the buffer 144) is encrypted or otherwise protected with the shared secret.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0057] “The public key, of the public-private key pair, can be provided by a manufacturer of the PPU and can be used to authenticate the PPU and/or attest to information associated with the PPU.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0073] “the secure processor 232 generates information useable by the TEE or entity thereof to authenticate the GPU 236 and ensure the security of the TEE when adding the GPU 236 to the TEE.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0087] “the secure processor of the GPU generates a shared cryptographic key with the TEE. As described above, the shared cryptographic key is used to encrypt data for transmission between the CPU and GPU.”) … and wherein the trust relationship between the host CPU and the GPU is to facilitate a secure encrypted communication such that data between the host CPU and the GPU is communicated based on direct memory access (DMA). ([ROGERS, para. 0058] “As described in greater detail below, to secure the TEE (e.g., an encrypted virtual machine or other secure environment) including the PPU, the virtual machine executing within the TEE and the secure microcontroller of the PPU negotiate a shared key. In such examples, the secure microcontroller operates as the root of trust for the PPU within the TEE. Furthermore, direct memory access between the CPU (e.g., virtual machine within the TEE) and the PPU can be secured using the shared key … once the shared key is negotiated, the virtual machine encrypts data using the shared key and stores the encrypted data in a memory region accessible to the PPU, the secure microcontroller then obtains the encrypted data, decrypts the encrypted data with the shared key and stores the results in the protected memory region of the PPU.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0066] “Furthermore, in various embodiments, the shared secret is maintained in the TEE 106 and the secure processor 132. As described in greater detail below in connection with FIGS. 2, 3, 6 and 7, data exchanged between the CPU 102 and the GPU 104 (e.g., using the buffer 144) is encrypted or otherwise protected with the shared secret.”) ([ROGERS, para. 0080] “accelerators (e.g., CPUs, GPUs, and/or PPUs)”)
However, ROGERS does not teach “… associate a certificate chain that is endorsed by a trusted module, wherein the certificate chain is associated with a certificate comprising a TD report having the GPU measurement, …”
In analogous teaching SAHITA teaches “… associate a certificate chain that is endorsed by a trusted module, wherein the certificate chain is associated with a certificate comprising a TD report having the GPU measurement, …” ([SAHITA, para. 0023] “For example, as shown in message 3 a in FIG. 1, dTD 112 validates the identity of device/accelerator 104 through use of a certificate and device measurements 140. In one embodiment, the certificate comprises a certificate chain that can be verified starting from a certificate chain provisioned into the TPA. In some embodiments the measurements are hashes of the firmware (code and data) signed with a private key that the device holds. After the certificate chain is verified, the dTD does a nonce-based challenge response with the device, and the device responds to the challenge with a signature on the nonce and the measurement hashes. The certificate establishes that the device is the holder of the private key.”) ([SAHITA, para. 0025] “As illustrated by a message 3 b in FIG. 1, in one embodiment a certificate 142 is used by the verification protocol to verify the measurements.”) ([SAHITA, para. 0008] “Embodiments of methods and apparatus for trusted devices using trust domain extensions (TDX)”) ([SAHITA, para. 0014] “a TDX IO provisioning agent (TPA)”) ([SAHITA, para. 0011] “enables reduction of the development and validation cost of the device by onloading critical security operations to a device-Trust Domain (dTD).”).
Thus, given the teaching of SAHITA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a certificate chain by SAHITA into the teaching of an apparatus for device authentication in a confidential computing environment by ROGERS. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because SAHITA recognizes the benefits of using device trust domains to efficiently share devices ([SAHITA, para. 0001] “Today's devices also need to be efficiently shared for multi-tenant usages such as cloud, virtualization, containers etc.”) ([SAHITA, para. 0012] “The methods and apparatus enable device vendors to use the principles and techniques described herein to provide highly efficient in-line acceleration for multi-tenant devices via dTDs. The dTD can also efficiently support methods of sharing a device by mediation of data streams across untrusted tenants that use the device (via the dTD).”)
Regarding claim 24, this claim recites of method claim that performs the features of apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, this claim recites of at least one computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed, cause a computing device to perform the features of apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 23, 26, and 29, ROGERS-SAHITA teach all limitations of claims 21, 24, and 27. ROGERS further teaches “wherein the confidential computing environment comprises a secure encrypted virtualization (SEV). ([ROGERS, para. 0059] “Furthermore, in such embodiments, the TEE 106 includes a guest operating system 112. In one example, the TEE 106 includes a virtual machine, which can be encrypted and secured using an encryption technique such as secure encrypted virtualization (SEV). In various embodiments, cryptographic material (e.g., a cryptographic key) is used to encrypt the TEE 106 and data within a secure 116 region of the system memory.”)
Claims 22, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROGERS-SAHITA in view of MOORE (US-20190140846-A1).
Regarding claims 22, 25, and 28, ROGERS-SAHITA teach all limitations of claims 21, 24, and 27. However, ROGERS-SAHITA does not teach “wherein the host CPU comprises a secure enclave.”.
In analogous teaching MOORE teaches “wherein the host CPU comprises a secure enclave.” ([MOORE, para. 0030] “Example embodiments described herein are capable of provisioning a trusted execution environment (TEE) based on (e.g., based at least in part on) a chain of trust that includes a platform on which the TEE executes. A TEE is a secure area associated with a platform in a computing system. … a TEE may provide isolated, safe execution of authorized software.”) ([MOORE, para. 0051] “In an example embodiment, the TEE is an enclave, and the platform is a central processing unit (CPU).”).
Thus, given the teaching of MOORE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of CPU comprises a secure enclave by MOORE into the teaching of an apparatus for device authentication in a confidential computing environment by ROGERS-SAHITA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because MOORE recognizes the need to mitigate data breaches in cloud computing ([MOORE, para. 0002] “Data breaches in distributed computing systems (e.g., public or private clouds) are increasingly common, with attackers often gaining access to personally identifiable information (PII)”) ([MOORE, para. 0004] “Various approaches are described herein for, among other things, provisioning a trusted execution environment (TEE) based on (e.g., based at least in part on) a chain of trust that includes a platform on which the TEE executes. … Accordingly, the TEE can be customized with the information without other parties, such as a cloud provider, being able to know or manipulate the information.”)
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
SRIVASTAVA (US-20220191025-A1): This prior art teaches of confidential data needed by a workload component running within a worker VM can be placed on an encrypted virtual disk that is attached to the worker VM and hardware-based attestation can be used to validate the worker VM's software and isolate its guest memory from its hypervisor. Upon successful completion of this attestation process, a data decryption key can be delivered to the worker VM via a secure channel established via the attestation, such that the hypervisor cannot read or alter the key. The worker VM can then decrypt the contents of the encrypted virtual disk using the data decryption key, thereby granting the workload component access to the confidential data.
CAMPAGNA (US-20170161505-A1): This prior art teaches of a tiered credentialing approach provides assurance to customers having virtual machines running in a remote environment that the virtual images for these machines are in a pristine state and running in a trusted execution environment. The environment can be divided into multiple subsystems, each having its own cryptographic boundary, secure storage, and trusted computing capabilities. A trusted, limited subsystem can handle the administrative tasks for virtual machines running on the main system of a host computing device. The limited system can receive a certificate from a certificate authority, and can act as a certificate authority to provide credentials to the main system. Upon an attestation request, the subsystems can provide attestation information using the respective credentials as well as the certificate chain. An entity having the appropriate credentials can determine the state of the system from the response and verify the state is as expected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./
07/22/2026
/AFAQ ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434